im learning guzheng too smile.gif
be with this instrument for 3 years ady smile.gif
it's nice to meet guzheng lovers here smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 30 2010, 12:03 PM

23 posts

i read thru previous replies ...
subangman , u mz a typical music lover smile.gif
im sure that kids will have a memorable n great childhood if their parents are like u .. smile.gif

im hoping guzheng lovers here could share their learning n experiences ...
i practice quite alot .. but sometimes really do need some advices to improve my skill smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Apr 21 2010, 08:21 PM

23 posts

wow .. i have been away for quite a long time ...
anf this topic has plenty of replies ...
it took me hours to finish them ... haha ...
i stopped my guzheng class for 3 months ... due to the col exam T.T
and glad that i have started it again in april !! so excited .. smile.gif

btw .. thx to faceless for sharing info smile.gif
i will get some time to finish them smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Apr 22 2010, 12:37 AM

23 posts

dear faceless,
thx for offering helps, but i ady have a guzheng tongue.gif
i wish the guzheng experts can share their thoughts and experiences here ...
as i always got probs on some technical issues... sad.gif

i wonder ... why would u so familiar with guzheng stuff.. r u a guzheng teacher ?
i have numbers of questions to ask tongue.gif

btw ... i have quite a lots of music scores..
if anyone need it ... i can scan n post it here smile.gif
p/s: but mostly are some classic guzheng pieces smile.gif

This post has been edited by claire_freedom: Apr 22 2010, 12:38 AM
claire_freedom
post Apr 23 2010, 07:20 PM

23 posts

dear cassie,
i have no idea on which piece to be shared...
coz i have 2 books ... which are the syllabus of my guzheng class...and there are the same with the syllabus posted by subangman ...
and additionally i have another book, which contains some pieces that are not the syllabus...
u re welcomed to give me the title of the song u want ... smile.gif
i will find it from my books smile.gif
the score shared by faceless was in my book too tongue.gif
btw .. thx for explaining the key stuff. ..
i am quite confused with those keys ... sad.gif

dear faceless,
maybe i need ur help when i consider to get a new guzheng ... smile.gif
may i ask ... u stopped joining guzheng class ?

hope u guys do share some pieces ..
other than skills and technique ... i need some guidance on catch up the emotion with some pieces .. smile.gif

claire_freedom
post Apr 25 2010, 01:10 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 25 2010, 01:52 AM)
the cheapest way...utube guzheng.... thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
i always surf youtube for some great music icon_rolleyes.gif
oh ya ... here is one of the songs in the syallabus ...
i love this song very very much .. smile.gif
unfortunately this song is far beyond my level ..
cant learn it yet :S

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1aaZs6VhaM

claire_freedom
post Apr 26 2010, 05:06 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 26 2010, 09:28 AM)
Claire,
I am still taking guzheng lessons. I am wondering where to buy your 2 books? In my school every one plays for fun and had no intention of taking the exam. We had one basic book which was hand written by laoshi. After completing that book laoshi will give us peices to play. Going through book stores, I only manage to buy one book.

On emotion again. Let's see if I can use another angle. Let's use a happy song. I think you should have 凤阳花鼓. It is a very popular song and you should know the tune. You can pluck without emotions and it will sound flat (not out of tune, as long as you strike the right note it wont be out of tune). Think of how to play it more lifely (because this is the mood of the song). It is all about of how you touch the strings. Try to imaging the strings as a stage and your fingers as a balerina dancing gracefully on it. This balerina knows which steps to add power and which steps to glide lightly. Just let your fingers dance gracefully or playfully. Try it for a few bars first. Then get someone to listen to you playing flat and the other with feel. If they can hear they difference, you got it.
icic ... i get my books from my sifu smile.gif
i can get for u too if u want smile.gif
but it is kinda expensive o ... rm 80 each ...
but u have no intention to sit for the exam in the short term ...
u can consider to get urself a photocopy book smile.gif

i have 凤阳花鼓 in the book .. but my sifu skipped it :S
he skipped some songs in the book ...
instead... he would prefer we learn it on our own ...
as the tempo part would be ok for us ...

i feel like when im practising alone...
i could put more emotion on it ..
but when my teacher is beside me ... i will be a lil bit nervous sad.gif

but ur suggestions are great ... will have a try on it wink.gif
i have no idea on uploading vids ... otherwise i shall upload vids of my practice and share with u all smile.gif

This post has been edited by claire_freedom: Apr 26 2010, 05:10 PM
claire_freedom
post Apr 27 2010, 05:03 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 27 2010, 10:19 AM)
Claire,
Playing in laoshi presence is nerve wrecking. Although I had overcame stage fright since school days, I still panic when my loashi comes over. I just want to make it perfect so that he can give me a new peice to play. Now, I just don't care. I guess knowing that I had already aquired  all the skills listed in the exam book[COLOR=blue][SIZE=7] had given me a sense of accomplishment. No more new tricks to learn smile.gif Now is a question of how many classical piece I can play. That takes time. To play with feel you also need to know the story behind the song.

