[want your advise], Korean wii set

TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM, updated 16y ago

100 posts

Need your advise from you guy whether its worth to buy a 2nd hand korean wii modded. My fren want to sell her wii and only use less than 10 times (less than 2 months old) I dunno whether is worth to buy it. She sell to me at RM850. included of Wii set, all the basic in the box with additional 1 set remote & nunchuck, 2 rechargerble batter and 1 SVGA cable.

Buying it for my kids to play.

Modded set ok ka?

neogeocdz
post Jan 12 2010, 09:44 AM

698 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM)
Need your advise from you guy whether its worth to buy a 2nd hand korean wii modded. My fren want to sell her wii and only use less than 10 times (less than 2 months old) I dunno whether is worth to buy it. She sell to me at RM850. included of Wii set, all the basic in the box with additional 1 set remote & nunchuck, 2 rechargerble batter and 1 SVGA cable.

Buying it for my kids to play.

Modded set ok ka?
I would not recommend a Korean Wii, there has been a lot of issues with them especially if u play pirated.
Get a local Wii with no mod.

Also, RM850 is not cheap.

This post has been edited by neogeocdz: Jan 12 2010, 10:01 AM
Dark NT
post Jan 12 2010, 09:46 AM

1,006 posts

I think modded set are bad for kids... They will not learn how to treasure the games since its RM5 a piece.

Get originals and teach them how to save money or make money for the things they want laugh.gif
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 09:48 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(neogeocdz @ Jan 12 2010, 09:44 AM)
I would not recommend a Korean Wii, there has been a lot of issues with them especially if u play pirated.
Get a local Wii with no mod.
you mean korean set modded cannot play most of the game. it is easy to brick?

Added on January 12, 2010, 9:51 am
QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jan 12 2010, 09:46 AM)
I think modded set are bad for kids... They will not learn how to treasure the games since its RM5 a piece.

Get originals and teach them how to save money or make money for the things they want laugh.gif
yea i know. But i try to survey on the place near my home could not find any original wii games only pirated. Where is the place i can find most of the games. (nearly to complete) I even try to search here lyn also dun have any 2nd hand wii games. If found also not for small kids to play.

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 09:51 AM
ramz
post Jan 12 2010, 09:54 AM

21,350 posts

Some people will say worth it. But i say with a big "not worth it".

1. Korean wii is like u buy a Hyundai car, but they install a us GM engine for u.
2. U can't update a korean wii the normal way. U need to go backdoor way. and u know how painful is to go through backdoor smile.gif. banyak hassle. u may choose to not update, but it will be like u using windows 95 when everybody using windows 7.
3. All problems associated to modded wii still applies (don't want to mention la, but memang banyak. google it). Some problems will apply to u and some won't, however u will not know what will apply to u coz different modded wii got different mod setup. so is like trial and error. u encounter a problem, then u figure out how to fix it. can be pretty frustrating.
4. Korean modded wii should not exist to start with. but some smart people got together and figured out how to scam the world and reap huge profits in process. don't help them.

TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:07 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 12 2010, 09:54 AM)
Some people will say worth it. But i say with a big "not worth it".

1. Korean wii is like u buy a Hyundai car, but they install a us GM engine for u.
2. U can't update a korean wii the normal way. U need to go backdoor way. and u know how painful is to go through backdoor smile.gif. banyak hassle. u may choose to not update, but it will be like u using windows 95 when everybody using windows 7.
3. All problems associated to modded wii still applies (don't want to mention la, but memang banyak. google it). Some problems will apply to u and some won't, however u will not know what will apply to u coz different modded wii got different mod setup. so is like trial and error. u encounter a problem, then u figure out how to fix it. can be pretty frustrating.
4. Korean modded wii should not exist to start with. but some smart people got together and figured out how to scam the world and reap huge profits in process. don't help them.
ic...modded mean got so much problem in future. I'm a noob and i think i dun have really got much time google how to fix the wii if the wii got problem. What do you mean korean modded wii should not exist. It korean set that really bad to compare to other countries wii?

