Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available

RAMChYLD
post Jan 14 2010, 12:54 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kelvin @ Jan 14 2010, 12:16 PM)
RM25/month for AOD is OK if you have time to watch and like TVB drama. I think normal price is about RM4x. But remember to cancel it after 2 month else the price will back to normal.....ALSO remember AOD is NOT HD. TVB HK is showing their drama in HD but when AOD will start HD  sweat.gif   blush.gif
Better thing to do is to go around shopping complexes like Giant. Usually the salesperson there very desperate, offer good deal like free decoder. Just don't take their word seriously if you ask about future channels and they say yes...

Then after install decoder immediately call Astro and ask for b.yond upgrade. Should be cheaper.
QUOTE(gaarared @ Jan 14 2010, 12:33 PM)
Someone said its end of this month..
Most accepted answer is end of this month.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 14 2010, 12:54 PM
AjkR06
post Jan 14 2010, 01:34 PM

that's me
1,551 posts

QUOTE(edmundq @ Jan 14 2010, 12:50 PM)
No con, i got that mid last year, they only call chinese customers for that deal.

yes, they only charge you RM25, instead of usual 54.95.

but when u cancel after 2months, you pay RM10 for cancellation fee.

and of course you want to finish that drama before cancellation, so the days and weeks after the 2months is pro-rated using the full rate. so they dont actually loose out a lot.
They also called me to subscribe to AOD Dragon Pack for just half price, RM25.95 for 2 months....eventhough i'm Malay... tongue.gif
I subscribe to it since I like to watch TVB Dramas... if i'm not mistaken, they called me around September last year... and I'm subscribe until November..
managed to catch Beyond the realm of conscience and Born Rich at the same time as HK... biggrin.gif

ady_1413
post Jan 14 2010, 01:52 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(beandy @ Jan 14 2010, 12:18 PM)
Anyone any idea on ESPN HD when will launch?
end of january 2010. discovery hd also on the way to malaysia thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ady_1413: Jan 14 2010, 01:58 PM
bill.timmins
post Jan 14 2010, 01:59 PM

QUOTE(LCP @ Jan 1 2010, 11:42 PM)
Samsung LCD TVs have non-overscan mode also (and for some years already), just need to use the aspect ratio button to set to Just Scan, and this mode will only work at 720p, 1080i and 1080p resolutions. I have a HTPC outputting 1080p via HDMI, can see exactly 1920x1080 on my Samsung TV without any cropping of the Windows desktop edges, pixel perfect mapping.

Btw, are there movies in 1.85 AR? I think not many, most movies are in 2.35:1 AR, that will always result in two huge black horizontal bars. Popular shows (and some made for TV movies) recorded off HDTV broadcasts are all 1.77 (16:9) AR. But I believe I could have seen movies with thin black bars on top and bottom of the screen, just can't remember which one.
I've got a Philips which overscans. It does have a 'Native HDMI' option which does not overscan, but it automatically switches back to Overscan every time the picture loses sync - ie switch from HD to Sd - DUMB!!!

re 1080i/720P everything now is 1080i but reading wikipedia they say that ESPN HD is 720p because ESPN insist that for the fast moving sports which they show, the interlace distortion is less acceptable than the loss of resolution.

There is a normal video and audio out facility which downconverts the HD channels to leave horizontal black bars (useful for recording) BUT if you use the full Dolby 5.1 sound for your HDMI (which my installer did not switch on) you don't get audio on the analog outputs - DUMB!!! - again

I have to say that golf looks really nice in HD :-)

This post has been edited by bill.timmins: Jan 14 2010, 02:01 PM
kuekss
post Jan 14 2010, 02:01 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(ady_1413 @ Jan 14 2010, 01:52 PM)
end of january 2010.  discovery hd also on the way to malaysia thumbup.gif
y u know discovery HD on the way??
anfieldude
post Jan 14 2010, 02:01 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(bill.timmins @ Jan 14 2010, 01:59 PM)
I've got a Philips which overscans. It does have a 'Native HDMI' option which does not overscan, but it automatically switches back to Overscan every time the picture loses sync - ie switch from HD to Sd - DUMB!!!

re 1080i/720P everything now is 1080i but reading wikipedia they say that ESPN HD is 720p because ESPN insist that for the fast moving sports which they show, the interlace distortion is less acceptable than the loss of resolution.

There is a normal video and audio out facility which downconverts the HD channels to leave horizontal black bars (useful for recording) BUT if you use the full Dolby 5.1 sound for your HDMI (which my installer did not switch on) you don't get audio on the analog outputs - DUMB!!! - again

I have to say that golf looks really nice in HD :-)
ESPN HD for Asia defers from ESPN HD in the states.

