Oh yeah I do notice that Chinese character. Don't know what it was all about.
Astro B.yond V2.0, HD Content Available
Jan 12 2010, 09:01 AM
1,409 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Oh yeah I do notice that Chinese character. Don't know what it was all about.
Jan 12 2010, 09:11 AM
634 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Beaufort, Sabah |
My Review about Astro B.yond (UPDATE)
1. I used Panasonic SDTV. 2. The TV can be programmed to the remote using option 2 (refer to installation manual). 3. Smart Card from other decoder can be inserted into the B.yond decoder (no HD channels). 4. Component cable works perfectly on SD channels and gives maximum picture quality that my TV can display (HD settings: 576p). 5. Changed satellite to #18 MEASAT-3A and gives 220-222 signal strength with 100% quality. 6. HD Channels via SDTV with component cable connection shows sharp picture that SDTV can get (no distortion). Yet to be done: 1. Test SD channels via HDMI. Suggestions: 1. Remove limitations on how many favourite channels should be set (like the old days). 2. Surf to favourite channels ch+ and ch- when enabled (like the old days). 3. Ceiling functions (like the old days). |
Jan 12 2010, 09:23 AM
11 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 12 2010, 09:11 AM) My Review about Astro B.yond (UPDATE) I am also connect to my TV via component cable. How to select HD settings: 576p? The HD selection is not allow without HDMI connected in my decoder.1. I used Panasonic SDTV. 2. The TV can be programmed to the remote using option 2 (refer to installation manual). 3. Smart Card from other decoder can be inserted into the B.yond decoder (no HD channels). 4. Component cable works perfectly on SD channels and gives maximum picture quality that my TV can display (HD settings: 576p). 5. Changed satellite to #18 MEASAT-3A and gives 220-222 signal strength with 100% quality. 6. HD Channels via SDTV with component cable connection shows sharp picture that SDTV can get (no distortion). Yet to be done: 1. Test SD channels via HDMI. Suggestions: 1. Remove limitations on how many favourite channels should be set (like the old days). 2. Surf to favourite channels ch+ and ch- when enabled (like the old days). 3. Ceiling functions (like the old days). |
Jan 12 2010, 09:27 AM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Submitted my application online at astro.com.my last Thursday, Astro will come to install today (Tue)...that's fast....
Jan 12 2010, 09:28 AM
1,715 posts Joined: May 2005 From: Klang |
QUOTE(tks203 @ Jan 12 2010, 09:23 AM) I am also connect to my TV via component cable. How to select HD settings: 576p? The HD selection is not allow without HDMI connected in my decoder. Problem with B.yond at this moment is that they don't allow you to select anything but 576i through component and composite. They should at least allow progressive through component.My features wish list: - 60Hz pull-up (because many pre-2006 early HDTVs, cheapo LCD monitors and TVs bought from US/Japan only support 60Hz HD). - 576p (EDTV) through component. This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 12 2010, 09:32 AM |
Jan 12 2010, 09:49 AM
1,839 posts Joined: Mar 2005 |
QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 11 2010, 08:53 PM) I got mine installed on 6 Jan wherby my colleague got his installed on 31 Dec 2009. My Byond decoder came with ODU 60 (old type dish). So, I requested the installer not to install it and I use back my old dish. Called the installer this afternoon and according to him, there's new set arrived today with ODU 65 but it's allocated to some others subscriber. This morning, I just noticed the DMT collection form under my door. Apparently the installer came yesterday when I was at work, and left the form there with his phone number. I just noticed the form today, and called him immediately. He's coming in half an hour. The installer is Mr Hii. Written on the form are both my old and new DMT and smartcard serial number. |
Jan 12 2010, 10:04 AM
129 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Nilai-KLIA |
QUOTE(mpyw @ Jan 12 2010, 09:27 AM) Submitted my application online at astro.com.my last Thursday, Astro will come to install today (Tue)...that's fast.... My friend also less than 1 week installed byond after registration. Dunno how their system works as there are fews here still not getting theirs after 10 days. |
Jan 12 2010, 11:55 AM
255 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
Jan 12 2010, 12:00 PM
17 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 12 2010, 09:11 AM) My Review about Astro B.yond (UPDATE) i'm from beaufort sabah too, how long time u get the astro b.yond?1. I used Panasonic SDTV. 2. The TV can be programmed to the remote using option 2 (refer to installation manual). 3. Smart Card from other decoder can be inserted into the B.yond decoder (no HD channels). 4. Component cable works perfectly on SD channels and gives maximum picture quality that my TV can display (HD settings: 576p). 5. Changed satellite to #18 MEASAT-3A and gives 220-222 signal strength with 100% quality. 6. HD Channels via SDTV with component cable connection shows sharp picture that SDTV can get (no distortion). Yet to be done: 1. Test SD channels via HDMI. Suggestions: 1. Remove limitations on how many favourite channels should be set (like the old days). 2. Surf to favourite channels ch+ and ch- when enabled (like the old days). 3. Ceiling functions (like the old days). which dealer install for u??? hehe |
Jan 12 2010, 12:02 PM
129 posts Joined: May 2009 From: Nilai-KLIA |
Jan 12 2010, 12:16 PM
255 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
QUOTE(RAMChYLD @ Jan 12 2010, 09:28 AM) Problem with B.yond at this moment is that they don't allow you to select anything but 576i through component and composite. They should at least allow progressive through component. Why would they allow progressive when there is not need for it? All Astro SD programs are in SD 576i. you won't get a better PQ with 576p since the source is 576i.My features wish list: - 60Hz pull-up (because many pre-2006 early HDTVs, cheapo LCD monitors and TVs bought from US/Japan only support 60Hz HD). - 576p (EDTV) through component. However using component instead of composite will definitely give you better PQ since it eliminates most of the flicker present when using composite. As for your first wish...buy a new TV lah...cheapo only la nowadays. |
Jan 12 2010, 12:21 PM
3,542 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Puchong, Selangor |
As in Version 1, The astro installation is not based on 1st come 1st serve basis...So no point ranting here bcos it is fact by now..
