12. LCP (Penang)
13. pknride (pekan,pahang)
14. dsubra (Klang)
15. tHeRiDdLeR (Serdang, Selangor)
16. economist (PJ,Sgor)
17. honamd77(Kuantan,Pahang)
18. zwanvedder(meru, setia alam)
19. ape (Shah Alam)
20. Iman210 (Pinggiran USJ, Subang Jaya)
21. kuekss (Sunway SPK Damansara,KL)
22. crossmaniac (saujana utama sg buloh)
23. ssyam ( dungun, Terengganu )
24. edthrax (ttdi, KL)
25. twL (Klang)
26. maja_5365(Nilai)
27. pirateguy
28. stimix
29. tailesley (Bukit Jalil)
30. suffeylp (Shah Alam)
31. sun_flower5 (Cheras,Selangor)
32. wcloh111 (Bkt. Mertajam, Penang)
33. seed80 (Seremban)[/spoiler]
34. allenultra (Gunung Rapat, Ipoh, Perak)
35. yanhui95 (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
36.ScienceFreak (Gombak)
37. low98944 (Kuching, Sarawak)

unsure.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(tailesley @ Jan 1 2010, 04:18 PM)
Try to play around with your TV aspect radio.
Don't work. Because my default setting for TV is 16:9.

This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 1 2010, 04:26 PM
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 04:28 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 1 2010, 03:43 PM)
this is good news for me... then i dont need to configure the decoder remote to work with the tv.... my dad always uses the astro's volume remote while my grandma always uses the tv's volume remote.... and quite often i see the tv's volume is 99 (max volume level).... thansk to dad making it so damn soft in the astro's volume remote.....causing my grandma to keep maximizing the tv's volume level  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Haha... yes indeed, the proper way to adjust volume must always be right at the end of the chain, the TV in this case. Previously, the SD set has analogue output, so if it's set soft and the TV volume is turned up all the way high, you may get hissing sound if you put your ear near the TV speaker, a sign of poor signal to noise ratio. The situation won't be so bad with digital but if the volume control is implemented for digital (currently not), and it is not done correctly, you may lose resolution instead (from 16-bit to much less), making the sound dull at low volume. So, bottomline is to adjust the volume at the audio amplifier (TV, AV Receiver, pre amp, etc...) to ensure sustained sound quality even at low volumes.
tailesley
post Jan 1 2010, 04:30 PM

96 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
1.apexg2
2.kelvin (Penang)
3.torreto (Subang Jaya/Kelantan)
4. rayfoo
5.l_berd (Penang)
6.RAMChYLD (Klang)
7 Cyberian (Sepang)
8. azri (U5, Shah Alam)
9. teikwing (Taiping, Perak)
10. AjKR06 (Bgn Serai, Perak)
11. horray (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
12. LCP (Penang)
14. dsubra (Klang)
16. economist (PJ,Sgor)
19. ape (Shah Alam)
24. edthrax (ttdi, KL)
25. twL (Klang)
26. maja_5365(Nilai)
27. pirateguy
28. stimix
30. suffeylp (Shah Alam)
36.ScienceFreak (Gombak)

unsure.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 4:26 pm
Don't work.  Because my default setting for TV is 16:9.
I mean your aspect ratio setting at panny TV.. not the setting at Astro Byond
LCP
post Jan 1 2010, 04:32 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:24 PM)
Don't work.  Because my default setting for TV is 16:9.
Set to Just Scan, or whatever Panasonic's equivalent words that carry the same meaning... smile.gif

This mode will ensure a pixel-perfect mapping, so if it's 1080i, every pixel on the signal will map exactly to the same physical pixel on the screen, with no overscan, etc.

Overscanning is a relic from the days of CRT TV where the actual edges of the picture is off the screen so that the screen can be fully filled.
twL
post Jan 1 2010, 04:37 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

i tried to set 720p and compare with the setting of 1080i,
my answer is 1080i is still the best quality for me,
not same as what other forumers said,
720p is the best,
is it because of tv(i am using hd ready tv only) or because i am not watching 'always move' programme like sport channels?
low98944
post Jan 1 2010, 04:37 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

I have settled the problem after complete switch off Astro B.yond decoder and switch on again. Then, I set the settings again and this time everything fine and the screen will not become too big.

