Best Telco for Android Users

TSvictorc
post Dec 25 2009, 11:41 PM, updated 16y ago

Hi Bros
I am currently a Nokia 5800 User on Maxis Telco, i plan to switch to Android ( HTC Hero ) in Jan 2010 and would like to check which Telco is suitable for Android?
I was looking at Celcom with its Data Plan which many has recommended due to the good coverage as well as Digi with their low cost high speed options.
Any suggestions?

Basically my calls are very ( averaging less or around Rm 50 per month) and my usage is mostly SMS /Data.

Does different telco impact whether we can connect to Android Marketplace?

It seems only Celcom offering package with Hero...would we see the following

Maxis Partner with Apple for Iphone
Celcom Partner with Google/Blackberry for Android/Blackberry?

Any feedback welcome...

Thank you

geforce88
post Dec 25 2009, 11:50 PM

2,841 posts

DiGi, always the SMARTEST choice smile.gif
hspace
post Dec 26 2009, 09:16 AM

377 posts

I've always liked DiGi. Being smaller and foreign-run, they seem scrappier and more innovative. They were the first to come out with EDGE for prepaid, Friends & Family etc that the others eventually have to compete against. And they keep pushing the price envelope. Heck, they even have online customer service via online chat. Saves so much time compared to calling the phone and wading through the voice menus.

I find that usually people on Celcom/Maxis who somehow like to go out of their way to diss DiGi usually never use DiGi much before. Probably just irritated by the weird DiGi yellow man (kind of creepy to me too).

Only drawback with DiGi is that while their broadband is good, their coverage area seems limited for now.
myboo_1988
post Dec 26 2009, 10:05 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

i m using htc hero on my digi campus ...rm 2 can sms and call all your digi friends for FREE..rm 5 a day UNLIMITED usage DATA..

zogenk
post Dec 26 2009, 10:17 AM

98 posts

i'm using my Magic with Digi Internet Unlimited..works great...
AskarPerang
post Dec 26 2009, 10:20 AM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

Maxis unlimited data package is RM120 monthly. But you can choose your own cheaper data package with limited usage.

Digi is pay per use to a maximum of RM149 monthly. Or you can take 3GB quota for RM48 monthly.

I think Celcom is RM250 monthly for unlimited data usage. hmm.gif
myboo_1988
post Dec 26 2009, 10:26 AM

Love The Way U Lie
754 posts

QUOTE(zogenk @ Dec 26 2009, 10:17 AM)
i'm using my Magic with Digi Internet Unlimited..works great...
digi rock
yan5619
post Dec 27 2009, 12:42 AM

549 posts

I've seen quite good reviews from you guys, but may I know where you guys mainly comes from? I've used Digi for quite some time in Penang, it's nice, but when I'm in Selangor, it seems that Maxis is better, well at least it has reception in places where Digi doesnt...
kiuko
post Dec 27 2009, 01:17 AM

145 posts

do u need 3G speed or just send & receive? this is also 1 of the key point...

for me coverage also the consideration

beside, then the budget of the plan...remember must choose unlimited to avoid our own careless sometimes...but seems most of telco start to automatically stop the usage already, so not so worry...
Isx
post Dec 28 2009, 02:19 AM

190 posts

I'm switching to digi unlimited after my gf fly to auss.
tHe^CuLpRit
post Dec 28 2009, 06:38 AM

598 posts

Sticking with Maxis for now, I don't expect to be a heavy data user (for now) so the 500mb quota is sufficient.

Wish is was cheaper though (rm58 vs Digi rm48 promo for 3gb)

MyWifeCar
post Dec 29 2009, 06:54 AM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

Please use U Mobile.

You can use all 3G you want... No one will fight for the bandwidth with you... biggrin.gif
SUSMatrix
post Jan 5 2010, 10:09 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Dec 29 2009, 06:54 AM)
Please use U Mobile.

You can use all 3G you want... No one will fight for the bandwidth with you...  biggrin.gif
Hello...Umobile is renting bandwidth from CELCOM.

CELCOM still has the best coverage...the funny thing...my package is 384kb...in KL it'll not exceed this limit....but when i use it in Kota Kinabalu, it was uncapped and can reached 3Mb/s (but mostly around < 1 Mbps). LOL.
bonanno
post Jan 5 2010, 04:35 PM

466 posts

i found out the Maxis has upgrade their network coverage...consistently getting HSDPA signal in last 2 days...never drop...impressed...
shahz
post Jan 9 2010, 07:25 AM

I have more stars than cleave
1,566 posts

Maxis 3G ftw..Not bias judgement, I tested this in KL on all networks (except Umobile) and Maxis had really great results..Even when its on GPRS, it manages to load a webpage pretty well..I use mobile data package..RM57 for 500MB a month..more than enough for my monthly usage considering I have wifi at home and my hero automatically switches to wifi when it captures the signals smile.gif

YouTube on Maxis is the best..try the YouTube application in your Android..Mine loads a 3 minute video in about 5 - 7 seconds tongue.gif
MyWifeCar
post Jan 11 2010, 05:19 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

In City area, Maxis do stand out...

I did tried the youtube on various network, as long it is 3G then it is good...guess Digi is losing out on this.

But anyway, all telco do control their traffic now... guess youtube traffic is one of the key selling point.
yclian
post Jan 11 2010, 10:10 PM

247 posts

It doesn't look like anyone is giving the right answer here or I can't seem to find the best answer for the same question.

Celcom shall be the right choice as down the road, Google's features such as Maps, Market, etc. will be opened to the Telco that it links with. Currently Celcom doesn't give you Market at all - I have a colleague that got it from them.

Am using Magic on Maxis anyway.

MyWifeCar
post Jan 12 2010, 06:05 PM

★ Car Soundproofing DIY~
591 posts

I guess choosing which telco is all depend on your phone usage... I won't say Celcom is the right choice down the road, because so far a lot still complain about their poor billing method... There are always arguement on the usage and charges.

If you really want variety, then Digi is always the best... Let's hope they can offer 3G at a wider scope, then we shall see.

I guess to access Market, all you have to do is root your phone.
Celcom block Android user from accessing Market meh??
yclian
post Mar 17 2010, 02:39 AM

247 posts

QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Jan 12 2010, 07:05 PM)
I guess to access Market, all you have to do is root your phone.
And your guess was certainly wrong. Google doesn't open its Market for Malaysian users, it's not about rooting.

Alright, so let's say you are smart enough to change your GSM properties, yes, you can get almost all the apps in the market, but no, you still can't get Google's apps legally - Maps update, buzz, etc.

This post has been edited by yclian: Mar 17 2010, 02:40 AM
kamikraze
post Mar 17 2010, 03:26 AM

Iphone 12 Pro Max + Magicwatch 2
6,425 posts

if u age below 25 go for digi campus plan.. rm30 for edge internet.. not bad so far im using it for browsing and small download.. can sms/call too.. very cheap for below 25 years old.. other go for maxis or celcom would be good enough..

0.0206sec    0.96    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:19 AM