Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

zeke'stah
post Jan 10 2011, 08:12 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(Nufag @ Jan 10 2011, 08:11 PM)
whaaaat? you come to australia and u dont intend to enjoy 500kbps line? u gotta be kiddin me dude
the blackberry allows that kind of speed too right?! >< correct me if i'm wrong bro.. and i'm stayin at urbanest, i dun think i can get landline there unless i move to my own place... xD correct me if im wrong again!
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 10:36 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Nufag @ Jan 11 2011, 02:52 AM)
hm. a bit weird that the student accommodation dont state anything bout external isp. because from what i know, most student accommodations force you to subscribe external isp's for internet. lol maybe u should email them to ask if its possible
urbanest is a new student accommodation opening in February only. wifi and internet is inclusive in the rent already. each tenant is given 1 GB internet allowance and you can pay to top up. smile.gif so i dun think it's possible to get my own land line tho.. sad.gif
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 11:12 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(Nufag @ Jan 11 2011, 10:48 AM)
lol thats disappointing. i can use 1gb in a day  tongue.gif
you're making me so jealous.... o.o care to share a bit on ur experience with internet in australia? is it fast? how much roughly? i think i have to get a place with new friends to get a land line right?

Added on January 11, 2011, 11:15 amANYONE GOING TO ADELAIDE AND LOOKING FOR A ROOM MATE??? PLEASE LET ME KNOW!!! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by zeke'stah: Jan 11 2011, 11:15 AM
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 02:23 PM

306 posts

anyone knows roughly how much the food prices are in ADELAIDE?? is it costly? i gym so i need protein...alot.. was considering buying beef and cookin it at home. just wonderin how much it'd cost roughly. im sure the cost would be different from sydney. pls advice.
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 04:11 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Jan 11 2011, 02:54 PM)
Hi everyone.

I finished SPM in 2010 and now I don't know where I'm heading.

I need some guidance and help.

Here's my situation. I want to study medicine (MBBS), what are the important things I should know?

My parents want me to study in Australia as my father is a MBBS graduate from UNSW and I was born in Australia.

However, I want to study locally (any recommendations? I'm thinking IMU) as it is, in my opinion, cheaper and easier to go back home. It also feels "at home" in Malaysia.

So with my circumstances, which route should I take?

Study in Australia or in Malaysia?

Thanks!

-Shaun

P.S I was born in Australia and right now I have an Australia Declaratory Visa. I don't know if this information helps, I'm just adding it here in case it does.
in choice of both, i suggest Australia, if your parents can support , which im sure shouldn't be a problem since your dad's a doctor. reason? i feel, yes...u still get an MBBS here, cheaper and easier to go back home, however, u won't have that experience of experiencing a new environment, learning new cultures, adapting, and all. i'm a single child with a single mom. my dad passed away, however mom insists i go aussie. i'm kinda for it now. i'm leaving in 28 days time. lol... they won't quite look at the paper u hold ...more of the experience u have, how u present urself, ur maturity level. smile.gif it speaks alot of u if u go overseas and do well. biggrin.gif once in a lifetime experience like that can't be bought brah... wink.gif
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 06:03 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(SRLee @ Jan 11 2011, 05:29 PM)
Hey zeke'stah,

Because studying in Australia comes with an extremely high price tag, I feel it unnecessary to experience a new environment and/or new cultures just to get the MBBS since when everyone comes out to work (opening a clinic like my father), the place where the doctor graduated doesn't matter at all.

And actually, doctors aren't rich. Doctors just get to live a comfortable life unlike businessmen who ARE the real rich. My plan is actually to study medicine and at the same time, be an entrepreneur. In fact, I never planned to be a long-term doctor. I just want it to be kind of like a "safety net" for life while I build businesses.

Regarding the once-in-a-lifetime experience, I feel it can be obtained once I become successful in life. I can still get the experience at age 50, whereas the cost associated to get the MBBS from Australia isn't worth it in my opinion. Net income doesn't increase anyway.

-Shaun

P.S I'm sorry for your loss.
Hey limeuu,

Actually, I AM an Australian citizen. I have the rights to go to Australia and just create an Australian passport. If I do that, I lose my Malaysian citizenship which I value highly. I have until age 22 to decide which citizenship I want.

And yes, from what I've heard, it's very difficult to be admitted into Australian med-schools. Previously, I thought I could just decide which university I want to go and just go. Now that I've been exposed to some information, it's becoming clear that good med-schools CHOOSE the students.

Now what med-schools in Malaysia/Australia are good med-schools?

-Shaun
ah it's alright man... smile.gif haha..awesome.. i wish u all the best!!
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 06:17 PM

306 posts

it always floods in Malaysia... xD
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 06:24 PM

306 posts

ah crap. lol...hoped u're an adelaide dude zstan.. xD
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 07:25 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Jan 11 2011, 06:41 PM)
Does anyone here play indoor soccer/ field soccer often in Sydney? Desperately looking for people to play with as I will be moving to Sydney towards the end of February. Do drop me a PM! Thank you.

