Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument
oneperson
Oct 9 2010, 09:44 AM
Hi I am new here, I am interested to learn Gu Zheng but i have no music background, cant speak chinese (banana) and also have no clue about Gu Zheng except that i heard it in Beijing and fell in love with the sound. I'm looking for a good place to start learning Gu Zheng in KL but have no clue. Thank god for lowyat.net  I just want to learn to play for my own, no ambition to be professional. Just like to play and hear the sound, it's beautiful. Any recommendations for Gu Zheng teachers/ classes? Best if it's accesible by lrt/komuter. I hate driving.. lol
oneperson
Oct 11 2010, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 11 2010, 11:18 AM) Wow, getting tired of proving info, eh  Oneperson, where are you located? I'm staying in Wangsa Maju. Thank you!
oneperson
Oct 11 2010, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 11 2010, 02:33 PM) Subang, The import price less shipping and handling is reasonable.  120/21 = 5.72. On average that is a the price of a lower end string (Dun Huang Brand too) at Petaling Street. Oneperson, I stay near Wanga Maju too. If you like I can give you details of my guzheng teacher. Dear Faceless, That would be great! Thank you so much.. May I know about the fees and also is it ok if i dont speak chinese?
oneperson
Oct 12 2010, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 12 2010, 09:03 AM) Oneperson, Seriously, if you dont speak chinese is a servere disadavantge. If you speak at least one of the major dialect (cantonese, hakka, hokkien) in Malaysia, it would only be a slight disadvantage depending on your vacabulary of the dialect you know. It would not be a major problem. In learning music, demostration becomes a universal language. Although we had an indian girl who could not understand the simple sign langual for "come here". Try not to be cynical about this. Waving the hand could be construed as a playing style.  I am just curious, what dialect do you speak, or your are a total banana? I will PM you some details later. Faceless, I know, it is really a disadvantage. I understand Mandarin but speaking is a whole different story.. I'm mixed actually - Chindian. The good mix usually speaks both Chinese & Indian. I'm the opposite, cant seem to excel in any..lol I've been reading the posts here about playing Gu Zheng and it seems a lil difficult even for pros like u and cassie. I'm worried if i can do this. I mean, not only that i dont understand the hokkien fish and prawn thingy, i also have absolute zero knowledge on music. Plus, sometimes i cant do one thing with two hands, how to do two things when my hands are not mine or when they turned to be two lefts?? It was really a good experience learning about Gu Zheng from all of you here, thank you so much for sharing.
oneperson
Oct 12 2010, 03:22 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 12 2010, 03:08 PM) I sure would love to, bro..  If I cant make it in KampungKUL then I should be shot.  I will reschedule everything away from next week. Wow, it look like I got to start selecting a song to train for competition. Cassie  Just say hi, okay. We miss you. Oneperson, I had PM you. By the way, these music instruments cant tell if you are red, yellow, black or white. They just serande when the human hands drive them. Musical notation is universal (uses 1,2,3 system). Faceless, I've PM you. See you on Sunday! OMG, i really cant believe that i'm actually gonna learn to play Gu Zheng! Thank you so much to all of you. Isnt it beautiful how music gets people together? Colours aside, here comes music..
oneperson
Oct 14 2010, 09:12 AM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 14 2010, 08:43 AM) Subang, I will join you. If you have not got the tickets get for me. At least can sit together. Oneperson, You want to join us? It will be a good exposure to chinese classical music. Looking at the title of the renditions, it will likely feature sounds of nautre (since you had run through the earlier posts, you should be are aware that chinese instrument mimicks the sound of nature). Now you get experience it or listen to it for yourself. Dear Faceless, Thank you for inviting me. I would love to join you and Subangman but i'm afraid that there wil be some transportation issue for me. Perhaps you and Subangman could write about it later here. At least i can read about it  Again, thank you so much to all of you for being so nice to a newbie like me. I'm still reading the history posts. Now i'm quite stucked on the discussion/ intelectual debate u were having with Cassie on chords and notations. Seriously, i felt like i'm reading some alien language. Cant understand a thing, lol. Makes me feel handicapped not knowing music. I wish my parents were as supporting as Subangman when i was litttle.. I wonder, am I too old to start learning music now? hmm..
oneperson
Oct 15 2010, 12:26 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 15 2010, 10:13 AM) Subang, It is okay since you already bought your tickets. Thanks for the offer. I pass by there 3 times a week. It wont be inconvient for me to get the tickets. In spite of passing by that often, I still dont know where is Taman Budaya. Being next to the PDRM Cawangan Traffic, it would not be hard to find (only two sides to look  ). Now I see your tiredness in the nursing job.  I wish I had a nurse when I need one. You can always ask the Allan guy again for a 9 Dan coach. To be a 少女琴魔, mei mei must journey to the land of brush strokes. Do a lot of medidation and eat a lot of protien to grow the extra thumb  Welcome StrawberryGirl, It is nice to have another guzheng fan join us here in guzheng-land. Age and race is no barrier. The main thing is the burining passion for the instrument. Faceless, I'm thinking of going too. I hope you havent bought the ticket..
oneperson
Oct 15 2010, 04:43 PM
QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 15 2010, 03:21 PM) No, not yet. I am waiting for your response since I invited you to go together. It is nice to know that you are a fan of chinese instruments. Too bad you cant make this concert. I will invite you the moment I hear about any concert with chinese instruments. Actually, MPO did the type of concert you mentioned again for this year. Subangman's daughter (whom we refer to mei mei in this thread) played the guzheng. Dont worry I will keep you posted in future. Ok, thanks.. We'll talk about that on Sunday.