Raidmax Sagitta Mod Help

TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 03:10 AM, updated 16y ago

Life is Half Spent Before One knows what life is~
1,186 posts

Hi guys i want to make a Clear Panel on Top My Raidmax Sagitta but Dont know what tools to use

i want to do it like this

Firstly How am i suppose to stick the Acrylic to the Metal??

Can i like use Super Glue? hmm.gif

also is it difficult to drill Holes in the Acrylic? i want to Make More Fan Holes

I also want to Drill The bottom of the Case to accommodate More Fans.

It would be easier if somebody could this for me but i dont know who to ask tongue.gif

Objectives

1. Make Front Panel behind the LEDS Fully Black
2.Cut a hole on top of the Case for an Clear acrylic window
3. Drill some holes on the bottom of the case for 80mm or 120mm fan Mounting's
4. Cut some holes on the acrylic sidepanel for 80mm fan mounting's
5. Improve Cooling

Here is the Blueprints for my mod blush.gif (sorry for the lousy quality sweat.gif )

This post has been edited by Johan-N: Jan 1 2010, 11:02 PM

swmung
post Jan 1 2010, 05:34 PM

73 posts

use double side tape or use screw smile.gif
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 05:36 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(swmung @ Jan 1 2010, 05:34 PM)
use double side tape or use screw smile.gif
double sided tape hmm.gif

Screw i duno how to do and looks not nice....

Superglue cannot?
swmung
post Jan 1 2010, 05:47 PM

73 posts

just a small window,double side tape can hold.
Superglue,dun la sweat.gif
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 05:48 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(swmung @ Jan 1 2010, 05:47 PM)
just a small window,double side tape can hold.
Superglue,dun la sweat.gif
ok will dont use Super Glue tongue.gif

But now have to find someone to cut hole for me sad.gif

I dont have the proper tools to cut....scared cut wrong or ugly....
azilazwa
post Jan 1 2010, 07:44 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Jan 1 2010, 05:48 PM)
ok will dont use Super Glue tongue.gif

But now have to find someone to cut hole for me sad.gif

I dont have the proper tools to cut....scared cut wrong or ugly....
woah. nice project there. i'm also using sagitta. hope u can post picture of ur work. i might get some idea from u to do some modding. tongue.gif
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 07:59 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 1 2010, 07:44 PM)
woah. nice project there. i'm also using sagitta. hope u can post picture of ur work. i might get some idea from u to do some modding.  tongue.gif
i duno how to mod tongue.gif

just doing basic things like Panel and Fan mounts only....

Btw wat colour is ur sagitta?
Susaiput
post Jan 1 2010, 08:33 PM

595 posts

hello there...firstly id like to wish u gudluck in ur mod...

u can stick the acrylic panel to panel in many ways for example
- use a metal bracket which can make u slide in/slide out the acrylic panel in n out of the case
- drill some holes to the acrylic n the metal panel...n mount the acrylic using bolts n screws...
- u can also use a cheap n easy method which is by using double sided tape...
- u can even use velcro to mount the panel (im not sure bout this...came across of it one day...dunno whether strong enough or not)
- other methods try do a little bit of research on the internet...the other day i saw on the internet the modder welded small brackets to the metal panel n just bended the bracket after he mounted the acrylic panel (the bracket becomes C-shape n secure the acyrlic panel)

IMO it is not difficult to cut the acrylic since acrylic is more or less a plastic material...but the diff part is not to make the acrylic breaks...especially when drilling...which is why in most cases ppl cover the acrylic with masking tape to evade such unwanted events...

to do a blowhole on the bottom of the case u can either use a jigsaw a rotary...or a *hack saw(forget its name...but its a thin metal saw with a long bracket...without the saw blade it makes a G letter...)sure it will take a long time if using the hack saw...but it will turn out quite beautifull holesaw especially if ur inexperienced in handling jigsaw/rotary device...

try asking modders in the worklogs forum...

This post has been edited by Susaiput: Jan 1 2010, 08:33 PM
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 08:43 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Susaiput @ Jan 1 2010, 08:33 PM)

hello there...firstly id like to wish u gudluck in ur mod...

u can stick the acrylic panel to panel in many ways for example
- use a metal bracket which can make u slide in/slide out the acrylic panel in n out of the case
- drill some holes to the acrylic n the metal panel...n mount the acrylic using bolts n screws...
- u can also use a cheap n easy method which is by using double sided tape...
- u can even use velcro to mount the panel (im not sure bout this...came across of it one day...dunno whether strong enough or not)
- other methods try do a little bit of research on the internet...the other day i saw on the internet the modder welded small brackets to the metal panel n just bended the bracket after he mounted the acrylic panel (the bracket becomes C-shape n secure the acyrlic panel)

IMO it is not difficult to cut the acrylic since acrylic is more or less a plastic material...but the diff part is not to make the acrylic breaks...especially when drilling...which is why in most cases ppl cover the acrylic with masking tape to evade such unwanted events...

to do a blowhole on the bottom of the case u can either use a jigsaw a rotary...or a *hack saw(forget its name...but its a thin metal saw with a long bracket...without the saw blade it makes a G letter...)sure it will take a long time if using the hack saw...but it will turn out quite beautifull holesaw especially if ur inexperienced in handling jigsaw/rotary device...

try asking modders in the worklogs forum...
Thanks for the info notworthy.gif

about the Fan mounting holes can i like use like one of those Hand Held Drills(The human powered one)?

