Nikon D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 V7, Entry Level Digital SLR from Nikon.

hanzxp
post Jan 5 2010, 03:38 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(CazzyCazz @ Jan 4 2010, 12:30 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice from u guys but not sure is this the right post for it here? I currently owned a D3000 & i bought it on 27/11/09, just barely 1 mth plus & i bought it from Hong Kong with International warranty Service.

I love my new cam as it is really easy to manage & good for beginners smile.gif But lately i heard the calling for D90 or a pre-loved D300 as i'm thinking of getting a lil serious wt photography. Wt my budget constrain, i need to sell off my new baby but i couldn't find what's the second-hand price for this model as it is still very new. Another question is how much can i sell it for? Would ppl want to buy a set from HK?
hi, in my opinion D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 is a very good DSLR. although it is called entry-level DSLR but i do not agree that it is for beginners. There is nothing you cannot do with the entry level camera (unless you are talking about HDR and some advance features in the higher end DSLR). I have been using D40 for almost 2 years now, it is still my favorite DSLR although i also own a D90. Although D40/D40x/D60/D3000/D5000 is lacking of the built-in motor, but that is what makes it lighter! If you got the budget, keep this camera where you can still use this as spare unit, buy the mid/higher end DSLR once you are familiar with all the functions in D3000. That is just my opinion. if you want to sell it, u can post it in the Garage Sales or i know many people post in the Free Trade Zone site.
hanzxp
post Jan 6 2010, 10:03 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Jan 6 2010, 01:01 AM)
slow shutter can if someone doesnt  move a lot  sad.gif

no speedlight , no f1.8 lense also =.=

Added on January 6, 2010, 2:14 amheineken

you definitely need a speedlight. if you are on budget, get a 3rd party speedlight like nissin will do the trick! u can't live without the speedlight once you use it for indoor shooting.
hanzxp
post Jan 6 2010, 10:23 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(project-o @ Jan 5 2010, 11:45 PM)
Agreed that it is not easy, been there, done that. The viewfinder was not designed for manual focus so there will be times when you see the image in the viewfinder is sharp but when you take the shot, it looks out of focus. The built in rangefinder is quite ok but if the scene is too contrasty, it won't work well either. So I think you should understand the relief when I bought and started using my 35mm f1.8 AF-S.
i have used the 50mm manual focus on D40 also until i get a D90 to autofocus with the 50mm f/1.8. u can really save alot of out-of-focus photos and gain alot of speed by having the autofocus. i know the next best thing is the 35mm AFS lense (which is abt RM800?), but it will worth it once u use it compare manual focusing the 50mm. but if anyone of you have budget for the 50mm f/1.4 AFS lense (which is priced at abt RM18XX?), i would recommend to get a used D80 body + the 50mm (non-builtin-motor) which price is abt RM400. used D80 body cost abt RM2000 these day. and if anyone is interest, my friend is letting go his used D80 body (in very good condition) for RM2000, you can contact me.

hanzxp
post Jan 12 2010, 11:32 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Jan 11 2010, 08:32 PM)
Did someone mentioned sekinchan?
I went there last sat 9/1/10
some pics:
nicely taken!
hanzxp
post Jan 17 2010, 01:11 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Jan 16 2010, 09:02 PM)
Too bad i'm late. It's reserved for viewing 2moro and most probably the person will buy... so cheap T.T
that price is really cheap! really too bad. my friend sold off his 55-200 for RM650. and what others said is correct too, if the lens has no problem, then can buy and use and when the lens not getting out from your dry box for months, then you can still sell it. lens price seldom drop too much providing you take good care of it.
hanzxp
post Jan 20 2010, 12:17 PM

