Hardware Apple iPad Discussion Thread | V1, Everything about iPad

limyusiong
post Apr 11 2010, 11:47 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(neekun @ Apr 11 2010, 10:03 PM)
Bear in mind that iPad warranty is only valid within the country it was purchased, just like the iPhone if I am not mistaken smile.gif
i knw very well bout apple product warranty....i dun mind on it...my 1st gen iphone is fr US 2 yrs ago...i used until nw oso no problem, 2g with fw 3.1.2...i m 1st batch f iphone user in msia too....hehehe...

QUOTE(prazole @ Apr 11 2010, 10:44 PM)
cheap!
get la.. forget 3G.. if u dont want sell it here also untung
yes..price is dirt cheap if i get from state...+1 point from u, i knw very well i wont lose at all, if i sell it here...

Added on April 11, 2010, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(steve2895 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:47 PM)
yes, iPad is cover by local warranty. which means that if you brought in US, you only can claim in US. For those who plan to buy those "imported" units, bear in mind about this terms. The seller can tell you until you can claim it in the heaven, but just go to apple.com read yourself.

Good luck for those choose to have it on hand 1st, if you faced any overheat problem or WiFi problem or even apple is decided doing any recall, make sure the guy who sell it to you provide the service to send back to state to claim your warranty!

I found some of the seller in LYN does sell iPad and mentioned that international warranty or singapore warranty. think 100time before you believe on it. Every ipad can easily identify their origin location by checking the serial number, i don't think any support can able provided to you time being in this region...
i got no issue at all for warranty la...i knw very well for apple prod warranty...i got a few frens, base in state, work in state, fly here n there within msia n state...no problem for me claim warranty la...thx for ur concern here...

This post has been edited by limyusiong: Apr 11 2010, 11:51 PM
tishaban
post Apr 12 2010, 07:33 AM

3,615 posts

Aiks lots of stores now out of stock. Looks like the iPad is taking off after all...
limyusiong
post Apr 12 2010, 08:31 AM

2,815 posts

yes, a lot of apple stock is out of store...jus get a call from my supplier...they got few unit 16gb ipad on hand...guess wat their pricing???is true, they got stock on hand in malaysia nw!!!!
steve2895
post Apr 12 2010, 09:19 AM

537 posts

that the sad case here. you are familiar and with friend, but how about other people? haha... is good to said that you can claim but not all the people here, right?
aruja_69
post Apr 12 2010, 09:22 AM

3,786 posts

So for those who planning to get their ipad make sure u have a lot of buddies at States to help u regarding warranty claim?
limyusiong
post Apr 12 2010, 09:31 AM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(steve2895 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:19 AM)
that the sad case here. you are familiar and with friend, but how about other people? haha... is good to said that you can claim but not all the people here, right?
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:22 AM)
So for those who planning to get their ipad make sure u have a lot of buddies at States to help u regarding warranty claim?
yes, this is apply to me since i got ppl to help me...for those who wanna to have 1st hand on ipad , so they have to find their solution if anything happen to claim warranty...

me too, i also agreed...we knw very well, apple prod din cover for international warranty....those seller said 1 to 1 exchange, i wont take it lol...tq
tishaban
post Apr 12 2010, 10:06 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(steve2895 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:19 AM)
Dude, I have a suggestion for you, don't buy from the US, buy from Malaysia. Complaining about it here won't solve your problem and won't convince other people who are willing to buy from the US.

limyusiong
post Apr 12 2010, 10:54 AM

2,815 posts

ya, as a consumer, u have ur choice and right....if u wan it, u need to scarify...
zwanvedder
post Apr 12 2010, 10:57 AM

Rock For Choice
1,589 posts

can i go to machine n book the iPad..?.really cant wait la...
ozak
post Apr 12 2010, 11:21 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Apr 12 2010, 10:06 AM)
Dude, I have a suggestion for you, don't buy from the US, buy from Malaysia. Complaining about it here won't solve your problem and won't convince other people who are willing to buy from the US.
How reliable apple product? I see most of you guy consent about warranty. Is their product alot of deffective?

