Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V7, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

pmmonkey
post Jan 3 2010, 01:07 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Jan 2 2010, 05:13 PM)
hey... which model do u guy recommend?? D3000 or D5000?? Which one is better and why??
I'm a D5000 user myself. I initially planned on getting the D3000. Read up a lot, surveyed prices and changed my mind totally.
I stretch my budget a lil bit and went for the D5000 straight cos I know I won't be upgrading anytime soon.

Usefulness of the live view:
I like the swiveling live view to take pictures of myself tongue.gif

Here's a little read between them both: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond3000/
Basically, the D3000 is a tiny little improvement from the D60. And the D5000 specs is slightly lower than D90, the most significant being the no in body focus motor. (*sobs* more expensive lenses)

So, if you have the budget... and not upgrading within months, D5000 is the obvious choice.
pmmonkey
post Feb 5 2010, 03:15 PM

485 posts

^ should be cheaper already. I got mine few months ago for RM2850 with some accessories.
pmmonkey
post Feb 13 2010, 03:18 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Feb 13 2010, 01:51 AM)
35mm f1.8 so nice...... tested this morning . really make me poisoned
QUOTE(selinix @ Feb 13 2010, 02:05 AM)
Wait till your try the 50mm F1.4 AF-S ....

I played with it with my GF in the nikon showroom with her D3000 and now she wanted to sell off her 50mm F1.8 and get that lense.
I've tried the 50mm f1.8, 50mm... the focal length is not to my liking. Have to stand quite a distance away. (D5000 user here)
Have never tested the 50mm f1.4 though, but thinking 35mm may suit my taste better.

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Feb 13 2010, 02:15 AM)
@@

cant test too much , later cant resist
True true... sweat.gif

I'm more of a casual photographer. I just shoot what I see. ( tongue.gif no taste... I know). No particular style
Say if I wanna settle down for long term, on low budget (and selling off the kit lens), what would you guys recommend?

Getting the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 (looking at the one with vc) with a nikkor 55-200 for zoom
or
Get a 35mm prime with a tamron 18-270 super zoom?

Price wise is almost the same... I think...
pmmonkey
post Feb 21 2010, 04:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ Feb 13 2010, 03:18 PM)
What would you guys recommend?

Getting the Tamron 17-50 f2.8 (looking at the one with vc) with a nikkor 55-200 for zoom
or
Get a 35mm prime with a tamron 18-270 super zoom?

Any ideas guys? Need advice from all sifu.
pmmonkey
post Mar 2 2010, 01:04 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Mar 1 2010, 11:57 PM)
price would be rm 580..still can nego summore..
anyway,here's a sneak peak of the lens..

Looks nyummy...
I may consider. But I'm putting priority on getting either the 35mm prime or the Tamron 17-50.

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 2 2010, 12:29 AM)
hi guys. want to ask is Tamron AF 55-200mm f/4-5.6 Di-II LD Autofocus Zoom Normal-Telephoto Lens is built-in motor? can it be use on d5000 to af?
I don't think it has bim.
Why not go for Nikon 55-200? Got bim, got vr.

pmmonkey
post Mar 3 2010, 11:15 PM

485 posts

Hi guys,

I'm a bit in a rush to get an external flash. Hoping to get one before Monday.

But I'm really... ugh... lost. I was wondering whether the Nissin 622 will be sufficient for long term. Then the batteries... any particular type I should look at?
pmmonkey
post Mar 3 2010, 11:39 PM

485 posts

I have RM800 to spend. All maxed out. Unless I can find a 2nd hand in short time, I don't think it will be enough for an sb600.
pmmonkey
post Mar 4 2010, 12:39 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Isepunye @ Mar 4 2010, 03:21 AM)
last time i check Rm700 for SB600
I'd like to know where too. If can get at RM700, add in batteries about RM100++, then should be good for me.

QUOTE(binary @ Mar 4 2010, 11:45 AM)
Hi guys, I am planning to get D5000 soon and plan to use it for my vacation next month (going to Auckland and South Island, NZ). So just want to know if the kit lens is enough for outdoor shooting? or do i need to buy additional lens or equipment? Cheers!
For daytime, outdoors is never a problem. (At least for me)
Depends on your budget... maybe you can get additional or better lenses.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 4 2010, 12:42 PM
pmmonkey
post Mar 6 2010, 04:43 PM

485 posts

I've got my sb600... and officially pokai liao. Way over my initial budget, yet sticking to sb600 instead of getting the di622.
Have to eat sand and grass for the rest of the month. (Good also since I wanna lose weight) tongue.gif

For eneloop batteries, do I have to discharge first or can I just straight charge till full?

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 6 2010, 04:47 PM
pmmonkey
post Mar 7 2010, 12:51 AM

485 posts

Photo Easycam Penang. RM910 sb600+diffuser+4AA Eneloop+quick charger.

That was the best I got after walking around for 2 hours. You can get the sb600 at RM750 (online from garseng). I need it urgently, not enough time for postage.
pmmonkey
post Mar 7 2010, 04:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Netto Hikari @ Mar 7 2010, 03:02 PM)
hey guys, im currently thinking of getting either 35mm or 55-200mm? preferbly for portrait shoot and some slight scenery shoot. any1 can suggest which 1 to get first? currently using d5000. budget is less than RM1k
After I got my D5000, I was also thinking of getting other lenses. Got the 50mm and sold it off.
But after a while I thought... my kit lens also covers 35mm (just that it's not as sharp and the bokeh isn't as great).
55-200? If I'm shooting landscape, wouldn't it be better if it's wider?

