6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

cassiemissy
post Nov 26 2010, 07:50 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Sep 25 2010, 10:48 PM)
Missy.... u left us without even BID farewell.... anyway BON VOYAGE ... hope to see u soon in KampungKUL again.  icon_rolleyes.gif  thumbup.gif
Dear me.. I've been so busy with the visa thingy and others that I've forgotten my good friends here.. ^^" Thanks for the Bon Voyage (I know I know.. it's very late.. LOL)

QUOTE(subangman @ Oct 12 2010, 01:43 PM)

Cassie is away now in Nottingham UK having a 'jolly' good time tryin to adapt her new life there.
Seems tat she got to give up guzheng for awhile.

*Cassie if u see tis ... do scrable something pls lar. ...i know u r busy uploadin photos of ur new life to FB... BUT we miss u".  wub.gif

rclxm9.gif so touch when I finally have time to browse this forum again.. it's still up and running! and you guys still remember me.. ^^

so, I AM BACK..well.. to LYN though.. haha

QUOTE(faceless @ Oct 12 2010, 03:08 PM)

Cassie  wub.gif  wub.gif    Just say hi, okay. We miss you.  wub.gif  wub.gif 

HI!!!! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(empire @ Oct 25 2010, 11:45 PM)
Faceles...I'm surprised the staff doesnt even know what act is on 8th Dec! MPO Concert booking Dept has already emailed me the confirmation many weeks ago.

Yes...it will be 'Around the World' with Fairytale Festival Band. It will feature Mr K.G (me) on Vocal, Mandolin, Mandola and Grand Piano....Ms Amanda on Dizi, Clarinet, Vocal, Irish Tin Whistles, Ms Gin on Violin and Erhu and Ms Vivian on Cello,Guzheng and Vocal.

You will hear excellent Folk and Pop music from Japan, Korea, South America, Middle East, Ireland, China, India, Malaysia, Romania, Australia, Sweden, USA, Africa and many more!

It will be Concert filled with laughters....not serious like those heavy weekend Classical concerts on MPO. There will a lot of Jokes from me on stage :-)
I guess I'm missing the fun part again... damn it.. make sure you do the same and better event when I'm back ya.. haha rclxms.gif

Enjoy everyone and report it back here ya! ^^
cassiemissy
post Nov 26 2010, 06:22 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 26 2010, 09:40 AM)
Cassie,
It is nice to see you have settled into your new environment. It is good to hear that you have things under control and could now check out the pages in this thread. It had been nice that you would take the opposition at times. I kinda miss it as it make things more fun smile.gif
So you need some opposition here.. no prob! Leave that to me.. wahahaaha..

QUOTE(empire @ Nov 26 2010, 10:12 AM)
Sure Cassie. Hope MPO will invite my Shanghai Angels band next year. It's all up to them who they think is suitable. After all, its not that easy for anyone or Band to be invited by MPO as they are very particular about quality.

Here is my FAIRYTALE FESTIVAL BAND during our full dress rehearsal yesterday, That's me holding the Zhongruan  rclxms.gif The pretty Dizi Player is holding her Clarinet. She plays 10 musical instruments. shocking.gif
shocking.gif shocking.gif 10 instruments??? wow.. can I have her as my sifu? notworthy.gif

cassiemissy
post Dec 13 2011, 11:41 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Nov 30 2011, 10:52 AM)

Since when I became guzheng teacher with school? I am still stuck in grade4 sad.gif I am very sad and may end up losing the passion. I been doing 浏阳河 for 1 year already and still cant get it. The two handed part is still a big obstacle. The rain drops part (the 琶音four fingers arpeggio) is very frustrating. Fishing boats 渔舟晚唱 also had not been kind to me. Half a year still cannot master.

浏阳河.. that brings back memory. That's the song that I'd been playing before I left for UK. Haven't really master the piece.. now after 1 year..more teruk. doh.gif:x doh.gif And I really agree. The rain drops part is really frustrating. rclxub.gif
cassiemissy
post Dec 14 2011, 03:42 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Dec 14 2011, 08:45 AM)
Yah it was that long ago. What you doing now, graduated already?

user posted imageI am sure people here know what is this device and how to use it.

It will save me the trouble to open a thread on the subject. I seen LittleIce use it on his violin bow. He always rub his bow with it. How does it work? It just seem like a piece of plastic to me. Anyway it came with my erhu.
Yup! Graduated adi. Going to pick up all my music again.. xD rclxms.gif
cassiemissy
post Dec 15 2011, 11:39 PM

211 posts

yep! I wan to join the gathering as well..xD.. But my violin sucks..xDDDD..
cassiemissy
post Dec 16 2011, 02:23 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Dec 16 2011, 08:42 AM)
Good, we miss you for the last two gatherings. You just show up will do. Guzheng you must play already. Violin, will see if we can encourage you. One thing about gathering at Empire house is there is no worry of lack of instruments. brows.gif more than 20 different instruments sitting there brows.gif
Serious??? 20 different instruments??!! Wow.. must be one of my dream place.. rclxms.gif

I guess I must fast fast pick up back my guzheng adi.. blush.gif karat adi..xDD sweat.gif sweat.gif
cassiemissy
post Dec 27 2011, 02:53 PM

211 posts

i think i'm ok during weekend usually..

but since it's the CNY.. i can't promise yet..xD.. Not really sure when my family want to dinner together suddenly and stuff like those.. haha..
cassiemissy
post Dec 29 2011, 02:26 PM