Btw, Zeke'stah I've been living in Adelaide for 2 years now, so feel free to PM me if you've anything you want to know and I'll try my best to provide you with the answers.
alright. thanks man. got a question though, what are meal prices like?? and to open a bank account, what's the minimum amount? where did u use to stay man? biggrin.gif
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 07:39 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Jan 11 2011, 07:37 PM)
@zeke'stah If u wana save, u can go to cheaper options like K-Noodle. Got discount with student card. $5.40 for rice with  3 choices. There are several cheap chap fan places in adelaide. usually less than $8 for a large meal.
wow! are they around in the city? im gonna be staying in the city biggrin.gif i hope they are!! and how much do i need minimum to open a bank account bro?
zeke'stah
post Jan 11 2011, 11:19 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(lawl @ Jan 11 2011, 11:06 PM)
Yup. All of them are in the city. K-noodle is opposite target. They are all in rundle mall. Just walk everywhere when u arrive.
cool brah. k-noodle is a restaurant? o.o
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 12:22 AM

306 posts

cools...thanks man. are u a gym go-er?
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 01:48 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Jan 12 2011, 12:35 AM)
Yeah, meals are pretty affordable provided you know where to eat at. Places like Swinging Bowl ( Rundle Mall ) and the foodcourts at Chinta town will cost you about AUD7-8.

I don't actually think that there's a min amount needed provided you have the proper documents and what not. But you should check with the bank you want to open an account with.

I am actually leaving Adelaide for good on thursday, and I currently reside in the city @ west terrace, it's just a 5 mins walk from the campus you will be studying at looking from the information at your siggy. And oh yeah, you will have classes @ the Magill campus as well.

Oh yeah, just a tip though. Try not to find accommodations provided by Student Living Australia because they're pretty f***ed up.

Since you're into gym as well, I suggest paying World Gym and the Adelaide U gym a visit before signing up for Fitness First ( on Currie St ). But if you do decide to join FF, do look for a membership consultant named Maggie, she's a personal friend of mine and she'll give you the best deal around.
Rgds,

Kien
alright. thanks man. my campus will be city east. magill? why would i have classes there bro? and i agree with u on the SLA accommodations. they're terrible, i still feel gettin a place and movin in with ur mates are best. how about city east campus gym? i heard they're good too. i dun intend to do FF cuz it's pretty $$... T_T how much were u paying?
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 10:27 AM

306 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Jan 12 2011, 02:09 AM)
Oh? That's cuz the business school is @ City West and communication courses are taught at Magill. Where will you be staying at?

AUD14 p/week for off peak hours.
that's what i thought! but apparently my classes will be at city east tho... o.o

i'll be staying at 140 north terrace, URBANEST. new building set to open its doors on 1st Feb.. seen the place.? xD

Added on January 12, 2011, 10:28 am
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 12 2011, 03:09 AM)
Damn you Kien, Brendan here! I dont know you visit LYN biggrin.gif Congrats on ur graduation cheers.gif

Zeke, UniSA City East gym is not the best around, but for the price and ease of access (just go after class), that is my choice. The rate is AUD6 per use, AUD55 for 10 times, AUD85 for 3 months and theres another one for 6 months but i dont know whats the price. every basic weights/machines are there so if u arent fussy, its good enough.

For Bank, BankSA is pretty much the choice. I dont think there is a minimum amount, all you need is your passpord and student card. They will open a student account for you, free of charge for whatever usage for students. The ATM card acts as a debit card, so can use that for online shopping. 

and your friend Ms Su worked at K-Noodle. Go ask her laugh.gif
hm... where would you suggest going? fitness first? alright. already had my mind on bankSA. biggrin.gif hahaha....well i heard she was "underpaid". i don't intend to work there... ><

This post has been edited by zeke'stah: Jan 12 2011, 10:28 AM
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 01:16 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(LengluihunteR @ Jan 12 2011, 12:39 PM)
Oh hahahaha what a small world indeed! Thanks bro, see you around man. I am leaving for good tomorrow hahaaha, do holler if you do go to Sydney!
Oh, maybe that's because you're studying in SAIBT mate, most of the classes are held there regardless of what your major is.

Ah yeah, URBANEST is pretty neat but beware though it is situated directly opposite of the casino hahaha. GL HF tongue.gif
yeah man!! saibt!! crap...i enrolled wrongly... sad.gif i listened so bluntly to the idp woman... crap..nvm... just go through it... my TER was 93 and she told me SAIBT. why? i think she took my "cheaper" word too seriously.. =.= CASINO?? not a tram station?? x(
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 05:08 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 12 2011, 02:58 PM)
Will do, good luck!  icon_rolleyes.gif

@Zeke
if u are worried about money then i think UniSA's the cheapest around tongue.gif Maybe stick to UniSA first and after a few months if u think its not up to par, or u arent that shocked about the 3X conversion rate anymore, then u can look for other alternatives.

