Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

limeuu
post Nov 28 2011, 07:06 PM

12,290 posts

those of you on bridging visa a, what is the substantive visa you are applying for?.....485 or 885?......and how long have you been waiting?.........
limeuu
post Nov 28 2011, 11:23 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 28 2011, 07:26 PM)
485.applied since march 2011 and they still processing April 2010 application from the last time i checked(last 2 months)
april 2010?......looks like some people will have a longer bridging visa a than the 485!
limeuu
post Dec 8 2011, 11:00 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(kwh1989 @ Dec 8 2011, 09:04 PM)
anyone consider doing Honours in Finance in University of Melbourne? I am in a big dilemma on whether to continue honours next year or to go back Malaysia and start working.
an honours year is practically worthless in msia.....most potential employers will NOT know the implication of having an honours in the oz context...
limeuu
post Dec 9 2011, 01:09 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Dec 9 2011, 11:27 AM)
Anyone heading to UTAS next year?>
offers will only become confirmed after the year 12 results are released, which should be sometime next week.....
limeuu
post Dec 9 2011, 06:01 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Dec 9 2011, 05:39 PM)
I've been checking on the critical skills list for Australia, namely Perth, WA and amongst the most prized skills are mechanics, nurses, welders, bricklayers, and such in the construction arena.

Anybody here doing such courses? These courses I heard are easiest to gain employment in OZ.
if the intention is to gain right to stay and work in oz, and NOT an education, then there would be indeed good professions to get trained in.....

don't laugh....many international students, particularly those from prc, purposely take up nursing because that is one profession that almost guarantees a job.....their problem is getting the ielts band 8 to qualify for a pr visa, as the rules have changed......
limeuu
post Dec 10 2011, 06:30 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 10 2011, 05:51 PM)
Band 8 for extra marks or is it a compulsory thing? Cos I think RN are in a special category like doctors. But if Dipl holders, then I think they need a band 8 for sure.
I think lawyers are back in the SOL list. Most of my friends takes a DD in law and Accounting, finish up their accounting degree, and use that to apply for PR first. I have no idea how but I had a friend who did that. But that was around 6-7 years ago. things might had changed.
lawyers, as are pharmacists are back.....and they took off optometry.....

it's all about getting enough points to be eligible.....as fresh graduates, you do not have experience, so zero points there....so you need the full 20 points from ielts band 8 to qualify......of course if you have points from other categories (eg experience, family sponsorship, study in low population region etc), you do not need band 8.....
limeuu
post Dec 11 2011, 10:59 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(onelove89 @ Dec 10 2011, 07:17 PM)
as I recall, SOL has an extra 10 points, so goes to RN and doctors. I haven't really looked into the point system for PR eligibility yet.

Hmm, interesting they took off optometry. I think OZ only has like 3-4 unis providing optometry, wouldn't they be in shortage of them? Unless they've been mass importing them from other countries.
the new points system does not allocate any points for being in the sol.....but if your profession is not in the list, you cannot apply at all.....

there is a change in the format, and eventual responsibility of an australian optometrist, and hence optometrist trained in another country (the sol equally apply for all graduates from within and without oz) will not be able to fit into this new responsibility....what leeway there exists then for international students graduating from the new format 3+2 programme in unclear......

there are currently only 3 unis conducting optometry, and the entry cutoff is higher than medicine in some instances.....
limeuu
post Jan 10 2012, 04:22 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 9 2012, 03:31 PM)
Which Aus city has the lowest costs of living?
Would that be Tasmania?
1. tasmania is NOT a city, but a state and an island.... biggrin.gif

2. it is expensive, due to it's isolation....if you are talking about capital cities, adelaide is probably the cheapest.....
limeuu
post Jan 12 2012, 01:06 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Jan 12 2012, 12:25 PM)
Thanks!  biggrin.gif

How come the fees for Tasmania U are so much cheaper than the mainland?

Whats the budget for room, board and other expenses in Adelaide yearly?

cheaper fees is the only way they can attract international students to go study there.... smile.gif

living cost will be about brisbane level, maybe a bit more than adelaide, but still cheaper than sydney/melbourne....
limeuu
post Jan 31 2012, 08:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jan 31 2012, 07:57 PM)
I read that already, was more interested in the "any successful experience to share" bit. Addressed it to you as you seemed to be all-knowing as far as studying in Australia is concerned.
rules as listed in aussie gov websites are pretty much as it is....ie it will work exactly as the rule says....

changing institutions (but the same course) is not uncommonly done, usually after the 1st year....

if one has not started, then with the new coe, one has to apply AGAIN for a new student visa......
limeuu
post Feb 6 2012, 12:44 AM

12,290 posts

read the front page lah.....
limeuu
post Feb 6 2012, 09:59 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(cutebubbles @ Feb 6 2012, 03:05 AM)
yo dude. i did == im asking wat exactly is a generic china power bank cos i dont get it. sorry if im stupid. im just seeking for confirmation from more students as i have a friend that told me hers caught on fire. which i dont know why that happened...
there is a picture there, no?.....it is just an extension cord with socket bank using universal type sockets....