Where are you guys buying wii games. i know got some shop in 1u selling but sure is will not cheap at all. Where is the place i can buy and have more choices to pick and reasonable price. Is orginal wii games can test before buying?
yangkuo
post Jan 12 2010, 10:08 AM

90 posts

as a sidenote, RM850 is a little steep for what is possibly a "non hassle free" setup.

get a US model Wii (SG set is also US model with 220V power adapter) and go look for games from certain vendors here in LYN. they do carry some Wii games or they can order for u.

if you are alright with the pricing of original games, then there is plenty to buy from online stores too.

that is what all of us (who support Wii originals) do here. so it shows when there's a will there is a way ...

Added on January 12, 2010, 10:15 amhe did NOT mean the Korean Wii hardware was bad.

he was referring to the actions of those ppl who mod it and sell it claiming that it works EXACTLY like a US/English Wii.

what is not clear at the point of selling/buying is obviously the "hassles" that comes with maintaining and getting the machine to work as time goes ...

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 10:07 AM)
What do you mean korean modded wii should not exist. It korean set that really bad to compare to other countries wii?
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Jan 12 2010, 10:15 AM
ramz
post Jan 12 2010, 10:16 AM

21,350 posts

korean wii exist and thats ok. but i am talking about korean modded wii (keyword: modded). some smart lek discovered a way to scam the world using the korean wii platform.

that's really what i hope will change in malaysia if everybody stop buying korean wiis. We source our games here:
1. Here in LYN itself. in garage sales thread. some forummers here are sellers too (introduce yourself guys)
2. Play-asia.com
3. Some retail shops (they also have a presence in this site, so look out for them here too)

original can't test before buying (pirated ones also can't test), but its guaranteed to work. u usually do some research on the games. but if u choose the 'mainstream' games the suit your like, u can't go wrong.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:17 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:08 AM)
as a sidenote, RM850 is a little steep for what is possibly a "non hassle free" setup.

get a US model Wii (SG set is also US model with 220V power adapter) and go look for games from certain vendors here in LYN. they do carry some Wii games or they can order for u.

if you are alright with the pricing of original games, then there is plenty to buy from online stores too.

that is what all of us (who support Wii originals) do here.  so it shows when there's a will there is a way ...
mmm...how do you know whether the games suits you if you bought online or order. sometimes picture cannot give u a guide and how nice is the game. Did wii online have all wii demo games to play before buying the full version games then it will be good. Only afriad buy online or order but not suits my kids to play then..my money gone?
ramz
post Jan 12 2010, 10:27 AM

21,350 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 10:17 AM)
mmm...how do you know whether the games suits you if you bought online or order. sometimes picture cannot give u a guide and how nice is the game. Did wii online have all wii demo games to play before buying the full version games then it will be good. Only  afriad buy online or order but not suits my kids to play then..my money gone?
Youtube: u can view gameplay with actual people playing, or u can view the gameplay only if u choose. video reviews included
metacritic.com: a good place that consolidates reviews from many sources. video reviews included
oh yes, and nintendo channel within the wii menu, it have everything in there from game preview, game commentary, and game walkhrough.

This post has been edited by ramz: Jan 12 2010, 10:31 AM
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:30 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 12 2010, 10:27 AM)
Youtube: u can view gameplay with actual people playing, or u can view the gameplay only if u choose. video reviews included
metacritic.com: a good place that consolidates reviews from many sources. video reviews included
i log to nintendo website. Want to know what is Wiiware? same as wii games? what the difference?

ok, i will check youtube or metacritic.com.

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 10:31 AM
yangkuo
post Jan 12 2010, 10:35 AM

90 posts

how do you think other people in the rest of the world cope with this "problem" then ?

that is the reason why there are things like game ratings (eg. E - Everyone, PG13 - Parental guidance, etc) for audience suitability and for gameplay itself game reviews (written and/or video review).

i'm pretty sure u'll easily find preview, trailers and user gameplay videos on youtube, etc as well.

if u r still that afraid of "losing" money this way then i guess it's safer not to get into wii gaming (in malaysia) OR stick with the *ahem* solution and live with the hassles ... your choice.

