Why people say Beer helps cool your body?
SUSadvocado
Jan 8 2010, 09:53 PM, updated 16y ago
Well Beer is alcoholic drink and alcohol makes our body warm. So why many uncle and boozers say drinking chilled beer during hot days are the best & cools the body & that they are Western's version of Herbal Tea?
I personally hate Beer due to the amout of gas they carry.
This post has been edited by advocado: Jan 8 2010, 09:54 PM
zeist
Jan 8 2010, 10:34 PM
Wahahahaha, reminds me of this fella always order Anchor Ice. He claimed that this can help him to chill. Beer is served cold, of course when you drink, you feel cooling la.
Just drink iced water for cooling.
Pain_37
Jan 8 2010, 10:38 PM

ya,beer actually cool our body....
but not good for our liver lo...
This post has been edited by Pain_37: Jan 8 2010, 10:38 PM
leongal
Jan 8 2010, 10:43 PM
drinking excessive beer leads to big belly
~Curious~
Jan 9 2010, 01:31 PM
lol i heard oso.chinese old people like to say beer is gwai lou leong cha.I think coz it makes you pee more,thus the water carries away your body heat.I'm not sure about this,can anyone correct me?
yeezai
Jan 10 2010, 02:16 PM
yea i have beer when i feel im going to fever ...but not sure whether it works for everyone...
C-Note
Jan 11 2010, 12:34 AM
Herbal tea? nutritional? beer?
Visualize
Jan 11 2010, 01:29 AM
Isn't it the last thing that will cool the body?
skippro
Jan 11 2010, 04:56 AM
all this cooling/heaty ying/yang ching/chong is just chinese nonsense.
Jyou
Jan 11 2010, 08:51 AM

I thought beer warms you up, cause last time I remember holidaying in Beijing during winter, they served beer with all their meals :S
~Curious~
Jan 11 2010, 02:42 PM
i tot is wine that warms your body??
sweet_pez
Jan 11 2010, 02:53 PM
何を見ているの
Alcohol usually warms body up, esp spirits. Westerners take Brandy (or similar drinks) in extreme coldness to warm themselves up. As for beer... it's an alcohol so I guess it does warm you unless you drink it cold
pizzaboy
Jan 11 2010, 11:32 PM
Weightlifters in Russia and Bulgaria and China take alcohol after training sometimes, when they have a hard time sleeping (due to extreme over-training but still have to train)
Joey Christensen
Jan 12 2010, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 8 2010, 09:53 PM) Well Beer is alcoholic drink and alcohol makes our body warm. So why many uncle and boozers say drinking chilled beer during hot days are the best & cools the body & that they are Western's version of Herbal Tea? I personally hate Beer due to the amout of gas they carry. It's just a mere saying. Regards, Joey
dream.angels
Jan 14 2010, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(leongal @ Jan 8 2010, 10:43 PM) drinking excessive beer leads to big belly  i heard tat u actually dun get a big belly from drinking beer alone.. d big belly is caused by d snacks, peanuts, etc.. tat u always take when u go for beer.. apparently, if u drink beer alone, then u wont get big belly.. cos i know of frens, who dun haf a big belly/belly... n they always drink beer...
ETEAM TRADING
Jan 14 2010, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(advocado @ Jan 8 2010, 09:53 PM) Well Beer is alcoholic drink and alcohol makes our body warm. So why many uncle and boozers say drinking chilled beer during hot days are the best & cools the body & that they are Western's version of Herbal Tea? I personally hate Beer due to the amout of gas they carry. yes, is time u gonna practice drink more, later during ur wedding sure "knock down" by those uncle uncle... LOL
SUSslimey
Jan 14 2010, 06:14 PM
in terms of science, as long as you consume something that is of lower temperature than your body, heat is transferred to it hence temporarily cooling the body. the reason you look reddish and feel hot after drinking alcoholic drink is that there is dilation of skin vessels hence heat is brought to the surface of skin making you feel hot. in actual fact, the core temperature actually drops. so drinking lots of alcoholic drinks in very cold weather can be deadly.
as for beer belly, beer is high in calories and excess calories in the body is stored as fat and hence the beer belly.
CarroTT
Jan 14 2010, 09:25 PM
probably beer itself causes ur body mechanism to cool down a bit i feel cooler too after having beer
safari_gal80
Jan 15 2010, 09:41 PM
I tried. Drinking cold beer does makes my body cools down
leyley
Jan 15 2010, 09:47 PM
Beer is the most widely consumed alcoholic beverage and the third most popular drink overall after water and tea.