Gu Zheng & Erhu Thread, Chinese traditional instrument

faceless
post May 3 2010, 03:06 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

Cassie,
My school is majority play for fun. That is why we skipped all over the exam book. Laoshi stress emotion because without it there is no fun. Play without expression and we will be stuck with that song. My loashi is still not making me play with both hands. I doing that on my own. Coordinating your left hand with your right hand is much harder than synchronising your play with another person (group play). I had been doing two hand for a month and still can't play a 4/4 bar. Maybe you can give me some tips.
empire
post May 3 2010, 06:06 PM

2,549 posts

faceless...if you find yourself admiring one of my angels on that day when you see her in person...then you'll know why. :-)
JoshuaLee
post May 4 2010, 01:59 AM

417 posts

now... i feel completely lost but cheers guys... have fun and enjoy the conversation... tongue.gif

will be reading only now...
cassiemissy
post May 4 2010, 09:18 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 3 2010, 03:06 PM)
Cassie,
My school is majority play for fun. That is why we skipped all over the exam book. Laoshi stress emotion because without it there is no fun. Play without expression and we will be stuck with that song. My loashi is still not making me play with both hands. I doing that on my own. Coordinating your left hand with your right hand is much harder than synchronising your play with another person (group play). I had been doing two hand for a month and still can't play a 4/4 bar. Maybe you can give me some tips.
laugh.gif laugh.gif I did not take any exams as well so tat's y i can go so fast from beginner to gr4 in just 1 and a half year time.. haha.. tat's y i wanted to know whether this is normal or not as my teacher says that it is normal for adult to go from beginner to gr4 in 1 year+ .. and my teacher did stress on the emotions but the only thing is, i couldn't really catch it sometime.. sometime can sometime cannot.. haha.. make my teacher went berserk when i can play well at one time and badly at another time.. haha..

playing with both hands ar.. for me la, i practice just the left hand 1st so i recognise all notes already.. and the work on it so i can play it fluently just the left hand.. then slowly combine it with right hand.. i practice bar by bar, memorising in the same time.. after i perfected a bar, i proceed to the next bar.. haha..

and you can always sing of the left hand melody when u play ur right hand, so subconsciously you will be comfortable tat when u r playing the right hand, u know what ur left hand should sound.. tat's wat i do la.. dunno whether it helps or not.. haha..

for me, always knowing where the left hand note ends up seems to ease my playing a little as the melody is always with the right hand, so i couldn't find the left hand notes while playing the right hand. tat's y i make sure i've memorise them and sure how they sounds.. haha..

oh..and i start learning the left hand with just very very simple note.. only 1 notes in a bar.. haha... mostly play with the pinky..pluck.. then slowly my teacher gives me songs that have more notes on the left hand..haha.. maybe u can try to find songs with simple left hand notes to practice 1st? hehe

that's my 2cents.. hope it helps.. laugh.gif

faceless
post May 4 2010, 10:46 AM

4,515 posts

Empire,
Now you are making me scared. Actually when I looked at your site, I did not pay attention to your Angels. I look at your site to know you because you are the one I am chatting with. The other thing that caught my attention was your long client list. It was very impresive.
I think if the Angles flank you outside Burger King, it will be hard to miss. Then we can go up to Chillis and ask the bartender who ordered a St James Gate. That person will likely be Subangman.

Cassie,
I dont have simple left hand pieces sad.gif The most simple one is 1535 and it is the same through the song 凤阳花鼓. This 1535, my left hand can play even without seeing already. When combining it with the right hand, they break apart. Did you have this problem before? It is like the left hand is not part of your body.

Claire,
You must be at level 5 or so? What tips can you give me on playing with both hands. How is the 扫摇 training comming along. By the way your problem is with the 扫 component or the 摇?
empire
post May 4 2010, 11:53 AM

2,549 posts

faceless...hehehe....see ya on 12 may.
cassiemissy
post May 4 2010, 02:20 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 4 2010, 10:46 AM)
Empire,
Now you are making me scared. Actually when I looked at your site, I did not pay attention to your Angels. I look at your site to know you because you are the one I am chatting with. The other thing that caught my attention was your long client list. It was very impresive.
I think if the Angles flank you outside Burger King, it will be hard to miss. Then we can go up to Chillis and ask the bartender who ordered a St James Gate. That person will likely be Subangman.

Cassie,
I dont have simple left hand pieces sad.gif The most simple one is 1535 and it is the same through the song 凤阳花鼓. This 1535, my left hand can play even without seeing already. When combining it with the right hand, they break apart. Did you have this problem before? It is like the left hand is not part of your body.

