HT AVR - HD VS NON HD, How Much different??

TSchengkl8
post Dec 31 2009, 10:25 PM, updated 16y ago

120 posts

My Hometheather Set for Bluray Movie's

TV : Philips 42PFL5609 (just bought)
Player : PS3 Slim (just bought)
AVR : Yamaha RXV440
Front : PSB B15 (just bought)
Center : Mclaren Audio (I think made in China)
Rear : Mclaren Audio
SUB : Velodyne CHT-10Q (just bought)

Here, I'm asking a STUPID question doh.gif - is it a much different within HD Sound vs Non HD Sound - eg. DTS HD vs DTS, DD TrueHD vs DD. with your same speaker set?? blush.gif Anyone here change their AVR without changing the speaker set & Sub ? hmm.gif

Maximum Bit Rate
Dolby Digital - 448kbps
DTS - 2mbps
Dolby Digital Plus - 6mbps
DTS HD - 6mbps
Dolby True D - 18mbps
DTS HD MASTER - 24.5mbps

From number above, is look a lot of different within HD vs Lossy format. But this is just a teori.

Give me some opinion - which should I change 1st?? AVR? Center? or Rear Speaker(I dun think tis). Dun talk about budget 1st, if u r me, which 1 will be your next TARGET??

Just Bought - Total RM7,800. doh.gif

This post has been edited by chengkl8: Jan 1 2010, 09:14 PM
htkaki
post Dec 31 2009, 10:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

To enjoy HD audio, (sorry to say this) the puny Yamaha has to go. Get entry level HD avr, which sld be around RM2K.

Next would be the center. Get something decent at abt RM1K-RM1.3K
JOR23N
post Dec 31 2009, 10:33 PM

147 posts

So Astro Byond got any HD Audio?
TSchengkl8
post Dec 31 2009, 10:34 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 31 2009, 10:31 PM)
To enjoy HD audio, (sorry to say this) the puny Yamaha has to go. Get entry level HD avr, which sld be around RM2K.

Next would be the center. Get something decent at abt RM1K-RM1.3K
I know u r PRO about HTS. Is it a MUCH MUCH different from AVR??

Which brand & model of AVR u suggest for entry level HD system??

PLEASE ADVICE icon_question.gif
milzer1993
post Dec 31 2009, 10:47 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(chengkl8 @ Dec 31 2009, 10:34 PM)
I know u r PRO about HTS. Is it a MUCH MUCH different from AVR??

Which brand & model of AVR u suggest for entry level HD system??

PLEASE ADVICE icon_question.gif
HTkaki is selling his Yammy RXV1800. That should do it.... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1269396&hl= extremely Gorgeous ...cant take off my eyes looking at that titanium color

This post has been edited by milzer1993: Dec 31 2009, 10:49 PM
htkaki
post Dec 31 2009, 11:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, the difference is very noticable. The bass will no longer sounds harsh and noisy as in DVD.

What you get from lossless audio (generally) is a cleaner sound with a more expansive surround effect with very fine details in it. The bass is very refine and for first timer, it is 'softer' but definitely cleaner.

ronaldjoe
post Dec 31 2009, 11:13 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(milzer1993 @ Dec 31 2009, 10:47 PM)
HTkaki is selling his Yammy RXV1800. That should do it.... http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1269396&hl=  extremely Gorgeous ...cant take off my eyes looking at that titanium color
Fuyoh, didn't know taukeh is selling his 1800. rclxms.gif
htkaki
post Dec 31 2009, 11:38 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I will sell either the 1800 or the new unopened Denon 2310 since I don't need that many av receivers.
milzer1993
post Dec 31 2009, 11:48 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 31 2009, 11:38 PM)
I will sell either the 1800 or the new unopened Denon 2310 since I don't need that many av receivers.
24 Dec - 31 dec = 8 days
8 days X 7 times view per day
Total view = 56 times... hmm.gif hmm.gif hmm.gif
de_lasoul
post Dec 31 2009, 11:51 PM

624 posts

Taukeh,

how much for the 2310?
qwerty79
post Jan 1 2010, 12:32 AM

1,907 posts

What is the cheapest Yamaha AVR available to encode HD audio? Yamaha RX-V465 ok?
ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 01:15 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Dec 31 2009, 11:38 PM)
'good deal or not your 2310? sms n see.. biggrin.gif
htkaki
post Jan 1 2010, 09:17 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 1 2010, 01:15 AM)
'good deal or not your 2310? sms n see..  biggrin.gif
Sure not a good deal for you tongue.gif US bloody cheap.