The tram station is in the middle of the road, the casino is on the other side of the road. Down below the casino is the TRAIN station.
hahaha... alright man. thanks... which do u recommend actually?? 14 per week on off peak hours sounds not bad though.. xD
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 06:04 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(windz93 @ Jan 12 2011, 05:57 PM)
Please advise:

I applied for my student visa online on 30 December 2010, and yesterday my status read "health requirements finalised". There are no other documents/information outstanding, after having lodged required docs online on 4 January. Course starts 27th Jan. However, I am already booked to leave Malaysia on 17th, but will only get into Melbourne on 20th (layover 2 nights in Spore). IF my visa is still not out on the 18th, what should I do? Do I apply online for a ETA tourist visa first? If yes, what do I do when I get into Melbourne?

No idea what is holding up the application!? Thanks in advance!
why don't you call the australian hicom? ask them about your visa's status. or u can also call the medical centre where u did ur medical. my visa issue was with the medical centre, one call and the next day my visa was issued . biggrin.gif
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 06:55 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(windz93 @ Jan 12 2011, 06:23 PM)
If my processing centre is Perth WA, I doubt they will entertain my case.
why would they not entertain you man? you have every right to ask about your visa application status. you're going there to study, they shouldn't not entertain you. call the DIAC. if they are lazy to entertain you, just obtain the number of the Australian embassy in WA. then call yourself. smile.gif

Added on January 12, 2011, 6:57 pm
QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 12 2011, 06:43 PM)
i usually go for AUD85 for 3 months. 3 months is just nice fit into 1 Study Period (not sure how it is for SAIBT). that will be around AUD7 per week for 12 weeks. U can go check it out and see if it has the stuff that u need or not, but everything basic is there i believe.
hmm...you got any experience from fitness first? biggrin.gif the pricing and all. Miss Su says it's expensive. then someone told me it's 14 aud per week on off peak hours. i was thinkin if i hit the gym 5 times a week, it's pretty worth it no?

This post has been edited by zeke'stah: Jan 12 2011, 06:57 PM
zeke'stah
post Jan 12 2011, 07:54 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(pyroboy1911 @ Jan 12 2011, 07:29 PM)
I've been with UniSA gym for the past 2 years, simply because it is on campus and so much easy to access after class. Like i said u can go and visit these 2 and check them out yourselves then make your decision smile.gif
haha..alright man.. u can take me in to see the place right? when will u be going back to adel?
zeke'stah
post Jan 13 2011, 01:21 PM

306 posts

QUOTE(immabee @ Jan 12 2011, 11:52 PM)
Ahh.. got a bit relieved. I applied uni B and C, via QTAC [Around mid-Nov, and both institutions under QTAC are notified with my application] and uni D via SATAC [once my Aussie year 12 results are out - end of Dec, they gave me an auto-conditional offer and advised me not to do anything till they send unconditional offers into my email]. Uni A is based from forecast results and gave me a conditional offer in early Dec and later to unconditional after submitting my results.

AFAIK,
Offer rounds for QTAC - Tomorrow [13/1] for Uni B and [14/1] for Uni C, but doubt it will arrive on time due to floods in Brisbane. Just notified, pushes till 20th of Jan. OMG!.
SATAC [Uni D] - [14/1].
Offer from Uni A - [14/1] It was made final by the administration dept. No appeals will be entertained.

Main preference: Uni B. However, the entry requirements for Uni B is sorta high. My results are somehow pretty close behind the course I would like to enrol, after looking at the OP table provided by QTAC, thought my interstate results might be converted slightly higher and may stand a chance to get in. Just read an article involving some statistics and shows majority of QTAC applicants are highly interested in commerce, which hinted me that the competition is going to be real stiff. It doesn't really matter if I get accepted or not at the end of the day, I just want to find out what's their response. Afraid once if I accept other offers and pay in beforehand, and what if this offer comes in later, I would definitely remind myself that I've lost such a great opportunity. Eligible for Uni C and D by fulfilling entry requirements before the offer letter stamps my destiny.

Uni A is definitely the last or second last preference, in case if all 4 institutions do not accept me.

Preferences
Uni B> Uni C/E> Uni D/ Uni A.

Lol, I guess I'm a bit of risk-taker than playing safe for now.  sweat.gif
hahaha.....stressful being in your kind of situation man.. xD guess....you should just wait for UNI B.. smile.gif i'm sure even if you don't get into UNI B, you can go for C or E then credit transfer to B?

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0376sec    0.15    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:57 AM