Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

podrunner
post Jan 30 2012, 09:20 PM

2,214 posts

@ haya, this is from another thread, which may be useful for me as well:

"If one already has a visa with one uni, but then decides to go to another, (for the same course), what kind of reasons would work to get a "letter of release"? Has anyone any successful experience to share? " TeeTee99

This post has been edited by podrunner: Jan 30 2012, 09:20 PM
onelove89
post Jan 30 2012, 10:11 PM

Fighter for God
3,107 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 30 2012, 09:09 PM)
Would you recommend Dodo (unlimited or otherwise) to someone in Tassie?

Do you bundle your phone also with iiinet?
Dodo gets frequent disconnections from time to time. speed varies too, and throttles if say, one is mass downloading using torrent. If you need the unlimited, it's still decent. Friends lived of it for a year despite sharing with few housemates.

Not too sure bout that cos I don't use landlines. =P I think our phone line is from telstra. Weird isn't it. =P Telstra internet doesn't have on off peak if not mistaken. my gf is using it.

This post has been edited by onelove89: Jan 30 2012, 10:12 PM
blackespresso
post Jan 31 2012, 04:52 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 30 2012, 09:09 PM)
Would you recommend Dodo (unlimited or otherwise) to someone in Tassie?

Do you bundle your phone also with iiinet?
Don't get Dodo, I have heard so many bad things about them. Get a more established internet provider like TPG.
cheoys
post Jan 31 2012, 06:48 PM

111 posts

hi, do i really need to go to Australia embassy in Malaysia to verify my visa to my new passport? or i can just email them.
TShaya
post Jan 31 2012, 07:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 30 2012, 09:20 PM)
@ haya, this is from another thread, which may be useful for me as well:

"If one already has a visa with one uni, but then decides to go to another, (for the same course), what kind of reasons would work to get a "letter of release"? Has anyone any successful experience to share? " TeeTee99
http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/changing_courses/

Spoon feeding is a habit not easily changed, I see.
podrunner
post Jan 31 2012, 07:57 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Jan 31 2012, 07:28 PM)
http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/changing_courses/

Spoon feeding is a habit not easily changed, I see.
I read that already, was more interested in the "any successful experience to share" bit. Addressed it to you as you seemed to be all-knowing as far as studying in Australia is concerned.
limeuu
post Jan 31 2012, 08:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 31 2012, 07:57 PM)
I read that already, was more interested in the "any successful experience to share" bit. Addressed it to you as you seemed to be all-knowing as far as studying in Australia is concerned.
rules as listed in aussie gov websites are pretty much as it is....ie it will work exactly as the rule says....

changing institutions (but the same course) is not uncommonly done, usually after the 1st year....

if one has not started, then with the new coe, one has to apply AGAIN for a new student visa......
podrunner
post Jan 31 2012, 09:05 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jan 31 2012, 08:32 PM)
rules as listed in aussie gov websites are pretty much as it is....ie it will work exactly as the rule says....

changing institutions (but the same course) is not uncommonly done, usually after the 1st year....

if one has not started, then with the new coe, one has to apply AGAIN for a new student visa......
Thanks!
eugene_lys
post Feb 3 2012, 12:54 AM

44 posts

From the information I gathered a few posts ago, shipping a laptop from other countries that is valued above 1k AUS is charged with tax. My questions is:

1. If I would want to bring a desktop over myself to be used in Australia(RM 3.6k) would I be charged tax?
2. Is there anything else I must take note of should I bring it back to Australia
3. How would I proceed to ship it to Australia? Is it possible to check it in as one of my luggage(AirAsia)

Destination for flight would be Perth, WA. Looking for an answer to this ASAP as I am going back on the 12th of Feb.
LightningFist
post Feb 3 2012, 02:59 AM

Minion of the Damned
3,965 posts

QUOTE(eugene_lys @ Feb 3 2012, 12:54 AM)

From the information I gathered a few posts ago, shipping a laptop from other countries that is valued above 1k AUS is charged with tax. My questions is:

1. If I would want to bring a desktop over myself to be used in Australia(RM 3.6k) would I be charged tax?
2. Is there anything else I must take note of should I bring it back to Australia
3. How would I proceed to ship it to Australia? Is it possible to check it in as one of my luggage(AirAsia)
Destination for flight would be Perth, WA. Looking for an answer to this ASAP as I am going back on the 12th of Feb.
1. Shouldn't be a problem, people bring their belongings including computers over with them all the time. I don't know how the tax works though.

