Rabbit Corner V9, --== Binky Through ==--

techi5
post Oct 24 2010, 02:47 PM

127 posts

hi there, i bought a rabbit 4months ago, and have been feeding it alfalfa king's alfalfa hay, but i read at this thread that alfalfa is for 6month and below. i just bought another big packet for it, so can i continue feeding it or should i change to timothy hay. when i bought the rabbit they say its arround 2month old, so by now should be 6month. and is normal Pellets that they sell in the shop (no label) just transparent plastic, are those good and healthy? i'm worrying because they're really cheap compared with those well packed.
techi5
post Oct 29 2010, 11:01 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ Oct 24 2010, 05:56 PM)
When quality pellets were hard to find in Malaysia more than 3 years ago, my rabbits were on those brandless pellets. If u take one of the pellets and try chewing, you will feel like you're biting SAND. I am not sure of the ingredients but if you try chewing on the quality pellets like Chubby Pets Garden's Pro Optimum pellets, you will be addicted to it and it is smooth to the throat when swallowed. So I am not sure how you want to judge between good and bad but just imagine the possible sand ingested by your rabbits if you continue feeding those brandless pellets.

Alfalfa is very rich in protein, that's the reason why we should not feed adult rabbits too much alfalfa hay. If your rabbit's poo is healthy and not watery, continue feeding on a minimum basis while switching to grass hay like Timothy or Bermuda grass. Alfalfa taste better and therefore your rabbits may not be interested with Timothy/Bermuda grass initially. Once you finish with Alfalfa, they have no other choice but to chow down on the grass hay.

Good luck!
thanks for the advice, I saw someone's signature with this link http://chubbypetsgarden.com/index.asp are their pellets good? i bought one pellet named "briter bunny" but i saw some bad comments about that product because it contains corn, so i discontinue to feed him with that. Isit true that its bad to feed pellets that contain corn?

Btw, i've seen alot people saying that to put a non slipery mat for rabbit so that it will be comfortable, i tried it, but the moment i put it in, he begin to chew chew chew, until one patch gone doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif What do i do now? my rabbit is very playful, any tips on how to train them?

thankyou in advance smile.gif
techi5
post Oct 30 2010, 10:27 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ Oct 30 2010, 09:40 AM)
Try to avoid corn. Not a good ingredient for rabbits.

Not only corn, don't you think the colors are a little outrageous?

I am not condemning the credibility of other brands of pellets, but just want to share that the results are extremely obvious. The coat is shiny and smooth to touch. Here is the product of a rabbit on that feed:

You can see the shine for yourself and there is no editing of photo here. Just bear in mind that whatever pellet brands you are using, fresh hay is most important. Take pellets as fillers to fill in the blank for the hay where it provides the rabbits with the necessary nutrients they need. Since you need to fill the void of what hay can't give you but mostly fiber, make sure you use good quality pellets.

This is an example of using other pellets prior to the one on my signature. This is the mother of the buck above. Even her coat has improved tremendously:

The color of the fur is a little dull and coarse to touch.

The fur of the rabbit will show that the rabbit itself is healthy. As a good overall healthy INSIDE will eventually show on the OUTSIDE. Besides from fur quality, I realized that the death rates are lower among my rabbits.

Hope this explanation helps.
thanks for you advice, may i ask what brand of pellets u feeding? ur rabbit shoo cute so small, the first day i got mine is quite small, but it grow quite big after 6month.

how abt this?
Btw, i've seen alot people saying that to put a non slipery mat for rabbit so that it will be comfortable, i tried it, but the moment i put it in, he begin to chew chew chew, until one patch gone  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif What do i do now? my rabbit is very playful, any tips on how to train them?

thankyou in advance

techi5
post Oct 30 2010, 05:09 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 30 2010, 12:03 PM)
mine should be australian jersey woolly.

i agree wif u but i don't see many rabbits like my own.
i got mine at carrefour and i don't think the breeder is a quality one by the look of the way they selling the rabbits.
(some got bleeding claws, some look sick and tired)
at the time only could afford one if had the money would have gotten a pair to breed coz i find this type of rabbit very cute.
though now i go around pet shops dun see any similar looking rabbit.
though i think mine mutant abit coz dun look like the usual jersey woolly i see on the websites.

i dunno if i will be able to buy expensive pallets and hay.
right now what i feed is a mix of;

1. fresh veggie/fruit from the supermarket, usually kangkung, long beans, pear and apples.
2. normal pallets
3. hay-pro brand timothy
4. jacob's low-salt hi-fibre biscuits as treats once in a while

i guess i am not the model owner  doh.gif
rabbit can eat jacob's low-salt hi-fibre biscuits?
techi5
post Oct 30 2010, 06:45 PM

127 posts

jacob hi-iron boleh?
techi5
post Nov 29 2010, 01:52 AM

127 posts

hey, my rabbit keeps on biting plastic container (his food box) i feed him unlimited amount of timothy hay and sometimes alfalfa and pellets. but while eating them, he go chew on the plastic. until one big hole there. what do i do now? he's been scratching the pastic like he want the plastic to be apart. he scratches it whole day long when he's free, even during midnight, he woke me up a few times and i got very mad and transfered him to a smaller cage without anything. i dont want to put him in small cage. what do i do now?
techi5
post Nov 30 2010, 12:52 AM

127 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ Nov 29 2010, 08:14 AM)
hi techi5,

do u provide chew toys for your bunny (as shown below)? if you dont have, go get 2 or 3 of it. their teeth continuous grow like our nails. tat y they keep bite hard thing.
i notice my bunny do bite their toilet but not as serious as yours. no use punish him to smaller cage.
i bought this for him

but then i realise the wood got colouring then i stopped. btw, he bite the wood, he eats it! the thickness reduced by half!

here are some sample of the plastic

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

can he bite/eat this wood?

currently feeding him this hay, good or not? rm15 for so little kinda pricey.

This post has been edited by techi5: Nov 30 2010, 01:35 AM
techi5
post Nov 30 2010, 06:43 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Eli @ Nov 30 2010, 05:16 PM)
[/spoiler][/spoiler]

hmm, usually the product will say that the colouring is safe for animals (eg fiddle sticks use veg colouring-whatever that means). but what u did was right, best to discontinue when you're not sure about the product.

as for the plastic container, y dun u replace the plastic with one of those clay/ceramic food bowls for dogs/cats. but choose one that is relatively heavy so your bunny cant toss it around/over.

Added on November 30, 2010, 5:18 pm[/spoiler][/SPOILER]

so coooomel, i like the 2nd and last photo  drool.gif
ic. how about the wood i posted up there? he keep on biting it, i dont know just chewing or eating. but if he does eat it, isit okay?
techi5
post Nov 30 2010, 08:35 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(Eli @ Nov 30 2010, 08:29 PM)
Try googling the brand and see if there are reviews on the products. That's how I choose products for my rabbit, I google and read the reviews. If there is substantial good comments about the brand, I have a bit more faith. In your case, check whether they advertise their dye as safe. See if it's widely used amongst rabbit bloggers. This will help you make a decision.
i meant the 2nd last picture. the thick wood.
techi5
post Dec 1 2010, 06:03 PM

127 posts

sangterap, read my post? need ur advice. thankiew

0.0437sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:15 AM