Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 8 2010, 08:01 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(Dozen @ Jan 8 2010, 07:54 PM)
Thanks for answer my question. I need to know how to check our astro signal? Sorry for noob question coz Im still new with this Astro Byond = p
under installation settings > satellite settings > press ok until u see the signal level, then change to #18 and check again...

Added on January 8, 2010, 8:02 pm
QUOTE(pirateguy @ Jan 8 2010, 08:00 PM)
I think all moms are like that.  tongue.gif
well, my dad and grandma too =p lol

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Jan 8 2010, 08:02 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 8 2010, 08:06 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Jan 8 2010, 08:02 PM)
hmm...i dn't know which of your part went wrong...have to ask someone who know
my cable is kinda new...2-3 years only...since i moved to new house
but my dish is very old....use back the old dish since i subscribe astro...i think got 10 years already
well mine is the other way round...cable used for 7-8 years already, but the installer said still ok to use and he said if theres prob i can call him to change cable foc....and yeah hes coming tmr... but because my cable is concealed...now im wondering where he should poke the hole in... =__=

extra:
the minimum signal level is 170 to get good pic quality... i've notice it when it was raining, the moment it touch 169...pic quality goes 20% (pixellated, breaking picture etc)

and when i told the installer, he was told it was 150...then he reconfirmed with me its 170...so those who get 185....the moment u get light rain, can be easily distorted....just like my case

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Jan 8 2010, 08:09 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 8 2010, 08:28 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(JOR23N @ Jan 8 2010, 08:15 PM)
so can i conclude that Byond decoders are more sensitive (requires higher signal strength to operate) than the previous one?
i dont know about that, perhaps it was the cable problem... i have been using that cable for so long lol... or it could be the way they align the dish, not that right etc
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 9 2010, 03:24 PM

1,602 posts

wee the astro installer came and replace the cables, had to pay for the extra cable and connector, first 20m cables are free.... for #1 it went up from 185 to 200 and #18 went up from 195 to 222.... i guess this is good enough for my area =)
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 9 2010, 07:40 PM

1,602 posts

hello peeps,

anyone of u still having the component output distorted issue? i'm still having it and it really annoys the hell out of me.

If you guys havent know, you can boot the setup box to initiate auto update to happen by pressing the on/off, channel down, and channel up button one by one (front panel of the STB, not through remote) or to put it simple, press all 3 buttons from left to right one by one...the STB will off by itself, and boot while checking if there is a need to auto update.

During that period, it will display a banner saying "setting up STB", through component it looks fine, the moment it shows the tv guide banner with the video...the picture starts to get distorted... geez still a little annoyed with this problem.

Any idea how to solve this component output mess?
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 9 2010, 09:59 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(tks203 @ Jan 9 2010, 09:15 PM)
I am having the same problem as what you described but with the HDMI output. Mine is not watchable so I connect using component output which work very well. Cannot set HD with component output.

So I pay extra to watch Astro Byond Standard Definition for now. The only consolation is that the PQ on component output is better than the S video with the previous decoder.
wow..then i think u should complain to astro to get you a decoder box with my problem instead of ures....watching without hdmi is a big big loss of picture detail....
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 9 2010, 11:04 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 9 2010, 10:57 PM)
At least i lega cuz there is a sign that b.yond finally reach sabah... can't wait for the installer to come
Well...why didnt u opt for big parabola dish? many seen in sabah, then perhaps you can watch hd long ago =p
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 10 2010, 01:31 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 10 2010, 01:22 AM)
All right lets make B.yond HD Channel Wishlist! Maybe astro will see this thread and maybe grant our wishes...

HD CHANNEL WISHLIST:
----------------------------
1. Disney Channel HD
2. Discovery HD
3. Astro RIA HD (Doesn't astro want to hold the title 'first malay hd channel in Malaysia?')
4. RTM HD
5. ESPNews HD
6. Star Movies HD
7. Cartoon Network HD
8. MTVN HD
9. Palladia
10. TVB Jade HD (direct simulcast from HK)

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Jan 10 2010, 01:51 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 10 2010, 11:04 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 10 2010, 01:53 AM)
UPDATE:

HD Channel Wishlist

1. Disney Channel HD
2. Discovery HD
3. Astro RIA HD* (Maybe the first Malay HD channel in Malaysia?')
4. RTM HD*
5. ESPNews HD
6. STAR Movies HD*
7. Cartoon Network HD*
8. MTVN HD
9. Palladia
10. TVB Jade HD (direct simulcast from HK)
11. AXN HD
12. Travel Channel (HD version)
13. NHK World (HD version)
14. STAR Sports HD

*Maybe not available in HD yet.
MTVN HD is already available years ago lol.... its MTV Networks HD which has mix of programming from music videos to nickelodeon and this channel caters mostly europe region.

Take a look =P

Added on January 10, 2010, 11:22 am
QUOTE(writesimply @ Jan 10 2010, 02:12 AM)
RTM would have to have the equipment to handle everything in HD first before you could ask Astro to include them in HD.

