Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 11:55 AM

255 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Jan 12 2010, 10:04 AM)
My friend also less than 1 week installed byond after registration. Dunno how their system works as there are fews here still not getting theirs after 10 days. blush.gif
Well I just don't understand why are we complaining here instead of to the CS.
lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 12:16 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 12 2010, 09:28 AM)
Problem with B.yond at this moment is that they don't allow you to select anything but 576i through component and composite. They should at least allow progressive through component.

My features wish list:
- 60Hz pull-up (because many pre-2006 early HDTVs, cheapo LCD monitors and TVs bought from US/Japan only support 60Hz HD).
- 576p (EDTV) through component.
Why would they allow progressive when there is not need for it? All Astro SD programs are in SD 576i. you won't get a better PQ with 576p since the source is 576i.

However using component instead of composite will definitely give you better PQ since it eliminates most of the flicker present when using composite.

As for your first wish...buy a new TV lah...cheapo only la nowadays.
lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 03:54 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(dsubra @ Jan 12 2010, 03:25 PM)
I can't get sound through TV from HD channels (SD channels ok) when opt for DD5.1 , is it normal? Sound only through my AVR theatre system
and also not in 'discreet' 5.1 (not as DVD) i.e HBO HD, you guys have such problem? hmm.gif
Yes, this is normal. When box is set as DD 5.1. HD Channels with DD audio, the TV won't be able to decode the audio signal sent to it by the box. hence the avr will decode and output the sound.

Can you describe more on what do you mean by discrete? b.yond box sends out 6 channels dolby digital encoded audio hence it's discrete enough i think.

Thanks!
Shaik
lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 04:14 PM

255 posts

I got it before calling Astro... biggrin.gif

Added on January 12, 2010, 4:16 pmAnyone knows where to find Coax to Optical converter. Contact number of ths shop perhaps?

I'm trying to find one for my Uncle la. His AVR don't have Coax input.

This post has been edited by lapaq: Jan 12 2010, 04:16 PM
lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 04:35 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Jan 12 2010, 04:30 PM)
My version. If I set Beyond to 5.1 my AVR switches off from Prologic DTS to Normal but when I do not set to 5.1 on beyand it reads Prologic DTS signal ! I wonder what explaination can u guys give .To me I wld say its a screwed compressed no standard HD box and service !  vmad.gif
Prologic is not a true 5.1...do you know that? I'm not sure what is your AVR settings like but for me...

If I set Auto surround
If stereo: It'll be stereo
If DD 5.1: It'll show DD 5.1

If I set Dolby Cimena Surround
If Stereo: IT'll show as Dolby Prologic
If DD 5.1: It'll show as DD Prologic

Please set your AVR to auto surround or take the sounds directly without any processing. Then check from there if the audio signal coming from the coax is stereo of DD. Don;t use any sound processing to enhance the sound.

lapaq
post Jan 12 2010, 05:05 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 12 2010, 04:52 PM)
get from Monoprice.com
Monoprice can ship to Malaysia?

0.0403sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:07 AM