Added on April 12, 2010, 11:26 am
QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 12 2010, 09:22 AM)
I m not worry about warranty claim if apple product quality is high. I m not sure about that cause I never own a apple product before. And how reliable is it.

The main consent is the battery. The battery only can last 2-3yrs and start to degrade. Would the apple co. here change it for you with a price? Or tell you got to send it back to US? (which are rediculous)

This post has been edited by ozak: Apr 12 2010, 11:26 AM
davidmak
post Apr 12 2010, 11:28 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 12 2010, 11:21 AM)
How reliable apple product? I see most of you guy consent about warranty. Is their product alot of deffective?
Well Apple has been known to be reliable and consistent in its product quality. Not until recently especially with their new product refresh like iMacs, etc, we heard enough. For the iPAD, we heard about WIFI issues and heat problems causing the OS to stop responding momentarily.

Let me give you an idea on buying an overseas product with no warranty support locally. The Nexus One was plagued with RAM problems in one of its first batches. Causing crazy reboots like it has a mind on its own. The buyers? They didn't really get stuck. They can still return it through the traders. They could go through the Singapore route for repairs. Its just a lot of inconvenience and disappointment from the users.

pmsoo
post Apr 12 2010, 11:29 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 12 2010, 11:21 AM)
My iBook G4 is 6 years old and still running great. My Macbook air died within months.

To answer your question above, any manufactured products can and have defects. As far as i can remember from my experience, although apple products are more sturdy than their counterparts but that doesn't mean they have no defects.

Well,i would be concerned of a valid warranty for an iPad of such value regardless of the company's background. You wouldn't want a RM2000 paper weight tongue.gif
bearbearhong
post Apr 12 2010, 11:30 AM

1,441 posts

for those with ipad on hand, any one experience poor wifi connection issue?

ppl been rumours about its wifi...

found this -

http://topnews.net.nz/content/23180-apple-...ectivity-issues

well, as apple user of iphone, macbook, [ipod touch, ipod video, nano -before], their products are so far so good (touch wood laugh.gif ), I hv claimed warranty over a ipod touch- earphone jack defects (got it 1 to 1 replacement), macbook & iphone casing- unreasonable hairlines appeared.

For my macbook, Apple at first refused to cover the replacement as casing was not under their warranty, after appeal, they replaced a new casing from apple singapore and i paid for the labour biggrin.gif
limyusiong
post Apr 12 2010, 11:41 AM

2,815 posts

ya, i think most of us declare same point here...every prod sure have defect product depend on ur luck...i have 1st genereation 2g iphone since launching nw...i got NO issue at all on it...

same to my MBP, after a yr usage, no issue at all....try luck la...
ozak
post Apr 12 2010, 11:56 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Apr 12 2010, 11:28 AM)
Well Apple has been known to be reliable and consistent in its product quality. Not until recently especially with their new product refresh like iMacs, etc, we heard enough. For the iPAD, we heard about WIFI issues and heat problems causing the OS to stop responding momentarily.

Let me give you an idea on buying an overseas product with no warranty support locally. The Nexus One was plagued with RAM problems in one of its first batches. Causing crazy reboots like it has a mind on its own. The buyers? They didn't really get stuck. They can still return it through the traders. They could go through the Singapore route for repairs. Its just a lot of inconvenience and disappointment from the users.
QUOTE(pmsoo @ Apr 12 2010, 11:29 AM)
My iBook G4 is 6 years old and still running great. My Macbook air died within months.

To answer your question above, any manufactured products can and have defects. As far as i can remember from my experience, although apple products are more sturdy than their counterparts but that doesn't mean they have no defects.

Well,i would be concerned of a valid warranty for an iPad of such value regardless of the company's background. You wouldn't want a RM2000 paper weight

I did brought gadget from oversea and here too for many yrs. So far I don't encounter warranty issue. Cause I will check the product reliability history. If not reliable, I will makesure it have int. warranty.