Bolehland price is about RM4K range sweat.gif Of course, I'll sell way below that price esp to you whistling.gif

Might be selling both 1800 and 2310 to make way for a higher end model. Still thinking hmm.gif Maybe suroound processor will be in the pipeline. If I do tk the plunge, the Denon 4310 will be secondary avr.
ronaldjoe
post Jan 1 2010, 11:18 AM

3,569 posts

Taukeh what processor do you have in mind?
htkaki
post Jan 1 2010, 05:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 1 2010, 11:18 AM)
Taukeh what processor do you have in mind?
None yet. Praying hard there is one from Denon in 2010 at about Onkyo's 5507 price tag
TSchengkl8
post Jan 1 2010, 09:10 PM

120 posts

I think my topic starting have been c whistling.gif hange!!

HTKAKI - everyone looking for u!! doh.gif
sonyman
post Jan 2 2010, 09:58 AM

1,043 posts

HTkaki taukeh, where can play with onkyo and denon anymore,

since you already have a XPA-5 must go for Anthem D2 or maybe a lexicon mc12-HD, or a intergra onkyo DHC9.9 loh, then kau kau the hometheater, chinese new year i come visit you can show off your ultimate HT experience... hahaha.

classe audio also ok mah,, haha, we all can visit HT kaki and bring pop corn to his place and enjoy a movie no need the cinema
htkaki
post Jan 2 2010, 10:44 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jan 2 2010, 09:58 AM)

since you already have a XPA-5 must go for Anthem D2 or maybe a lexicon mc12-HD, or a intergra onkyo DHC9.9 loh, then kau kau the hometheater, chinese new year i come visit you can show off your ultimate HT experience... hahaha.

classe audio also ok  mah,, haha, we all can visit HT kaki and bring pop corn to his place and enjoy a movie no need the cinema
Err..... you might have mistaken me for the other elites here sweat.gif

I am peasant trying hard to be elite blush.gif I am waiting for the others to jump ship to high-end pre that you mentioned tongue.gif Then, I'll go there with drinks and you may tag along with pop corns rclxms.gif

The Lexicon MC12-HD is out of question even it is within my budget as it ain't being equipped with the latest processing namely Audyssey DSX and Dolby PL IIz. Its audio out is only 7.1.

I bet they will jump into the bandwagon quite soon but at a 'price' sweat.gif

Mean time, have to contend with my 4310 + XPA-5 combo until a really 'affordable' pre pops out. By then, maybe itching for more power amps to match with it. A 9.4 setup would be a likely combination.
hdwarexpert
post Jan 2 2010, 11:00 AM

1,342 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jan 2 2010, 09:58 AM)

classe audio also okĀ  mah,, haha, we all can visit HT kaki and bring pop corn to his place and enjoy a movie no need the cinema
I think need to pay Gold Class fees of RM$40 per movie. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hdwarexpert: Jan 2 2010, 12:45 PM
writesimply
post Jan 2 2010, 12:18 PM

934 posts

I would recommend Pioneer 1019. Apart from all the HD audio you get, you'll also get complete iPhone integration where you can browse through your collection using the Pioneer's remote; it'll even show the album covers on your TV. The Pioneer will retrieve the raw data from the USB connection and decodes it internally. You can also view movies/shows you have on your iPhone with the provided connector but the big question there is why would you need to.

Most new HD receivers do not have S-video, which includes the Pioneer. The Pioneer also do not have Phono input so you need to buy/build your own phono pre-amp. The price of this 7.1 Pioneer is RM3400.

fuad
cosmicmeadow
post Jan 2 2010, 04:46 PM

223 posts

Get Yamaha AVR... I think there is one model that can do 5.1 HD-audio below RM2K. Do some research.

As for difference btw HD and non-HD.... yes, there is definitely a difference... but whether you can sense it or not, depends on your ears.
TSchengkl8
post Jan 2 2010, 07:31 PM

120 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Jan 2 2010, 04:46 PM)
Get Yamaha AVR... I think there is one model that can do 5.1 HD-audio below RM2K. Do some research.

As for difference btw HD and non-HD.... yes, there is definitely a difference... but whether you can sense it or not, depends on your ears.
Finally.. Finally!! rclxm9.gif My answer is BACK... rclxms.gif

Thanks for ur advice.. thumbup.gif
sonyman
post Jan 3 2010, 12:41 PM

1,043 posts

you can go and listen and get shiok, but if you can the setup try to be the same, because when bring home sure got something not the same one, thats audio

htkaki
post Jan 3 2010, 10:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It's mainly due to room acoustics. Normally, hi-fi shops have done certain amount of acoustic treatment. So, it does sound different when you set it up at home esp so when you do not have a dedicated HT room.

0.0198sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:55 AM