About LED TVs and the technology/terminology, Know your TV before making a purchase.

ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 05:12 PM

9,206 posts

low end 10inch nettop also now use "LED" screen.. hehe!
ar188
post Jan 2 2010, 10:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 2 2010, 10:32 PM)
Actually, this thread is discussing the Technology behind it...
But what matters most is the Samsung Series 8 LED beats the hell out of most Plasma TV from what I see.
Dun get me wrong, I'm a Plasma fan and really hate LCD screen and the worst part, there is a dark outline for most objects that I piss off mostly.
Also, I really can't get over the black colors of a LCD screen...even for the higher end Sony sets.

But the Samsung Series 8 is something else. The LED backlight does wonders to the LCD visually.
I'm putting LED's on top of my list when shopping for a replacement for my Plasma.
For me, its that good.
you have to pit the series 8 with high end plasma, which it still loses...
if you take series 8 pijak S10 then susah la.. price also can buy 2 plasma already..

if you want LED backlight (to replace plasma), just make sure it's got local dimming and over 512 zones.. that should reduce the blooming problem caused by zoning the LEDs...
ar188
post Jan 2 2010, 11:14 PM

9,206 posts

you mean got actual people here trying to say LED TV is not LCD TV? wah..
ar188
post Jan 3 2010, 01:55 AM

9,206 posts

http://blogs.rnw.nl/medianetwork/samsung-l...ve-fold-in-2010

UK already slapped their wrists, but can still use the term LED TV.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 3 2010, 02:11 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anchovies93 @ Jan 3 2010, 02:01 AM)
phewww.....glad that sorted. I think about pioneer plasma TV. Is LED better than this plasma TV??
is the LED the 8500? if not no chance to compete with even a phased out pionner..
ar188
post Jan 7 2010, 10:24 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 7 2010, 10:09 AM)
If I not mistaken, power comsumption is very according to content of the tv (i.e. which colour the TV display will affect the power comsumption of you TV).  So, 40% saving may not always true.
for LCD is pretty constant.. cos the backlights are always on.. even for LED (non local dimming types)

for plasma, that's a different story, power fluctuates depending on the content of the TV as you mention, not every movie scene is a full White screen or White noise (max power condition)
ar188
post Jan 7 2010, 12:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 7 2010, 12:05 PM)
ar188,

Did u check out Sharp's new innovation for 2010. Their LED panels will come with RGBY pixels! Yes standalone yellow pixels. They also claim to increase the colour gamut....
http://www.engadget.com/2010/01/06/sharps-...-inch-set-with/

yeah read about that... cos additive color RGB (using the green + red portion) can't really make reallife yellow properly.. so need to add pure yellow component..

Added on January 7, 2010, 12:12 pmbut I wonder any 512 zone 4 color local dimming LED inside? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 7 2010, 12:12 PM
ar188
post Jan 7 2010, 12:18 PM

9,206 posts

well, it's better than CCFL but not exactly a new technology as it's still LCD at the end of the day, only the backlight portion has changed..

Added on January 7, 2010, 12:21 pmuser posted image

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LED-backlit_LCD_television

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 7 2010, 12:21 PM

0.0164sec    1.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:16 AM