Added on January 1, 2010, 9:04 pmGuys Check the First Post to See my Blue prints.....

This post has been edited by Johan-N: Jan 1 2010, 09:04 PM
azilazwa
post Jan 1 2010, 10:36 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Jan 1 2010, 07:59 PM)
i duno how to mod tongue.gif

just doing basic things like Panel and Fan mounts only....

Btw wat colour is ur sagitta?
mine same as urs. black. i've post some pic of my case on raidmax league thread.

what tools will u use to cut the top panel? drill? i'm also thinking of adding some fan on the side panel. hmm.gif
do it fast bro. wanna see ur mod result 1st. hahaha whistling.gif
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 10:38 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 1 2010, 10:36 PM)
mine same as urs. black. i've post some pic of my case on raidmax league thread.

what tools will u use to cut the top panel? drill? i'm also thinking of adding some fan on the side panel.  hmm.gif 
do it fast bro. wanna see ur mod result 1st. hahaha whistling.gif
i dont know what tools to get.

Currently i am trying to find a shop that offers cutting services. But so far i cant find any in Penang.

Why dont you Mod your casing first and let me see tongue.gif
azilazwa
post Jan 1 2010, 10:46 PM

838 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Jan 1 2010, 10:38 PM)
i dont know what tools to get.

Currently i am trying to find a shop that offers cutting services. But so far i cant find any in Penang.

Why dont you Mod your casing first and let me see tongue.gif
aiyak. u oredi have blue print, so just do it. i still have no idea how to mod (lazy summore). hahaha.

irienaoki
post Jan 1 2010, 10:46 PM

Janitor
3,428 posts

electric driil and jigsaw(with steel bits)
each cost rm60++ if buy @ giant tesco got or carefour
can visit my work log
using differ chassis but still can use as a guide
(not a pro oso)
TSJohan-N
post Jan 1 2010, 10:52 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(irienaoki @ Jan 1 2010, 10:46 PM)
electric driil and jigsaw(with steel bits)
each cost rm60++ if buy @ giant tesco got or carefour
can visit my work log
using differ chassis but still can use as a guide
(not a pro oso)
Can i use Like those handrills?
like this tongue.gif

to me your Considered a Pro nod.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 10:56 pm
QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 1 2010, 10:46 PM)
aiyak. u oredi have blue print, so just do it. i still have no idea how to mod (lazy summore). hahaha.
the Acrylic Panel i dont think i can do,have to send to shop let them Cut for me.

The Fan Mounting i think i just need to use Drill so ill do that First.

This post has been edited by Johan-N: Jan 1 2010, 10:56 PM
azilazwa
post Jan 2 2010, 04:52 PM

838 posts

hey, do u mind snap a few pic of ur cpu? i want to see ur cable management.

imo, the acrylic panel is easy to drill. before this, i,ve been drilling some acrylic to make my fyp project. the steel is harder to cut.

ps: i notice in ur blue print, there is no number 4. does my eye deceive me or u missing it? tongue.gif
TSJohan-N
post Jan 2 2010, 04:55 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(azilazwa @ Jan 2 2010, 04:52 PM)
hey, do u mind snap a few pic of ur cpu? i want to see ur cable management.

imo, the acrylic panel is easy to drill. before this, i,ve been drilling some acrylic to make my fyp project. the steel is harder to cut.

ps: i notice in ur blue print, there is no number 4. does my eye deceive me or u missing it? tongue.gif
forgot to put Number *4* tongue.gif

Currently Now no camera......

But my cable management is not so nice la....currently now using the Uv reactive tie to tie all the wires....

Later gonna do sleeving
Nuclear_Crap
post Jan 4 2010, 03:08 PM

1,055 posts

QUOTE(Johan-N @ Jan 1 2010, 10:52 PM)
Can i use Like those handrills?
like this tongue.gif

to me your Considered a Pro nod.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 10:56 pm

the Acrylic Panel i dont think i can do,have to send to shop let them Cut for me.

The Fan Mounting i think i just need to use Drill so ill do that First.
yes u can use the drill but too hard blush.gif
even u need some "balancing" when u start drill
why not just go to giant or tesco
i saw last time only 49.88 at giant for "cap ayam brand"
TSJohan-N
post Jan 4 2010, 03:50 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(Nuclear_Crap @ Jan 4 2010, 03:08 PM)
yes u can use the drill but too hard blush.gif
even u need some "balancing" when u start drill
why not just go to giant or tesco
i saw last time only 49.88 at giant for "cap ayam brand"
hmm.gif rm49

ok will go see....but i think would be waste money if i buy a drill and just use one time tongue.gif

Unless i want to mod more cases in the future hmm.gif tongue.gif
Bonchi
post Jan 5 2010, 12:13 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

last time i used an electric drill to drill a hole.. then bought those RM4 metal pipe saw.. i dont have the bracket.. so i used newspaper and roll one end to make a handle.. after that with a RM5 metal file.. i made the hole in the steel panel (its really hard to saw btw XD)

to make holes i acrylic.. i use a drill and a file to make the hole.. lol (its much easier compare to the steel panel)
Susaiput
post Jan 5 2010, 01:38 PM

595 posts

goodluck on ur mod...try asking m1x...(i think...not sure...check the raidmax league...maybe he can give u few tips since he also uses a sagitta...

0.0220sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:25 AM