Studying in Australia (V 3.1), Please use proper English

SUSDeadlocks
post Aug 15 2010, 07:09 PM

n00b
943 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2010, 06:58 PM)
what about that?
sounds offensive TO ME and i react back to it..any wrong for my reaction as human being?
it may not sound offensive to you but it is for me..
and that's not even related to my pride at all...

sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Why did it sounded offensive to you, and not to others?

Have you ever asked?
limeuu
post Aug 15 2010, 07:27 PM

12,290 posts

excellent!..........

see what can be achieved with a little effort!....

the above exchange proves that people are capable of good english, if they so want to......

keep it up....... rclxms.gif
hihihehe
post Aug 15 2010, 08:07 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(Deadlocks @ Aug 15 2010, 09:09 PM)
Why did it sounded offensive to you, and not to others?

Have you ever asked?
Wait, you mean I should feel the same with other guys like you?
And is there any wrong if I feel it was offensive while you're not?
You are getting lost man... maybe you were thinking everyone is the same so I should not feel offensive... you were wrong..

Your statement was like why are you emo when other people is not?
think back for yourself...
KVReninem
post Aug 15 2010, 09:15 PM

IX
5,369 posts

there goes the utterly boring rant about English police vs whose pro whose crap like me who rant.. but anyhow FYG.

I wonder if they are better in what they said, why didn't -they- contribute more than being the police to make people understand the matter when I dont need chim-glish to get my point over...

SSLOM,NGB. KW. yawn.gif

Added on August 15, 2010, 9:27 pm
QUOTE(eyhc89 @ Aug 15 2010, 03:44 PM)
I understand that this is an English speaking forum and that, we are supposed to type in proper English in this thread as per the title. Sometimes I would feel reluctant to post anything in this thread because I know my English is going to be judged the minute it is posted and due to the lack of knowledge in some areas, I felt that I should have just shut up and watch other 'knowledgeable' people to answer the queries. But this would have defeated the purpose of a forum. We come here to share what we know, and sometimes what we know is incorrect. That's when people come in and correct us. We share our knowledge and improve ourselves. However, in my opinion, there are more proper ways of correcting people. I somehow feel for hihihehe as I read haya's reply. It felt as though he has been ridiculed for a mistake that he might not have realized. He could have accepted the fact that he did not put forward the query in a grammatically correct way if we would have corrected him in a better way. There wasn't a need for the 'rant' section.
I am not sure whether I have the stand to voice this out. I speak for people who might have quit posting in this thread because they are afraid of having to make mistakes and being ridiculed for that. We are all in a learning process. This reminds me of how I was afraid to ask questions when I was in Malaysia because some teachers would reply with something like 'are you stupid? Didn't you hear what I just said?'. Students just quit asking when they are given this kind of response and this has somehow hindered the learning process.
I am glad that I came out of this trauma after being exposed to the Australian way of teaching. The tutors and lecturers in the university are more than happy to take any question and even, encourage students to see them during consultation hours. This is just my point of view. No offense to haya or limeuu.
+1. Good one. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 15 2010, 03:50 PM)
hmm, i am totally fine by pointing out my mistakes but the "pointing out" statement from him kinda like looking down on me..thats what i feel
so should i be happy if some1 pointing out my mistakes + looking down or sounds harsh? guess not..
i dont mind if u just reply "i dont understand your query,try again?"
but from the way i read and understand your post?sorry dude, that post not comfortable for me...

thats all...

p/s: my English really sucks compare with you guys but at least I still learning...and to be honest,I never type a proper English in Internet especially forum..can say as my "bad style"
Dude, dont waste time here in this thread. Long it had been hijacked. Just let the *pros* to TCTS. Now you feel How I feel. smile.gif

This post has been edited by KVReninem: Aug 15 2010, 09:27 PM
JasonMania
post Aug 15 2010, 10:06 PM

372 posts

You guys are overreacting. Can we get back to answering questions about studying in Australia ?

If you still like to countinue your pissing contest I recommend opening up another thread.
hihihehe
post Aug 15 2010, 11:13 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Aug 16 2010, 12:06 AM)
You guys are overreacting. Can we get back to answering questions about studying in Australia ?