RM80 is really steep. I guess the teachers want to make some commission for selling the book too.

Actually, I am looking for one particular book. It is a collection of peices from different genes (Henan, Hokkien, Hakka, Teo Chew ...). One of my class mate had this book but it is a photocopy of photocopy book. Since you said you have lots classical pieces, I figure it may be this book. If I  could I prefer to buy original. Authors and publisher must make some money for their effort. If I still can't find that book, I will have to throw my conscience out of the window and photocopy it.

I see exam as expenses. There is no need to cough out money if you do not have intention to teach professionally. I am content with sharing my 1 sen experience for free.

Subang,
How much did you pay for mei mei's copy of the exam book? The exam book is not important to me. If it is reasonablly price it would be good to own it.
can u advise me on learning 'sao yao' ?
im stucked on sao yao ... so couldnt learn 'zhan tai feng' ... :'(
n currently learning a new piece ... ' qin shang qu' smile.gif

claire_freedom
post Apr 28 2010, 11:47 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 28 2010, 10:15 AM)
Claire,
Han Yu Pin Yin makes no sense to me. One sound has four tones and so many characters. Some even have 5 tones like nu 女. I tried to figure out the songs you mentioned but I cant make it out. Most likely I do not know those songs. As I told you my laoshi dont follow the syllabus. We can get 60s era songs or even children songs like 小白船. Post the pieces here. I will see if I can help. If you can tell me the mood and background story for the song, it would be better.

Subang,
Ahh, RM33 is more like it. Not only music books are cheaper but all books are cheaper. Cook book, DIY books ... That is why I love to buy chinese book. An english book on drawing manga cost RM70 (minimum), but chosen a similar book in chinese that cost me RM17. Amazing, isn't it. It really does not matter if you cant read because it is about drawing. Sunway Menatri again, eh. Subang area is confuse land to me. I can get in but dont know how to get out. It like I will have to go there one of these days. Can I impose a favour on you to get the exam book for me? We can meet up at the MPO on 12 May.
oppsss ... sorry that my pin yin confusing u ...
im learning 扫摇。。 smile.gif but it is hard for me to control it ....
my sifu's 扫摇 is strong and powerful ..
mine is like making noise sad.gif

战台风。。a famous guzheng piece in grade 7 .. 扫摇 is needed to be performed in that song ..
so i couldnt learn it yet ..
my sifu is nw teaching me 秦桑曲。。 smile.gif

subangman,
wow u could really get those books at a very fair price ...
thx for u directory ... if i need any guzheng books .. may go there n get it ..
it is in sunway piramid right ?

btw ..although the 2 books of syllabus of mine are kinda expensive, they are good in quality wo ..
thick papers .. and a lil bit heavy tongue.gif
claire_freedom
post May 12 2010, 08:12 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
Empire,
Now you are making me scared. Actually when I looked at your site, I did not pay attention to your Angels. I look at your site to know you because you are the one I am chatting with. The other thing that caught my attention was your long client list. It was very impresive.
I think if the Angles flank you outside Burger King, it will be hard to miss. Then we can go up to Chillis and ask the bartender who ordered a St James Gate. That person will likely be Subangman.

Cassie,
I dont have simple left hand pieces sad.gif The most simple one is 1535 and it is the same through the song 凤阳花鼓. This 1535, my left hand can play even without seeing already. When combining it with the right hand, they break apart. Did you have this problem before? It is like the left hand is not part of your body.

Claire,
You must be at level 5 or so? What tips can you give me on playing with both hands. How is the 扫摇 training comming along. By the way your problem is with the 扫 component or the 摇?
Faceless,
sorry for my late reply ... smile.gif
im at level 7 nw smile.gif
my prob is 扫摇。。。
hmmm.. i can say i mastered the 摇 .. since ady practise it for quite a long time ... tongue.gif
but when comes to 扫摇 .. it really takes time for training ... lolxxx

hmmm ... the 1st song i played with both hand was 浏阳河..
that song was great for beginner on both-hand playing ... smile.gif
coz the notes for right hand is 4 4 4 4, while the notes for left hand is 2 2 2 2...
means every 2 notes u play with right hand, there are one note ur left hand ...

my explanation is kinda confusing.. hope u do understand wat i wrote sweat.gif

if u tell what song u r playing ... then i can tell u more , specifically .. nod.gif

btw ... i wonder ... why u learnt 扫摇 , which is in grade 7 ... but u jz started playing with both hands , which is in grade 3/4 ...
(simply .. no offense ) smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 13 2012, 05:07 PM

23 posts

hello everyone,

how's u guys in the past one year?

i have been MIA for quite some times as i studied abroad ...
put aside my guzheng for a year +++
missed out quite of lot interesting topics in this thread ...
>.<

picked up guzheng practice again n continue my syllabus ! smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 10:09 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 16 2012, 08:37 AM)
I was wondering what happen to you. Good to hear that you, like CassieMissy, had chased after paper qualification. Anyway it is nice to have you back and congratulatons.

