CAN'T DETECT SATA HDD, when overclocking

TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 25 2009, 06:04 PM, updated 16y ago

321 posts

My stock cpu is 2.0GHz, and i try to overclock it using the bios, change the fsb to 260MHz and pcie to 120. It runs fine.....then i try to overclock it again raised the fsb to 270 but i couldnt boot my pc and i raised the pcie to 130 and then it can boot and pass the post and can log on to windows but what surprise me my pc couldnt detect the sata hdd and by using pcie 130 ( cant detect sata but can detect ide hdd) and cant overclokc to 2.9GHz but the only problem is it cant detect my sata hdd and can detect my ide hdd....
I checked in the bios for my amibios ver 1.5 and there are settings to change the vtt voltage, chipset voltage and dram voltage but the only setting it has is low, medium and high..there is no setting to change the voltage from 1.3v to something...
So, what is ur opinion to to overclokc my cpu ?

currently : E2180 2.0GHz @2.66Ghz
ram : DDR2 667 (333MHz) normal

Added on December 25, 2009, 6:37 pmim using asrokc wolfdale 133-667 R2.0...stock cpu fan...dont know how to change the vcore coz couldnt find in it..Plz help me sifus...i wanna oc it until 3.0GHz...
but only manage to get until 2.66GHz only...Is it my mobo ?

This post has been edited by bluetomsguy: Dec 25 2009, 06:37 PM
hilmiangah
post Dec 25 2009, 07:56 PM

Kongsi Gelap Elite Ramadass
5,602 posts

u dont have to raise the PCIE bus value on the bios.

try running it on the default value of 100 and see if it change anything.
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 25 2009, 08:16 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Dec 25 2009, 07:56 PM)
u dont have to raise the PCIE bus value on the bios.

try running it on the default value of 100 and see if it change anything.
if im running using 100, i can only oc up to 2.3 and then couldnt boot up, if i put it 101 can oc to 2.66...
do u hv any suggestion in how to oc my cpu E2180 to more than 3.0Ghz ? i tried to raise the vtt and chipset volt to high but it seems i didnt effect the cpu and stil cant boot up if raised the fsb to more than 266...
uzer85
post Dec 25 2009, 10:01 PM

love............love......
3,812 posts

heard that raising ur pcie bus too much (above 110 is consider too much yo) will kill ur sata hdd,gc,anything related to it. (read this somewhere)

dunno how to change Vcore coz cant find it? now that's strange.

have u try update ur bios?? set pcie bus to 100@101 yo~

urs are package pc or what? (just curious yo)

without the option to bump Vcore, it's hard yo~
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 25 2009, 10:12 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Dec 25 2009, 10:01 PM)
heard that raising ur pcie bus too much (above 110 is consider too much yo) will kill ur sata hdd,gc,anything related to it. (read this somewhere)

dunno how to change Vcore coz cant find it? now that's strange.

have u try update ur bios?? set pcie bus to 100@101 yo~

urs are package pc or what? (just curious yo)

without the option to bump Vcore, it's hard yo~
Im not using package pc, but mixed up pc....atm my pc running fine wit pcie 120. I'm using asrock mobo, maybe my mobo doesnt have the setting to change the vcore (amibios version 1.5) latest version according to the manafacturer website.

bryanyeo87
post Dec 25 2009, 10:36 PM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Dec 25 2009, 10:12 PM)
Im not using package pc, but mixed up pc....atm my pc running fine wit pcie 120. I'm using asrock mobo, maybe my mobo doesnt have the setting to change the vcore (amibios version 1.5) latest version according to the manafacturer website.
yes it runs fine at 120mhz on pcie..... until when? that is the ultimate question brows.gif

anyway, what vcore and speed is your processor capable of at the moment?
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 25 2009, 10:45 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Dec 25 2009, 10:36 PM)
yes it runs fine at 120mhz on pcie..... until when? that is the ultimate question brows.gif

anyway, what vcore and speed is your processor capable of at the moment?
currently my vcore is 1.288 and 2.66GHz...the only thing i can change in the bios is cpu frequency and pcie frequency..Thats all..i dunno what to change besides that.
uzer85
post Dec 25 2009, 11:25 PM

3,812 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Dec 25 2009, 10:36 PM)
exactly. laugh.gif

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Dec 25 2009, 10:45 PM)
currently my vcore is 1.288 and 2.66GHz...the only thing i can change in the bios is cpu frequency and pcie frequency..Thats all..i dunno what to change besides that.
raise ur fsb little by little till u hit ur wall. without the option to raise ur Vcore, this is hard yo~ sweat.gif sweat.gif
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 25 2009, 11:36 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Dec 25 2009, 11:25 PM)
exactly. laugh.gif
raise ur fsb little by little till u hit ur wall. without the option to raise ur Vcore, this is hard yo~ sweat.gif  sweat.gif
i know that, I already use that way and the limit is 266 by using this mobo..i guess that the only option..
mat_tz
post Dec 26 2009, 03:05 PM

444 posts

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Dec 25 2009, 11:36 PM)
i know that, I already use that way and the limit is 266 by using this mobo..i guess that the only option..
change moo la...p35 chipset ka... thumbup.gif
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 26 2009, 10:47 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(mat_tz @ Dec 26 2009, 03:05 PM)
change moo la...p35 chipset ka... thumbup.gif
I think better dont 1st coz i5 is on da way....hehe
uzer85
post Dec 26 2009, 11:51 PM

3,812 posts

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Dec 26 2009, 10:47 PM)
I think better dont 1st coz i5 is on da way....hehe
i always laugh at i5 owner coz i9 is very2 near~ wink.gif

TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 27 2009, 01:32 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(uzer85 @ Dec 26 2009, 11:51 PM)
i always laugh at i5 owner coz i9 is very2 near~ wink.gif

haha...i know its near, but for the budget user, better go for i5 lol....No need tso much juice in the cpu power, barely use all of it...hehe
bryanyeo87
post Dec 28 2009, 02:08 AM

Below the Belt
3,175 posts

QUOTE(bluetomsguy @ Dec 25 2009, 10:45 PM)
is 1.288 your stock vcore? or you upped it?

if you are certain it boots and is stable at that speeds, lets do a bsel mod brows.gif
TSbluetomsguy
post Dec 28 2009, 12:27 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(bryanyeo87 @ Dec 28 2009, 02:08 AM)
is 1.288 your stock vcore? or you upped it?

if you are certain it boots and is stable at that speeds, lets do a bsel mod brows.gif
That is the stock vcore, and i been runnning 24/7 but my temperature is around 50-60 c. Is it ok ?
Dunno whether my mobo can be attached with coolermaster HSF
verdict
post Jan 1 2010, 02:42 PM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

Hi dude im facing the same issue before! doh.gif

Try to increase your SB volt to 1 notch! nod.gif

All da best! wub.gif

0.0890sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:24 AM