QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 9 2010, 02:13 AM)
why cant use lcd?Pioneer Kuro PDP-428XG/508XG, Is it still being sold?
Pioneer Kuro PDP-428XG/508XG, Is it still being sold?
Jan 9 2010, 11:22 AM
4,865 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM
293 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 11:06 AM) Desa HT sells 508XG at 8800 and KRP500A at RM13K. For 428XG, it's been discontinued but if you still can get new at RM4.5K or less, grab it. I paid full price at RM6999 more than a year ago. The picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. Flagship AV in Kepong has full range Kuros and gives best deal also. |
Jan 9 2010, 11:54 AM
1,042 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Mars |
QUOTE(putih @ Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM) Desa HT sells 508XG at 8800 and KRP500A at RM13K. For 428XG, it's been discontinued but if you still can get new at RM4.5K or less, grab it. I paid full price at RM6999 more than a year ago. The picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. Flagship AV in Kepong has full range Kuros and gives best deal also. The only thing that's stopping me from getting it at this very moment is the fact that it's not Full HD. I am planning on using it for BD movies and I sit 6 feet from the tv (because it's gonna be in my bedroom). Do you think the resolution makes a difference in my case? |
Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM
902 posts Joined: Apr 2009 From: Feel like i'm in Mars |
Display unit or not, oklaaa. Even not full HD, its fantastic. i want one myself.
Jan 9 2010, 01:08 PM
1,042 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Mars |
QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM) Display unit? Don't want la, if that's the case I'll go for the Panny 42" G10. But other places also might be selling at 4.5k so I think it's not a display set.By the way, has anyone made comparisons between the 428XG and the Pana TH-P42G10K? I am actually torn between the two. Can someone give me their input? Here are the specs for the Panny: Panasonic Viera TH-P42G10K Specs |
Jan 9 2010, 01:28 PM
9,206 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 9 2010, 12:47 PM) 428, it's not even proper 720p HD.. dun waste your time on this la unless you firmly SD or DVD camp.. maybe 3years ago is fine without much 720p/1080i/p content, but not now.. with BDs and B'yond Astro |
Jan 9 2010, 06:29 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 11:54 AM) The only thing that's stopping me from getting it at this very moment is the fact that it's not Full HD. I am planning on using it for BD movies and I sit 6 feet from the tv (because it's gonna be in my bedroom). Do you think the resolution makes a difference in my case? 6 feet I think 50inch might be larger than life...Anyway, it put inside bedroom remember to install at a very slanting angle...if not neck and eyes pain |
Jan 9 2010, 06:38 PM
235 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
read somewhere that g10 black is on par or nearest to 8g pioneer. full hd too..
as per fellow forummers said, if you into BD then its FullHD. if you're astro/dvd then 428xg is among the best if you dont mind spending 4k+... g10k is around 4.5-5k nowadays right? |
Jan 9 2010, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(putih @ Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM) the picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. casually on the shop floor I also thing the 428 looks super great.. but then I start noticing jagged lines instead of clean diagonal lines on fonts and logo and objects during demo and movie scenes, can pixel structure.. too distracting for my tastes.. so I cannot agree it's even better than a full HD S10 which is lowest costs at 3k.. ,if it can't resolve even half of the blu ray resolution... it's like playing 720p PS3 games on composite 480i output instead of HD HDMI connection.. it just doesn't cut it.. Added on January 9, 2010, 9:27 pm QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 11:22 AM) read the response to the post below again.."but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies." so it means plasma is not recommended over LCD/LED.. sure or not? This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 9 2010, 09:27 PM |
Jan 9 2010, 09:54 PM
397 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
First time saw the 508XG. Despite not Full HD, I speechless, the picture quality so real and awesome and with '3D' feel. BTW, found one shop is clearing the Display Set for RM7999 (comes with 5 yrs warranty). Really itchy liao... Is this a worth buy for 8th Gen display? Is there any 50" TV comes close to the 508XG's PQ for $8k?
Jan 9 2010, 10:00 PM
508 should be ok.. seen mpyw's one many times, very good!..
