84 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

PhilBoey
post Jun 29 2010, 11:40 PM

Faceless,
Yup, those time in China are quite cheap, but then u pay the price to carry it back.

And yes most importantly is the method and skill, instrument is not the most important.
I can tell u that most of the teacher here in Malaysia are teaching wrong method, when I first went to China I had to start all over again, because I can't produce the tone which my teacher wants.

BTW, I have a concert coming this weekend Concertfacebook link here
faceless
post Jun 30 2010, 04:17 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Phil,
I heard of the Kinta Valley Wind Ochestra on the papers. I think it was last Sunday papers. I am not a big fan of wind instrument because it is not easy to blow sound out of them. I did not know they had guzheng but Ipoh may be a problem. I may end up getting home real late since it ends at 10pm. Do let me know of your other concerts. If it is in KL, most likely I will support unless some bad clashes with my schedule.
Ooi
post Jul 3 2010, 08:48 PM

79 posts

Oh faceless ask me to come here..Do u knw anyone subang jaya area got guzheng instrument shop or offering guzheng lessons?
subangman
post Jul 3 2010, 10:35 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Ooi @ Jul 3 2010, 08:48 PM)
Oh faceless ask me to come here..Do u knw anyone subang jaya area got guzheng instrument shop or offering guzheng lessons?
Faceless : thx veri much brudder. sweat.gif

guzheng instrument shop in sj .. not really. as i dun think they carry much choice.... PJ yes.

guzheng class in SJ : yes.. at least i know 3. But which type of guzheng u like to play... 23 steel or 21 nylon strings.

pls read from the beginning of this thread ... u will learn and might help u to know a liitle bit in depth before committin thyself in guzheng.

for cello info :- http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/622246 (tis one of the most popular thread in lowyat musicians)...*sigh*

for harp :- pls read all the thread in here (lowyat musicians) ... i posted some comments there too.... wat u like to know???

read to enhance and not thru handouts... and i will guide and help as much as i know lil sister
-------------

Faceless & all,

good to b back after nearly 1 mth long away from ADSL and now unifi at home... I HATE GPRS/EDGE ; BUT PAID for HSDPA !!! (all Kampung service provider TIPU KUAT)

----------------------@.@--------------------------------------

i got some info for young talented chinese instrument players.

There will be a competition in Klang Parade 1st week of Sept. Registration opens now.

Instrument : Chinese Orchestra (Solo)

Prize : CASH RM300 + trophy.

-------------------------------------------

I am in the mid of ordering new guzheng string for mei mei as need to restring one of her guzheng ..... who like to have new strings pls let me know before wed.

1. Dunhuang Type B guzheng strings set (21 nylon coated) USD41.83.

2. Zhuque (Scarlet Bird) Professional Guzheng string set USD59.50.

For info these are the top guzheng strings from top guzheng manufacture in China.

-------------------------------------------------------------------- >@ @<---------------------------------

Added on July 3, 2010, 11:08 pm
QUOTE(faceless @ Jun 30 2010, 04:17 PM)
Phil,
I heard of the Kinta Valley Wind Ochestra on the papers. I think it was last Sunday papers. I am not a big fan of wind instrument because it is not easy to blow sound out of them. I did not know they had guzheng but Ipoh may be a problem. I may end up getting home real late since it ends at 10pm. Do let me know of your other concerts. If it is in KL, most likely I will support unless some bad clashes with my schedule.
my sister learning guzheng and erhu ... she is near Ipoh.

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 4 2010, 09:53 AM
Ooi
post Jul 4 2010, 03:32 PM

79 posts

hahaha,..tat strings tread is kinda erm..haha i knw the person who start tat tread, doubt tat person reply there anymore but i give it a try..thanks

As u see i have no idea wat n wat for guzheng until i try my hands on it n experience for myself which type of guzheng i prefer no? where the instru shop in puchong?

and where is the 3 classes in subang jaya?
subangman
post Jul 4 2010, 06:41 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(Ooi @ Jul 4 2010, 03:32 PM)
hahaha,..tat strings tread is kinda erm..haha i knw the person who start tat tread, doubt tat person reply there anymore but i give it a try..thanks

As u see i have no idea wat n wat for guzheng until i try my hands on it n experience for myself which type of guzheng i prefer no? where the instru shop in puchong?

