XBOX HELP !

TSMrzGreen
post Jan 6 2010, 11:15 AM, updated 16y ago

I just bought a xbox few days ago in lowyat, the seller told me it was softmoded. I bought it in the price of rm1250 with 1 controller. And he also give me a CD to use when the xbox cant run certain game then I hv to put this disc in and after that it will be able to run.

He also tell me I can go online to play if I use original game disc but DONT UPDATE. I try go online when I got home the 1st thing xbox want me to do is update, I called him back but he dont sound sure to answer my question... Hope some pros can help me here ...

I dont know what type of softmod is in my xbox ... how to check?
My dashboard look like normal MS dashboard, with Welcome, Friends, Video & Music Marketplace etc, whole thing is green color.

I saw many thread ppl saying they kena ban for using softmoded xbox to go online .. but the seller tell me if I use original game then I wont.. is that true ?
omnimech
post Jan 6 2010, 11:20 AM

DaFuQ
1,441 posts

Go online with orignal game .. when ur xbox is modded will result in xbox famous ban hammer coming on top of ur cute little xbox
poyohebat
post Jan 6 2010, 12:25 PM

47 posts

Update via pendrive?
Jcsy
post Jan 6 2010, 03:08 PM

Frag First! Think Later?
2,782 posts

QUOTE(MrzGreen @ Jan 6 2010, 11:15 AM)
I just bought a xbox few days ago in lowyat, the seller told me it was softmoded. I bought it in the price of rm1250 with 1 controller. And he also give me a CD to use when the xbox cant run certain game then I hv to put this disc in and after that it will be able to run.

He also tell me I can go online to play if I use original game disc but DONT UPDATE. I try go online when I got home the 1st thing xbox want me to do is update, I called him back but he dont sound sure to answer my question... Hope some pros can help me here ...

I dont know what type of softmod is in my xbox ... how to check?
My dashboard look like normal MS dashboard, with Welcome, Friends, Video & Music Marketplace etc, whole thing is green color.

I saw many thread ppl saying they kena ban for using softmoded xbox to go online .. but the seller tell me if I use original game then I wont.. is that true ?
using original game on modded console also will be banned

MS doesnt care about u using original games.. in fact, they care only about their firmware and it being changed (softmodded)

once softmodded, anything u do wont escape u from the ban.. its either sooner or later

if your dashboard is like that, its using the latest interface

the update u're downloading is probably the November 2009 update, which propogates one of the worse bans into the system if they detect u have modded your console

it disables gamertag, hard disk installation, audio and video for movies and songs, bla bla bla..

u can update to take that risk but if i were u, i wouldnt

as long as u're modded, u're likely to be banned.. sooner or later and there is no escaping it
bcsong96
post Jan 6 2010, 03:15 PM

35 posts

Bro ,

Softmod or hardmod ...hiaz are modded console ..U can play online if they dont caught u ,but eventually they will track u and ban the console ...Without game update, u cant go online ...

Since u r buying original dics ,y need to buy modded set?
TSMrzGreen
post Jan 6 2010, 04:27 PM

I also duno what is softmod and hardmod.. summore it cost me extra 300++ to get the softmoded set ...

I thought can go online with it coz he told me so .. now need find a way to unmod it .. anyone know how ?
IccyAsd
post Jan 6 2010, 05:08 PM

846 posts

huh? i dont get you i thought u said the price was RM1250? thats the usual price for xbox360 elite with 120gb HDD, unless u got an arcade version...

currently without update you cant go online. as far as i know unmodding the xbox isnt impossible but does it still leave a trace in the system we are not sure. so on the safe side its best to get a unmodded unit for online play.

edit:- y didnt u do yr homework b4 u buy?

This post has been edited by IccyAsd: Jan 6 2010, 05:09 PM
edoras81
post Jan 6 2010, 05:14 PM

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Jan 6 2010, 05:08 PM)
This.

Just an advice for the future when spending more than RM1000 for an item please do research first. There are plenty of forumers here including myself who do at least 3 months worth of research before even spending a cent.

Well....unless you can afford to spend RM1000 worth of impulse buys without worrying where it goes (would love to be in this position)....to each his own i suppose.

This post has been edited by edoras81: Jan 6 2010, 05:15 PM
SUSkhalpowers
post Jan 6 2010, 05:19 PM

1,966 posts

next time go to gamers hide out....cineleisure...low yat tu tempat con...hahaha
poyohebat
post Jan 6 2010, 05:23 PM

47 posts

I'm not very good about these banning stuff anyway, but I never got banned from update because I always update via pendrive. Update and downloading stuff from live is a suicidal matter. But of course, you may also get banned when you are just connected to the live. Well, it's the matter of luck of course. Some people got banned right after bought a modded xbox from a shop, hence some people never got banned even they have a zepher model xbox. LOL......
edoras81
post Jan 6 2010, 05:26 PM

QUOTE(poyohebat @ Jan 6 2010, 05:23 PM)
I'm not very good about these banning stuff anyway, but I never got banned from update because I always update via pendrive. ......
Are we now encouraging people on methods to proliferate piracy? whistling.gif

Just asking whistling.gif
poyohebat
post Jan 6 2010, 09:02 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(edoras81 @ Jan 6 2010, 05:26 PM)
Are we now encouraging people on methods to proliferate piracy?  whistling.gif
Just asking  whistling.gif
Not piracy.... Backup games.... LOL!
TSMrzGreen
post Jan 6 2010, 11:00 PM

QUOTE(IccyAsd @ Jan 6 2010, 05:08 PM)
huh? i dont get you i thought u said the price was RM1250? thats the usual price for xbox360 elite with 120gb HDD, unless u got an arcade version...

currently without update you cant go online. as far as i know unmodding the xbox isnt impossible but does it still leave a trace in the system we are not sure. so on the safe side its best to get a unmodded unit for online play.

lol i really din do homework ... i dun hv 120gb hdd leh !! the memory inside the xbox only 120mb ... how to check mine is elite or arcade version ...

sigh maybe i should buy a new unmod machine to go online ... lolz

erm .. how much is the xbox juz for machine? planning to buy a new unmodded d ... the old 1 I can use it to play pirate game ? hehehehehehe

This post has been edited by MrzGreen: Jan 6 2010, 11:05 PM
navigator
post Jan 6 2010, 11:07 PM

375 posts

TS......Pirate/mod related stuff cannot be discussed in LYN....as it's illegal to do so.....
poyohebat
post Jan 6 2010, 11:34 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(navigator @ Jan 6 2010, 11:07 PM)
TS......Pirate/mod related stuff cannot be discussed in LYN....as it's illegal to do so.....
But it's legal to update via pendrive isn't it?

0.0265sec    0.66    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:14 AM