Maxis maxis broadband help, speed after 1.5GB quota?

TSnevermine
post Jan 2 2010, 09:05 PM, updated 16y ago

301 posts

hi there,i'm thinking of getting maxis broadband-RM78 package, but the volume quota is only 1.5GB,after 1.5GB,my speed will not be 7.2Mbps anymore,but what is the speed afterward?
all the promoter just said that it will be slower than that,but how slow is it?
or any other broadband recommendation with budget RM68?
anness
post Jan 5 2010, 03:57 AM

please refer to this Maxis wireless thread:
Maxis wireless broadband thread
sexualpower
post Jan 5 2010, 04:59 AM

1,964 posts

u'll be capped to a maximum of 128kbps~ feel free to PM me for consultation on Maxis wireless or alternative broadbands~
ahucks
post Jan 6 2010, 09:23 PM

173 posts

better take umobile 3.6mpbs...after 5gb... the speed capped at only 384kbps...still 3g speed...
mochachoke
post Jan 6 2010, 09:46 PM

PGB GPS
766 posts

i also planning to subscribe U moble but think of coverage ... nah... yawn.gif
onnying88
post Jan 7 2010, 12:56 AM

2,663 posts

maxis new policy started on 4th of Jan 2010.
You can't on9 anymore once you exceed the quota. You have to purchase extra quota if you wan to continue on9. WTF

Please all maxis BB user, we make a complaint together to Maxis about it.
obee
post Jan 7 2010, 12:15 PM

273 posts

or u can opt for the unlimited data plan service.. may not be as fast as normal broadband but a constant speed (depending on area) and no capping/quota might be an alternative for you smile.gif
onnying88
post Jan 8 2010, 02:21 AM

2,663 posts

QUOTE(obee @ Jan 7 2010, 12:15 PM)
or u can opt for the unlimited data plan service.. may not be as fast as normal broadband but a constant speed (depending on area) and no capping/quota might be an alternative for you smile.gif
Maxis have no quota package? How much is it? The highest i saw in website only 12GB package.
szehoo11
post Jan 28 2010, 09:01 AM

278 posts

i've experienced it for the past 6 months.
after the limit, i can't f***ing surf at alL!!!
i remember subscribing the limitless package.
but later, they put a cap.
then they tell me got rebate of RM20/month for being a loyal maxis subscriber.
but they didn't tell me after the quota, i can't surf anymore!!!
let's complain together!!!
i'm damn pissed!
riku2replica
post Jan 28 2010, 12:43 PM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 7 2010, 12:56 AM)
You can't on9 anymore once you exceed the quota. You have to purchase extra quota if you wan to continue on9. WTF

i kena that before. Really delay my work. doh.gif

Added on January 28, 2010, 12:45 pm
QUOTE(onnying88 @ Jan 7 2010, 12:56 AM)

Agreed. We should start a petition to prevent maxis from blocking user to online even after we exceeded the volume usage.

This post has been edited by riku2replica: Jan 28 2010, 12:45 PM
szehoo11
post Feb 3 2010, 10:29 AM

278 posts

QUOTE(T600 @ Feb 3 2010, 10:22 AM)
lol =.=, i applied on 8th Jan, 1.5GB nia, yes you can still go on sometimes...

what site did you use?
szehoo11
post Feb 3 2010, 10:57 AM

278 posts

wow...you used 4 times the allowed usage
lol
bluetech20
post Feb 7 2010, 04:10 PM

75 posts

reporting in..