If you still like to countinue your pissing contest I recommend opening up another thread.
That's what I want. Just that someone trying drag it for no reason.
I will stop here and let this thread contains only healthy discussion.
Sorry and just move on..
hazwan
post Aug 16 2010, 12:14 AM

43 posts

I give credit to those who doesn't have a good English but aren't afraid to ask.

back to the question, Last Name first or First Name first? That's something I'd wanna know aswell.
limeuu
post Aug 16 2010, 12:20 AM

12,290 posts

the answer is in the front page..........
StarGhazzer
post Aug 16 2010, 04:05 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(eyhc89 @ Aug 15 2010, 02:44 PM)
I understand that this is an English speaking forum and that, we are supposed to type in proper English in this thread as per the title. Sometimes I would feel reluctant to post anything in this thread because I know my English is going to be judged the minute it is posted and due to the lack of knowledge in some areas, I felt that I should have just shut up and watch other 'knowledgeable' people to answer the queries. But this would have defeated the purpose of a forum. We come here to share what we know, and sometimes what we know is incorrect. That's when people come in and correct us. We share our knowledge and improve ourselves. However, in my opinion, there are more proper ways of correcting people. I somehow feel for hihihehe as I read haya's reply. It felt as though he has been ridiculed for a mistake that he might not have realized. He could have accepted the fact that he did not put forward the query in a grammatically correct way if we would have corrected him in a better way. There wasn't a need for the 'rant' section.
I am not sure whether I have the stand to voice this out. I speak for people who might have quit posting in this thread because they are afraid of having to make mistakes and being ridiculed for that. We are all in a learning process. This reminds me of how I was afraid to ask questions when I was in Malaysia because some teachers would reply with something like 'are you stupid? Didn't you hear what I just said?'. Students just quit asking when they are given this kind of response and this has somehow hindered the learning process.
I am glad that I came out of this trauma after being exposed to the Australian way of teaching. The tutors and lecturers in the university are more than happy to take any question and even, encourage students to see them during consultation hours. This is just my point of view. No offense to haya or limeuu.
Thank you. It was indeed getting ridiculous over such a small matter. itz not as if some1 is typng lk diz.

QUOTE(hazwan @ Aug 16 2010, 12:14 AM)
I give credit to those who doesn't have a good English but aren't afraid to ask.

back to the question, Last Name first or First Name first? That's something I'd wanna know aswell.
Your name followed by your surname; or surname (comma) your name.

John Smith,

or

Smith, John.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 16 2010, 04:05 AM
GI-Joez
post Aug 16 2010, 05:44 AM

21 posts

Quick question.. is working visa included with study visa? i was told that recently but it sounded kinda wrong.. or am i wrong?
TShaya
post Aug 16 2010, 08:18 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(GI-Joez @ Aug 16 2010, 05:44 AM)
Quick question.. is working visa included with study visa? i was told that recently but it sounded kinda wrong.. or am i wrong?
All Australian student visa's issued after 26 April 2008 have a working visa built in, that allows one to work in Australia for up to 20 hours during the semester.

http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/w...while_studying/

I will answer legitimate questions, IF I can understand them.

This post has been edited by haya: Aug 16 2010, 08:57 AM
TShaya
post Aug 16 2010, 09:00 AM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 16 2010, 04:05 AM)

Your name followed by your surname; or surname (comma) your name.

John Smith,

or

Smith, John.
Well, its not as simple as that. The problem is that what constitutes a first name and a last name in different cultural context. Talk to some Japanese and their definition of "first name" may be the same identifier (surname) that his/her family members use.

After rereading member hihihehe post for a while I came to the conclusion that's what he's asking. To put it in context, he is asking:
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 14 2010, 12:10 PM)
a question for those who graduated..
u put ur name in last name first then only first name or first name then last name?i mean in ur testamur/cert
If it is the graduation parchment, the standard format (for QUT at least) is First name, Surname. That's fine if your name if John Peter Smith. The question is, how does that work in the Malaysian context?

If you are Tan Ah Beng, where Tan is your family name (ie the same identifier (surname) that his/her family members use), then the parchment would be awarded to Ah Beng Tan, NOT Ah Tan (the "Beng" in this context is NOT a middle name, as most Australians think it is).

