The Official Subwoofer Thread v3, Everything you need to know about bass!
jimmyteng18
May 20 2010, 04:25 PM
Need sifu advise.
I have an old Sony sub, which has a Freq.cut-off from 50 - 100Hz. I set it at 100 Hz. My AVR 2309, I set the sub cut-off at 100 Hz.
Should I set my sub freq. lower? Same freq.as well for AVR?
jimmyteng18
May 20 2010, 05:20 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 20 2010, 05:01 PM) Set your sub to bypass. Let your avr do the job "bypass" means the sub will accept the freq. cut-off done by AVR? Should I set the AVR cut-off sub freq. to the lowest? ie 50Hz? I'm not sure my sub can bypass or not. will check it out. Thks.
jimmyteng18
May 21 2010, 08:55 AM
My sub can't set to bypass. My other speakers setting at AVR was "Small"(bookshelf). So, that means I need to set the sub and AVR crossed at same freq? ie 100 Hz for both?
jimmyteng18
May 21 2010, 09:39 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 09:10 AM) Jimmy, What is the exact labelling on ur sub for this cutoff? I believe this is a low pass filter, meaning anything above this it will not play on the sub. It's called Cut-off Freq as stated in the manual, from 50Hz - 100Hz. I agreed, is a low pass filter.Also on the AVR what is the exact labelling of the sub? This shd also be a low pass filter so essentially they shd be set the same. It's called Crossover Freq(AVR Denon 2309)What I would advise u to do would be to decide the frequency of the mains/centre and the sattelite. What are they set at?. I set the crossover freq. for all speakers(FL,FR,C,SR,SL) at 100Hz in the Speaker Advance Setting menu.Also what is the rating on ur sub? I think is 170Watts.What is ur AVR? Does it have Audyssey? Or any room correction? Denon 2309 and I don't use the Audyssey and room correction. Above are my settings. Anfield, thks for advice.
jimmyteng18
May 21 2010, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 10:24 AM) Jimmy, As htkaki said, set both to 100Hz. How low does ur Sony sub go? Was this a standalone sub or something from a HTIB? Why don't u use Audyssey? Did u run into any problems? If u did run Audyssey, could u let me know the settings that Audyssey suggested? Also as htkaki asks, pls let us know what speakers u use? The lowest setting for my sub is 50Hz, max is 100Hz. It's a standalone sub. I'm not really study on how to use the Audyssey yet. Will try it out when I'm free. My speakers very old liao...pai seh...he..he.. I'm using BMB Custom for FL,FR and C. They were a big taller than normal bookshelf(still use speaker stand), with 2 mid speakers and a tweeter. My RS and LS is from Acoustic Energy(AE100). Thks.
jimmyteng18
May 21 2010, 11:39 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 11:28 AM) Ok. BMB speakers are normally for karaoke as such, high effeciency but also distortion. So u need to watch the volume. Since they are high efficiency, what speaker level trims did u set since u do not use Audyssey? If u do not have a SPL meter, it is difficult to set correctly and this could spoil ur HT experience as u could be overpowering ur surrounds or vice versa. Audyssey will take away all the guess work unless u are planning to set everything by ear and are happy with it. Also these speakers don't normally go low as its meant for vocals. So I would suggest to let Audyssey do its thing and see how it sounds. I believe ur settings of 100Hz are not too far off, but I also believe u would not have adjusted the trims, unless u did. Audyssey automates this whole process of setting the speaker trims, crossovers and also checks if u set the phase correctly. If u run into any problems with Audyssey, let me know. Also pls use a tripod when u do Audyssey calibration. Read the instructions and carry out the 8 points if it allows. Then see how it sounds. It shd be more balanced and since it also has filters to fix the frequency issues in ur room, shd sound more correct. Thanks for valuable advice. What is "speaker level trims" as u mentioned? FYI, these BMB speakers are not for karaoke, they were a specially custom made meant for home theatre used. Maybe I snap some photos later. Will definitely try out the Audyssey.
jimmyteng18
May 21 2010, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 11:46 AM) Cool. What is the technical specs on them? I think, I don't have the manual. Let me search for it. Thks.
jimmyteng18
May 22 2010, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 11:46 AM) Cool. What is the technical specs on them? As promised, attached are the photos of my speaker.
jimmyteng18
May 22 2010, 10:58 AM
Sorry, bro. My set-up quite messy and not nice. Peasant one....he..he..
jimmyteng18
May 24 2010, 09:01 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 21 2010, 10:24 AM) Jimmy, As htkaki said, set both to 100Hz. How low does ur Sony sub go? Was this a standalone sub or something from a HTIB? Why don't u use Audyssey? Did u run into any problems? If u did run Audyssey, could u let me know the settings that Audyssey suggested? Also as htkaki asks, pls let us know what speakers u use? Hi Sifu, attached are the Audyssey results. Attached thumbnail(s)
jimmyteng18
May 24 2010, 09:02 AM
QUOTE(jimmyteng18 @ May 24 2010, 09:01 AM) Hi Sifu, attached are the Audyssey results. Sifu, any abnormalities? Attached thumbnail(s)
jimmyteng18
May 24 2010, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 24 2010, 09:11 AM) Is the front L/R same speakers as the centre? YesDid u use a tripod when measuring? No, I don't have 1. But I used a wooden chair to simulate my hearing height position.Was the room quiet when u did it? Was there extraneous noise when the fronts were being measured? Room quiet. Fans and lighting all OFF.If there were no measurement errors, and ur fronts are the same models and specs as ur centre, then ur primary seating place is causing the xovers to be set very high for ur fronts. There is some cancelation. Based on this and ur subwoofer not being able to handle below 100Hz, u will lose some impact from the fronts as they are crossed over at 150Hz, and ur sub at 100Hz. Should I modity the xovers setting manually? Let's say, set the fronts and centre at the same xovers freq.?However, my main suspicion is ur placement. U might need to move the fronts slightly forward and tilted to get rid of the null in ur seating position. I don't have much space. Tilted, u means toe-in?Also are the fronts rear ported? or front ported? Fronts and Centre are rear ported. For Fronts speakers, the top and bottom are the Mid, the middle is the tweeter. Same for Centre speaker.
jimmyteng18
May 24 2010, 09:42 AM
QUOTE(anfieldude @ May 24 2010, 09:27 AM) Yes, toe in and bring it slightly forward. Ur results indicate that the room is causing some issues. I would not modify the xovers for now. Needs some investigating. Also I would advise against using the mic on a chair. Pls PM me, since u r in Pg, maybe we can check it out. After the Audyssey, compared to my origin manually set-up, I felt the surround(SR,SL) and fronts separation are more details, bass was a bit boomy, but is OK for me. Overall, feels good. PMed!!
jimmyteng18
May 25 2010, 09:04 AM
[quote=gocitygo,May 24 2010, 05:58 PM] Jimmy, next thing is room acoustic treatment  . If you have SPL meter, you can use REW software to see the interaction of you subwoofer with your room. [/q gocitygo, maybe I will try to re-run the Audyssey with some guidelines from AVS forum.