Jan 9 2010, 10:02 PM
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 9 2010, 09:25 PM) read the response to the post below again.. donno coz im not the one who said that. for me it's a matter of personal preference. i prefer lcd over plasma but im not saying lcd is better "but do pick LED or LCD display device , if you often watch Bluray movies." so it means plasma is not recommended over LCD/LED.. sure or not? |
Jan 9 2010, 10:10 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Jan 9 2010, 10:02 PM) donno coz im not the one who said that. for me it's a matter of personal preference. i prefer lcd over plasma but im not saying lcd is better I'm merely answering your question on why I said that (cos someone suggest LCD/LED).. not whether I'm interested to know if you prefer LCD or plasma.. |
Jan 9 2010, 10:19 PM
Jan 9 2010, 11:12 PM
Jan 9 2010, 11:34 PM
Jan 10 2010, 12:00 AM
Jan 10 2010, 12:08 AM
113 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: KL/PJ |
QUOTE(putih @ Jan 9 2010, 11:25 AM) Desa HT sells 508XG at 8800 and KRP500A at RM13K. For 428XG, it's been discontinued but if you still can get new at RM4.5K or less, grab it. I paid full price at RM6999 more than a year ago. The picture is just phenomenal for 42inch considering it's rez is only 1024x768. It's still better looking than most FulHD plasma today. Flagship AV in Kepong has full range Kuros and gives best deal also. just got mine a couple weeks back.. DesaHT, go see Chin.. can get better price than that but it was a cash deal tho.. 428XG and 508XG is HDReady but pic quality is still superb.. saw the latter at mpyw.. watching animation really give you that wow factor..QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Jan 9 2010, 01:08 PM) Display unit? Don't want la, if that's the case I'll go for the Panny 42" G10. But other places also might be selling at 4.5k so I think it's not a display set. someone said if display pun, just get it.. kinda agree with him.. but nego further la.. you know, 428XG really extinct oredi.. kinda like collector's item oredi.. heheh.. even 508XG is running out.. you notice how you see used panny/samsung/sony/other always appearing on mudah for sale.. ever see a pioneer TV? i know none coz been monitoring for some time.. ANYWAYS, you go la bring your favorite bluray go to your favorite shop and ask them to play d bluray on d G10 and 8XGs.. let your eyes decide..By the way, has anyone made comparisons between the 428XG and the Pana TH-P42G10K? I am actually torn between the two. Can someone give me their input? Here are the specs for the Panny: Panasonic Viera TH-P42G10K Specs some ppl questions pioneer PQ since HDready at 720p (or shd i say 768p).. i used panny's 42LZ80 FullHD and 42S10 FullHD.. then made a trip to mpyw's pad and watched a couple of MKV and bluray demo on his 508XG.. decided there and then, when i got me some moolah, will get me a kuro.. so when i got my kuro, watched kungfu panda.. feels like am watching it for the first time all over again.. this is coming from a panny guy with LZ80 fullHD and S10 fullHD.. still keep my LZ80.. always reminding me how the PQ upgrade justify the premium i had to pay.. Added on January 10, 2010, 12:18 am QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 9 2010, 09:54 PM) First time saw the 508XG. Despite not Full HD, I speechless, the picture quality so real and awesome and with '3D' feel. BTW, found one shop is clearing the Display Set for RM7999 (comes with 5 yrs warranty). Really itchy liao... Is this a worth buy for 8th Gen display? Is there any 50" TV comes close to the 508XG's PQ for $8k? i dun rep desaHT but fyi can get better than that price for New set from my sales guy at desaHT..re PQ, think if you wait a couple months.. i think by then there may be some models challenging the 508XG.. but owning a kuro for namesake, think that is irreplaceable.. thought of the panny P50V11 before pioneer krp500.. unfortunately, that one you have to smuggle from singapore la.. panny not bringing into malaysia.. panny's p54z1 is in malaysia BUT its too expensive.. 19k vs 12k.. This post has been edited by saprozeldo: Jan 10 2010, 12:18 AM |
Jan 10 2010, 05:47 AM
397 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 10 2010, 12:08 AM) i dun rep desaHT but fyi can get better than that price for New set from my sales guy at desaHT.. Bro, too bad i'm from north. Any idea how much is new set for 508XG @ Desa HT? re PQ, think if you wait a couple months.. i think by then there may be some models challenging the 508XG.. but owning a kuro for namesake, think that is irreplaceable.. thought of the panny P50V11 before pioneer krp500.. unfortunately, that one you have to smuggle from singapore la.. panny not bringing into malaysia.. panny's p54z1 is in malaysia BUT its too expensive.. 19k vs 12k.. |
Jan 10 2010, 08:36 AM
190 posts Joined: Jul 2009 |
| Change to: | 0.0255sec
5 queries
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:41 AM |