On-screen Keyboard App for androids
TSvermins
Jan 11 2010, 08:43 PM, updated 16y ago

Been looking around to get a new phone myself and a bit new on the smartphones scene. From what I've tried out, including iPhones and all the popular touchscreen phones. Their on-screen keyboard really... fails. Its EASY to mishit a wrong button making text messaging and typing really really slow. I've read a little and theres some mention of a keyboard app of sorts you could download which is much better then the default one. So my question is, what is this app or whatever called? And how much better and easier is it to type with it? And does it completely replace the default one on all the apps and etc? Added on January 12, 2010, 3:31 pmNo one has a problem with typing on the on-screen keyboard? This post has been edited by vermins: Jan 12 2010, 03:31 PM
puteh
Jan 24 2010, 05:51 PM

I am using an on screen keyboard apps called Shapewriter works like a charm
This post has been edited by puteh: Jan 24 2010, 05:54 PM
SUSLYW
Jan 30 2010, 04:06 PM

then dun use a touch screen phone. iphone and blackberry has the best onscreen keyboards. dun like it, go use a hardware keyboard
mikeeeee
Jan 30 2010, 08:51 PM
i'm currently using SWYPE ... pretty fun and accurate too ...
looks like its similar to shapewriter
ak47d
Mar 1 2010, 08:42 PM

Swype rocks... it has weened me off the hardkeyboard
Ndrew
Mar 2 2010, 08:41 PM

swype huh? ok i'll give it a try.. hehe, for me the iphone keyboard is the best i've used so far, very easy to use, after a while u'll get used to the keyboard... simple and efficient...
oneeleven
Mar 3 2010, 07:16 PM
Hi, I posted this on a Milestone thread: "Discovered HTC style "Touch" keyboard which re-enables 9 digit phone keypad. http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/47...es-htc_ime.htmlThe hi-res version with prediction seems to suit my wide thumbs better because it even calibrates itself to your finger presses. I have been using ShapeWriter pretty well, but might give it up for this. Feels like taking a step backward in keyboard technology though." After two days' trial, this feels like the best one so far! 111
faridaizuddin
Mar 5 2010, 01:12 PM
QUOTE(oneeleven @ Mar 3 2010, 07:16 PM) Hi, I posted this on a Milestone thread: "Discovered HTC style "Touch" keyboard which re-enables 9 digit phone keypad. http://androidforums.com/motorola-droid/47...es-htc_ime.htmlThe hi-res version with prediction seems to suit my wide thumbs better because it even calibrates itself to your finger presses. I have been using ShapeWriter pretty well, but might give it up for this. Feels like taking a step backward in keyboard technology though." After two days' trial, this feels like the best one so far! 111 Available on Tattoo bro??
oneeleven
Mar 6 2010, 05:47 AM
QUOTE(ak47d @ Mar 1 2010, 08:42 PM) Swype rocks... it has weened me off the hardkeyboard Info JIC: Shapewriter (free in Market) is something like Swype (which I can't find for Android?) Slider qwerty keyboard in the Milestone takes getting used to  but good for moving situations like transport. It has useful directional rocker where touchscreen usually has no directional arrows Now I'm convinced the HTC (9 digit, not qwerty) is best for me for normal use. @Farid : Sorry, I'm new to Android too. How do you change keyboards in the Tattoo? You'll have to check Tattoo forums for advice. Maybe you can try the same procedure and see if it installs. Seems like previous link doesn't work. Try this: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=624416111 This post has been edited by oneeleven: Mar 6 2010, 06:12 AM
enlothien
Mar 8 2010, 10:45 AM