Jan 12 2010, 12:23 PM
Jan 12 2010, 12:25 PM
17 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Jan 12 2010, 12:41 PM
65 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(azrin_kiko @ Jan 12 2010, 09:11 AM) My Review about Astro B.yond (UPDATE) There are some fundemental issues with this. Perhaps I've misunderstood you?1. I used Panasonic SDTV. 2. The TV can be programmed to the remote using option 2 (refer to installation manual). 3. Smart Card from other decoder can be inserted into the B.yond decoder (no HD channels). 4. Component cable works perfectly on SD channels and gives maximum picture quality that my TV can display (HD settings: 576p). 5. Changed satellite to #18 MEASAT-3A and gives 220-222 signal strength with 100% quality. 6. HD Channels via SDTV with component cable connection shows sharp picture that SDTV can get (no distortion). Yet to be done: 1. Test SD channels via HDMI. Suggestions: 1. Remove limitations on how many favourite channels should be set (like the old days). 2. Surf to favourite channels ch+ and ch- when enabled (like the old days). 3. Ceiling functions (like the old days). 1 why test on an SD TV? 2 the remote is programmed not the TV 3 might happen to some but it is not a universal thing. Definately doesn't happen with me. 4 I wouldn't consider 576p HD 5 pretty sure that playing with this does nothing more then tell you signal strength of the transponder. It doesn't actual boost your recieving reception. It is just a monitor. 6 it is down scaled to SD How can you test an SDTV with HDMI cables? SDTV don't have HDMI inputs. Regarding your other issues. I agree with point 2 and don't know what the "ceiling functions" are that you're refer to? But regarding having more access to programme more favourite channels then it allows then I disagree. The objective of this function is to highlight your Fav channels not to block out channels you don't want to see. This post has been edited by TVSPY: Jan 12 2010, 12:41 PM |
Jan 12 2010, 12:47 PM
Ceiling functions. If certain channels are unavailable, decoder will change the channel to the nearest to the number.
eg. you input 100, automatically go to 101 |
Jan 12 2010, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(lapaq @ Jan 12 2010, 12:16 PM) Like I said before, my original wish for this function is so I can use a AVerMedia HDMI card which is apparently HDCP-compatible ( http://www.avermedia-usa.com/AVerTV/produc...ail.aspx?Id=482 ) and integrate the b.yond into HTPC environment. Said card can apparently oblige Astro b.yond HDCP protection (i.e. check PC to see if monitor, soundcard, etc. HDCP compliant and allow signal through or deny signal, compared to BlackMagic Intensity/Intensity Pro which outright deny signal). Problem is, said card only release for US market, no Europe/Asia equivalent, and they made very sure it can't be used in PAL countries by limiting it's rate support to 60Hz, 24fps and 30fps. I already had long talk with AVerMedia support people. And for new TV, yeah, cheap. RM2499 minimum (need to buy 32" minimum because need 2-3 HDMI ports, one component port, one composite port and one VGA port. And I insist only on Sharp brand because I'm most familiar with Sharp TVs, and TVs from Sharp with that many connections only come in sizes of 32" or higher)... I currently still pokai from buying the PS3 and then a PSP Go (because of PS3 remote play) and then a PSP3000 (US model because stupid local PSP Go cannot load comic book reader- region-free my foot) and that useless Intensity Pro. Plus room no more space This post has been edited by RAMChYLD: Jan 12 2010, 01:10 PM |
Jan 12 2010, 01:09 PM
1,477 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
IIRC the Avermedia HD-DVR card doesn't do hardware encoding right?
Jan 12 2010, 01:10 PM
3,603 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
The astro b.yond installer came at 10:45 am, completed changing the disc (OGU65) and setting at 11:10am....activate the card, can see the channel at 11:20am....
my original cable (concealed) very long like min 40ft only can get signal at 177, add in the booster, it became 255 instantly... now only wait for the ESPN HD.....EPL in HD |
Jan 12 2010, 01:13 PM
QUOTE(MK84 @ Jan 12 2010, 01:09 PM) Yeah, but the thing is it supposedly supports HDCP, and AVerMedia includes a plugin that allows the card to work with WinMCE. Anything. As long as I can get smooth picture onto the Dell 245WFP, CPU load consistently 80%-90% I also dun care. |
| Change to: | 0.0258sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:24 PM |