Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

ChaiLatte
post Jan 4 2011, 05:21 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(mushroomgirl @ Dec 28 2010, 02:06 AM)
hi, do u guys buy your textbooks in Aus? Or buy them in M'sia and bring em over to Aus? I've been told that the books in Aussie costs a bomb yawn.gif
I wouldn't bring textbooks over to Australia if I were you. They weigh a tonne and you have a weight limit when traveling. Most of universities use textbooks from Australia or the States anyway, so it would also be expensive in Malaysia.

Buy it there, try getting used ones. Amazon.com also has a wide selection of used and new books. Personally, I like bookdepository.co.uk when I have to buy new books.

P.S.
Those who are coming to Canberra to study, we have a very cold winter. So pack appropriately.
ChaiLatte
post Jan 5 2011, 08:59 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(zeke'stah @ Jan 4 2011, 05:44 PM)
u could use carry them as hand luggage ryte? i dun think they weight ur hand luggage.. xD
Yeap, most airlines do not weigh your hand carry. But as I said, most books are not cheaper in Malaysia anyway (as they are imported books). Plus when you're going abroad for a few years I'm sure you have a tonne of things to bring, at least I did, hehe.

ChaiLatte
post Jan 7 2011, 09:03 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(rickrick @ Jan 7 2011, 12:50 AM)
stick wit fast food, they pay u basic rate. In perth after 3 months working probation they give me $21 per hour. Not sure about sydney, mel, etc-etc ..
Working in Australia is pretty rewarding. I work as a bartender in Canberra for $21 an hour. Although I have to work late shifts I enjoy my job. 18 hours (3 shifts) a week and I would be able to fully cover rent.

Job vacancies varies from city to city and experience is valued a lot. So if you are hunting for your first job, be prepared to look harder and not be picky.

ChaiLatte
post Jan 19 2011, 11:17 AM

28 posts

I agree with Luke1989 that living in a residential hall/college is a good idea.

Things to consider are:
1. Price of the college (how do the prices compare to other accomodations ?)
2. Catered or non catered college ?

Get into Australia with an open mind. Play a new sport, meet people from places you never knew existed, it's all part of the experience !
ChaiLatte
post Jan 24 2011, 03:42 PM

28 posts

Student Visas approved after April 2008 allows students to work for 20 hours a week during term time and 40 hours non term time.

I wage aboue A$22/hour. I earn enough to cover my expenses excluding lodging plus some extra. I had some difficulties landing my first job as Australian employers have emphasis on experience.
ChaiLatte
post Jan 25 2011, 06:17 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(angelsien @ Jan 24 2011, 03:45 PM)
may i know what are the recommended jobs for newcomers? or how did you start? thank you, appreciate it!
I cannot recommend jobs for anyone. Different people have different preferences and skills. Some people can work late while others prefer normal hours. Best advice I can give starting out is printing 15 of your CVs (obviously updating and asking someone to proof read it prior) and hand them out to various places. I gave out 12 initially but only had 1 call back and I considered myself lucky. Applying during the holidays when people are away also increases your chances, it did for me at least.

Do note that job markets is different cities vary considerably. Do not be choosy especially on your first job.

Good luck and happy hunting !

0.0473sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:11 PM