If you local and in KL on Jan 28, please feel free to join our gathering.
yea i will be in KL on 28 Jan ...
but where u guys would gather at?
i am sorry but i am still reading those messages that i have missed out
sweat.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 11:56 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 16 2012, 10:19 AM)
After lunch time at Empire's house. We will end before dinner. I dont remember the address. I know it is 5 minutes drive (15 minutes walk) from Kelana Jaya LRT. So, I prefer to take LRT. Plus Empire dont mind pick you up from the LRT.

Posting for the past year are mainly about going for concerts/competition together and as the bond grew between regulars we started organise gathering. Of course there are the inquiry cases. Most of them are the same (where to get lessons).
oh i see ... thx for inviting ... smile.gif

i supposed i could make it ... if i am welcomed by the hse owner, Empire blush.gif

claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 12:17 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 16 2012, 12:04 PM)
Claire...sure...but I gotta see who you are. I cant let stangers in my house. PM me your Facebook link.
hi Empire,

PM sent ! =)
claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 02:26 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 16 2012, 01:21 PM)
Empire,
Claire had been posting actively to this thread since I started with this theread. I think you can find her posts around page 10.

Claire,
I look forward to seeing you.
looking forward for it too =)

wondered how everyone looks like at the other end tongue.gif

btw .. how's ur progress?
i read a few pages back in this thread ...
u r doing "liu yang river" lately?
how is it going? smile.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 04:44 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 16 2012, 04:26 PM)
I am stuck with that song for one year. Double handed play is taking me too long to master. Liu Yang I had been doing this for 1 year.

What about you what song were you playing before you went to study?
ohh yea .. double handed play is very annoying sometimes sad.gif
but Liu Yang River is a very good song to start off double handed play smile.gif

b4 this ... i was practising:
- jing gang shan shang tai yang hong (sunshines over Jing Gang mountain)
- qin sang qu

so now continue with these 2 pieces + zhan tai feng (fighting the typhoon) & xue shan chun xiao (Snow Mountain & Spring Morning)

formed a group with my sifu and play some nice group pieces recently .. rclxms.gif
couldnt list them out here at i cant type mandarin with office pc ... sad.gif

btw .. there is a nice piece on youtube...
search on "Plant vs Zombie guzheng" .... =)
played by 2 young girls .. amazing performance !!!
thumbup.gif
claire_freedom
post Jan 16 2012, 04:57 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Jan 16 2012, 04:50 PM)
so it is confirm on the 28th the saturday? Around what time? I think should be alright. Excited to be meeting everyone.. thumbup.gif  but i need to warn you all.. sweat.gif  I'm quite the shy shy one.. blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
i have not meet with any of my net frens ... unless it is a COD online purchases ...
blush.gif

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 16 2012, 04:50 PM)
zhan tai feng is very high level already.
Can you do 高山流水? I am doing that on my own (without teacher guidance).
yea i can ... but need time to pick it up again ...
forgotten the 流水 part as it really has to be memorised
where it is the most attractive part of the song .... (IMO)

u r self learning ??? bravo !!!
notworthy.gif

---

here are some pieces that are not too well known, but nice to play smile.gif
- 云庆
- 苏武思乡

particularly like 云庆 ... icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by claire_freedom: Jan 16 2012, 05:06 PM
claire_freedom
post Jan 18 2012, 02:03 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 17 2012, 05:49 PM)
Faceless....yes...I approve of Claire joining us.
thanks Empire smile.gif

may i know how to get to ur place?

or as Faceless said, we shld meet up at Kelana Jaya lrt station ...

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 18 2012, 08:04 AM)
Thanks! I remember she said she had a good collection of music pieces. I am looking forward to see her books then gauge if I should buy some of them.
i have not more than 5 guzheng books ...
and some pieces are repeated in one book and another ... sweat.gif

but i can imagine sharing them is interesting ! rclxms.gif

claire_freedom
post Jan 18 2012, 05:58 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 18 2012, 02:42 PM)
You can PM Empire he will give you address. If you want to come by LRT we can meet up first.

In that case I will bring all my guzheng books too and make it book sharing session too. smile.gif

By the way pieces repeated in other books are expected. That is what make the piece a classic.
gonna spend some time over the weekend to recall what i have learnt tongue.gif

QUOTE(empire @ Jan 18 2012, 03:29 PM)
All meet in kelana LRT station, ok? 2pm ok?
ok nod.gif

claire_freedom
post Jan 27 2012, 11:30 PM

23 posts

hi everyone, is tmr's gathering on ?
unsure.gif

0.0351sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:43 PM