and where is the 3 classes in subang jaya?
wat u like to know about cello /harp?

my son is doing cello in G3. ABRSM and so is my 2nd gal .... all info can get here.

harp .. my 2nd gal wan to take it as her 4th instrument.. info also available here... but PM me in those two as tis thread not really suitable.

as for guzheng as i said in the 1st and 2nd page of tis thread ...
23 steel strings go to Dun Huang SS2,
21 nylon strings go to SS2 Keejan and ask for Alan..... http://www.keejan.com

wat makes u like these 3 strings instruments (harp/cello/guzheng) ???? seems tat u didn't have any background in music\..

i think u should stick to guitar (get a KAPOK) unless $ is not an equation to u then venture to above 3 instrument. rclxub.gif thumbup.gif doh.gif

Added on July 4, 2010, 6:54 pm
QUOTE(hyumi @ Jun 12 2010, 02:09 PM)
hiee everybody!
omg, i've been away for so long! hahaa

btw, i just stopped my gu zheng lesson this month cause going to Australia next month for studies ><
good news is, i just finish grade 1 haha. teacher ask me take exam, but i won't be around =.=

hi subangman!
i see u guys are planning a trip? o.0
cassie : u still around in Kampung or @ downunder now ? if so where about ?

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 4 2010, 06:54 PM
Ooi
post Jul 5 2010, 12:19 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(subangman @ Jul 4 2010, 06:41 PM)
wat u like to know about cello /harp?

my son is doing cello in G3. ABRSM and so is my 2nd gal .... all info can get here.

harp .. my 2nd gal wan to take it as her 4th instrument.. info also available here...  but PM me in those two as tis thread not really suitable.
as for guzheng as i said in the 1st and 2nd page of tis thread ...
                        23 steel strings go to Dun Huang SS2,
                                 21 nylon strings go to SS2 Keejan and ask for Alan.....      http://www.keejan.com

wat makes u like these 3 strings instruments (harp/cello/guzheng) ???? seems tat u didn't have any background in music\..

i think u should stick to guitar  (get a KAPOK) unless $ is not an equation to u then venture to above 3 instrument.   rclxub.gif  thumbup.gif  doh.gif

Added on July 4, 2010, 6:54 pm

cassie : u still around in Kampung or @ downunder now ? if so where about ?
Thanks for advice i will try ask those u mention.. I have background in music, in piano, violin etc..I love the cello for the mellow sound it produces, the beautiful enchanting sound tat harp does n the simple, light n deep n heavy sound tat guzheng gives.. I mean its not like i must have a so specific reason to like all 3 n tats not weird..Every instrument is lovely in itself.. N just likin this n tat instrument n learning more doesnt hurt right, i mean ur daughter is also learnin a few herself.. n tats great..

This post has been edited by Ooi: Jul 5 2010, 12:21 AM
subangman
post Jul 5 2010, 01:00 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(Ooi @ Jul 5 2010, 12:19 AM)
Thanks for advice i will try ask those u mention.. I have background in music, in piano, violin etc..I love the cello for the mellow sound it produces, the beautiful enchanting sound tat harp does n the simple, light n deep n heavy sound tat guzheng gives.. I mean its not like i must have a so specific reason to like all 3 n tats not weird..Every instrument is lovely in itself.. N just likin this n tat instrument n learning more doesnt hurt right, i mean ur daughter is also learnin a few herself.. n tats great..
well my gal used to join her younger bro in his class... with her strong music background ... bow and pizzicato not a problem to her.

there's another gal here similiar to u ... misscassie "hiding in the dark"... Dip level for piano/ violin / guzheng and also stays in SJ area.

Added on July 5, 2010, 1:37 amMs. OOI: Btw when u r in either shop pls dun mentioned the other one... two different CLANs. OK.

else u won't get the best info.

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 5 2010, 01:37 AM
cassiemissy
post Jul 5 2010, 09:41 AM

211 posts

really panjang umur.. once u guys talk about me, i will appear.. haha..

i'm not hiding la..last few weeks i'm busy and worrying with the MPYO auditions.. haha.. i went for violin audition last saturday finally.. but i'm not well prepared actually.. and i guess i'm still far from the MPYO standard.. haha.. anyway, i get a good experience.. at least now i know how i should prepare mentally and physically for auditions.. haha..

alright.. back to topic..

