Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

subangman
post Apr 5 2010, 02:13 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 5 2010, 10:01 AM)
Thanks Subang,

I am also what you called a “banana”. I learnt chinese with a Chinese-English Dictionary and through lyrics of Cantonese songs back in the 90s. I command a good vocabulary for single characters but have difficulties with compound words (eg electric brain = computer). I have problems understanding written formal mandarin because of these compound words. I guess, you have to be educated in mandarin for that. What syllabus is this, Beijing or Dun Huang?
i think i am worse than u ... i used tis to learn mandarin... http://www.mdbg.net/chindict/chindict.php rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

and tis to write http://www.translate-to-chinese.com/free-e...ranslation.html icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

wat i posted was CCOM ... Beijing syallbus.

objectifyme
post Apr 6 2010, 09:42 AM

804 posts

For anyone interested to learn, contact me at 012-5185122 or through the forums. I've got a friend who teaches in the PJ area, just around the Curve. smile.gif
faceless
post Apr 6 2010, 10:02 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Hi Subang,

MDGB is a good dictionary. It has the most extensive range of compound words compare to the many (book form and online) I had used. Even if you throw in some Cantonese words, it will show an entry. All the dictionaries that I know will not list Cantonese words. If you want to learn Chinese don’t lose hope and keep at it. In 5 years your vocabulary will increase to a satisfactory level.

By the way, guzheng makers makes the wooden box you call coffin for each instrument. This is to provide protection during transportation. I am not as fortunate to buy my guzheng in Malaysia. I live in a Malay area and seldom frequent places out of the golden triangle. When I could not find guzheng in Sungei Wang and Chinatown, I shopped for it online. That contributed to my knowledge of knowing what to look for when buying one. I end up buying my guzheng in Macau. At the shop the lady gave me a choice between the box and a vinyl bag. She tried to convince me to take the bag saying it is lighter to carry. Concerned about transporting in back I asked if the box can provide adequate protection. She replied that all guzheng are transported from china by these boxes. She gave me more assurance saying so many instruments had been transported over the years and there was no problem. Sure enough I brought the set home in good condition but the stand that comes with it was broken. I am surprise to learn in Malaysia they replaced the box with a vinyl bag and attempt to sell you the box and stand.

I even had cheap plastic plectrums and a CD on guzheng thrown in with the purchase. When ever you had to kill time waiting for your daughters, can you find out the range of plectrums available. One of mine went missing. Thanks

subangman
post Apr 6 2010, 02:42 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 6 2010, 10:02 AM)
Hi Subang,

MDGB is a good dictionary. It has the most extensive range of compound words compare to the many (book form and online) I had used. Even if you throw in some Cantonese words, it will show an entry. All the dictionaries that I know will not list Cantonese words. If you want to learn Chinese don’t lose hope and keep at it. In 5 years your vocabulary will increase to a satisfactory level.

By the way, guzheng makers makes the wooden box you call coffin for each instrument. This is to provide protection during transportation. I am not as fortunate to buy my guzheng in Malaysia. I live in a Malay area and seldom frequent places out of the golden triangle. When I could not find guzheng in Sungei Wang and Chinatown, I shopped for it online. That contributed to my knowledge of knowing what to look for when buying one. I end up buying my guzheng in Macau. At the shop the lady gave me a choice between the box and a vinyl bag. She tried to convince me to take the bag saying it is lighter to carry. Concerned about transporting in back I asked if the box can provide adequate protection. She replied that all guzheng are transported from china by these boxes. She gave me more assurance saying so many instruments had been transported over the years and there was no problem. Sure enough I brought the set home in good condition but the stand that comes with it was broken. I am surprise to learn in Malaysia they replaced the box with a vinyl bag and attempt to sell you the box and stand.

I even had cheap plastic plectrums and a CD on guzheng thrown in with the purchase. When ever you had to kill time waiting for your daughters, can you find out the range of plectrums available. One of mine went missing. Thanks
due to the heavy consumption of PRC's saliva ... i understand and able to speak mandarin fairly well ... but not in writing and reading hmm.gif hmm.gif

tat 'coffin' was included during the purchase of the zithan sandalwood guzheng...

while the rongmu guzheng just a bloody cheapskate pvc carry bag !

got the gals 2 low and a high stand... got to pay that leecher ...

seen few sets of nice spectrum (turtle shell) in Sunway mentari centre.... the place that they conduct the CCOM examination.

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 6 2010, 02:49 PM
TShyumi
post Apr 7 2010, 01:21 AM

115 posts

hiee guyss!! i'm back! hahaa.. been away for quite some time due to workload from studies!