Hikari0307
post Feb 3 2012, 05:25 AM

平成の光
4,541 posts

If your bringing it with you as a luggage, I don't think you'll get taxed. They don't ask for the value of your computers etc. at border security anyway (as far as I know)
You'd have to check with AirAsia whether you can or not and how much it would cost you. Pack it nicely and label it as fragile.
giomanach
post Feb 3 2012, 08:28 AM

488 posts

Hey! Please keep us updated if you would get charged or not. I would be flying back to Perth on 19th and I would be bringing a desktop as well. LOL.
I am most probably checking it in as one of my luggage.
blackespresso
post Feb 3 2012, 10:26 AM

121 posts

This will only happen if you buy a brand new laptop from outside Australia and ship it using one of the shipping services. So, if you bring the laptop (brand new or not) by yourself as your luggage, you would not get tax. Same thing goes for PC components.
samsung1234
post Feb 3 2012, 11:22 AM

226 posts

Should i buy my printer in Sydney or it's advisable to bring it from here ?
giomanach
post Feb 3 2012, 02:49 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(blackespresso @ Feb 3 2012, 10:26 AM)
This will only happen if you buy a brand new laptop from outside Australia and ship it using one of the shipping services. So, if you bring the laptop (brand new or not) by yourself as your luggage, you would not get tax. Same thing goes for PC components.
So what if it's an old desktop but I'm shipping it to Australia. Would they charge me tax?
TShaya
post Feb 3 2012, 03:25 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Some definitions need to be clarified here:

1) "Shipping" is defined as using one of them courier companies to send stuff from another nation to Australia. If it is commercial in nature (eg Amazon) then the value of the item has to be declared.

2) Bringing your laptop/notebook/desktop to Australia in your luggage is not considered "shipping" by Customs' definition. So no, if you bring your own laptop/notebook/desktop to Australia with you as you arrive in Australia, you will not be charged tax.

I have brought 2 laptops into Australia, where are purchase were worth about RM6000. Of course, don't bring in a bag full of computer parts: that's how you get pulled aside.

Another example: fellow friend brought a desktop from M'sia, which at time of purchase was valued around RM5000. Really, your more pressing concerns will be weight and how to make sure your desktop survives the journey.

Some discussion on bringing desktop's to Australia here: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1286048/+1300

3) If you ship a full desktop/notebook/laptop over as a private individual, (ie asking your parents to send one over via DHL), generally you don't get taxed, even if it is a Alienware worth RM4000, as long as you declare it as a "gift".
TShaya
post Feb 3 2012, 03:28 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(samsung1234 @ Feb 3 2012, 11:22 AM)
1) Do you have the weight available?

2) What kind of printer?

3) Generally, printers in Australia aren't that much expensive. It is the cost of the consumables that have a much higher markup.

Example: original HP toner that costs A$150 in Australia can be had for RM199 in Malaysia. Don't get me started on inks.
malleus
post Feb 3 2012, 03:56 PM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(samsung1234 @ Feb 3 2012, 11:22 AM)
I won't bother with carrying a printer. I'll just get it there. But ink cartridges or toners, I'll get it here. These are far smaller and easier to carry, and the price difference is substantial too.

Worse case scenario, you can just use a friend's printer, but supply your own ink cartridge, especially when its tree killing time.
eugene_lys
post Feb 3 2012, 06:02 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(giomanach @ Feb 3 2012, 08:28 AM)
Hey! Please keep us updated if you would get charged or not. I would be flying back to Perth on 19th and I would be bringing a desktop as well. LOL.
I am most probably checking it in as one of my luggage.
Called Malaysian High Comm today. They said that bringing own desktop over has no tax charges. However must write a testimonial stating that desktop is for personal use and not for sale. Must also bring the invoice for the purchase of the desktop over.

Now that's out of the way, per recommendation when reading from post 1300+, it is recommended to remove certain parts of the desktop. What concerns me however is my means of packaging my desktop. Will it survive if I just dump it back to my casing box, add lots of foam and bubble wrap it. If so where could I get bubble wrap and the fragile sticker. Going back to Perth via AirAsia as stated before so can I get the sticker at LCCT?
ArthurTan
post Feb 4 2012, 03:39 PM

14 posts

Anyone going to RMIT melbourne on July?

141 Pages « < 130 131 132 133 134 > » Top

0.0312sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:32 PM