Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

anakayam
post May 12 2010, 10:14 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(ASAP @ May 12 2010, 07:42 AM)

Anybody here has the experience to import the iPad by courier to Malaysia?

1. What kind of courier type is recommended?
2. What to write on the parcel?
3. How to declare?
4. Do we need to go to Sirim for approval?
5. How much duty/tax have to pay?

Thanks for sharing.
Fedex- USD30
Computer
Computer
No need
No need
berniew
post May 12 2010, 10:24 AM

Been using my iPad 3G for 3 days now and really enjoying it. Used a pair of scissors to trim my Maxis SIM to fit and it works flawlessly.
The browsing speed has been pretty decent too. Been able to get apps cause I use a US itunes account. Also found that it has a GPS built in, Kool.
pratt
post May 12 2010, 10:54 AM

168 posts

Looks like Apple came out with a wifi compatibility announcement

Fix: Adjust screen brightness

* Check to see if your screen brightness is set to the lowest level by going to Settings > Brightness & Wallpaper. If brightness is at lowest level, increase it by moving the slider to the right and set auto brightness to off.[QUOTE]Adjust screen brightness.

Apple Support

This post has been edited by pratt: May 12 2010, 10:54 AM
Dozz
post May 12 2010, 11:09 AM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(cRazYee @ May 12 2010, 07:47 AM)
it's not computer, have a look on ipod range

Added on May 12, 2010, 7:49 am

how can u so such ipad is categorised as computer
while it certainly not.
I imported couple of units of iPad already, never paid any taxes or duty as it was declare as " tablet computer "

little ice
post May 12 2010, 11:47 AM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

[quote=pratt,May 12 2010, 10:54 AM]
Looks like Apple came out with a wifi compatibility announcement

Fix: Adjust screen brightness

* Check to see if your screen brightness is set to the lowest level by going to Settings > Brightness & Wallpaper. If brightness is at lowest level, increase it by moving the slider to the right and set auto brightness to off.[QUOTE]Adjust screen brightness.
Apple Support

[/quote]
i asked about weak wifi experience few pages back, but nobody responded to my post...

and yes they just acknowledged it and coming out with a fix.

my problem is, i can detect some wifi hotspot even with my N95 but detect nothing with my ipad. doesn't sound too much like software issue though, if it's really hardware then i really don't know what to do. sweat.gif
stringfellow
post May 12 2010, 02:43 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Posting from the a Premium Reseller store in Guanghwa St. in Taipei. They have both Switcheasy Nude and PowerSupport Anti-Glare/Clear screen protectors in stock now.

Switcheasy Nude
PowerSupport Antiglare Film

I'll be here for another 30 minutes, if anyone wants me to get these two products for them, I can do that. 30 minutes from now, and counting!
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 02:59 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(berniew @ May 12 2010, 10:24 AM)
Been using my iPad 3G for 3 days now and really enjoying it. Used a pair of scissors to trim my Maxis SIM to fit and it works flawlessly.
The browsing speed has been pretty decent too. Been able to get apps cause I use a US itunes account. Also found that it has a GPS built in, Kool.
wah....it seems you are enjoying yr iPad 3G by the way which model you r using? I am waiting my ipad 3g .... sad.gif
rheza02
post May 12 2010, 03:02 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(anakayam @ May 12 2010, 11:14 AM)
Fedex- USD30
Computer
Computer
No need
No need
can you explain why no need to pay for tax or duty.
i'm little worried buy any device on ebay now, last time i bring iphone, i need to get sirim approval on shah alam + pay the tax.

sad.gif
sfotsy
post May 12 2010, 03:02 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ May 12 2010, 11:09 AM)
I imported couple of units of iPad already, never paid any taxes or duty as it was declare as " tablet computer "
thanks for your info....know i should know what shall i do when i importing one from usa.

Added on May 12, 2010, 3:07 pm
QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 12 2010, 03:02 PM)
i'm little worried buy any device on ebay now, last time i bring iphone, i need to get sirim approval on shah alam + pay the tax.

sad.gif
brother do not worry too much here let the god decide. Sometime it is depending on yr luck. I mean not all of the time we will kena duty.
I had experienced that when if put it under Gift, then usually will not get tax. However, not all of the seller willing to do it for you to describe as Gift item.
Somepeople here just taught us to put under Tablet Computer so it will not get the tax. Maybe this can works...!

Cheers

This post has been edited by sfotsy: May 12 2010, 03:07 PM
naughtyz
post May 12 2010, 03:20 PM

1,557 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 12 2010, 04:02 PM)

sad.gif
how much it cost you for the tax?
kokkk
post May 12 2010, 04:27 PM

86 posts

lunch time went to low yat..

16GB wifi iPad (from USA) selling for RM 2350

store : Viewnet Computer System

-lot UG-13A . UG floor
-lot 1-K5 , 1st floor
-lot 2.08A , 2nd floor
-lot 2.120 , 2nd floor
-lot 2.31A , 2nd floor .....

tel : 03 - 21452545

rheza02
post May 12 2010, 04:28 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(naughtyz @ May 12 2010, 04:20 PM)
how much it cost you for the tax?
RM140
Edoras
post May 12 2010, 04:50 PM

1,134 posts

I have Jailbroken my iPad with Spirit. rclxms.gif

Check this out --> Cydia Apps Compatibility with iPad

This post has been edited by Edoras: May 12 2010, 04:52 PM
rheza02
post May 12 2010, 04:54 PM

279 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ May 12 2010, 05:50 PM)
I have Jailbroken my iPad with Spirit. rclxms.gif

Check this out --> Cydia Apps Compatibility with iPad
you're late buddy. tongue.gif
Edoras
post May 12 2010, 04:55 PM

1,134 posts

QUOTE(rheza02 @ May 12 2010, 04:54 PM)
you're late buddy.  tongue.gif
I was very cautious not to jump in earlier... tongue.gif
Glad I did...

BTW - Anyone have tried Cydia app called "Poof"?
Poof is a simple App available through Cydia which allows you to hide and unhide your applications. It allows you to hide all AppStore, Cydia as well as system integrated apps on the iPhone

This post has been edited by Edoras: May 12 2010, 04:57 PM
bearbrick
post May 12 2010, 04:56 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ May 12 2010, 04:55 PM)
I was very cautious not to jump in earlier... tongue.gif
Glad I did...
Welcome to the darkside brows.gif

This post has been edited by bearbrick: May 12 2010, 04:57 PM
aleluya
post May 12 2010, 05:16 PM

I'm Teh Powah!
1,134 posts

Guys, i read an article of playing facebook video on ipad. Aoparently it allows me to download and play in media. I can hear voice but there's no video display on my screen. Ehat's up eh?

mangoman
post May 12 2010, 06:12 PM

Retired Member
560 posts

Maxis has introduced micro sim today. Looks like iPad is not far away from being launched in Malaysia. wink.gif

Source
mAxPC
post May 12 2010, 06:34 PM

Arkham Investigator
1,381 posts

My jailbroken iPad only has 1 Cydia app which is Lockdown to enable password access to the mail app (*or any app you want), other than that, not much else. Bought Real Racing today, got bored of NFS Shift.
Cristiano-Ronaldo-7
post May 12 2010, 08:01 PM

1,396 posts

guys, is it possible to use a 3G enabled handphone(iPhone or BB) to act as the router for the iPad, i read earlier that some one used the HD touch 2 as the router.

how did that turn out?

121 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top

0.0280sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:58 AM