Maybe just now is due to the installer just install the decoder and Astro had not activate the service. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by low98944: Jan 1 2010, 04:37 PM
anfieldude
post Jan 1 2010, 04:42 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(LCP @ Jan 1 2010, 04:32 PM)
Set to Just Scan, or whatever Panasonic's equivalent words that carry the same meaning...  smile.gif

This mode will ensure a pixel-perfect mapping, so if it's 1080i, every pixel on the signal will map exactly to the same physical pixel on the screen, with no overscan, etc.

Overscanning is a relic from the days of CRT TV where the actual edges of the picture is off the screen so that the screen can be fully filled.
Actually, to have some overscan for OTA broadcasts is normally better. There is normally garbage at the last row of pixels that will show up in ur screen. If this is the case u might need the overscan.
AjkR06
post Jan 1 2010, 04:42 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(twL @ Jan 1 2010, 04:37 PM)
i tried to set 720p and compare with the setting of 1080i,
my answer is 1080i is still the best quality for me,
not same as what other forumers said,
720p is the best,
is it because of tv(i am using hd ready tv only) or because i am not watching 'always move' programme like sport channels?
My TV (Panny TX-32LE8MK) also looks good when i set byond output to 1080i....
but when i set it to 720p, it became a bit blurry and picture not so sharp.... sad.gif
twL
post Jan 1 2010, 04:46 PM

Photographer
1,146 posts

QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:42 PM)
My TV (Panny TX-32LE8MK) also looks good when i set byond output to 1080i....
but when i set it to 720p, it became a bit blurry and picture not so sharp....  sad.gif
yes,
i agree,
the picture became a bit blur and not share.

i am using samsung 32 inches lcd tv..
AjkR06
post Jan 1 2010, 05:16 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

Just wanna ask, anyone here have tried connecting astro byond using Monster HDMI Cable? Any "different" in PQ and SQ maybe?? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jan 1 2010, 05:17 PM
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 1 2010, 05:20 PM

1,602 posts

from what you guys say...i have a feeling all hd channels are broadcasted 1080i.... because if u feel that the pic is a lil blur...it might be due to decoder resizing to 720p and deinterlace it.... then when it comes to tv...it tries to stretch it back to 1080p (if ure tv is full hd...) Even if ure tv isnt full hd, the more reason to believe its 1080i source due to the resizing to 720p and deinterlacing alone...

i have played some 720p (native) sources on my panny before and i dont notice such blurring effect.... infact its very real...like ure tv is the window to the concert lol (sharp and smooth motion)
R.ap7or
post Jan 1 2010, 05:25 PM

1.apexg2
2.kelvin (Penang)
3.torreto (Subang Jaya/Kelantan)
4. rayfoo
5.l_berd (Penang)
6.RAMChYLD (Klang)
7 Cyberian (Sepang)
8. azri (U5, Shah Alam)
9. teikwing (Taiping, Perak)
10. AjKR06 (Bgn Serai, Perak)
11. horray (Petaling Jaya, Selangor)
12. LCP (Penang)
14. dsubra (Klang)
16. economist (PJ,Sgor)
19. ape (Shah Alam)
24. edthrax (ttdi, KL)
25. twL (Klang)
26. maja_5365(Nilai)
27. pirateguy
28. stimix
30. suffeylp (Shah Alam)
36.ScienceFreak (Gombak)
38. R.ap7or (Penang)

Just received my astro byond 2 days ago, took only 1 week from online registraton till installation. some HBO HD PQ is pretty decent.

Only thing is the decoder doesnt have optical output for sound, as it comes with coaxial output. Im planning to get a Panasonic SC PT875 home theater & that needs optical input if i want astro sound to be played thru the home theater.
Read earlier posts that it needs a coaxial to optical converter, any1 in Penang knows where to get one? thanks~ : )

This post has been edited by R.ap7or: Jan 1 2010, 05:42 PM
allenultra
post Jan 1 2010, 05:50 PM

9,027 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Jan 1 2010, 03:58 PM)
My Astro B.yond just installed 1 hour ago.  I am in Kuching, Sarawak.  Feel not bad and improve a lot.  thumbup.gif

But when I set setting in Home>Settings>Installation Settings>HD Settings when I choose 720p or 1080i, the screen become very big and some manu become unreadable, why?  Only default 576p is ok.  hmm.gif

I am using Panasonic FullHD Plasma P42S10K.

