Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 01:53 AM

61 posts

On the 720p vs. 1080i topic, my take is this:

Watch in 720p if the programme material contains fast moving scenes, eg. sports coverage. You will get more vertical resolution for rapidly changing scenes with 720p.

Watch in 1080i if the programme material contains mostly stills or slowing moving scenes, eg. some documentaries. The final resolution of 1080i is full HD 1920x1080. And with the transmission at 1080i 50Hz, it means a frame rate of 25Hz, and most TVs can do a really good job of deinterlacing nowadays, no comb effect, and minimal blurring of images. Of course this is also helped by the motion compensation algorithm (known as 100Hz lah, 200Hz lah and whatever the manufacturers wanna call those).

For a quick test, just do this:

Press the Home button on the remote to bring out the menu. This will resize the video to a small screen near the top right corner. The video can be of any channel, SD or HD (can use SuperSports HD). Observe the video while in 1080i mode. Then do the same thing again but with 720p mode. In my case I found that even the small words on the video screen is still crisp and clear at 1080i, but not so sharp and slightly blured at 720p.

This post has been edited by LCP: Jan 1 2010, 01:59 AM
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 01:57 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 1 2010, 01:40 AM)
its up to u..erm, now we have 29 b.yonders till now...erm, today, hbo hd showing indiana jones(old story with hd)...the picture was perrfect for old film....
Many old movies are available on blurays these days as long as they were shot on real film (not video tapes). The resolution of films is always higher than full HD and thus the film can be converted to blurays and still able to show more details than on DVD previously, not to mention with better colour rendition too.

This post has been edited by LCP: Jan 1 2010, 01:58 AM
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 11:52 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 1 2010, 08:08 AM)
Just configuring Harmony remote, seems the suggested remote is not working.. Only a few button.. If anyone got suggestion for other model please do post, very troublesome to learn all key..
There are four codes for Pace satellite decoders on my Yamaha AV Receiver's remote, none of them worked, so I spent half an hour that day making my Yamaha remote learn the Astro Byond Pace DS-830NA remote code... it's like getting two rats to mate using infra red... phew... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by LCP: Jan 1 2010, 11:54 AM
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 01:38 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 1 2010, 01:18 PM)
The remote control a bit sensitive. Sometimes like press once but like tekan twice.
Yep, same here, press once and many times the decoder will think that you have pressed twice... They need to improve on the "debouncing" circuitry on the decoder, I hope this can be software-programmed, else (most likely) if it's fixed by the hardware circuitry, we have to live with this design flaw...

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 1 2010, 01:18 PM)
Volume control doesn't work as well
It only works for the analogue audio RCA left and right outputs, that's if you are using that. But the volume control on the remote can be set to control the volume on your TV set. Read the instruction manual.

LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 01:42 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Jan 1 2010, 12:25 PM)
Already resolved to leaning 1-by-1.. Luckily I can check all command wanna learn and the computer will prompt 1-by-1.. so just a few minutes.. Currently testing now..
Actually the learning part is not that difficult, deciding which key on my Yamaha remote to assign so that it's ergonomic to use is the problem, have to think a bit...
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 01:46 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jan 1 2010, 01:42 PM)
Using HDMI. Ok I guess I have to program it to control my tv
how about surfing Fav channels?
I dont use fav, but I think can be easily done, someone explained back in the original thread, but it's best to read the manual.
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 04:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(beandybean @ Jan 1 2010, 01:59 PM)
The 'toggle aspect ratio' button on the remote control is not working.
Any one any idea?
Bcos for not HD chanel we need to change back the layout/aspect ratio
Here, manually go in to set it here on the screenshot below, a lot of things are still not working, Astro promises to make them work starting from this month... extracted below items from V1 of the thread...

You can go change from pillar box to stretch on this screen, somewhere in the Installation Settings menu...