But if it was the sister Lucy Tan Ah Lian, which is the first name/last name? By Australian reckoning, the "first name" would be Lucy, and Lian would be the last name. As Malaysians we see the error in that. So does that mean the parchment is awarded to Lucy Ah Lian Tan, or just simply Lucy Tan?

Its the same issue with Malay names. Say Mohammad Shukri bin Mohammad Zain. Is your first name Mohammad or Shukri? Or both? And its the same question with "last name": is it Mohammad, Zain or both?

And Hindu names? Take the name Samundee Devan a/l A.Ramasamy. We think that "Samundee" would be the first name, but some of them prefer to be called "Devan", ie the second word in their name, which they see as their "first name".

Its a similar story to some Ibans from Sarawak: someone who has "Adam Brian anak Assim" on his birth certificate and Malaysian Identification Card is never known as "Adam", but "Brian Assim".

So do you understand my frustration(s) with ambiguous questions relating to name placements? How do you define "first name" is very much on your background.

For the first case, the award was given to "Ah Beng TAN".
It was "Lucy TAN" who got the second award (don't ask me why she left out her given Chinese name).
Shukri, as he is commonly known, had Mhd Shukri MOHAMMAD ZAIN printed on his parchment.
Devan RAMASAMY was a proud recipient of a PhD.
To find his masters thesis, one would need to look under Assim, B. His cousin on the other hand, can be found under Assim, James Jerad in the library.

I'm not saying these are hard rules. Some would be aghast at Lucy's "betrayal of her Chinese roots". Shukri's relatives wonder why the "Dato Seri" is not in his fathers name. Some would be horrified that Devan dropped part of his fathers name.

My point is, how do you define "first name" and "last name" is very much dependent on the individual. Which is why, in the absence of any more information, it is impossible to give any kind of proper advice and help.

Endnote: While the name placements are real experiences, all names used to illustrate my point are fictional names. Any resemblance to real persons, living or dead, is purely coincidental.

This post has been edited by haya: Aug 16 2010, 09:03 AM
hihihehe
post Aug 16 2010, 09:51 AM

13,782 posts

fair enough..

but my university able to let me choose which to put first because of difference in other countries..
that's why i'm wondering should i put surname,last name or the other way round..or it really doesn't matter?( i know employer not stupid)
TShaya
post Aug 16 2010, 12:42 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

Looks like most universities give their students a choice on what name to appear on their parchment. I suppose you could put "Darth Vader" on your graduation parchment and it'd probably go through. (Yes, it can be mind numbing entering all that graduation information into a database)

Well for member hihihehe I suppose it all comes down to your own preference. I know of a lawyer practicing in Malaysia whose parchment reads the Ah Beng Tan way, with Tan being his surname. Never caused any issues for him. On the other hand if you're intending to work in Australia having your parchment given to a Mr Beng while your CV is for Mr Tan will raise a few eyebrows.

But as you said, employers are not stupid. I don't think the order of your name will affect you in any way employment wise. That, and the fact which ever way you choose to order the placement of your name, your surname/family name will usually be in upper caps.

Edit: Oh, and many happy returns of the day hihihehe. smile.gif

This post has been edited by haya: Aug 16 2010, 12:46 PM
StarGhazzer
post Aug 16 2010, 05:14 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 16 2010, 09:00 AM)

This is going into too much detail... helpful yes, but a lot of them are pure nitpicking.

Chinese names are easy - Ah Beng TAN will usually solve the problem. Most people, including myself don't mind being called just the "Ah", but for those who are fussy you can always write it as AhBeng Tan in most non-official documents. Stick with Ah Beng TAN for official stuff.
Those with Christian names will usually get away with John Ah Beng TAN, or they'll just use John Tan for informal circumstances.

Malay and Indian names are a bit complicated as they don't have a typical family/surname... Most people which I know just use their dad's name as their surname and are never known to cause any hoohah.

So,
Mohammad Shukri MOHAMMAD ZAIN is pretty much self explanatory, same with Samundee Devan RAMASAMY.