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 10:17 AM)
mmm...how do you know whether the games suits you if you bought online or order. sometimes picture cannot give u a guide and how nice is the game. Did wii online have all wii demo games to play before buying the full version games then it will be good. Only  afriad buy online or order but not suits my kids to play then..my money gone?
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:41 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:35 AM)
how do you think other people in the rest of the world cope with this "problem" then ?

that is the reason why there are things like game ratings (eg. E - Everyone, PG13 - Parental guidance, etc) for audience suitability and for gameplay itself game reviews (written and/or video review).

i'm pretty sure u'll easily find preview, trailers and user gameplay videos on youtube, etc as well.
if u r still that afraid of "losing" money this way then i guess it's safer not to get into wii gaming (in malaysia) OR stick with the *ahem* solution and live with the hassles ... your choice.
Ok.. i will try to search for the games reviews first. And since they is so many nagetive feedback of buying a modded korean wii set. i will have to tell my fren that i'm not going to buy a modded set. will go for a original wii set.

Added on January 12, 2010, 10:41 am
QUOTE(yangkuo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:35 AM)

Ok.. i will try to search for the games reviews first. And since they is so many nagetive feedback of buying a modded korean wii set. i will have to tell my fren that i'm not going to buy a modded set. will go for a original wii set.

oh... Please tell me what is a Wiiware and the difference of wii games?

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 10:41 AM
ramz
post Jan 12 2010, 10:42 AM

21,350 posts

wiiware are downloaded wii games that u can't find on the shelf. they are created by less well known publishers, but some of them are comparable to the shelf games. U can only find wiiware games in wii shop channel, and no where else.

wiware games price range is between rm15 to rm100.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 10:47 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 12 2010, 10:42 AM)
wiiware are downloaded wii games that u can't find on the shelf. they are created by less well known publishers, but some of them are comparable to the shelf games. U can only find wiiware games in wii shop channel, and no where else.

wiware games price range is between rm15 to rm100.
you mean wii connect online to wii shop channel and we download from there. How to keep the wii games? in the Wii console? wiiware games is cheaper?
yangkuo
post Jan 12 2010, 10:55 AM

90 posts

Top 25 Wii Games (as of Nov 2009) (click to view)

Top 15 WiiWare Games (as of Jul 2009) (click to view)

Wii has built-in 512MB total flash memory for storage of Channels (game, applications like Opera browser, etc) and game save files. since a certain firmware version you can use SDHC SD cards which can be used to save the above too.

it is now possible to launch wiiware and virtual console (both type of games downloaded from Wii Shop online) directly from SD card as well.

This post has been edited by yangkuo: Jan 12 2010, 11:23 AM
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 11:15 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(yangkuo @ Jan 12 2010, 10:55 AM)
Top 25 Wii Games (as of Nov 2009)

Top 15 WiiWare Games (as of Jul 2009)
Wii has built-in 512MB total flash memory for storage of Channels (game, applications like Opera browser, etc) and game save files.  since a certain firmware version you can use SDHC SD cards which can be used to save the above too.

it is now possible to launch wiiware and virtual console (both type of games downloaded from Wii Shop online) directly from SD card as well.
now more understand how wii can do so much things.
Dark NT
post Jan 12 2010, 12:18 PM

1,006 posts

You can get unmodded, officially authorised Wii sets in Jusco. The price is a few hundred higher than your friend's korean modded one (last time i saw was RM1280). It's bundled with a couple of games so your kids will be occupied for a while.

I am actually getting a second Wii from a forumer here, unmodded too.
Pr1me_Minister
post Jan 12 2010, 12:21 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jan 12 2010, 12:18 PM)
You can get unmodded, officially authorised Wii sets in Jusco. The price is a few hundred higher than your friend's korean modded one (last time i saw was RM1280). It's bundled with a couple of games so your kids will be occupied for a while.

Actually the Jusco counter has run out of Wii consoles for a really long time, and they're also expensive. You should PM Kyoyagami since he's selling the official set for RM940.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 12:25 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Dark NT @ Jan 12 2010, 12:18 PM)

how much areyou getting a unmodded set?

i find one lyn selling unmodded u.s. set plus additional remote & nunchuck for RM1000.. (suppose to be rm1050 but nego till rm1000)

Can anyone tell me it a good deal or not for RM1000?