Personally, I prefer pillar box rather than seeing distorted human bodies... tongue.gif

LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 04:28 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 1 2010, 03:43 PM)
this is good news for me... then i dont need to configure the decoder remote to work with the tv.... my dad always uses the astro's volume remote while my grandma always uses the tv's volume remote.... and quite often i see the tv's volume is 99 (max volume level).... thansk to dad making it so damn soft in the astro's volume remote.....causing my grandma to keep maximizing the tv's volume level  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Haha... yes indeed, the proper way to adjust volume must always be right at the end of the chain, the TV in this case. Previously, the SD set has analogue output, so if it's set soft and the TV volume is turned up all the way high, you may get hissing sound if you put your ear near the TV speaker, a sign of poor signal to noise ratio. The situation won't be so bad with digital but if the volume control is implemented for digital (currently not), and it is not done correctly, you may lose resolution instead (from 16-bit to much less), making the sound dull at low volume. So, bottomline is to adjust the volume at the audio amplifier (TV, AV Receiver, pre amp, etc...) to ensure sustained sound quality even at low volumes.
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 04:32 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
Don't work.  Because my default setting for TV is 16:9.
Set to Just Scan, or whatever Panasonic's equivalent words that carry the same meaning... smile.gif

This mode will ensure a pixel-perfect mapping, so if it's 1080i, every pixel on the signal will map exactly to the same physical pixel on the screen, with no overscan, etc.

Overscanning is a relic from the days of CRT TV where the actual edges of the picture is off the screen so that the screen can be fully filled.
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 11:42 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 1 2010, 09:57 PM)
Not true. The majority of HDTVs out there has overscan that CANNOT BE TURNED OFF. The exception that I know of so far is HDTVs by Panasonic.

You won't know this unless you have movies that are in 1.85 aspect ratio, either DVD or BD. Play them and if you see small black bars (not big black bars) on the top and bottom of the screen, then you know our HDTV does not have any overscan.
Samsung LCD TVs have non-overscan mode also (and for some years already), just need to use the aspect ratio button to set to Just Scan, and this mode will only work at 720p, 1080i and 1080p resolutions. I have a HTPC outputting 1080p via HDMI, can see exactly 1920x1080 on my Samsung TV without any cropping of the Windows desktop edges, pixel perfect mapping.

Btw, are there movies in 1.85 AR? I think not many, most movies are in 2.35:1 AR, that will always result in two huge black horizontal bars. Popular shows (and some made for TV movies) recorded off HDTV broadcasts are all 1.77 (16:9) AR. But I believe I could have seen movies with thin black bars on top and bottom of the screen, just can't remember which one.
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 11:50 PM

61 posts

On the 720p vs 1080i, in my case too, 1080i is definitely more detailed. I think this is because most TVs these days can do a good job of deinterlacing without losing resolution, also helped by whatever motion compensation feature that the TV has (100Hz, 200Hz, etc). The real test will be pictures with a lot of movements, like a football game where the ball is always moving around on the screen, if the ball is clearer with 720p, then only you might wanna consider switching down to 720p, else I'll say just set it to 1080i and enjoy!
LCP
post Jan 2 2010, 02:15 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 2 2010, 01:04 AM)
Which flaw does HDCP have? Sounds like you want to hack the HD signal before it gets to the HDCP chip. But that chip may already be integrated in the decoding chip.
I think the Pace DS-830 series decoder is marketed as a "single chip" satellite decoding solution, must be one of those system-on-a-chip IC that integrates as many things as possible. There will still be some peripheral chips, but until someone voids his/her warranty and opens up his/her Byond/Pace DS-830NA and posts pictures of the circuit board, then only we can be sure of the design.

Speaking of opening up the decoder, I noticed the screws are not the regular allen key screws, but some multi-angled "security" screws, I think it is still possible to get those 30-in-1 screw driver set that has this combination. Take a look at the close up photos of the rear and observe the type of screws used...

Edit: One more photo to show the screws at the side...

This post has been edited by LCP: Jan 2 2010, 02:28 AM
LCP
post Jan 2 2010, 02:24 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(apexg2 @ Jan 2 2010, 01:27 AM)
recording...how about piracy problem?
I guess the only way to record the raw digital stream is to hack, but knowing Astro, it will make this difficult...

From what I understand, Astro will enable the user recording feature soon, via the USB ports. Apparently the encrypted recording can only be played back on the decoder that it was recorded on. Astro will also list out the specification of the devices that can be used on the USB ports, eg. HDD specs, etc., when they launch the feature.

