121 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

wenxuan85
post Jan 28 2010, 03:38 PM

118 posts

it looks like a non-keypad like Google Kindle.
Mackiddo
post Jan 28 2010, 04:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(asamalikum @ Jan 28 2010, 11:51 AM)
i'm getting one!!! regardless the price! i'm getting whatever new products from apple. just addicted to it. i'm officially a iwhore.
how true. wish they could let us place an order even before they officially announce the products. It doesn't matter what product, as long as it's an i-'something' from Apple
acronyx
post Jan 28 2010, 04:41 PM

155 posts

QUOTE(Voxe @ Jan 28 2010, 10:30 AM)
If you're looking towards the 2nd version of a product, you know the product is not right.
well, i skipped 1st gen iphone because it didn't have 3G and expensive. i skipped the 3G because it's not fast enough, and the 2MP camera. i bought 3GS and i'm happy end of story biggrin.gif
dawn152
post Jan 28 2010, 04:55 PM

419 posts

Guys, seriously, you don't NEED this. It's a product with no specific category, and that's the reason why it's a tough sell. Apple could've get it right, but they missed the mark BIG TIME with this one, in my opinion.

Instead of making the iPad (blergh) a bigger & glorified Ipod Touch, they should've made it a Tablet/ Touch Screen Slate. To be a device supposedly positioned as a middleman between a smartphone & a netbook, it should be able to do everything the two product can in one simple package.

But of course, because it's Apple, I suppose people will buy it. I don't consider myself an Apple fangirl, but I do like their products. And to me, the iPad (again, blergh) is a big disappointment. It could be a killer device with some tweaks & additional features (like USB ports) in the future. But this version, MEH.

QUOTE(dawn152 @ Jan 6 2010, 02:52 PM)
In a perfect world, I hope that the tablet would be part ebook reader with e-ink technology or something better, with the iTunes store starting to sell ebooks in .epub format. That would make it a killer device for me, hitting that sweet spot between functioning as a tablet/netbook and an e-reader or a multimedia device. That way I could let go of my hp netbook & my sony e-reader.
Lol, look at my wishlist. Sorry Apple, I'm keeping my HP NetBook & Sony e-reader. At least they got the .epub part right.

This post has been edited by dawn152: Jan 28 2010, 05:11 PM
gapo
post Jan 28 2010, 05:08 PM

34 posts

It was really a disappointing day ! You can see from Apple share price immediately drop after the announcement.
SUSMike3300
post Jan 28 2010, 05:20 PM

6,866 posts

I rather wait and buy the fourth generation iPhone rather than wasting money on this.
D.Sync
post Jan 28 2010, 05:27 PM

777 posts

After reading criticism from numerous site, I think Apple purposely didn't include those features such as multitasking and video cam to boost their sales on their next iteration, just like what they did with iPhone. At first glance, iPad is like an iPhone with bigger screen.

Among the factor that waive me away are:
- No multitasking.
Seriously, even smart phone running Andriod or netbook can multitask. So what then put iPad in between smart phones and laptops?

- No web / video cam
No more video conferencing or video chat.

- Ugly bezel
Yucks. Nuff said.

- iPhone 3.0 OS
Now this is a huge let down. I would rather go with the rumored Mac OS X (stripped down version perhaps) than the same OS that is used by iPhone.

- Name
Heck. I prefer the name 'iSlate' over 'iPad'...

From what it's worth, it's just not worth for all the hype I had for it all these while or waiting. I'd live with my iPod Touch for now.
SUSMike3300
post Jan 28 2010, 05:30 PM

6,866 posts

It's true on what you said, knowing what Apple did in the past with the iPhone. They purposely release the first generation with less features so that their next one could be better.

That's why I said, rather save money for the fourth-generation iPhone. It'll be better.
D.Sync
post Jan 28 2010, 05:31 PM

777 posts

Well that would need to wait until the usual September. 128GB iPhone anyone?
janson_kaniaz
post Jan 28 2010, 05:31 PM

6,955 posts

It's a disappointing day because ppl expected too much before the launch. I think the iPad is just good enough. It's not breathtaking or anything like that (even the wallpaper is so lame) but the main difference is that it has such a wide screen, watching movies, reading newspaper online and playing games become more surreal. And I guess the best part should be the price. I guess if they make it as $1000, no one would probably buy it as they could especially afford a mac book already. That is the reason they are making it slighly affordable. I would not buy the 1st generation iPad (if i'm buying at all...) as it still lacks alot of features-no camera, no multitasking (this could be solved from upgrading software though), lame design, rather small capacity (smallest is 16gb, come on, for storing movies OR songs?!?!?) and many more. But we are definitely looking at a different world now with ppl now able to use such a portable and yet personal multitouch tablet that is light and sleek.
dattebayo
post Jan 28 2010, 05:41 PM

5,366 posts

looking forward to the launch of HP Slate, where the price is expected to be around the price of 64GB iPad, but it is a fully fledge Windows slate PC, as oppose to this oversized iPhone.

ps. the bigger screen Safari but still no Flash support is the biggest let down. Oh and the lack of USB port too.
SUSMike3300
post Jan 28 2010, 05:43 PM

6,866 posts

One thing I'm curious, why they offer iPhone OS instead of a stripped down Leopard 10.5.
Leo the Lion
post Jan 28 2010, 05:46 PM

6,358 posts

Cause iPhone OS support multitouch and support weak CPU like their using now

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Jan 28 2010, 05:46 PM
azxel
post Jan 28 2010, 05:47 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

personally, at this moment... I think that this thing may only be good in schools and hospitals... with the correct app of course...

This post has been edited by azxel: Jan 28 2010, 05:47 PM
SUSMike3300
post Jan 28 2010, 05:47 PM

6,866 posts

I believe with Apple it is possible, they just don't want to waste too much resource on what they're able to do now. They're keeping it for the future product release.

Trust me, you'll see a tablet running Mac OS X soon.

This post has been edited by Mike3300: Jan 28 2010, 05:53 PM
Leo the Lion
post Jan 28 2010, 05:50 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Jan 28 2010, 06:47 PM)
I believe with Apple it is possible, they just don't want to waste too much resource on what they're able to do now. They're keeping it for the future product release.

Trust me, you'll see a tablet running Mac OS X soon,
by then, many product released windows 7 tablet pc with awesome features (HDMI, USB, Multitask, Optical Touchscreen, Full HD and etc)
azxel
post Jan 28 2010, 05:51 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I may get it for my mom who runs a florist... upload all the products into it for customers to view and use iWorks to take down orders and manage accounts, etc.
./Hack-Fusion
post Jan 28 2010, 05:52 PM

1,111 posts

they will have version 2...that their market plan, i think.
Edoras
post Jan 28 2010, 05:53 PM

1,134 posts

If people have an iPod/iphone and a Macbook, I am sure this iPad fits in between...
This gadget is MEANT to close the gap...
I am gonna get one... yess!!
azxel
post Jan 28 2010, 05:55 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Jan 28 2010, 05:53 PM)
If people have an iPod/iphone and a Macbook, I am sure this iPad fits in between...
This gadget is MEANT to close the gap...
I am gonna get one... yess!!
hmm... its meant to close the gap, yes but why get it if one has an iPod/iPhone and a Macbook? Both those things can already do what the the iPad has to offer.. in some ways.

121 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0260sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:40 AM