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 12:27 PM
Pr1me_Minister
post Jan 12 2010, 12:34 PM

314 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/user/Kyoyagami

RM940 for new official set.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 12:40 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Jan 12 2010, 12:34 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/user/Kyoyagami

RM940 for new official set.
lyn member selling unmodded (US) set plus additional remote & nunchuck for RM1000. (suppose to be rm1050 but nego till rm1000) -NEW set.
ok ka?

his shop is in bangsar shopping centre.
Sheep319
post Jan 12 2010, 12:56 PM

how do i post
6,364 posts

I will not give you my advice.

Ha ha ha ha.

But on a more serious note, don't go for Korean modded. That's all I can say.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 01:03 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Jan 12 2010, 12:56 PM)
I will not give you my advice.

Ha ha ha ha.

But on a more serious note, don't go for Korean modded. That's all I can say.
why eh? do let me know. rm1000 for original wii u.s. set plus addtional controller too good to be true?
or they give me 3rd party accesories?

tell la...
ramz
post Jan 12 2010, 01:16 PM

21,350 posts

a new wii remote controller cost around rm150. think its a pretty good deal.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 01:18 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 12:25 PM)
how much areyou getting a unmodded set?

i find one lyn selling unmodded u.s. set plus additional remote & nunchuck for RM1000.. (suppose to be rm1050 but nego till rm1000)

Can anyone tell me it a good deal or not for RM1000?
got to know that US version wii can only play US games and cannot play japanese games. If i buy an original wii, how can i make a original wii multireqion so that i can play japanese games. Does this means i have to modded the original wii to play wii?????

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 01:18 PM
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 01:18 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 01:03 PM)
why eh? do let me know. rm1000 for original wii u.s. set plus addtional controller too good to be true?
or they give me 3rd party accesories?

tell la...
where do u get that price? im finding wii myself, can really find a good deal wii us version @_@

Added on January 12, 2010, 1:20 pm
QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 01:18 PM)
got to know that US version wii can only play US games and cannot play japanese games. If i buy an original wii, how can i make a original wii multireqion so that i can play japanese games. Does this means i have to modded the original wii to play wii?????
i dun think u will play japs game much due to its japs tongue.gif

but if u know japs language then =/

This post has been edited by viledante: Jan 12 2010, 01:20 PM
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 01:31 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 01:18 PM)
where do u get that price? im finding wii myself, can really find a good deal wii us version @_@

Added on January 12, 2010, 1:20 pm
i dun think u will play japs game much due to its japs tongue.gif

but if u know japs language then =/
I cannot say i'm good at japanese language but simple japanese i still can understand. Cos got learn before.i found the taiko tatsujin (drum games) very interesting and my kids love this games very much.

How to get an original wii play multireqion. i want play original US and japanese games but not pirated.

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 02:00 PM
Kyoyagami
post Jan 12 2010, 03:41 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I am alive!!!

Now, to stop my spam, I'd say that education is way important than saving a few bucks. Trust me, you should spend a little extra just for education.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 04:22 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 12 2010, 03:41 PM)
I am alive!!!

Now, to stop my spam, I'd say that education is way important than saving a few bucks. Trust me, you should spend a little extra just for education.
sorry if i ask something wrong that not suppose to be. it not the matter of money of saving few buck. i'm just want to know it can wii be multiregion. if multiregion is a modded wii then of course i will not modded it.

Just like to play japanese games but if cannot then no choice lor. just want to clarified it only.

PhoenixByte
post Jan 12 2010, 04:54 PM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

i tot evohan is still selling his unmodded US wii with free games n accessories for RM550.

Dia dah jual ke vile? last i checked the sale never close.

Added on January 12, 2010, 4:56 pmoh yeah..i found his sales thread:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1039334&hl=

u cant get more reasonable than this.