Currently, poking a USB flash drive into the front USB port of the decoder does nothing, the set didn't even attempt to read the USB device. Looks like they can also enable/disable the USB ports from their control centre, just like the HDMI port as someone found out...
LCP
post Jan 2 2010, 02:47 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 2 2010, 02:34 AM)
what about plugging in the ethernet cable? lol... i would want to try it out once i get mine =P
Try asking fellow forumer prasys, looks like he's the expert on Linux boxes like this decoder... notworthy.gif
LCP
post Jan 2 2010, 04:51 PM

61 posts

On the 1080i60 pull up request, I don't think Astro will entertain that, especially if they somehow figured that the intention is to record off HDMI... tongue.gif

I believe that it is possible that up to 70% of the world population has PAL 50Hz transmission, so the 60Hz (59.94Hz to be exact) community is a minority but they like to think that they rule the world... tongue.gif Pulling up a 576i (50Hz) transmission to 1080i60 at the decoder is going to cause a noticeable blurriness effect every few frames, same with 1080i50 going to 1080i60.

When I was in the US for work years ago, I knew I was not impressed by British shows on cable there that has been converted from PAL 576i to NTSC 480i (fully SD back then). In fact, the picture looks much better the other way around: NTSC 480i shows converted to PAL 576i as being done by all our local TV stations, Astro included.

Anyway, so is it true that the 1080i50 broadcast is actually derived from 1080p25 feeds, if it is, it helped explain the lack of deinterlacing artifacts, and the resolution is a perfect full HD. This is the way to go...
LCP
post Jan 2 2010, 06:15 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 2 2010, 05:09 PM)
Hrm... I dont know about you, but I really dislike NTSC 480i shows being converted to 576i.

There are 2 kinds of conversion done.
Actually, compared to native 576i shows (studio news, local/HK/Singapore series, etc), those US shows converted from 480i still sucks big time, but there's not much we can do as an end user (except complaint of course). Yes, I have seen plenty of 480i music videos ripped in a 576i country, some have ghosting effect, others are just plain jerky, while the good ones must be the ones that have gone through the inverse telecine method. But, when converting from 23.97fps to 25fps, can they repeat a frame every 24th frame to avoid speeding up the video? There will be some jerkiness, but at least the audio note won't change. If I'm not wrong, speeding up the audio will entail reencoding/resampling the audio again as the sampling rate of 48kHz must be maintained, of course audio resampling is less processor intensive than video processing.

But have you ever play with a PAL 576i shows converted to NTSC 480i?
The closest I have for a 576i converted to 480i is a F1 race telecast that I missed and had to grab it from somewhere, my HTPC was set to 1080p60, but the movement is still not smooth either, very annoying, must be my HTPC. I should have tried setting the output to 1080p50 but I forgot.

In fact, I'd rather prefer if they broadcast both NTSC and PAL together lol...though it will be annoying to see ure tv gone blank for a while changing to NTSC format when the NTSC video is being broadcasted etc haha.. Keep the original format as it is. Broadcast as it is, instead of convert this n that....really degrades the video quality by doing so. But since HD is the same resolution already, they should maybe get unified and stick with one fps to standardize the whole thing instead of converting here and there.
Well, the world is never ever unified... but we're getting there, very slowly... the frame rates are still not the same and will remain that way for quite some time.
LCP
post Jan 3 2010, 11:57 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(dsubra @ Jan 3 2010, 11:44 PM)
Is anyone using  #18 MEASAT 3A(VH) satelite signal instead of the original option #1 MEASAT 3(VL)?
You will lose EPG. I think we are supposed to stick to #1. The signal doesn't matter as long as the quality is 100 (0 BER).

I tried each and every one of the transponders as entry point, #2 and #5 (both Measat 3) won't allow me (signal became unlocked), and #13-17 (Measat 3A) won't allow me either.

The rest allowed me to, #1 (default) and #3 gave me the lowest signal (198-209 depending on whether night or day), the rest gave me higher, from 214 till 244, varies for each entry point. #18 gave me 225-228.

Anyway, I think it doesn't matter so long as you can watch all the channels you subscribe to without any problems, the channels are all split over the many transponders.

0.0400sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:02 PM