Ooi.. from your post, i notice that you are so similar to me.. haha.. i learn the piano, then take violin and lately started guzheng.. and now i'm also very interested to start cello and harp.. hahahahah.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

but coz i'm planning to go overseas for studies end of this year, i couldn't commit myself to start any new instruments YET! haha..

btw.. for cello classes, maybe you can go to any music school that subangman recommend and ask them for trial lesson 1st? I don't think you need 1 month to know whether you like that instrument or not..

I am guessing that all 3 instruments appeal to you very much and I am sure even after you try all 3, you will still LOVE all 3.. haha... I know I do..

so, choose the most practical 1st.. harp is expansive to buy.. lesson fees are high as well...

cello and guzheng almost the same price.. but since you know violin maybe you can try some chinese instrument 1st? guzheng is quite easy to learn as you have good musical background... but chinese instrument is really really different from western ones as the style you play for certain songs is very much varied. There's many to learn but it is very interesting..haha..

this is my opinions la... coz i think when you say you wan to try all 3 1st before committing 1, i'm worry that you can't let any go after you try them.. hahahaha....

i know coz i'm the same.. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by cassiemissy: Jul 5 2010, 09:42 AM
faceless
post Jul 5 2010, 09:49 AM

4,515 posts

Phil,
How did the concert go yesterday? What song did you play?

Subang,
It is good to see that you have come back to Kampung KUL. Wow, it just one weekend and there are so many posts. Why are you getting new strings for mei mei? They do not sound right anymore or rusted? Mine are starting to rust afer 2 years but they still sound okay.

QUOTE(subangman @ Jul 5 2010, 01:00 AM)
there's another gal here similiar to u ... misscassie  "hiding in the dark"... Dip level for piano/ violin / guzheng and also stays in SJ area.
Hah, if I had not read her other post in the thread she created on Cello, Harp and Guzheng I would have though she is Cassie in disguise.

Cassie,
I think you and Ooi well get along well. You know the piano and violin, loves other string instruments like cello. The main thing is she seems to be soul searching for an instrument like you.
subangman
post Jul 5 2010, 10:48 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 5 2010, 09:49 AM)
Phil,
How did the concert go yesterday? What song did you play?

Subang,
It is good to see that you have come back to Kampung KUL. Wow, it just one weekend and there are so many posts. Why are you getting new strings for mei mei? They do not sound right anymore or rusted? Mine are starting to rust afer 2 years but they still sound okay.
Hah, if I had not read her other post in the thread she created on Cello, Harp and Guzheng I would have though she is Cassie in disguise.

due to our KampungKUL climate conditions... and since one of her string in the brink of snappin mayb due to too much 'yew' i wan to re-string all her guzheng and the worst is that stupid online shop min order is of 2 sets so i see is there any one here like to re-string theirs. Postage fees on me.

http://www.sogoeo.com/folk-musical-strings...5aqu4mtt893e506

however i am in the cross road of choosing the strings for her ... after reading wat been translated by google * rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif * banana mah.

http://www.qinzheng.org/viewthread.php?tid...6w5T0XtXOSp8_Yg

so i just take the top two lor... one for the fav. guzheng (the string @ brink of kaput) and re-string her entire newly Dunhuang rosewood #21 guzheng as i dun know wat type of the present strings.

http://www.eason.com.sg/products/guzheng/tbz9.jsp

so please let me know if anyone like to get new sets of strings before i press the CONFIRM sale button. TQ sweat.gif

Added on July 5, 2010, 11:08 am
QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Jul 5 2010, 09:41 AM)
.. and now i'm also very interested to start cello and harp.. hahahahah..  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

there is a 3/4 laying around at home after i upgrade my noti boy to a Scott Cao full size. then later his Luis & Clark if he commits.(then i lelong the scott Cao to u lor) .. hahaha... harp mayb after u grad i hope there is one layin in my house...

maddie still pesterin me on her harp last nite ..... "teacher lilian said will introduce me to her KLPac frd to teach me harp after i've completed AB G8"....... "i wan a concerto harp Dad" ... doh.gif sweat.gif feel like tellin her by then u will be back to the place u born for studies .. cannot bring it there lar darlin.