Added on January 12, 2010, 4:58 pmn it's directed to vile since he said cannot find any deal tongue.gif

This post has been edited by PhoenixByte: Jan 12 2010, 04:58 PM
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 04:58 PM

414 posts

yes its a good deal indeed, but its like 2yo lol. and I wan a new 1 =/
PhoenixByte
post Jan 12 2010, 04:59 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 04:58 PM)
yes its a good deal indeed, but its like 2yo lol. and I wan a new 1 =/
eleh...unless u want modded one brows.gif
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 05:01 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 12 2010, 04:59 PM)
eleh...unless u want modded one  brows.gif
new + us version + mod + 2wiimote + 2nunchuk + budget below RM1050 include postage = wii

ok that specify what i wan tongue.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 12 2010, 05:03 PM

798 posts

haha see...nak yang mod tongue.gif
i tot u sapot ori all the way biggrin.gif
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 05:06 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:01 PM)
new + us version + mod + 2wiimote + 2nunchuk + budget below RM1050 include postage = wii

ok that specify what i wan tongue.gif
i find lym member selling : new + us version + unmod + 2wiimote + 2nunchuk + RM1000 and no postage = wii

I'm buying this new set.

viledante

414 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 12 2010, 05:03 PM)
haha see...nak yang mod tongue.gif
i tot u sapot ori all the way biggrin.gif
wii for my parents
they bising game mahal sad.gif

QUOTE(LsChong @ Jan 12 2010, 05:06 PM)
i find lym member selling : new + us version + unmod + 2wiimote + 2nunchuk +  RM1000 and no postage = wii

I'm buying this new set.
link please.
TSLsChong

100 posts

i find lym member selling : new + us version + unmod + 2wiimote + 2nunchuk +  RM1000 and no postage = wii

I'm buying this new set.
i will support ori wii.

Added on January 12, 2010, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:06 PM)
wii for my parents
they bising game mahal sad.gif
link please.
my sweet talk manage to get ths price. smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1120863&hl=wii

wa...ur parents play wii. so update leh..

This post has been edited by LsChong: Jan 12 2010, 05:10 PM
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 05:12 PM

414 posts

my sweet talk manage to get ths price. smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1120863&hl=wii

wa...ur parents play wii. so update leh..
thanks, will look on it.

nah, they dunno much about wii, just wanna gips them to play games tongue.gif
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 05:15 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:12 PM)
thanks, will look on it.

nah, they dunno much about wii, just wanna gips them to play games tongue.gif
so u going buy original wii? I dunno how much is the modded. never ask.
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 05:18 PM

414 posts

by original u meant US ?
yup i wan US version.
TSLsChong
post Jan 12 2010, 05:23 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:18 PM)
by original u meant US ?
yup i wan US version.
is its a US version. Orginal unmodded. They also got modded US version modded but dunno how much. never ask.
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 05:24 PM

414 posts

well actually i wan modded =/

now im waiting for bernard to reply me. see if he got US modded or not.
Abie.C
post Jan 12 2010, 05:28 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:24 PM)
well actually i wan modded =/

now im waiting for bernard to reply me. see if he got US modded or not.
i did ask bernard but he told me he dun have US modded. Why you want US modded? same as korean modded set ma...? Any difference?
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 05:54 PM

414 posts

he dun have? D:
yes there are difference. hmm.gif
paige.pc
post Jan 12 2010, 05:57 PM

120 posts

Hihi Dante

Apa difference ?
Shop channel difference blink.gif
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 06:05 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(paige.pc @ Jan 12 2010, 05:57 PM)
Hihi Dante

Apa difference ?
Shop channel difference  blink.gif
if u follow this thread u will see. as the other member mention.
anyway, i wan my manual in US and US wii sport tongue.gif

paige.pc
post Jan 12 2010, 06:10 PM

120 posts

Oooo
wii usa set original unmodded rm 890.00 < from the Bangsar playtime
viledante
post Jan 12 2010, 06:11 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(paige.pc @ Jan 12 2010, 06:10 PM)
Oooo
wii usa set original unmodded rm 890.00 < from the Bangsar playtime
goodie !
powerfulcool
post Jan 12 2010, 06:47 PM