I ended up getting an external flash, because proper lighting is more important to me now.
But if I have to choose between that 2, I'd most probably go for the 35mm first.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 7 2010, 04:17 PM
pmmonkey
post Mar 9 2010, 10:23 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(kvynn @ Mar 9 2010, 10:10 AM)
2550..but i got add on a uv filter and a wide angle cap..which end up became 3100..
I just have to say that the shop sucks blood on add ons.

I went there to ask the price for an external flash. The flash was almost the same price as other shops around the area.
But when I asked for rechargeable batteries and diffuser, quoted me way overpriced! And they don't even carry any of those branded batteries.

pmmonkey
post Mar 9 2010, 10:55 AM

485 posts

I'm using it. For the price, I'd say it's okay.
But... but... this ball head isn't good enough for the weight of D5000.
pmmonkey
post Mar 9 2010, 11:14 AM

485 posts

On normal angles, it's fine. But if you tilt the cam to face upwards or downwards more... it slips because of the weight.
pmmonkey
post Mar 9 2010, 11:29 AM

485 posts

The ball head is small in the first place. And it tightens via a screw instead of those... erm... flip lock.
pmmonkey
post Mar 9 2010, 12:02 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kvynn @ Mar 9 2010, 11:53 AM)
the package was camera itself, a 4g card, a bag, and an extra battery.
then was pursuaded to buy a good uv filter and a wide angle which i think is the lens hood.
the shop claimed to buy it in a package is cheaper.
the uv filter price tag was 394 and buying it in a package price was 299 i think..cant really remember..the filter got 2 type, 1 is cheaper 1 which is 120 while this is the better 1...
while the hood i guess cost me 499
and get a set of blower those cleaning stuff....
the actual price was 3480 i think and he further reduced the price to 3.1k for me.
Next time, do a survey online before going to shops. It is always the case that people know the price for the main item but get tricked to pay extra for additional items which they didn't plan to buy before hand. Normal uv filter (which most people use to protect their lens from scratch) cost only about RM20-50. High quality ones... cost more. But considering the name of the shop you mentioned, I doubt they gave you those high quality filters.

The wide angle converter is a 0.45x (I guess it's the same thing my friend was tricked into buying... exactly from the same shop). Not a hood.

Did you check what 4GB card they gave you?

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 9 2010, 12:04 PM
pmmonkey
post Mar 10 2010, 06:42 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Mar 10 2010, 05:05 PM)
Bro.. You may demand back your original battery.. I check with Excel.. They mentioned that D5000 give away 2 original battery.. not mistaken.. however at least is original.. orignal price will be RM RM140-RM160.. 3rd party less than Rm100 or less..
Why you ask them give you those item instead this and refund back the rest of money. They will speechless~
P.S
I heard nikon had A.P set as well? I not sure about it. Can any1 tell me about this?
When i bought my D5000 kit back in December, I know that Nikon gave 1 free bag, 1 4GB SDHC, 1 free battery (2 batts altogether). Note that it's Nikon Malaysia promotion, not by the shop. If not mistaken, the promo ended long ago. So maybe the set in Excel was taken back then.
pmmonkey
post Mar 10 2010, 09:29 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Mar 10 2010, 06:45 PM)
usually the sdhc is what brand? and bag is what brand?.
need to know ...dont want get cheated by shop

Added on March 10, 2010, 6:47 pmgot quoted :

Nikon D5000 18-55 (4gb/bag) rm2690
if u dont want 4gb -rm30
if u dont want bag -rm20

ur sandisk extreme means 30mb/sec? if yes
4gb rm145
8gb rm230

screen protector i give u for free when u buy with sandisk
===

reasonable?
The SDHC which Nikon gave was Toshiba class 4, nikon rebranded.
The bag is also Nikon brand. But depending on the shop you buy, you might be able to nego nego and get the Nikon leather bag for pro.
These were official free gift with D5000 last year.

Ooh... The 4GB, depending on what they give you, the market price may be way higher. I'd rather keep as backup.
The bag... if you don't mind the hassle of selling it off, it can fetch you about RM60.

I'm also looking for Sandisk ultra.
But really contemplating between the Ultra and the Transcend class 6.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Mar 10 2010, 09:31 PM
pmmonkey
post Mar 15 2010, 11:45 PM

485 posts

Agree with Nic.
I got my D5000 because D90 is way my over budget, but D5000 has some nice features like what they put in a D90. (except for the in body motor -.-)
pmmonkey
post Mar 17 2010, 09:29 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Darkripper @ Mar 17 2010, 09:24 PM)
Then i think i'm in safe zone loh... but trying to find where i can get silica gel... the problem is i live in kedah lol...

Actually i hope i can get Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR or Nikon AF-S DX Nikkor 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6G ED VR II  lolx... but i'm out of budget... so... get my A** back to the kit lens .. ;D
Don't worry about getting lenses first. Change your mindset to learn how to properly take pictures first, then you'll know what you'll need to get next.
I'm already in the 3rd month using a DSLR, yet, can't take superb pictures. If my pictures are no where near good, no matter what lens I use, the pics still wouldn't be much better.

0.0489sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 07:07 AM