Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Fake Memory cards for PSP and HP~, How to tell which is ori~:)

meetxj9
post Jan 10 2010, 03:42 AM, updated 16y ago

187 posts

It was brought to my attention that alot of people still don't know that fake memory cards exist~ smile.gif In my sale thread alot of guys told me they can get theirs for RM 75 for 8GB new one but its a fake. I have experiance it before so i know how to check.

Go to GAME, Memory, then click on the TRIANGLE button to bring up information, click on information. If you card says:-

Magicgate - supported -then it is an ori

Magicgate -uknown or anything else - you have just been conned.

I was cheated before when i bought a memory stick from Digital mall, Be carefull guys because they will try to sell you a fake for original price. The store is located just after you come up the escalator to your right. These guys are conman's, don't buy from them without checking.

Yes, alot of guys are selling FAKE microsd cards aswell. Here is how you tell if its fake. But you can only do it before you buy it.

- Before you buy the card, always ask the fella to show you 5-10 other cards.

- Look at the serial number on the card, if all the cards have the same serial number then ITS A FAKE!!!.

This post has been edited by meetxj9: Jan 10 2010, 05:01 AM
corallinkz
post Jan 10 2010, 04:34 AM

1,387 posts

thanks for the usefull info. is there any ways to check the card on phone?
meetxj9
post Jan 10 2010, 05:00 AM

187 posts

hahaha this one is an easy one!!

Yes, alot of guys are selling FAKE microsd cards aswell. Here is how you tell if its fake. But you can only do it before you buy it.

- Before you buy the card, always ask the fella to show you 5-10 other cards.

- Look at the serial number on the card, if all the cards have the same serial number then ITS A FAKE!!!.

There you go~ brows.gif
Calex
post Jan 11 2010, 05:34 PM

Yaeba meta
1,736 posts

Another way is to see the packaging =)

The original memory sticks come with Memory Stick adapters. The fake ones don't =.=

Its obvious to be honest. Much easier way right? biggrin.gif
Mil0
post Jan 11 2010, 07:51 PM

20 posts

^fake one aso got Memory Stick adapters
visionlag
post Feb 18 2010, 09:52 PM

Read this guide, tells you all:

http://reviews.ebay.com/FAKE-Sony-Memory-S...000000001236041
thEM...
post May 7 2011, 12:15 PM

I see... that's why its a cheapo..
Raymond6
post Jun 29 2011, 11:46 PM

86 posts

But some although its different serial number also its fake.
adhoc
post Jun 30 2011, 11:01 AM

5 Star Trader
1,384 posts

How about the performance of the card. Can we identify weather its fake from performance?
Vort3X
post Jun 30 2011, 11:08 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(adhoc @ Jun 30 2011, 11:01 AM)
How about the performance of the card. Can we identify weather its fake from performance?
From my experience, fake PSP mem card, if u take it out from the PSP to load games, when u insert it back in, sometimes the PSP wont be able to read the card contents. Then u'll have to remove the card, reformat it using laptop, then insert it again, format using psp, then transfer data using cable. My solution: never remove it from the psp. Use cable to transfer any data. Fake mem cards oso hav noticeably slower reading speeds too.
adhoc
post Jun 30 2011, 11:42 AM

5 Star Trader
1,384 posts

QUOTE(Vort3X @ Jun 30 2011, 11:08 AM)
From my experience, fake PSP mem card, if u take it out from the PSP to load games, when u insert it back in, sometimes the PSP wont be able to read the card contents. Then u'll have to remove the card, reformat it using laptop, then insert it again, format using psp, then transfer data using cable. My solution: never remove it from the psp. Use cable to transfer any data. Fake mem cards oso hav noticeably slower reading speeds too.
I suspect mine is fake coz i bought it very cheap at sg. wang plaza but so far it works fine, maybe like you say have slower reading speeds only.

This post has been edited by adhoc: Jun 30 2011, 11:43 AM
locksng12
post Jul 25 2011, 10:14 PM

279 posts

Best way to not buy fakes is just go to a big reputation camera store and request for one.
Though not all camera store has it.

0.0191sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:23 AM