If anyone's worried, just explain it... most Australians are used to exotic names and tend to understand / appreciate / accept our names as long as we highlight/caps / underline our surname.

My passport has my name in "Tan Ah Beng" format and no authorities have ever given me trouble after my explanation that Malaysian Chinese generally put their surname in front.

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Aug 16 2010, 09:51 AM)
fair enough..

but my university able to let me choose which to put first because of difference in other countries..
that's why i'm wondering should i put surname,last name or the other way round..or it really doesn't matter?( i know employer not stupid)
Again, the easiest way is to put your family/surname/dad's name (depending on your ethnicity) in caps or underline it.

For certificates, use Ah Beng Tan to make life easier... unless they really specify that they want TAN, Ah Beng.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Aug 16 2010, 05:16 PM
hihihehe
post Aug 16 2010, 07:08 PM

13,782 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 16 2010, 02:42 PM)
Looks like most universities give their students a choice on what name to appear on their parchment. I suppose you could put "Darth Vader" on your graduation parchment and it'd probably go through. (Yes, it can be mind numbing entering all that graduation information into a database)

Well for member hihihehe I suppose it all comes down to your own preference. I know of a lawyer practicing in Malaysia  whose parchment reads the Ah Beng Tan way, with Tan being his surname. Never caused any issues for him. On the other hand if you're intending to work in Australia having your parchment given to a Mr Beng while your CV is for Mr Tan will raise a few eyebrows.

But as you said, employers are not stupid. I don't think the order of your name will affect you in any way employment wise. That, and the fact which ever way you choose to order the placement of your name, your surname/family name will usually be in upper caps.

Edit: Oh, and many happy returns of the day hihihehe. smile.gif
that sounds right..and thanks again nod.gif

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 16 2010, 07:14 PM)
This is going into too much detail... helpful yes, but a lot of them are pure nitpicking.

Chinese names are easy - Ah Beng TAN will usually solve the problem. Most people, including myself don't mind being called just the "Ah", but for those who are fussy you can always write it as AhBeng Tan in most non-official documents. Stick with Ah Beng TAN for official stuff.
Those with Christian names will usually get away with John Ah Beng TAN, or they'll just use John Tan for informal circumstances.

Malay and Indian names are a bit complicated as they don't have a typical family/surname... Most people which I know just use their dad's name as their surname and are never known to cause any hoohah.

So,
Mohammad Shukri MOHAMMAD ZAIN is pretty much self explanatory, same with Samundee Devan RAMASAMY.

If anyone's worried, just explain it... most Australians are used to exotic names and tend to understand / appreciate / accept our names as long as we highlight/caps / underline our surname.

My passport has my name in "Tan Ah Beng" format and no authorities have ever given me trouble after my explanation that Malaysian Chinese generally put their surname in front.
Again, the easiest way is to put your family/surname/dad's name (depending on your ethnicity) in caps or underline it.

For certificates, use Ah Beng Tan to make life easier... unless they really specify that they want TAN, Ah Beng.
ya,i also just remember they will put the surname with capital on it..so i guess that will clear up everything..thanks again
TShaya
post Aug 16 2010, 07:19 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(StarGhazzer @ Aug 16 2010, 05:14 PM)
Which is why I'm surprised that this question comes up so often when dealing with graduation documents in a multicultural environment. Nitpicking? Maybe, but it isn't limited to just names.

mysticxin
post Aug 19 2010, 11:47 AM

251 posts

if you don't mind about rankings and quality, just go for Griffith since u still can get a degree and pay much less.

If you do care about the quality of education and would like to pay more, go for UQ.

elainor
post Aug 19 2010, 12:52 PM

Snap snap snap
1,095 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Aug 14 2010, 02:43 PM)
hey guys what is the best way to send my bicycle from perth to sydney?? how much will it charge?what courier or shipping is the best?
alex13
post Aug 19 2010, 02:41 PM

400 posts

QUOTE(elainor @ Aug 19 2010, 12:52 PM)

Not sure how you treasure your bicycle. If it is a precious, please ignore my thread.

For my housemate case, she sold it and get a new one on another city. It is more worthwhile to do so.

141 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:15 PM