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 2 2010, 10:24 AM)
I was wondering who posted the 好心分手 here. I think we should post more pieces here to make this place more interesting. Can anyone tell me how you post a document into the reply? Has anyone played it? It does not sound like the song which Kelly Chan sang.
hie faceless! thanks alot for the info and making this topic active once again!
and i'm the one who posted that song =)
got it from another site which is http://music.guzheng.cn/qupu/s/more_2_1_0.shtml

how to post picture? don't quite remember, i think i use IMG, then post the URL location in it then it's done =D

oh and the song is a duet between Wang Lee Hom and Candy Lou. If you do not know the song, click Hao Xin Fen Shou - Lee Hom and Candy this!

This post has been edited by hyumi: Apr 7 2010, 01:25 AM
faceless
post Apr 7 2010, 09:41 AM

4,515 posts

Hi Hyumi,

It is nice to hear from you. I had not been keeping track of pop songs lately. I never heard of Lee Hom and Candy. I thought they were composers of the song. Have you figure out how to get the 4 and 7 note yet? I think people should not do things beyond their level. They should concentrate on practicing at their level so that they can focus on their training. I am beginning to sound like my laoshi. I should not talk like him because I also like to peek in the syllabus of the advance levels. Let me approach the subject at a different angle.

What happens to the tone when you tighten the string? It goes higher. There are two ways to tighten a guzheng string. One way to use the tuning spanner to turn the tuning pegs. The other way is to press the string on the left side of the bridge. In order to get the note fa (4), you need to tighten the string for the note me (3). You had to be familiar with the sound of the note fa. This familiarity will guide you on how hard you must press string 3 to get the note fa. The note ti (7) is produced by pressing the string for the note la (6). If this is your first music instrument then it would be difficult for you. You need to know an easy song which has note 4 and 7 to practice with. The easiest song with enough 4 and 7 would be the Negara Ku. It is a song you had been singing since you started school. I used the national anthem to help one of my classmates who could never get her 4 and 7 right.

Subang, your wife must be PRC. I don’t speak or hear mandarin too well. I will be deaf and dumb in China but not blind. I had to communicate by typing sms on the mobile phone. Thanks for the info I will check out Mentari one of these days.

subangman
post Apr 7 2010, 03:47 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 7 2010, 09:41 AM)
Subang, your wife must be PRC.
NO.... if she knows then cheah lat... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:48 pm
QUOTE(objectifyme @ Apr 6 2010, 09:42 AM)
For anyone interested to learn, contact me at 012-5185122 or through the forums. I've got a friend who teaches in the PJ area, just around the Curve. smile.gif
ur frd could b mine ... rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 7 2010, 03:48 PM
objectifyme
post Apr 8 2010, 02:36 AM

804 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 7 2010, 03:47 PM)
NO.... if she knows then cheah lat... vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif

Added on April 7, 2010, 3:48 pm

ur frd could b mine ... rclxms.gif
Well, my friend's name starts with a J. Yours? tongue.gif
faceless
post Apr 8 2010, 09:52 AM

4,515 posts

Trying to add a file in here.

subangman
post Apr 8 2010, 04:23 PM

562 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on April 8, 2010, 6:55 pm
QUOTE(hyumi @ Apr 7 2010, 01:21 AM)
hiee guyss!! i'm back! hahaa.. been away for quite some time due to workload from studies!

HYUMI : wat happened i cannot tag u alrid.... u went MIA alridi from my list !?!

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 8 2010, 06:55 PM
faceless
post Apr 9 2010, 09:00 AM

4,515 posts

KLCC is an agreeable location. It better going to places like Subang where I am bound to get lost. Ever since the airport moved, I had lost track of the Subang area. The event seemed boring. I had not listened to classical music for a very long time. Using the Chinese instruments, especially the guzheng and erhu, as an accompaniment is insulting. I intend to pick up the erhu when I get to level 6 in the guzheng. Using the instruments I love as a second fiddle is not very pleasing for me. SubangMan are you daughters performing? For RM10, I do not mind going if there people I know performaning.
cassiemissy
post Apr 9 2010, 10:19 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 9 2010, 09:00 AM)
KLCC is an agreeable location. It better going to places like Subang where I am bound to get lost. Ever since the airport moved, I had lost track of the Subang area. The event seemed boring. I had not listened to classical music for a very long time. Using the Chinese instruments, especially the guzheng and erhu, as an accompaniment is insulting. I intend to pick up the erhu when I get to level 6 in the guzheng. Using the instruments I love as a second fiddle is not very pleasing for me. SubangMan are you daughters performing? For RM10, I do not mind going if there people I know performaning.
hope you wouldn't hav hard feelings.. i just wanted to comment on ur comment.. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

i play both classical and chinese instrument and i personally feels that both range of instrument have their way of expressing and when combined, produce fantastic result.. maybe you think it is insulting as they did not give credits to the chinese instrument and their players in a proper manner. But it is because the main instrument in this program is the violin and cello.... laugh.gif laugh.gif

Piano is often used to accompany vocal, strings and even other instruments as well. Do you think that is insulting as well? tongue.gif tongue.gif

Anyway, I hope you wouldn't really think that playing as accompaniment is insulting cause accompaniment is actually very important. Imagine a vocal without any background instrument accompanying.. wouldn't that sound dry? haha.. just an opinion though..