27 posts

anyone here have nissin Di622? i want to know can Di622 use as master to control another Di622 as slave? i am considering to buy it if it can be a master unit.
hanzxp
post Jan 20 2010, 05:00 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(zackskate666 @ Jan 20 2010, 04:41 PM)
its totally depends on the numbers of shutter count also..i even ask desmond there how much is the shutter count d200 displayed there,he wont tell me as he's selling it at that price because of the A+ condition,not because of the shutter count.i even ask if i can check it,he said kenot lor.(this is like 5month ago)..well,i sold off my d200 at Rm2550 with 19k shutter count and get a d300 at rm3700 with 14k shutter count..
my experience with the YL camera shop is "so-so". i bought my D40 there actually and many people told me that it is a good place to shop for new/used camera or accessories. to me, the service is just so-so only. i see they give good service to regular customer, so too bad. for me, i wouldn't want to purposely to go there. just sharing my opinion.
hanzxp
post Jan 21 2010, 09:52 AM

27 posts

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Jan 20 2010, 06:57 PM)
it depends on what day u go to YL, i know they are very good with customer service and have the knowledge to suggest u what to buy. They are not like other typical sales man that say this good and that good. Try find a better time to go , do go on weekend if u can cause they dont have time to serve u even though u think u got tones of credit card and cash in your wallet.

this is the only shop that put 3 piece of different 50mm in front of me when u say u looking for a 50mm , he say best way to know what u want is to try it and see the quality of it.

Dont expect them to come to u even u are a regular if they serving another customer ok

They dont expect u to wait for them also, if u cant accept it , u can always go other shop

they have a very good customer network smile.gif

Added on January 20, 2010, 6:58 pm

tempting to get a d300  sweat.gif
wooosahhh relax relax, i m still in control vmad.gif
well, maybe they are just too busy when i was there. with many people recommending this shop, perhaps they are a good shop to go and check up.

Added on January 21, 2010, 9:59 am
QUOTE(zidane88 @ Jan 21 2010, 08:51 AM)
Hey, i was wondering if this is a good deal

Nikon D40 body + Batt Grip + 2pcs batt + 2gig SD card + tripod + polarize filter + bag.

age of item : 2 years ++

reason to sell : upgrade to d90

price : RM1200
my friend is selling off his D40 and D80 because he wants to upgrade to a new body.

D40 body + 18-55mm + 2 batt + 2GB SD (original) + small lowepro bag
low shutter count (<10K)

for RM1300 or RM1250 (without the bag)

D80 body only is selling for RM2000.

just for your comparison.

Added on January 21, 2010, 10:18 am
QUOTE(hanzxp @ Jan 20 2010, 12:17 PM)
anyone here have nissin Di622? i want to know can Di622 use as master to control another Di622 as slave? i am considering to buy it if it can be a master unit.
does anyone know this?

This post has been edited by hanzxp: Jan 21 2010, 10:18 AM
hanzxp
post Feb 3 2010, 09:50 AM

27 posts

very nice portrait max! more photos?

QUOTE(maxh3h3 @ Jan 31 2010, 07:30 PM)
Back and processing a few to shots  smile.gif

Here goes for comment and critics.
Done some banhup editting

Wendy is a very pretty stewardess but i didnt get to shoot any nice portrait for her
because she mainly focus on her pet as the theme is pet photography even though
the human suppose to be the main player. 

Miyumi, hope i didnt spell it wrongly , i sometimes call her Muzuki LOL
Her mummy didnt allow her to bring her pet so she try her best to pose for the few hungry photog
Got a few good shoots but so far i have only processed 2

1. user posted image

2. user posted image

Sorry for the focusing problem guys, this is my first taste of a fisheye
WELL HERE GOES ALL THE PHOTOG OF THE DAY

hanzxp
post Feb 24 2010, 03:31 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(y_owez @ Feb 24 2010, 01:01 PM)
for 4.2k?

hmm.warranty only for malaysia right.sigh.

australia offers 2 years warranty..hmmm whistling.gif

what kinda damage can dslr get?
if you have RM4.2K to spend, i would recommend you to get the D90 kit set (with 18-105mm kit lens) + 50mm 1.8D. That comes to around that price.

the dslr wont get damage easily if u handle it with care.

0.0973sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:46 PM