Claire,
You must be at level 5 or so? What tips can you give me on playing with both hands. How is the 扫摇 training comming along. By the way your problem is with the 扫 component or the 摇?
Haha.. is it the 1st time u play an instrument with both hand together? if so, don't worry so much.. u've just started playing together about 1 month.. dun take it too hard.. mayb if you relax and think of the music it will be better?

faceless
post May 4 2010, 03:05 PM

4,515 posts

Yes, it is the first instrument that uses both hands for me. Previous instrument is the guitar. One hand strum, the other hand hold chord. Prior to that the harmonica only one mouth to blow. I bought a harmonica holder. Played melody with harmonica and rhythm with guitar. It was not that hard to learn. Now it just unbelievable that playing guzheng with both hands is so much harder. It is good to hear that it is common for two handed playing. At least I know that I am not spastic.
cassiemissy
post May 4 2010, 04:34 PM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 4 2010, 03:05 PM)
Yes, it is the first instrument that uses both hands for me. Previous instrument is the guitar. One hand strum, the other hand hold chord. Prior to that the harmonica only one mouth to blow. I bought a harmonica holder. Played melody with harmonica and rhythm with guitar. It was not that hard to learn. Now it just unbelievable that playing guzheng with both hands is so much harder. It is good to hear that it is common for two handed playing. At least I know that I am not spastic.
laugh.gif spastic.. omg.. dun la so stress.. haha.. u just haven gotten use to it yet.. haha.. dun worry too much la.. enjoy the music and ur left hand will come slowly.. when u play them together, u might not even remember the time u feel ur left hand doesn't belong to u,.. haha laugh.gif

faceless
post May 4 2010, 05:56 PM

4,515 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ May 4 2010, 04:34 PM)
laugh.gif  spastic.. omg.. dun la so stress.. haha.. u just haven gotten use to it yet.. haha.. dun worry too much la.. enjoy the music and ur left hand will come slowly.. when u play them together, u might not even remember the time u feel ur left hand doesn't belong to u,.. haha  laugh.gif
This is a good laugh laugh.gif Thanks Cassie smile.gif

dirge3
post May 10 2010, 07:11 PM

28 posts

hi all,

my parents wanted to watch the mpo happy hour chinese music this wed but when i call they say sold out cry.gif
any1 knws anyway to get some tickets? icon_question.gif

many thxx smile.gif
subangman
post May 10 2010, 11:18 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(dirge3 @ May 10 2010, 07:11 PM)
hi all,

my parents wanted to watch the mpo happy hour chinese music this wed but when i call they say sold out  cry.gif
any1 knws anyway to get some tickets? icon_question.gif

many thxx  smile.gif
i wish i can help.

This post has been edited by subangman: May 11 2010, 05:25 AM
cassiemissy
post May 11 2010, 10:44 AM

211 posts

owww.... too bad.. if i'm not mistaken, the tickets are being sold out very very early already.. so popular.. haha..

remember to update me! ^^

This post has been edited by cassiemissy: May 11 2010, 10:45 AM
subangman
post May 11 2010, 11:04 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(cassiemissy @ May 11 2010, 10:44 AM)
owww.... too bad.. if i'm not mistaken, the tickets are being sold out very very early already..  so popular.. haha..

remember to update me! ^^
well ... honestly i still got ONE ticket left BUT its a BOX seat... i took 2 boxes (box of 8 and 4).. mean tat person will b seatin beside me.. doh.gif
faceless
post May 11 2010, 12:28 PM

4,515 posts

I thought the box are number according to letter. Guess, I am in Box 7. Cassie, we will update you.
subangman
post May 11 2010, 03:31 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 11 2010, 12:28 PM)
I thought the box are number according to letter. Guess, I am in Box 7. Cassie, we will update you.
wat i meant was box of 8 person and box of 4 person....
faceless
post May 11 2010, 04:57 PM

4,515 posts

Box with 4 seat. How come I did not get that. I though you purchase tickets later than me.
subangman
post May 11 2010, 10:20 PM

562 posts

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by subangman: May 12 2010, 09:15 AM
faceless
post May 12 2010, 09:32 AM

4,515 posts

All excited and ready to go for tonight consert. smile.gif Too bad this is not one of those rowdy type of concert. Otherwise I will bring in the wineskin and party.

Cassie, you are going to miss this. Anyway, now I am playing like I had 2 left hands. It feels very "cacat". Did you have two left hand when you learn the piano?
cassiemissy
post May 12 2010, 09:49 AM

211 posts

QUOTE(faceless @ May 12 2010, 09:32 AM)
All excited and ready to go for tonight consert.  smile.gif Too bad this is not one of those rowdy type of concert. Otherwise I will bring in the wineskin and party.

Cassie, you are going to miss this. Anyway, now I am playing like I had 2 left hands. It feels very "cacat". Did you have two left hand when you learn the piano?

yea.. going to miss it.. nevermind.. there'll be another chance.. haha.. hope so..!

emm.. two left hand? ahaha.. u r damm funny in describing ur hands.. haha.. i guess it's an improvement rite..? last few post u say tat ur left hand dun feel like ur hand.. now it has become ur left hand but ur right hand become another left hand.. haha.. soon, the fake left hand going to become back ur right hand.. dun worry..

i dun really remember me having both left hand when playing the piano.. when i started playing the piano with both hands, i'm still very small.. so i dun remember the detail.. haha.. all i ever remember is piano is to be play with both hand.. tongue.gif tongue.gif but i remember when playing the guzheng, my left hand doesn't really listen to my wishes well.. tongue.gif but it will pass sooner or later.. lik i said.. furthermore, u r really hardworking and interested in this instrument so i think ur left hand will be obedient soon.. continue with ur progress! ^.^

84 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0179sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:02 AM