However, my guess is, when u are going for the performance, and u bought their programmes notes (if they hav) you would see some explanation of the chinese instrument.. haha.. if you went, tell me how's it.. coz i couldn't go even if i wan to as i'm still working at tat hour.. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
faceless
post Apr 9 2010, 11:16 AM

4,515 posts

Hi Cassie,

It is nice to hear from you because you had been silent for a while. I felt they insulted the two instruments that I love the most by making them the back up. You have made your point. I should see how they fair as back rather than imagine it. I appreciated comments because it helps me to maintain an open mind.

The reasons to go will remain unchanged. I will go only if Subang’s daughters are performing. If the instruments don’t appeal to you, there would be no interest to watch it. To watch someone you know or children of people you know would be different. You are watching the performer to give support (like a fan).

cassiemissy
post Apr 9 2010, 12:01 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 9 2010, 11:16 AM)
Hi Cassie,

It is nice to hear from you because you had been silent for a while. I felt they insulted the two instruments that I love the most by making them the back up. You have made your point. I should see how they fair as back rather than imagine it. I appreciated comments because it helps me to maintain an open mind.

The reasons to go will remain unchanged. I will go only if Subang’s daughters are performing. If the instruments don’t appeal to you, there would be no interest to watch it. To watch someone you know or children of people you know would be different. You are watching the performer to give support (like a fan).
icon_rolleyes.gif been a bit busy lately.. haha.. anyway, great that we are able to exchange opinion.. is really helps to open up our mind.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

agree wif you.. if we don't have any interest in it, it would be boring.. haha.. so hav to wait for subangman's answer to comfirm whether u will be going or not la? haha.. i really wan to go.. haiz.. cry.gif cry.gif

btw, how long hav u been learning the gu zheng? haha..

subangman
post Apr 9 2010, 02:21 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Apr 9 2010, 12:01 PM)
icon_rolleyes.gif  been a bit busy lately.. haha.. anyway, great that we are able to exchange opinion.. is really helps to open up our mind..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

agree wif you.. if we don't have any interest in it, it would be boring.. haha.. so hav to wait for subangman's answer to comfirm whether u will be going or not la? haha.. i really wan to go.. haiz..  cry.gif  cry.gif

btw, how long hav u been learning the gu zheng? haha..
sori as tis morning busy with hell lots of stuff..... YES I will b there wit my squad... aiming for a box seating.

I will b there from 5pm until 9pm today.. for the 1st lrehearsal ..but will sneak out for a pint or two of St James Gate at the nearby well thumbup.gif in between.

i will know hows good it's by tonite.... it's up to philharmonic std ...

i do understand there are a couple of very talanted musicians performing...... after all RM10 to MPO ... its a veri good deal.

*RM10 cannot buy a pint to drink* drool.gif

Added on April 9, 2010, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 9 2010, 11:16 AM)
Hi Cassie,

Thx for the support faceless. Yes my younger gal will be performing... one of her objective. and doing solo there shall b the ultimate... she is not doing solo yet .. one of her sifu will be..... tis guy is talented young man !!!!

The entire group are local .... NO MAT SALLEH or imported stuff.... support BOLEHLAND lar especially SEPAT. icon_rolleyes.gif

as i mentioned above i will give a brief intro later tonite.... i am just aiming for the "Butterfly lovers"..

*wonder u guys watched a group of youngsters performing chinese instrument in KLCC before CNY @ main podium/ Rakan Muda nite in Bukit Jalil / MBPJ in conjunction to CNY tis year ?*

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 9 2010, 02:37 PM
faceless
post Apr 9 2010, 03:32 PM

4,515 posts

Okay, now this sounds like fun. I am going. I know one MPO member. She is from Oz. I learnt from her that any performance staged at MPO had to philharmonic class. No ang mo is also very pleasing to hear. I am all for locals are as good perhaps better.

Subang check out if it is free seating. If seats are numbered I had to buy the ticket early.