Should I restart Astro B.yond decoder?  hmm.gif
We are using the same setup. thumbup.gif

I choose 1080i and its working very nice.
TV resolution being set to 16:9, where I will use "JUST" for SD channel.

Only clear at 576p? That's weird.
Assuming u using HDMI cable.

How about re-do all the settings and see if it help ?
mlthum
post Jan 1 2010, 06:07 PM

73 posts

to all sifu...
my current astro is parellel setup which mean the decoder is at living hall and i can watch astro channel at my bedroom. Installer just called my up and i raise this concern to him and told by him that this cannot be done on astro beyond.

Called up astro cust service, confirm with them no solution at all.

kaspersky-fan
post Jan 1 2010, 06:14 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(mlthum @ Jan 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
to all sifu...
my current astro is parellel setup which mean the decoder is at living hall and i can watch astro channel at my bedroom. Installer just called my up and i raise this concern to him and told by him that this cannot be done on astro beyond.

So you are saying... if the decoder is tuned to one channel, upstairs will also be the same channel? if yes maybe u can buy the component cable or composite cable and plug to ure upstairs tv and use the hdmi downstairs
rayfoo
post Jan 1 2010, 06:16 PM

2,562 posts

if both tV also LCD and want HD quality. then gonna cost u quite abit..requires HDMI splitters/extenders

QUOTE(mlthum @ Jan 1 2010, 06:07 PM)
to all sifu...

mlthum
post Jan 1 2010, 06:20 PM

73 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 1 2010, 06:14 PM)
So you are saying... if the decoder is tuned to one channel, upstairs will also be the same channel? if yes maybe u can buy the component cable or composite cable and plug to ure upstairs tv and use the hdmi downstairs
Current astro decoder can be done but not the astro beyond setup box. According to astro cust service, the new setup box only 1 to 1.

Added on January 1, 2010, 6:22 pm
QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jan 1 2010, 06:16 PM)
if both tV also LCD and want HD quality. then gonna cost u  quite abit..requires HDMI splitters/extenders
bro.. r u saying that it can be done even though we subscribe to astro beyond? i don't mind my bedroom without HD quality at least i can watch. Any idea where to buy those splitter/extenders???

This post has been edited by mlthum: Jan 1 2010, 06:22 PM
yanhui95
post Jan 1 2010, 06:24 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

ooh dam..
now normal channel not so clear because not using s video cable
rayfoo
post Jan 1 2010, 06:37 PM

2,562 posts

i'm using 'Belkin' HDMI cable, dont see any difference tongue.gif
QUOTE(AjkR06 @ Jan 1 2010, 05:16 PM)
Just wanna ask, anyone here have tried connecting astro byond using Monster HDMI Cable? Any "different" in PQ and SQ maybe??  biggrin.gif

Added on January 1, 2010, 6:39 pmif u dont need the hd quality for 1 of your TV, just get the AV to RF converter thingy, check V1 Astro thread, can get from pasar road
QUOTE(mlthum @ Jan 1 2010, 06:20 PM)
Current astro decoder can be done but not the astro beyond setup box. According to astro cust service, the new setup box only 1 to 1.

Added on January 1, 2010, 6:22 pm

bro.. r u saying that it can be done even though we subscribe to astro beyond? i don't mind my bedroom without HD quality at least i can watch. Any idea where to buy those splitter/extenders???
This post has been edited by rayfoo: Jan 1 2010, 06:39 PM
minimize
post Jan 1 2010, 06:41 PM

1,543 posts

QUOTE(mlthum @ Jan 1 2010, 06:20 PM)
Maybe u can get it at jalan pasar. But it's very expensive.

101 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0250sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:32 PM