MTV's HD is actually MHD which stands for MTV HD. Mostly all music videos all the time, I believe. Their "reality shows" are not shot in HD from what I understand so that's why the content is music videos. However, most of the music videos are not in HD either but upconverted. But that may be MHD before the US stopped OTA in SD. It is a waste that most of the music videos that were shot on film were never mastered in HD.
fuad
I guess RTM is working on it, ever since the olympics hd broadcast in h264 via dvb-t. The only question is... when are they prepared to fully broadcast them :/

MHD actually stands for Music:High Definition

In US, MHD has rebranded themselves by changing their name to Palladia. They have started to include more live concerts which are shot in hd. Their most recent videos shown are really amazing but I'm not sure if they are upconverts, but usually their upconverts has those interlaced artifacts, their recent ones are very sharp without those artifacts, of course those recent music videos, not years ago...

This post has been edited by kaspersky-fan: Jan 10 2010, 11:22 AM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 10 2010, 01:33 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 10 2010, 01:16 PM)
Sorry JOR23N

UPDATE:

HD Channel Wishlist
1. Disney Channel HD
2. Discovery HD
3. Astro RIA HD* (Maybe the first Malay HD channel in Malaysia?')
4. RTM HD*
5. ESPNews HD
6. STAR Movies HD*
7. Cartoon Network HD
8. Palladia
9. TVB Jade HD
10. AXN HD
11. Travel Channel HD
12. NHK World HD*
13. STAR Sports HD

*Not available in HD.
Hey why u cut off my MTVN HD channel??? sad.gif
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 10 2010, 03:20 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 10 2010, 01:55 PM)
UPDATE (With Suggested Packages):

HD Channel Wishlist
1. Disney Channel HD (Fun)
2. Discovery HD (Learning)
3. Astro RIA HD* (Family)
4. RTM HD* (Family)
5. ESPNews HD (Sports/News)
6. STAR Movies HD* (Movies)
7. Cartoon Network HD (Fun)
8. Palladia (Variety)
9. MTVNHD (Variety/Fun)
10. TVB Jade HD (Dynasty/Emperor/New Emperor)
11. AXN HD (Family)
12. Travel Channel HD (Family/Metro)
13. NHK World (Premium?) HD (Dynasty)
14. STAR Sports HD (Sports)
15. KBS 1 HD (Oriental**)
16. SBS HD (Oriental**)
17. MBC HD (Oriental**)

*Not available in HD.
**Self-made package.  tongue.gif
17/5 = 4 transponders needed lol... how many astro has again? lol

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 11 2010, 12:15 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(TVSPY @ Jan 10 2010, 10:26 PM)
I've seen the TVB stuff in HD and their production looks crap. Bad make-up and sets and poor lighting. It actually looks better seen in SD.
lol... this i have to agree... the setting were just real fake and the view out the windows were very fake.... it just look like some cheap setting...if u watch in sd, u cant notice this... they really need to improve in terms of this
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 11 2010, 08:56 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 11 2010, 08:01 PM)
Damm astro.. Today is my 25 days of waiting.
Almost break a world record already for the longest waiting days to get byond install.  vmad.gif
you should call astro everyday and complain... thats what i did...then the fella got tired of me calling everyday and quickly sent me the installers number lol...

mention mcmc should help more either
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 11 2010, 09:19 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 11 2010, 09:11 PM)
I call twice a week already and ur right it's not enough. I think MCMC is my choice if they did't call me tommorow.
My patient is almost gone already.  mad.gif
Relax... looking at the current programmings on the hd channels, you will get bored of it after 1 day installed.
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 11 2010, 09:49 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jan 11 2010, 09:26 PM)
so people starting to regret about the one year commitment
well... theres nothing for me to regret...the hd extension fees paid by my brother because he wants EPL/football in HD badly =P .... i just benefit from him by watching hbo hd and learning channels.

i have to say this nat geo hd programming is a bit boring compared to what their SD channel offers. Really hope they could add more interesting programs.

the only hope i wish to have is at least one music video channel in HD.... lol...bet i have to wait way longer for that
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 12 2010, 12:26 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(sciencefreak @ Jan 11 2010, 10:53 PM)
hey...does anyone here notice that everytime a movie starts in hbo hd...got some chinese letter in green circle at the bottom-left???????
yes sir i notice that too, im also wondering what is that...maybe trying to indicate chinese subtitles available (for other countries)
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 12 2010, 12:48 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 12 2010, 12:29 AM)
Juz write out the chinese characters and translate it.
banana here, dunno how to write it here =.="

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 12 2010, 01:10 AM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(neb @ Jan 12 2010, 12:57 AM)
use handphone camera to capture, then upload it here
ah ok... will do that... after i get fired by my supervisor tmr =__+
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 12 2010, 03:11 PM

1,602 posts

Kelven Kuek when the ESPN HD will show??pls give me the date..
3 hours ago

Astro Hi Kelven, the final launch date has not been finalized yet but we will be launching ESPN HD this month, so please stay tuned and we will announce the launch date here.
2 hours ago

copied from facebook...lol... i guess its someone from here who asked that q
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 13 2010, 02:34 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(minimize @ Jan 13 2010, 02:14 PM)
At last installer contact me to install byond after 27 days of waiting.
He come this this morning but not bring a ladder. So still cannot install byond. He will call back next time for installation. Bodoh punye installer.
Hopefully his next time means tommorow not next month.  doh.gif
you have all the rotten luck with astro...tell me what have u complained to astro to deserve all of these incidents? laugh.gif

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0428sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:11 AM