ESPN Asia has exclusive rights to EPL from Sky, which transmits in 1080i.
ady_1413
post Jan 14 2010, 02:09 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(kuekss @ Jan 14 2010, 02:01 PM)
i read this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Discovery_HD
RAMChYLD
post Jan 14 2010, 02:10 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(kuekss @ Jan 14 2010, 02:01 PM)
This better be correct. My CBeebies and Boomerang not yet come even 1 year later... Instead lose BBCE pulak vmad.gif mad.gif

QUOTE(ady_1413 @ Jan 14 2010, 02:09 PM)
You know wikipedia has the reliability of a broken car, rite? I dun trust information there that is "future" TBA info. Only info that is confirmed. For comparison, Wikipedia also said that Boomerang is already available in Malaysia... Rite... Tell me which pay TV carrying it, I'll sign up immediately. Expensive also never mind, can take bank loan.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 14 2010, 02:19 PM
ady_1413
post Jan 14 2010, 02:14 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 14 2010, 02:10 PM)
This better be correct. My CBeebies and Boomerang not yet come even 1 year later... Instead lose BBCE pulak vmad.gif mad.gif
bbce dah ganti ngan The Biography Channel
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 14 2010, 02:14 PM

1,602 posts

Ok Peeps, I can confirm that those who have composite and component distortion... is due to macrovision.... I've tested it with my capture tool on pc, no prob.... no distortion or wat so ever.... so if u see distortion on ure tv, meaning ure tv doesnt support macrovision and u see all those crap lines :/
RAMChYLD
post Jan 14 2010, 02:16 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(ady_1413 @ Jan 14 2010, 02:14 PM)
bbce dah ganti ngan The Biography Channel
Biography schmiography. Yet another "home makeover channel". Give me BBC knowledge or the one of the other Nat Geo channels instead.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 14 2010, 02:20 PM
utellme
post Jan 14 2010, 02:34 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 14 2010, 02:14 PM)
Ok Peeps, I can confirm that those who have composite and component distortion... is due to macrovision.... I've tested it with my capture tool on pc, no prob.... no distortion or wat so ever.... so if u see distortion on ure tv, meaning ure tv doesnt support macrovision and u see all those crap lines :/
macam ini, aku memang tak masuk akal lah, my plasma TV still new and it's only 15 months old.
kaspersky-fan
post Jan 14 2010, 02:36 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Jan 14 2010, 02:34 PM)
macam ini, aku memang tak masuk akal lah, my plasma TV still new and it's only 15 months old.
im quite surprised my panny doesnt support macrovision too.... but my lovely hauppauge usb tuner does... it records flawlessly, but composite output is freaking ugly...hate it
eMKs
post Jan 14 2010, 02:49 PM

647 posts

Just got byond installed yesterday evening. thumbup.gif
Apply online: 4/1/10
T&C: 5/1/10
Installed: 13/1/10 (in 10 days ohmy.gif )
please include me in the list, location: kapar, klang

Signal level #1-201, #18-221 (good ah? hmm.gif )
Eventhough the decoder is quite small, but the remote is a bit long... normally when i hold the remote, i just use my thumb to press all the button in one step. I used to 'info/menu/left&right scroll/channel #/OK' button, but now i need more than 1 step to use all the button.
Still trying to get used for the new fuction. Seem like it doesn't have function like info-->press channel #, now i need to press ok, scroll left/right.

Btw, NG HD just awesome, but on History HD its have some footage not in HD. Will try to check ASSP HD when La Liga broadcast available, now all is NFL, so boring...

Added on January 14, 2010, 3:02 pm
QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 14 2010, 02:36 PM)
im quite surprised my panny doesnt support macrovision too.... but my lovely hauppauge usb tuner does... it records flawlessly, but composite output is freaking ugly...hate it
my sony seem no prob, probably it support macrovision. will try to use my old crt tonight.

This post has been edited by eMKs: Jan 14 2010, 03:15 PM
SQL INJECTION
post Jan 14 2010, 03:02 PM

34 posts

my signal level 244 thumbup.gif
yanhui95
post Jan 14 2010, 03:03 PM

Already started
1,441 posts

are they gonna have australian open (tennis) in HD?
utellme
post Jan 14 2010, 03:06 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(kaspersky-fan @ Jan 14 2010, 02:36 PM)
just goto TV - picture menu -> look for ??-Comb option and disable it, then the composite out picture will be no freaking. ??-comb is merely for slow and permanent picture (look for photo viewing), hope this help for u.
eMKs
post Jan 14 2010, 03:07 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(iqa1309 @ Jan 13 2010, 11:09 PM)
When I first switched to the HD Channels, a blank (black) screen appeared with the message 'Copy Protection Failed'. However I could listen to the sound. I called-up my Installer. He told me that there is something wrong with my HDMI cable and asked me to swap the cable. So I swapped with my Blue Ray player HDMI cable. Still no luck. I called up our good old Astro Customer Service and this time the gentleman on the other end of the line asked to switch off/on back my decoder (standard troubleshooting guide for customer). Obviously this did not work.
I also have this problem firstly, but after updated firmware to latest version, the problem solved.
-kytz-
post Jan 14 2010, 03:40 PM

12,573 posts

I would like to ask those who have upgraded to Astro HD and currently playing on their FHD set.Are there pixelation or noise?I know i'm asking a lot but how is the quality compared to full BD quality?If you don't mind why not share some pictures here?
RAMChYLD
post Jan 14 2010, 03:56 PM

1,715 posts

QUOTE(eMKs @ Jan 14 2010, 03:07 PM)
I also have this problem firstly, but after updated firmware to latest version, the problem solved.
If after update still cannot means that TV either dun have HDCP support or HDCP chip got problem. Call TV service hotline.

This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 14 2010, 03:57 PM

101 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:38 PM