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 5 2010, 11:08 AM
cassiemissy
post Jul 5 2010, 02:24 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 5 2010, 09:49 AM)

Subang,

Cassie,
I think you and Ooi well get along well. You know the piano and violin, loves other string instruments like cello. The main thing is she seems to be soul searching for an instrument like you.
rclxms.gif me in disguise? haha.. i guess i have found my twins..

ya.. i do feel we have similarity.. haha..

QUOTE(subangman @ Jul 5 2010, 10:48 AM)
there is a 3/4 laying around at home after i upgrade my noti boy to a Scott Cao full size. then later his Luis & Clark if he commits.(then i lelong the scott Cao to u lor) .. hahaha... harp mayb after u grad i hope there is one layin in my house...

maddie still pesterin me on her harp last nite ..... "teacher lilian said will introduce me to her KLPac frd to teach me harp after i've completed AB G8"....... "i wan a concerto harp Dad" ...  doh.gif  sweat.gif  feel like tellin her by then u will be back to the place u born for studies .. cannot bring it there lar darlin.
haha.. lelong good.. how much is ur lelong price? haha...very interesting! rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif remember to think of me 1st when u wan to lelong.. haha brows.gif brows.gif
faceless
post Jul 5 2010, 02:27 PM

4,515 posts

Subang
Concerning the link about the string. I doubt you get anything out of it for now. It seems like the forumer is asking how good is the scarlett bird string. What it means by this and that? Is it good? Perhaps when some knowledgable forumers give an appropriate answer you can benefit form it.

As to Eason in Singapore, they had my guzheng model on the link you provide. It was like RM1500 more expansive then the price I paid for my guzheng in Macau. Anyway I bought an instrument tuner from them. My brother was in SG so no transport cost for me.

You may want to look for guzheng string locally. It cost about RM5 per string (somewhere in Petaling Street area). I doubt our ear could hear the difference.

Phil,
On this matter, Phil you are the most knowledgable among us as a Shanghai Consevertory Graduate. Could your ear hear the difference between high end string and average ones.

Added on July 5, 2010, 2:34 pmCassie, perhaps you can form a duet band with your new found twin. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 5 2010, 03:19 PM
subangman
post Jul 5 2010, 03:49 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 5 2010, 02:27 PM)
Subang
Concerning the link about the string. I doubt you get anything out of it for now. It seems like the forumer is asking how good is the scarlett bird string. What it means by this and that? Is it good? Perhaps when some knowledgable forumers give an appropriate answer you can benefit form it.

As to Eason in Singapore, they had my guzheng model on the link you provide. It was like RM1500 more expansive then the price I paid for my guzheng in Macau. Anyway I bought an instrument tuner from them. My brother was in SG so no transport cost for me.

You may want to look for guzheng string locally. It cost about RM5 per string (somewhere in Petaling Street area). I doubt our ear could hear the difference.

Added on July 5, 2010, 2:34 pmCassie, perhaps you can form a duet band with your new found twin. laugh.gif
thx bru... i am not waitin for their feed back since i hardly understand wats mentioned there thus my conclusion... mei mei get both the so call top strings ..she will then let ah pa know which is better... i dun play ONLY pay. nod.gif

the guzheng that i posted from eason had been in my house since we met for St James Gate.. remember i told u i got her another guzheng to save time from tuning C to D or vice versa....

i can get strings around in klang valley but not the one i like her to have meh.... u know lar; tis ah pa pampers his gals alot one... rclxm9.gif

imagine going to Xian Scarlet Bird factory to let her choose her personalised guzheng wit name engrave on it . either #10 or #10A.

... so i just let frds around know if they like to tumpang ... Eason Sg dun even carry neither one of them... only std Dunhuang Strings. .. she got 1performance, 1 competition and exam within next few weeks... so ah pa rushin those strings in while not neglecting budder/sisters here since postage been paid. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 5 2010, 03:54 PM
faceless
post Jul 5 2010, 04:18 PM

4,515 posts

I have some reservation of high end string because of guitar strings which I came across in this forum.

This here is a link on guitar string getting rusty.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1405202 During the late 90s, this Ernie Ball Super Slinky is a very popular string. I am surprise it rust so easily today. You could see my comments there which blames the lost of quality to the company wanting to make fast buck.