Package : Maxis Broadband Youth Package (RM48)
Quota : 2GB
Quota used : 2.1GB (overlimit)
Speed : capped @ 128kbps +/- after usage of 2.1GB
Condition : still can surf any web no problem.
Next Bandwidth Quota Reset : 2 weeks left.
game333
post Feb 10 2010, 02:47 PM

388 posts

how come your speed just capped only de...
Mine were totally capped out!! Since the 14th ==
Sigh lor... Whole month cannot surf.
But today just reset.
theseller
post Feb 12 2010, 04:46 AM

41 posts

So guys, after 1.5GB it will just cap you or can't use? I thought there will be hefty charges at 1sen per kb or something like that.
Crimson_SoulZ
post Feb 12 2010, 06:25 AM

332 posts

i used maxis bb for quite some time now. if it isnt capped i would get 90~120 kbps.

capped : 15 kbps. but still able to surf and play online games.
game333
post Feb 16 2010, 12:56 AM

388 posts

QUOTE(Crimson_SoulZ @ Feb 12 2010, 06:25 AM)
i used maxis bb for quite some time now. if it isnt capped i would get 90~120 kbps.

capped : 15 kbps. but still able to surf and play online games.
Yes meh, I totally cannot surf at all.

Buying 500MB for 18 rm each, omg ==.

Even Umobile or Amax are better, 68 RM for 3.6 MBit or 1 MBit for unlimited uses.
game333
post Feb 20 2010, 05:17 AM

388 posts

Any BB USB that can insert a sim card.
axsk8er
post Feb 22 2010, 06:30 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(fizzy @ Feb 16 2010, 06:12 PM)
hey guys, i plan to switch to maxis youth plan package, the thing is:

-which modem to buy since this package doesn't provide modem. any suggestion?

-i'm using maxis starter package(rm68 per mth) since 2 years ago...how many volume quota is that? never know b4 this..

thx
dun apply for maxis.. its really cut throat . if u really rich then go ahead..
un.deux.trois
post Feb 23 2010, 08:46 AM

679 posts

QUOTE(nevermine @ Jan 2 2010, 09:05 PM)
hi there,i'm thinking of getting maxis broadband-RM78 package, but the volume quota is only 1.5GB,after 1.5GB,my speed will not be 7.2Mbps anymore,but what is the speed afterward?
all the promoter just said that it will be slower than that,but how slow is it?
or any other broadband recommendation with budget RM68?
RM78 for 1.5GB monthly quota?WTF maxis is so stingy

mitodna
post Feb 23 2010, 09:24 AM

14,039 posts

better check your package, as there are some package if over quota, it won't slow down, it redirect to purchase extra bandwidth, not sure whether it is still valid or not, started like a month ago?
Iscream
post Feb 23 2010, 10:38 AM

184 posts

i want to ask something...i signed up for maxis wbb 2 yrs back, the package i choose is 384kbps during tht time, now i go for speedtest n the speed is like tht, how come???

http://www.speedtest.net/result/725976257.png

This post has been edited by Iscream: Feb 23 2010, 11:01 AM
un.deux.trois
post Feb 23 2010, 02:41 PM

679 posts

^haiyaaa better don't complain maa..quietly enjoy the speed lulz

maybe they've upgraded your subscription type without you knowing..did they charge you more?
game333
post Feb 23 2010, 03:14 PM

388 posts

If you want cheaper cost then go for this lor.
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1333208
azmansu
post Mar 1 2010, 05:29 PM

my quota exceeded in January (1.5G package, use up to 4.sumthin G)supposed to reset mid Feb, website said reset but still cannot surf. called maxis several time, managed to surf for 1 day before the quota website popped up again, call again several time, finally they said the quota for Feb also exceed. btw when i check the website, i've used up 740MB n they said their system indicates exceeded and the website number is inaccurate. this really pisses me off. if the bloody number at the website is inaccurate why the bloody hell they put it there
game333
post Mar 2 2010, 12:02 PM

388 posts

Good ma, then surf anything you want la, everything is computer rise de ma.
Then how much you pay for it?

magiclover
post Mar 20 2010, 03:40 AM

285 posts

is this a reasonable rate?

cybpsych
post Mar 20 2010, 08:40 AM

---------------------
65,353 posts

if u can constantly getting this, OH YES!

0.0250sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:46 AM