Enquiries/Recommendations Acer Aspire 5740G-524G50 New! Rm 2999. Worth it?, Core i5-520M, 512MB HD 5470, 4GB, 500GB.
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 05:27 PM
only doubt is ati hd 5470..dunno how good it is..but notebookcheck rank it a class 2 card. thus... @ RM2999... no need to think anymore bro!! Super bargain~
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(Borsch Soup @ Jan 8 2010, 05:36 PM) Yes it is real, got it from website. But Dell Studio 15 using HD 4570 already rm 3799. lolz what website???
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 06:05 PM
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 10:26 PM
QUOTE(defectivelasagna @ Jan 8 2010, 09:44 PM) is that for real? that's crazy rm3k for those specs? =O but then again it's acer...im worried for the brand itself i am (still) a owner for Acer over 4 years... one thing i REGRET til today..is... in 4 years.... NOTHING happened no matter how long i open it to download bt/botting online game... NEVER entered service center for FOUR years... i regret i wasted 298 for the 3 years warranty... but then...seriously...brand only mattered when ur preference...is important to have a laptop that you love~
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 10:37 PM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Jan 8 2010, 10:27 PM) info on the 5470. it is supposed to beat 4570 this sounds like a fantasy, i5, 4gb ram, 5470 in a 3k machine opps sry http://www.notebookcheck.net/ATI-Mobility-...70.23698.0.htmli dont get why people say acer is such a bad brand. mine lasted 3 years. or is it because im a girl? no matter if u are a gal la... i am a rough user...and my acer is really torn... and still running without problem..sigh....warranty is wasted... only thing is the hdd seems like about to retire... after 4 years of non stopping torrent and game playing....
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 10:45 PM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Jan 8 2010, 10:39 PM) most acers utilize AMD, so overgaming causes heat problems. i only game less than 3 hours a day, and i dont ven use a cooler. IMO, it's how you interpret "laptop gaming" as viable on t2600 ati x1400 running granado espada ~20 hrs for 5 days, about 3 months... no problem ever happened...
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 8 2010, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 8 2010, 10:39 PM) LoL.. go get a new one..  Buying warranty doesnt seem neccesary anyway.. i got my 3 years for free still got 2 years +++ to go.. LoL gotten a new one~see my siggy~ next one should be compaq...then dell...haha...
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 9 2010, 02:32 AM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 8 2010, 10:39 PM) LoL.. go get a new one..  Buying warranty doesnt seem neccesary anyway.. i got my 3 years for free still got 2 years +++ to go.. LoL gotten a new one~see my siggy~ next one should be compaq...then dell...haha...
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 9 2010, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(i7xQTi @ Jan 8 2010, 10:59 PM) 3 months is quite short to test the hypothesis. plus is depends on the laptop as being work oriented or media oriented. most importantly, is it acer? yes it is
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 13 2010, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(verdangilte @ Jan 13 2010, 06:12 AM) lol if we dun care about warranty , then still worth or dell 15 better ? put aside warranty, why would u buy a dell?
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 13 2010, 12:13 PM
QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Jan 13 2010, 11:57 AM) Technically, people do tend to "buy" the warranty too, so to speak. For instance, if the Acer being discussed here were to be sold for RM2500 albeit with no warranty, would you make the purchase? while acer warranty is standard, and when we buy acer's we wont expect much more from their warranty then their awesome spec... Dell is different as one purchase the item, would expect exceptional support and service. Support as being the point for buying a Dell, for Acer its warranty is all about insurance for the hardware, dont you agree?
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 13 2010, 02:53 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 13 2010, 12:15 PM) the weird thing is i have a friend who dropped his 6935g and i forgot what didnt work.. Highpoint Service exchanged the parts and back to normal LoL.. I wonder what is that? Do they include accidental damage? He did told the manager he dropped it by accident.. In 3 days its back new even replaced the damaged case.. Im guessing the manager just tried to please him.. as i recall acer extended warranty doesnt have accidental damage covered.. But they did state Parts and Labour warranty.. So maybe the service centre claimed it as "normal damage" lol.. used for 4 year b4 i got my new s42..never claim warranty..so dunno... but accidental damage should be reviewed case by case basis... i trust if the damage is fixable then the service center would be too hard on customer la...
wanttobuylaptop
Jan 13 2010, 03:20 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Jan 13 2010, 03:00 PM) Unless it is in unfixable means nid whole set replacement issue i guess LoL.. Then this will not be covered  yaya if i am the service center i also wont help u replace de...