211 posts

you guys go ahead and set a time. I'll try to make it. xD
cassiemissy
post Jan 3 2012, 03:53 PM

211 posts

Jan 28.. should be ok.. but will confirm nearer to the date. Where's the add btw..? xD
cassiemissy
post Jan 16 2012, 04:50 PM

211 posts

so it is confirm on the 28th the saturday? Around what time? I think should be alright. Excited to be meeting everyone.. thumbup.gif but i need to warn you all.. sweat.gif I'm quite the shy shy one.. blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by cassiemissy: Jan 16 2012, 04:50 PM
cassiemissy
post Jan 17 2012, 10:24 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jan 17 2012, 09:32 AM)
Be there about 14:00 or earlier also can. Take lunch first, we want to spent time exchanging ideas/playing.
Shy is not a problem. Meeting people for the first time is always like that but just remember that we had actually know each other more than a year already. smile.gif  The question is how well we know each other by just looking at each other post. Dont shy shy when you pluck/bow the strings can already. I am eager to hear you violin.
By the way, do you remember Claire. You two were active at about the same time and MIA at about the same time too. Now resurfaced again at the same time. Both MIA to further studies too.

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif such a coincidence..xD

I'm looking forward to meet everyone.. seems like it will be the best time for me to catch up what I had been missing out..xD rclxms.gif Btw, I had abandone my strings for a year+.. and haven't really pick them up yet. I doubt I can play anything decent for you all.. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
cassiemissy
post Jan 17 2012, 10:38 AM

211 posts

yeah.. just so you all dun have too high expectation..xDDD
cassiemissy
post Jan 19 2012, 08:59 AM

211 posts

no prob! ^^
cassiemissy
post Feb 28 2012, 01:18 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Feb 25 2012, 12:30 AM)
Sorry all for my MIA status as my lappy sent to repair for awhile after CNY and busy selling kacang putih.

faceless... u r really an old school boy.... every rookie to tis thread will kena kaw-kaw from u if u woke up on the wrong side of your bed. *LOL*
                howz life .. hope you get a GOOD 2012 year.
                ur  浏阳河 ok alridi ? n now playing 瑶族舞曲 n 山丹丹開花紅豔豔.

empire .... ur business doing VERY good ... now high flyer in entertainment line.

cassie ..... still marking around with ur GZ ?

=====================================================================================
tongue.gif tongue.gif Actually I've just started back my piano lesson so had been abandoning GZ for a while.. Just try to play by myself once in a while but kinda rusty already.. xD tongue.gif tongue.gif
cassiemissy
post Feb 29 2012, 08:38 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Feb 28 2012, 01:23 PM)
Lessons or self training?
Lesson. I wanted to get my ATCL.. haha.. without a teacher, I get quite.. er.. indiscipline.. tongue.gif tongue.gif So I needed one to guide me. Just started back last week. flex.gif
cassiemissy
post Mar 20 2012, 09:46 AM

211 posts

Faceless: ATCL is Trinity diploma.
cassiemissy
post Mar 20 2012, 11:42 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Mar 20 2012, 10:08 AM)
I very noob on music thingy. I dont even know what is trinity. Trinity from a religion point of view I know  blush.gif
blush.gif Sorry ar.. xD

Trinity is one of the popular music exam board which offer graded exam up until diploma level. The other exam board is ABRSM.

Trinity diploma basically got 3 level.. ATCL (Associate of Trinity College London) , LCTL (Licentiate of Trinity College London) and FTCL (Fellow of Trinity College London).

This is the exams that you can take after you finish your grade 8 basically. You prepare a 30+ mins of recital consisting of 3 pieces of different style and a programme note which will be prepared before the exam day. If I'm not mistaken, there is a presentation skills included in the marking as well, which I assume the examiner will be asking some questions as well.

So I'm currently preparing myself to sit for the ATCL. xD I'm not really ready for the exam yet though, just going to pick up back my skills and brush up my musical knowledge. tongue.gif But it's kinda harder to do it now since I have a full time job. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
cassiemissy
post Mar 21 2012, 12:27 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Mar 20 2012, 02:04 PM)
Thanks for info. This "Licentiate" sound like can open music school and teach their syllabus, correct? Can get bachelor of music with this diploma or not? If can I want to try. Maybe one day when I am done with guzheng and erhu I will go for it. Just collect expensive toilet paper in music.
haha... basically you don't really need their 'Licentiate' to teach. Most of the time, after GR8 they will start teaching. haha..

You mean Bachelor? Erm. It's actually a different thing. I'm guessing it's like the chinese music exam? That's the 'paper' to prove your standard in music? hmm.gif

For a Bachelor, you may need to go to those college or Uni. But they do recognise these exam boards 'paper'. It's only part of the requirement for you to get into the course. Some of them only require gr6 or gr8 as part of the requirement beside your spm, a levels, etc etc. tongue.gif

Oh, and to get the ATCL, you need at least GR8 before you can sit for the exam. tongue.gif Or prove you are exceptionally talented. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I hope I get them right. hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif Correct me if I'm wrong someone..xD
cassiemissy
post Apr 2 2012, 09:03 AM

211 posts

Wow.. just updated myself on what's happening here.. xD

Yea~ another gathering coming up? I hope I can join in this time. ^^ I can also contribute some food. What kind of food are we talking about? xD
cassiemissy
post Oct 24 2013, 03:49 PM

211 posts

tongue.gif is this thread still alive? blush.gif What's everyone up to these days? laugh.gif
Any music event or chinese orchestra performance end of the year? smile.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0236sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:27 PM