'catching fire' just means a short circuit or overload lah....can happen with any extension cords.....
limeuu
post Feb 9 2012, 05:36 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(mindsg @ Feb 8 2012, 03:10 PM)
Hi guys,

Can I check if its possible to present my uni's offer letter at the Qantas check-in counter to get higher, ie, 30kg of check-in
allowance?? I am flying to Australia from Singapore for the first time for studies. I called the Qantas Australian call centre, where the operator told me "there is no such thing as a student getting more baggage allowance at Qantas". I was like, what?? I thought all major airlines like MAS,SQ etc offer free upgrade to 30kg for students as an unwritten rule. Buying an extra 10kg cost like A$400, and I'm already a poor student sad.gif sad.gif

Anybody who used Qantas before can advise? Fellow forumers who are flying to study in Australia, please beware about flying with Qantas! sad.gif
qf standard allowance is 23kg....

and they do not have 'student allowance'......

the so called mas student 30kg allowance is part of the grad membership programme.....
limeuu
post Mar 18 2012, 02:33 PM

12,290 posts

it is impossible for a $100/week room in melbourne, unless it's a distant suburb, or it's the usual private student housing dump, or you are sharing a single room with someone else.....
limeuu
post Mar 19 2012, 11:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(alfredchang90 @ Mar 19 2012, 11:28 PM)
Hi, I'm currently studying in Australia, I'm going to graduate at the end of this year but my student visa only expires in the middle of next year.

1. Can i apply for a TR after i graduate even if my student visa has not expired?

2. I can only apply for a TR if i study 2 full years in Australia right? Any less then that and i can't, is that right?

3. Also, I can only apply for a TR if i manage to get a job right? i need the employer to extend it am i right?

4. I can only apply for my PR after i get a TR and a job to improve my chances right?

Thanks very much guys. Really appreciate it. smile.gif
1. yes

2. yes, for 485

3. no need job for 485. not extenable, but employee sponsored visa can be applied

4. no. 885 can be applied any time if you have the points
limeuu
post Mar 20 2012, 08:17 AM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 20 2012, 03:41 AM)
Hi guys, i need some information here.

I want to do Australian Degree Program at Inti@Nilai. The problem is they only have 2+2 option.

In order for me to get the 1+3 option, i would have to contact any Australian Universities that i prefer to go and ask them whether if i can enter in the 2nd year of my Australian Degree program.

So, is this the right path ? And which is the best/good university for engineering in Australia ?

Thanks.  icon_rolleyes.gif
just go direct entry then, no?....how much saving can you have with 1+3......?
limeuu
post Mar 20 2012, 04:32 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 20 2012, 04:25 PM)
Oh. My parents told me to study at least my foundation here and then go so would be easier.
a 2+2 twinning programme is NOT a foundation.....you will need to have a recognised pre-u to enter such a programme....

your parents are likely misinformed.......
limeuu
post Mar 20 2012, 05:39 PM

12,290 posts

QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 20 2012, 03:41 AM)
Hi guys, i need some information here.

I want to do Australian Degree Program at Inti@Nilai. The problem is they only have 2+2 option.

In order for me to get the 1+3 option, i would have to contact any Australian Universities that i prefer to go and ask them whether if i can enter in the 2nd year of my Australian Degree program.

So, is this the right path ? And which is the best/good university for engineering in Australia ?

Thanks.  icon_rolleyes.gif
QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 20 2012, 04:25 PM)
Oh. My parents told me to study at least my foundation here and then go so would be easier.
QUOTE(hamswat @ Mar 20 2012, 04:37 PM)
I mean they told me to do my "foundation in science" and then go overseas.

But i prefer twinning program like the American Degree / Australian degree.
there is no such thing as an 'australian degree programme' at inti....

since you mentioned engineering, there is NO twinning arrangement between inti and any aussie uni.....

thus, it sounds like credit transfer, and that is a big no-no.........you can well be left hanging and dry....

your parents' intention for you to do 'foundation' and go is exactly direct entry into aussie unis.....

i sense a severe case on lack of understanding.....which is worrying for someone contemplating engineering....

limeuu
post Apr 23 2012, 11:39 PM

12,290 posts

that is a very confusing and inaccurate reply....

bottom line is, locals (both citizens and pr) get commonwealth supported places (csp), which is subsidised by the oz gov to the tune of about 2/3 to 3/4.....

so locals will still need to pay about a third.....but can borrow money, called hecs (it's like ptptn loan), which the student pays back when they start work and earn over a certain amount...

so the simple answer is, local students pay about 1/4 to 1/3 the fees paid by international students.....either up front, or eventually.....

Added on April 23, 2012, 11:45 pm
QUOTE(nando @ Apr 23 2012, 11:29 PM)
AND that also for the ever popular courses (dentistry, law, med), a PR holder can opt to do year 11-12 over there and use the results to enter the popular unis (competing against locals as opposed to international students)?
wrong....

you don't have to be local to do year 12.....various colleges in msia (and elsewhere) run year 12 programmes, eg sam, ausmat...

it is easier to enter oz unis using a levels than year 12 results into especially critical courses....

it is easier for internationals to enter critical courses (whatever pre-u they use) than locals.....

This post has been edited by limeuu: Apr 23 2012, 11:48 PM
limeuu
post Apr 23 2012, 11:53 PM

12,290 posts

i was referring to lightingfist...

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0232sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled