Serious Talk the best media player, which would u reccomend?

TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 12:13 PM, updated 16y ago

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,022 posts

Guys, im sure many of you would have purchased media players which can store mkv and other files and play hi def movies in TV ( 1080 and 720 )

Any brand u all may recommend? I'm sure many of u purchased it from this forum and outside. Which is the best? western digital? or other brand? pls feedback a bit so that i can buy. I'm looking forward to buy 1. Need something good stuff, with nice functions, produces good quality to full HDTV

TehWateva
post Jan 6 2010, 12:15 PM

Schadenfreude Beaches.
1,448 posts

Great question, was pondering myself. But would be more suitable in other subforums TBH
liez
post Jan 6 2010, 12:15 PM

1,346 posts

KM player satisfied me the most...wad kinda file oso can
vapeace
post Jan 6 2010, 12:16 PM

217 posts

I just install klite media player in my pc and hook up to my house 32lcb tv... watch in HD liao no problem
flop_shuvit
post Jan 6 2010, 12:18 PM

44 posts

R u functioning?
SUSd3l4croix
post Jan 6 2010, 12:22 PM

74 posts

use tv out at graphic card to tv can haf better pic, no need buy media player
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 12:25 PM

1,022 posts

But near my TV no pc worrr......PC in my room, im planning to get this for my hall TV
maximus85
post Jan 6 2010, 12:26 PM

O.M.F.G~!!!
605 posts

Stormcodec Media Player...

saw my friend using KM player as well, not bad...

but for music i use iTunes lo... sounds better
vapeace
post Jan 6 2010, 12:26 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jan 6 2010, 01:25 PM)
But near my TV no pc worrr......PC in my room, im planning to get this for my hall TV
y dont u built an intel atom medai pc... laugh.gif
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 12:28 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wrong thread..Try to surf more in Home Entertainment Forum..

For me I'm using AC Ryan PlayonHD. Abit pricey but it also act as NAS too. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1106233

All types of files..you name it all can wan..

Others such as X treamers, Mvix, Dvico can also kua..check more review here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1189397

On WDTV, although they can play BD/MKV movies, but lotsa sellers was telling me WDTV can't play RMVB format?
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 12:29 PM

1,022 posts

Ok the thing is, i wanna store all my hd mkv movies into the 1TB hdd and connect it to the tv to play all the movies. So definitely i need the player too right?
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 12:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeap..You can even store the 1TB-2TB int HDD inside the player too as a NAS.
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 12:34 PM

1,022 posts

Ok so direct to the point, since u have knowledge in it, which would u recommend me to?
vapeace
post Jan 6 2010, 12:35 PM

217 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 6 2010, 01:32 PM)
Yeap..You can even store the 1TB-2TB int HDD inside the player too as a NAS.
arent u suppose to l;urk as where ?
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 12:42 PM

1,022 posts

I want to store 1 TB movies in it. Just looking for a reliable HI-DEF movie storage player
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 12:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not expert hor..still learning from those earlier provided threads. B4 this, I was using my PV/Notebook to play all those MKV/TS files but due to the lagging issue, decided to use Media player. 1st I got myself a cheapo media player <RM200 that suppose to play all kind of BD files suchs as MKV/MP4/Avi & etc but turned up it can't play certain BD MP4/BD-Avi files..So dissapointed, returned & got thiis AC Ryan & wow since then...

Can say ham-palang whatever format also can & no more lagging..superb HD.. thumbup.gif I heard the cheapest ~RM550.. I got it for RM580 cry.gif

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jan 6 2010, 12:34 PM)
Ok so direct to the point, since u have knowledge in it, which would u recommend me to?
azwan92
post Jan 6 2010, 12:52 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jan 6 2010, 12:42 PM)
I want to store 1 TB movies in it. Just looking for a reliable HI-DEF movie storage  player
Seagate

This post has been edited by azwan92: Jan 6 2010, 12:55 PM
ruffstuff
post Jan 6 2010, 01:01 PM

3,345 posts

htpc/xbox/ps3 + file server/home server would be the best
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 01:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Ehh This seagate only support up to 500GB & note even 1TB how about 2TB + the specs..does not mentioned anything about MKV, TS, M2TS & etc...risky to get something that can't play lotsa HD formats as what I experience earlier.. smile.gif
QUOTE(azwan92 @ Jan 6 2010, 12:52 PM)
iPod30gb
post Jan 6 2010, 01:09 PM

174 posts

windows media player 8 whistling.gif
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 01:40 PM

1,022 posts

QUOTE(iPod30gb @ Jan 6 2010, 01:09 PM)
windows media player 8 whistling.gif
U still need a computer to play that right smile.gif I dont want to place a computer near to the tv as its a tv in the hall.
peinsama
post Jan 6 2010, 01:45 PM

Au fait
725 posts

itunes cos its from Apple
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 01:48 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just continue from the earlier given link to the Home Entertainment forum can liao...Those ppl are the sifus & Media player sellers there..OK moved this to Home Entertainment Forum. smile.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Jan 6 2010, 02:22 PM
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 02:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Jan 6 2010, 01:45 PM)
itunes cos its from Apple
helo bos, long time no see.. biggrin.gif
echoesian
post Jan 6 2010, 03:12 PM

3,294 posts

Becareful, this A.C. Ryan Playon HD sometimes do flickering when playing movies not sure why
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 03:29 PM

1,022 posts

Ok AC Ryan Playon HD blacklisted
Mr.Copland
post Jan 6 2010, 03:46 PM

42 posts

Get dvico 6600 or xtreamer... both using latest chip 1283
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 03:49 PM

9,206 posts

1283 is latest? 1073 is not same family meh?
chewkl
post Jan 6 2010, 04:01 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

IIRC correctly, 1283 = 1073 + DVR functions (which is not being used anyways) biggrin.gif
stimix
post Jan 6 2010, 04:05 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Not sure why u said that, so far you are the only one facing this problem hmm.gif
QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 6 2010, 03:12 PM)
Becareful, this A.C. Ryan Playon HD sometimes do flickering when playing movies not sure why
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 04:07 PM

1,022 posts

But some of those stuffs nowadays doesnt come with optiocal out, i wonder y
azbro
post Jan 6 2010, 04:14 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jan 6 2010, 04:07 PM)
But some of those stuffs nowadays doesnt come with optiocal out, i wonder y
brows.gif hehe.. brows.gif
auhckw
post Jan 6 2010, 04:30 PM

1,008 posts

I also use A.C.Ryan Playon!HD

Reasons:-
-Can play most video files
-Can support 3.5" internal hdd. 3.5" hdd cheaper. With internal hdd in, is like all in one box. Easy to carry around
-NAS
-Box looks nice
-Still quite actively developing firmware. The staff responds in their forum
-YAMJ (soon to be integrated), looks good for cataloging my movie collections

Disadvantages:-
-If you loose / damaged your remote, then there is no way for you to use the player anymore
-GUI Interface not too fancy but gets the job done. With YAMJ coming, it will be much better
-I get flicker once in a while if I were to set output to 1080p, but if I were to set it to 1080i, 720p, then I will not get the problem. This could be firmware issues
-I have a problem when I put player into standby, it sometimes will go back online. This is a known bug and I was told by PlayonHD moderator that next firmware might fix this.

Before buying PlayonHD, i was thinking to go for WDTV Live.. but WDTV live cannot support RMVB and has no internal storage. This 2 points turned me off.

Was also thinking about China brands cause it is cheap. But after surveying, PlayonHD support seems better.

Just my opinion...

Disclaimer: I am not associated with A.C.Ryan just a happy user

Added on January 6, 2010, 4:36 pmJust to give you an idea of what YAMJ looks like:-

This post has been edited by auhckw: Jan 6 2010, 04:36 PM
phat_newbie
post Jan 6 2010, 04:44 PM

265 posts

I'm on the same boat as TS. Wanted to get another media player and my first choice was WDTV Live because I have a WDTV 1st gen and I feel that it's a very good budget player. But now came across Xtreamer which looks quite promising with RMVB support and wireless. Now I'm confused. Still reading up a lot before jumping out from the WD clan.
azbro
post Jan 6 2010, 04:49 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(phat_newbie @ Jan 6 2010, 04:44 PM)
I'm on the same boat as TS. Wanted to get another media player and my first choice was WDTV Live because I have a WDTV 1st gen and I feel that it's a very good budget player. But now came across Xtreamer which looks quite promising with RMVB support and wireless. Now I'm confused. Still reading up a lot before jumping out from the WD clan.
Buy the Xtreamer and compare then with the WDTVlive
phat_newbie
post Jan 6 2010, 05:11 PM

265 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 6 2010, 04:49 PM)
Buy the Xtreamer and compare then with the WDTVlive
If I buy Xtreamer, then I can only compare with WDTV 1st Gen. Which I think is an unfair comparison. Don't have WDTV Live but really wanna get it until I came across this Xtreamer. Headache rclxub.gif

TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 05:16 PM

1,022 posts

Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaa so many u comparisons and competition? Not even one can be chosen as the best?
Skylinestar
post Jan 6 2010, 05:49 PM

Mega Duck
10,478 posts

why not try yanxi's media player? comes at a good price.
echoesian
post Jan 6 2010, 06:00 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jan 6 2010, 04:30 PM)
I also use A.C.Ryan Playon!HD

Reasons:-
-Can play most video files
-Can support 3.5" internal hdd. 3.5" hdd cheaper. With internal hdd in, is like all in one box. Easy to carry around
-NAS
-Box looks nice
-Still quite actively developing firmware. The staff responds in their forum
-YAMJ (soon to be integrated), looks good for cataloging my movie collections

Disadvantages:-
-If you loose / damaged your remote, then there is no way for you to use the player anymore
-GUI Interface not too fancy but gets the job done. With YAMJ coming, it will be much better
-I get flicker once in a while if I were to set output to 1080p, but if I were to set it to 1080i, 720p, then I will not get the problem. This could be firmware issues
-I have a problem when I put player into standby, it sometimes will go back online. This is a known bug and I was told by PlayonHD moderator that next firmware might fix this.

Before buying PlayonHD, i was thinking to go for WDTV Live.. but WDTV live cannot support RMVB and has no internal storage. This 2 points turned me off.

Was also thinking about China brands cause it is cheap. But after surveying, PlayonHD support seems better.

Just my opinion...

Disclaimer: I am not associated with A.C.Ryan just a happy user

Added on January 6, 2010, 4:36 pmJust to give you an idea of what YAMJ looks like:-

Yeah that's why.. I've set to 1080i or 720p but what is the point of watching a 1080p source with 1080i output right. I think there must be something wrong in the firmware
auhckw
post Jan 6 2010, 06:08 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jan 6 2010, 06:00 PM)
Yeah that's why.. I've set to 1080i or 720p but what is the point of watching a 1080p source with 1080i output right. I think there must be something wrong in the firmware
Actually I can't tell the difference between 1080i, 1080p, 720p on my 42" Full HD Plasma with 720p / 1080p video files... Maybe my eyes not good enough hmm.gif
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 06:10 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(auhckw @ Jan 6 2010, 06:08 PM)
Actually I can't tell the difference between 1080i, 1080p, 720p on my 42" Full HD Plasma with 720p / 1080p video files... Maybe my eyes not good enough  hmm.gif
you sit far back enuf, even 480p and 1080p looks similar.. biggrin.gif
echoesian
post Jan 6 2010, 06:11 PM

3,294 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 06:10 PM)
you sit far back enuf, even 480p and 1080p looks similar..  biggrin.gif
for 42", need to sit closer to abt 5-6 feet to enjoy the details
Mr.Copland
post Jan 6 2010, 06:18 PM

42 posts

Its hard to find the best.., today the best player is ABC but until when? Next week maybe XYZ... Just buy one that suit your need and budget
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 06:19 PM

9,206 posts

there is best, but at what cost! that's the issue!
chewkl
post Jan 6 2010, 06:35 PM

Peasant
2,170 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 06:19 PM)
there is best, but at what cost! that's the issue!
Later they will complain Sigma chipset on Dune 3.0 and C-200 cannot do RMVB. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 06:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jan 6 2010, 06:35 PM)
Later they will complain Sigma chipset on Dune 3.0 and C-200 cannot do RMVB. biggrin.gif
best doesn't mean 100% mah.. it just means best of the pack.. biggrin.gif
TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 07:38 PM

1,022 posts

All i want is good stuff, reliable, supports all sort of HI DEF outputs, mainly support 1TB with remote. Brand i don't really care smile.gif
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 6 2010, 08:49 PM

1,976 posts

QUOTE(deejay_krish @ Jan 6 2010, 07:38 PM)
All i want is good stuff, reliable, supports all sort of HI DEF outputs, mainly support 1TB with remote. Brand i don't really care smile.gif
what kind of files do you have / need to play?

check out this thread... there's also a link to a user review

TSdeejay_krish
post Jan 6 2010, 11:33 PM

1,022 posts

Just mkv files, avi files, and other good quality formats
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 6 2010, 11:53 PM

1,976 posts

then a WDTV + USB HDD would do fine

WDTV live if you need network capability. it just doesn't do RMVB

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Jan 6 2010, 11:58 PM
SUSs3an_looi
post Jan 7 2010, 10:27 PM

ZQOUTLET.COM
2,144 posts

WDTV Live (don't get WDTV) ... because WDTV Live support DTS via HDMI and Optical cable. I read reviews that WDTV will not output sound if the file had DTS audio inside. The price difference isn't that great and I got it from Harvey Norman for RM480 in December 2009.
stimix
post Jan 8 2010, 07:38 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

WDTV Live can play RMVD files? It was my previous target to get this but all the sellers advised me not too bcos can't play RMDV files..i hv lotsa those files too in additions to others...No point getting that if can't play certain format...
SiriuslyCold
post Jan 8 2010, 09:34 AM

1,976 posts

no it cannot. WDTV mini can, but that doesn't have HDMI and is slightly overpriced

for more file type support, get the Diyomate from @yangxi

This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Jan 8 2010, 09:35 AM
izzadfariz
post Jan 8 2010, 09:54 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2010, 07:38 AM)
WDTV Live can play RMVD files? It was my previous target to get this but all the sellers advised me not too bcos can't play RMDV files..i hv lotsa those files too in additions to others...No point getting that if can't play certain format...
where to buy this ACRYAN?

i am interested this model because its allowed internal harddisk.
other model also good and cheaper but too busy to bring the player and external together
stimix
post Jan 8 2010, 10:01 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Mana=mana IT malls in Klang Valley got dy...I got it from Sunway OPyramid..abit preicey at RM580...Heard u can get here in garage sales for <RM560 & also RM550 at LYP hmm.gif

QUOTE(izzadfariz @ Jan 8 2010, 09:54 AM)
where to buy this ACRYAN?

i am interested this model because its allowed internal harddisk.
other model also good and cheaper but too busy to bring the player and external together
izzadfariz
post Jan 8 2010, 10:30 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2010, 10:01 AM)
Mana=mana IT malls in Klang Valley got dy...I got it from Sunway OPyramid..abit preicey at RM580...Heard u can get here in garage sales for <RM560 & also RM550 at LYP  hmm.gif
ic...that thing is not availabel in my place.
i hope somebody will do bulk with reasonable price
really interested with this model smile.gif
stimix
post Jan 8 2010, 10:33 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Try not only looking at AC Ryan, now there are more..Hotly discused now is the Mede8 player...almsot similar looking toi AC Ryan but having better functions such as SD card slot & play/rwd/fwd/stop button that AC Ryan don't have....

Read the current Realtek player thread..
vcchok
post Jan 11 2010, 03:33 PM

Hi guys,

Does any one know whether WDTV mini can support RMVB RAM file. Previously those films downloaded are in RMVB format and it is fine for WDTV mini to play on my LCD, recently the form changed to rmvb ram file.

Please help. terima kasih

ar188
post Jan 11 2010, 03:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2010, 10:33 AM)
Try not only looking at AC Ryan, now there are more..Hotly discused now is the Mede8 player...almsot similar looking toi AC Ryan but having better functions such as SD card slot & play/rwd/fwd/stop button that AC Ryan don't have....

Read the current Realtek player thread..
luckly you mod after POHD fanbois come cucuk you.. biggrin.gif
hoggie
post Jan 15 2010, 03:01 PM

check out the items in below link. The BlueAngel H10R, Yangxi A6, HDPro are by far the best media player now ... can play ALL types of format .... support up to 1080p, ethernet, coaxial, optical, hdmi ..... so much better than other branded ones...

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/986399

CSin
post Jan 16 2010, 12:36 PM

194 posts

Hey, i have a problem with my sony lcd klv40s550a and hdpro..

i cant select to 1080p, the max i can go is 1080i..

besides, HDMI got no sound...

note: yangxi said its realtek 1073 core compatible problem..

Anyone here experience this??
hdwarexpert
post Jan 16 2010, 01:00 PM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(CSin @ Jan 16 2010, 12:36 PM)
Hey, i have a problem with my sony lcd klv40s550a and hdpro..

i cant select to 1080p, the max i can go is 1080i..

besides, HDMI got no sound...

note: yangxi said its realtek 1073 core compatible problem..

Anyone here experience this??

possible solution: either change lcd tv or change media player....

0.0288sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:29 PM