179 posts

i can easilly soft mod my wii.. u should try it too. having you original games saved into the HDD for easy loading through USB Loader GX is awesome. of course, you can play backup games too but whatever suits your boot.
Abie.C
post Jan 12 2010, 07:33 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 12 2010, 05:54 PM)
he dun have? D:
yes there are difference. hmm.gif
mind expain what is the difference. for modded US sets and korean set? here never mention US modded set are good?
LostWanderer
post Jan 12 2010, 11:01 PM

315 posts

the wii's aren't exactly the same as US has a gamecube drive

it's also generally safer to perform a system update too...so, yea (no 003 error)

otherwise...they are built the same...but korea wii's are cheaper...cause it's korea i guess?
Abie.C
post Jan 12 2010, 11:06 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(LostWanderer @ Jan 12 2010, 11:01 PM)
the wii's aren't exactly the same as US has a gamecube drive

it's also generally safer to perform a system update too...so, yea (no 003 error)

otherwise...they are built the same...but korea wii's are cheaper...cause it's korea i guess?
does that means US modded set are better than korean modded set?
LostWanderer
post Jan 13 2010, 07:24 AM

315 posts

there is no "better" i guess...cause it's the same hardware...but it's just lacking of the game cube drive

unless you have a gamecube collection, then i suppose it will be better for you to buy a US modded set

there are also the internet shop access, weather forecast channel, etc...which only can be access with the US wii...

otherwise, a korean wii in malaysia will do...unless you are one person who will attempt to perform a system update on your wii...either intentionally or unintentionally...XD...oh and also, if you don't want to learn on how to softmod your wii, a US modded wii will be safer than a korean modded...but it's still modded...get me?
ramz
post Jan 13 2010, 08:00 AM

21,350 posts

so, if u don't want to learn about mod, then unmodded>modded US >modded korean.

modded US also u need to learn about modding, coz u will still need to update via backdoor when when the time comes to update. but it is less prone to bricking. for example 4.2 firmware update on the korean modded will brick, but 4.2 fireware update on the us modded will not brick, it will only remove homebrew and such.
viledante
post Jan 13 2010, 08:25 AM

414 posts

hmm.gif just wondering, the wii will include wii sport, and the wii sport box is the standard wii game box or the paper case? cause i saw couple of unboxing, some got standard wii game box, some just paper case. or its just random ?
ramz
post Jan 13 2010, 08:33 AM

21,350 posts

wii sports is just a standard paper case. with no labels. the wii sport label is on the disc itself. that is for us wii la. other region i dono.
viledante
post Jan 13 2010, 08:51 AM

414 posts

i don't remember which region izit, but i do saw it at youtube on unboxing video about last year, will try to search around.
Kyoyagami
post Jan 13 2010, 09:08 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Its either u watched a:

Wii Sports Resort being unboxed.
Wii Sports from another country.
viledante
post Jan 13 2010, 09:12 AM

414 posts

found it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8VLiDcCC0QY&feature=fvsr

Added on January 13, 2010, 9:13 am
QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 13 2010, 09:08 AM)
Its either u watched a:

Wii Sports Resort being unboxed.
Wii Sports from another country.
Wii Sports Resort being unboxed. no cause its a bundle inside the wii
Wii Sports from another country. as in what country?

This post has been edited by viledante: Jan 13 2010, 09:13 AM
yangkuo
post Jan 13 2010, 09:18 AM

90 posts

PAL region Wii (UK/AUS) was delivered in DVD game case although it was also a pack-in game with every new console.

JPN region Wii Sports was NOT a pack-in game with console and obviously was sold in normal DVD game case.