Yes I remember you mention about the set you purchase. Now it is surprising to know it is the same model as mine. The model is called "Spiritual Connection" based on the poem in it as translated by Eason. It talks about playing with emotion. When I have done a fair translation of the poem, I will share it here. The poem is by a Tang Dyansty's poet Bai Ju Yi.
Ooi
post Jul 5 2010, 06:25 PM

79 posts

@cassiemissy

SOmemore I'm being linked to u..haha..
subangman
post Jul 5 2010, 08:16 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ Jul 5 2010, 04:18 PM)
I have some reservation of high end string because of guitar strings which I came across in this forum.

This here is a link on guitar string getting rusty.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1405202  During the late 90s, this Ernie Ball Super Slinky is a very popular string. I am surprise it rust so easily today. You could see my comments there which blames the lost of quality to the company wanting to make fast buck.

Yes I remember you mention about the set you purchase. Now it is surprising to know it is the same model as mine. The model is called "Spiritual Connection" based on the poem in it as translated by Eason. It talks about playing with emotion. When I have done a fair translation of the poem, I will share it here. The poem is by a Tang Dyansty's poet Bai Ju Yi.
its veri kind of u bru to translate those funny thingy characters on mei mei guzheng... old ah pek learning mandarin now... mum will b happi.

honestly high end or low end strings also rust ... due to sweat from fingers and if user lazy to wipe it clean after contact .. oxidixation from atmosphere will come .... and thumb rule.. meant to be replace every now and then... else strings factory go bankrupt lar.... in additional from in-famous PRC.

i just like to test and find out how good its it since been braggin in few international guzheng forums... never try never know.

http://www.chinesezither.net/forum/viewtop...c86ad04d3ad3ed0

This post has been edited by subangman: Jul 5 2010, 11:03 PM
faceless
post Jul 6 2010, 10:32 AM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ Jul 5 2010, 09:41 AM)
i'm not hiding la..last few weeks i'm busy and worrying with the MPYO auditions.. haha.. i went for violin audition last saturday finally.. but i'm not well prepared actually.. and i guess i'm still far from the MPYO standard.. haha.. anyway, i get a good experience.. at least now i know how i should prepare mentally and physically for auditions.. haha..
Sorry Cassie, I forgot to congratulate you for taking the bold step to go for an audition with MYPO. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif I guess it is okay to fall as long as you can get up and try again. Perhaps one day I can say to the crowd, "I know the violinist" when you will play at MPO.

Subang,
It had been 2 years and I have not even manage to translate the poem. My first struggle with it was reading it. The cursive was one reason why I could not read it (Dont forget that I am also a banana). I thought that it would be very embarassing if someone asked me what it said and I did not know. I took pictures of it and sent it to my chinese educated friends. It was a consolation for me when none of them could read all of it (well, at least my chinese is not that bad lor). Compiling the inputs from all my friends I only have half of the characters in the poem identified. One of my firend told me the name of the poet which was carved into it as a signature. I look online for the poet and finally found the two poems. When I attempts to translate it had always ended up in more guzheng practise. I know that if I made a promise, I will eventually deliver.

Ooi,
I will not compare you with Cassie anymore. I did it to make you feel at home here in "guzheng land". Feel free to ask anything about guzheng here.

This post has been edited by faceless: Jul 6 2010, 10:35 AM
cassiemissy
post Jul 7 2010, 09:31 AM

211 posts

haha... faceless.. thanks ya.. i'm actually so relieve now after the audition.. i never know how great it is to be 'worryless'.. wahaha.. but now, i'm currently preparing for a piano competition in HK.. i'm not too worry. i guess it's because it's a duet piece so i'm not going solo there.. haha..

ooi.. no worries about anything actually.. the world is so big and we have so many choices.. haha.. tell us when you finally decide on which instrument.. i'm curious.. laugh.gif
faceless
post Jul 7 2010, 11:23 AM

4,515 posts

Cassie,
Good for you. If only the competition was in KL, haiz sad.gif Dont depend too much on duet. I think you should draw on audition experience to face this competition. All the best to you.

Ooi had suddenly decided to play silent now.

Ooi,
Why so quiet. If it make you feel better you can play with my guzheng. You should thank Subang for making this suggestion. You dont have to bring your piano along. I was just joking when I said that at your thread. You must bring your father along though.

84 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:40 PM