twL
post Jan 1 2010, 04:37 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

i tried to set 720p and compare with the setting of 1080i,
my answer is 1080i is still the best quality for me,
not same as what other forumers said,
720p is the best,
is it because of tv(i am using hd ready tv only) or because i am not watching 'always move' programme like sport channels?
twL
post Jan 1 2010, 04:46 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:42 PM)
My TV (Panny TX-32LE8MK) also looks good when i set byond output to 1080i....
but when i set it to 720p, it became a bit blurry and picture not so sharp....  sad.gif
yes,
i agree,
the picture became a bit blur and not share.

i am using samsung 32 inches lcd tv..
twL
post Jan 2 2010, 10:58 AM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(auronthas @ Jan 2 2010, 10:37 AM)
I have followed this thread and V1 thread closely.

After observations, finally called Astro CS this morning to subscribe the Astro Beyond, I was told ESPN HD will be made available very very soon in Jan. Hopefully within 24 hours, I would receive call from Astro to arrange for AB installer. and AB installation within 10 working days.  Cheers.

I even asked Astro CS is any privilege for pioneer subscribers like myself (member since 1998 :haha ), she told me that Astro may have promotions for loyal subscribers.  I wish they will keep to their promise, they should not aim for new subscriber but also to 'maintain' their existing subscriber though there are the sole satellite TV service provider currently.
is it really have any promotion for loyal subscribers?
but my current subscription are starting on 2005,
before this is under my dad's name,
but we cancel the subscription and use the 'newer' decoder from my rental house..

hopefully astro will provide us the promotion,
i do not get any promotion except of free 1 month AOD subscription,
as my asked my colleague,
she said she does not get it.. smile.gif
twL
post Jan 24 2010, 08:10 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

yesterday,
i got my replacement dvd recorder after i sent for warranty.

i connected my astro b.yond to my recorder via composite video cable,
and component cable in between tv and recorder,
i tried to watch any HD channel like HBO HD,
i realized that the picture will have black color border on the top and bottom,
and my screen appeared "copy protection failed".

very surprise still can watch it via composite cable.. smile.gif
twL
post Jan 24 2010, 11:56 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 24 2010, 09:36 PM)
Funny leh. I thought Copy Protection Failed error only occurs when using HDMI. When nothing connected to HDMI port usually no problem one. Unless you have a poor quality/broken HDMI cable connected to the TV as well or the TV has damaged HDCP chip.

But yeah, in this case, on the HDMI screen, the screen go black with copy protection failed screen, but on the composite screen it will still show picture with an irritating "Copy Protection Failed" box if set to fullscreen or "Copy Protection Failed" error on the top letterbox bar if the decoder is set to output downscaled widescreen HD in letterbox mode.
actually i don understand y i got the message.

now my b.yond decorder connect to tv via hdmi and dvd recorder via composite cable,
is it the reason i got the message: copy protection failed?

0.0390sec    0.97    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:16 AM