QUOTE(viledante @ Jan 13 2010, 08:51 AM)
i don't remember which region izit, but i do saw it at youtube on unboxing video about last year, will try to search around.
This post has been edited by yangkuo: Jan 13 2010, 09:20 AM
viledante
post Jan 13 2010, 09:22 AM

414 posts

oh, pal.
thanks for the info smile.gif
Abie.C
post Jan 13 2010, 09:26 AM

117 posts

compare to US modded and korean modded. US modded is better than Korean. how about Japan Modded wii? I seldom see modded japan selling in m'sia.
Dragonflyz
post Jan 13 2010, 10:27 AM

239 posts

Before there was Korean, there was Japan~!
Abie.C
post Jan 13 2010, 10:31 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Dragonflyz @ Jan 13 2010, 10:27 AM)
Before there was Korean, there was Japan~!
then why no nore japan in the market. only korean and US. Japan set no good?
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2010, 10:33 AM

798 posts

japan set good..can play jap game biggrin.gif

i own the jap wii smile.gif
ramz
post Jan 13 2010, 10:33 AM

21,350 posts

coz japan modded is in japanese. not many malaysian can read japanese i think. if u want to make a japanese console english, then it same case as a korean modded wii (that's why we call it transexual wii).

but really la, this modmod thingy just leave it to the mod enthusiast. judging from your questions i'm sure u not a mod enthusiast. for normal people like u and me just buy unmodded la. mod enthusiast make modding their hobby, so they don't mind spending time to learn and tinker. for the rest of us, let's just play the games!
Abie.C
post Jan 13 2010, 10:34 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 13 2010, 10:33 AM)
japan set good..can play jap game biggrin.gif

i own the jap wii smile.gif
urs is original japan wii or modded japan wii. ur can play US games?

my brother is in japan. He told me now original japan Wii is selling at rm750.

Added on January 13, 2010, 10:40 am
QUOTE(ramz @ Jan 13 2010, 10:33 AM)
coz japan modded is in japanese. not many malaysian can read japanese i think. if u want to make a japanese console english, then it same case as a korean modded wii (that's why we call it transexual wii).

but really la, this modmod thingy just leave it to the mod enthusiast. judging from your questions i'm sure u not a mod enthusiast. for normal people like u and me just buy unmodded la. mod enthusiast make modding their hobby, so they don't mind spending time to learn and tinker. for the rest of us, let's just play the games!
ic..now i know what you mean.

This post has been edited by Abie.C: Jan 13 2010, 10:42 AM
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2010, 10:51 AM

798 posts

if u want more mod..if u just want to play game...just stick to the region that'll have the most games that u will like.

FYI...it's been a while since i turn on my wii even though it's modded n can play multi region smile.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jan 13 2010, 10:52 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

From Business point of view, the japan set is more expensive than the korean set. That's why.
Abie.C
post Jan 13 2010, 11:12 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jan 13 2010, 10:52 AM)
From Business point of view, the japan set is more expensive than the korean set. That's why.
thought of buying a japan wii since my brother in japan. but after reconsider mmm...better buy here.
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2010, 12:04 PM

798 posts

better buy locally from a trusted seller nearest to u..anything happen u can return it back to the shop.
gundamalpha
post Jan 13 2010, 12:06 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 13 2010, 12:04 PM)
better buy locally from a trusted seller nearest to u..anything happen u can return it back to the shop.
The nearest was just a post above him laugh.gif
PhoenixByte
post Jan 13 2010, 12:21 PM

798 posts

who knows maybe he is closer to cineleisure tongue.gif
gundamalpha
post Jan 13 2010, 12:23 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Jan 13 2010, 12:21 PM)
who knows maybe he is closer to cineleisure tongue.gif
Going to tell kyo you shoo his potential customers mad.gif
Abie.C
post Jan 13 2010, 12:24 PM

117 posts

i work near damansara heights. bangsar is nearest to my office but i stay in sg. buloh think oneU or the curve is nearest to me. wink.gif
penman
post Jan 13 2010, 07:17 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Abie.C @ Jan 13 2010, 12:24 PM)
i work near damansara heights. bangsar is nearest to my office but i stay in sg. buloh think oneU or the curve is nearest to me. wink.gif
seriously... as many mentioned.

Get ORI US Wii+Ori Wii Games from a trustable trader (we have a few reputable trader - Kyoyagami is 1, who does delivery on COD terms)

- you won't need to worry your wii bricked;
- anything happen to your wii, it's easier for you to sort out the warranty;
TSLsChong
post Jan 15 2010, 10:52 PM

100 posts

I already bought the US orignal wii plus additional remote and nunchuck for RM1000.

0.0390sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:29 AM