My example 1. Many yrs before I brought a sony camcorder in HK. The gadget got problem from the beginning. Claim warranty here in malaysia. They replace a new one for me. That is I makesure got int. warranty.

example 2: Recently brought a NAS from US. Cheaper rm1000 from here. But I will not get the warranty from US and here too. Cause I intend to mod the NAS from beginning. That will void the warranty. So no point I buy from here cause it expensive.
sinyc
post Apr 12 2010, 12:11 PM

83 posts

QUOTE(vui_msia @ Apr 8 2010, 05:11 PM)
yeah, steve job mentioned that no tethering between both....
i am not sure whether no tethering because AT&T does not allow it but here in malaysia i can my tether macbook via bluetooth.

so not sure whether can tether iPad with iPhone via bluetooth. anyone has an ipod touch and an iphone to test?

Added on April 12, 2010, 12:21 pmgood news, USD is dropping like mad compared to MYR

nearly got an iPad (64GB model seems to be selling out very fast) but decided to wait for the 3G model after watching the iPhone OS4.0 keynote. MIcro Sim if follow the US model means you can subscribe on demand and not sign yearly long term contracts, which is fine. but the built in GPS would be a great benefit when multitask comes. imagine a 10in Navigation system in my car biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by sinyc: Apr 12 2010, 12:21 PM
limyusiong
post Apr 12 2010, 12:42 PM

2,815 posts

QUOTE(sinyc @ Apr 12 2010, 12:11 PM)
i am not sure whether no tethering because AT&T does not allow it but here in malaysia i can my tether macbook via bluetooth.

so not sure whether can tether iPad with iPhone via bluetooth. anyone has an ipod touch and an iphone to test?

Added on April 12, 2010, 12:21 pmgood news, USD is dropping like mad compared to MYR

nearly got an iPad (64GB model seems to be selling out very fast) but decided to wait for the 3G model after watching the iPhone OS4.0 keynote. MIcro Sim if follow the US model means you can subscribe on demand and not sign yearly long term contracts, which is fine. but the built in GPS would be a great benefit when multitask comes. imagine a 10in Navigation system in my car biggrin.gif
same though with me...USD is dropping lately...my concern to get Wifi+ 3G version is to run google maps via my celcom bb...currently have a 5" GPS + 7" audio double din in car d....plus 10" ipad, it gonna rock lol!!!!

bout OS 4.0, multitasking is de most wish item for me!!!
bearbearhong
post Apr 12 2010, 03:08 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(steve2895 @ Apr 11 2010, 10:47 PM)
yes, iPad is cover by local warranty. which means that if you brought in US, you only can claim in US. For those who plan to buy those "imported" units, bear in mind about this terms. The seller can tell you until you can claim it in the heaven, but just go to apple.com read yourself.

Good luck for those choose to have it on hand 1st, if you faced any overheat problem or WiFi problem or even apple is decided doing any recall, make sure the guy who sell it to you provide the service to send back to state to claim your warranty!

I found some of the seller in LYN does sell iPad and mentioned that international warranty or singapore warranty. think 100time before you believe on it. Every ipad can easily identify their origin location by checking the serial number, i don't think any support can able provided to you time being in this region...
hi, would u be kind enuf to highlight here where u gotten the info on the warranty of Ipad by Apple.... thanks~

I just read from Apple website on its legal session pertaining to ipad warranty, a brief check out, it did mentioned that Apple may restrict the warranty service to the country of purchase, but i dont see "black and White" indicating warranty is strictly limited to the country of purchase...

This post has been edited by bearbearhong: Apr 12 2010, 03:09 PM
davidmak
post Apr 12 2010, 08:55 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(bearbearhong @ Apr 12 2010, 03:08 PM)
hi, would u be kind enuf to highlight here where u gotten the info on the warranty of Ipad by Apple.... thanks~

I just read from Apple website on its legal session pertaining to ipad warranty, a brief check out, it did mentioned that Apple may restrict the warranty service to the country of purchase, but i dont see "black and White" indicating warranty is strictly limited to the country of purchase...
One clause in all of its policies will give it freedom to change any policy to however it like. So no need black and white. Its automatic. Even if you have an older revision of the terms and condition, Apple reserves the right to change any of that without requiring notifications unless certain rights stated by law.
Mackiddo
post Apr 12 2010, 10:13 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(sinyc @ Apr 12 2010, 12:11 PM)

you can create a secure wifi from your iPhone to be use for iPad if yours is jb. There's a apps for doing do.

121 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0306sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:46 AM