Cassie, I had been playing for 2 years. It is my first formal music lesson. I was taught how to read by my choir master during school days. It will take me a long time to make it out even with “face” on the staff. Like Subang I love to learn music when I was young. My case was I never ask my mother because I figured she will so no. My first instrument was the harmonica. I still read notes slowly. I figure that blowing frequently into it will get me familiar with it. I became the play by ear type after 6 months. Then I took a more expansive instrument – the cheap Kapok guitar. It took me a year to be able hold down a chord and change chords in a split second. After that I had confidence in my ability to pick up music and start formal music lesson.

subangman
post Apr 9 2010, 11:46 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Apr 9 2010, 03:32 PM)
Okay, now this sounds like fun. I am going. I know one MPO member. She is from Oz. I learnt from her that any performance staged at MPO had to philharmonic class. No ang mo is also very pleasing to hear. I am all for locals are as good perhaps better.

Subang check out if it is free seating. If seats are numbered I had to buy the ticket early.

Cassie, I had been playing for 2 years. It is my first formal music lesson. I was taught how to read by my choir master during school days. It will take me a long time to make it out even with “face” on the staff. Like Subang I love to learn music when I was young. My case was I never ask my mother because I figured she will so no. My first instrument was the harmonica. I still read notes slowly. I figure that blowing frequently into it will get me familiar with it. I became the play by ear type after 6 months. Then I took a more expansive instrument – the cheap Kapok guitar. It took me a year to be able hold down a chord and change chords in a split second. After that I had confidence in my ability to pick up music and start formal music lesson.
Faceless... i arrived quite early 4pm+ BUT as my gals went shoppin like usual ... i went to my well to quence the thirst.. Chili.
so after 2pints + 2pints freebie (happy hour buy 1 free 1; how can i said NO drool.gif ) .. so i forgotten to check the seatin... dun worry i will confirm wit them next few days.

Overall the rehearsal was good. This is the 1ST time the chinese instruments performing in MPO... after more than 10yrs it been operating .............. *sigh* is the chinese instrument not at par with the western ones or something else ?

soon i will b veri certain the MPO board members be amazed wat the classical chinese instrument can do... icon_rolleyes.gif

Solo yang qin ... very good.
solo erhu .... dun need to say lor... the winner of open chinese instrument competition recently in KT..
solo guzheng ... superb .. u ppl playin guzheng should watch tis! Not every day u can watch tis.. Trust me.

butterfly lovers been played by a concerto comprises of a well known cellist, violist and 2 Violinists. (seen the cellist and one of the violinist performing in MPO before.. they are good)........... but deep inside my sincere heart i was hoping for a chinese instrument concerto and mayb a piano mix wit erhu or mayb guzheng... but it is otherwise. never mind lor... my ah ma used to said "bo who hair phun a sai" (no fish shrimp also can).... after all they played it very well.... sat inside the hall with few others ... really enjoyed it.

............... overall worth every cents u paid for the ticket .. incld the tol / petrol / parkin feees ...LOL!

This post has been edited by subangman: Apr 10 2010, 12:13 AM
cassiemissy
post Apr 10 2010, 12:24 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Apr 9 2010, 11:46 PM)
Faceless... i arrived quite early 4pm+ BUT as my gals went shoppin like usual ... i went to my well to quence the thirst.. Chili.
so after 2pints + 2pints freebie (happy hour buy 1 free 1; how can i said NO  drool.gif ) .. so i forgotten to check the seatin... dun worry i will confirm wit them next few days.

Overall the rehearsal was good. This is the 1ST time the chinese instruments performing in MPO... after more than 10yrs it been operating .............. *sigh*  is the chinese instrument not at par with the western ones or something else ?

soon i will b veri certain the MPO board members be amazed wat the classical chinese instrument can do...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Solo yang qin ... very good.
solo erhu .... dun need to say lor... the winner of open chinese instrument competition recently in KT..
solo guzheng ... superb .. u ppl playin guzheng should watch tis! Not every day u can watch tis.. Trust me.

butterfly lovers  been played by a concerto comprises of a well known cellist, violist and 2 Violinists. (seen the cellist and one of the violinist performing in MPO before.. they are good)........... but deep inside my sincere heart i was hoping for a chinese instrument concerto and mayb a piano mix wit erhu or mayb guzheng... but it is otherwise. never mind lor... my ah ma used to said "bo who hair phun a sai" (no fish shrimp also can).... after all they played it very well.... sat inside the hall with few others ... really enjoyed it.

............... overall worth every cents u paid for the ticket .. incld the tol / petrol / parkin feees ...LOL!
dunno whether to smile or to cry at ur comment.. u made me soooo want to attend the concert lah.. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

haiz, no choice.. no choice.. cry.gif
subangman
post Apr 10 2010, 08:20 AM

562 posts

empire
post Apr 10 2010, 12:42 PM

2,549 posts

Finally MPO has given recognition to the wonderful Chinese Musicians in Malaysia. Well done, MPO!

Added on April 10, 2010, 12:50 pmFinally MPO has given recognition to the wonderful Chinese Musicians in Malaysia. Well done, MPO!

This post has been edited by empire: Apr 10 2010, 12:50 PM

84 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:33 PM