Rabbit Corner V9, --== Binky Through ==--

chrysseng
post Jan 19 2010, 08:03 PM

14 posts

can any1 tell me where i can buy rabbit harness?
chrysseng
post Jan 19 2010, 09:42 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(Eli @ Jan 19 2010, 08:34 PM)
are u living in klang valley? if so, u can get it at most pet shops. i bought mine from pets safari, ikano.
indeed, i called them 2 reserve 1 for me liao, thks 4 the lead..
chrysseng
post Jan 19 2010, 10:45 PM

14 posts

Added on January 19, 2010, 10:48 pm
QUOTE(kascy @ Jan 19 2010, 10:23 PM)
any1 pls help me, how to solve mites problem??

the doctor (yeoh vet) just gave me the medicine to spray to the rabbit body. But after 1 week the mites still there...

Sakit kepala la.~~~wat can i do now????
my bit bit have similar prob, must insist on jab, otherwise it won't cure as the parasite is in it blood. it will slowly eats up it's ear! usually happens in young rabbits. now my bit bit is healthy and strong! he had been 4yo now

This post has been edited by chrysseng: Jan 20 2010, 02:51 PM
chrysseng
post Jan 25 2010, 11:38 PM

14 posts

i understand some ppl are only interested in some special breed.. wonder why.. all are lovely. in my opinion, any rabbit, any breed will do.. as long as you like them, whatever breed doesn't matter..

i dun even know what breed is our Bit Bit, my brother rescued him from a rabbit meat farm 8yrs ago when my bro went to the farm to do some m&e works ... but we all love him nevertheless..

This post has been edited by chrysseng: Jan 25 2010, 11:46 PM
chrysseng
post Feb 2 2010, 03:12 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(Jean_ne @ Feb 2 2010, 12:23 AM)
hi guys,
im back to update a few pics of hunny

[attachmentid=1429794]
side profile ^^

[attachmentid=1429797]
bunny flop, hehe
please dont mind the quality of the pic
it was taken using my lousy cellphone
have to capture this quickly 'cause he's one light sleeper

i was wondering,
is it ok to feed hunny orchard grass instead of timothy?
'cause he likes orchard grass more
he can finish a 400+g pack in 2 weeks time
since i switch him back to timothy
he hasnt been eating much  rclxub.gif
hunny is so beautiful..
chrysseng
post Feb 3 2010, 12:20 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(urahara_shoten @ Feb 2 2010, 04:55 PM)
New rabbit owner  rclxms.gif had them for 4 days now.They're supposed to be 2months old and are weaned already. What do you guys think?Do they look 2 months?
user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image
I'm worried since I read somewhere in the rabbit corner that one guy lost his rabbit after getting it for only 10 days possibly due to giving them fresh vegetables. I've been feeding them fresh greens since I got them and they seem fine. List of things I gave them are carrots, cucumber, pucuk ubi(dunno what's this called in english), some picked grass, dandelions, leafy soft leaves(does that make sense?) and my mother's flowers( a favorite for them) and just bought their pellets and some alfalfa hay. I know we're supposed to give 2month old rabbits a diet of alfalfa hay and pellets but the rabbits don't seem to take on hay.And I read that pellets shouldnt be their main diet anyways. They seem to love the leaves I picked. so I let them eat it as snacks along with the carrots.Worried about whether I'd see them dead in 10 days too. But there doesn't seem to be a symptom of diarrhea from what we've been feeding them. And they only nibble on the hay. It usually lay forgotten. Another problem I have is that they dont seem to use the water bottle. I tried showing them how it works. coercing them to come near it with food and all but they dont seem interested in it.Really worried they'd get dehydration but if I put a bowl of water it wont be hygienic for them. rclxub.gif O ya, how much is rabbit harness?
I'm not much an expert, but i will try to answer your question:
1) while i cannot judge your rabbit's age just by looking at their photo, i strongly suggest you should go back to the pet shop or their previous owner to enquire, as this is a very important aspect for their diet regime, health issues and training;
2) diet: young rabbit until the age of 3 mths should be only be fed with with alfafa hay and a handful of pellets; why alfafa hay? bcos young rabbit need those extra protein, vitamin and calorie to grow; after abt 3mths, you can give some vege. generally dark leaf vege is ok; as it is lower in moisture content and more vitamins. avoid vege with is high in moisture (celery, lettuce, etc..) and 'gassy' vege (cabbage, brocolli, cauliflower, asparagus, etc); and yes, you can feed them flowers too, but be careful of the pesticide most flower does. then, at the age of 7 mths only you can introduce fruit (any non watery fruits like apple, guava, etc.. if feeding cucumber, pls ensure the seed part which is watery be removed) and root (must be careful to avoid 'starchy' and fatty food like all type of potatoes, peanuts, corn, etc) to them. but they do love carrot and red radishes. avoid 'white' radish as the taste is stinging them.
3) diet is one of the 2 important aspect of raising a rabbit as they are known to have delicate digestive system and this is one of the common reason why they died. remember they cant bark or whine, so it's not easy for you to see whether they got problem or not.
4) to answer some of your question:
a) the reason your rabbit dun take much alfafa hay or any hay at this moment is bcos they have ample of 'fresh' food, which is tastier; imagine you are your rabbit, you want to eat toasted bread or char kuey teow for breakfast? haha.. and one thing most ppl doesn't know, rabbit just like gold fish, they are not as intelligent as cats and dogs (so to speak) to know when they are full or have an instinct to avoid those food which is harmful to them. if you are continuing feeding him/her like what you are doing, there are only 2 consequences; either they will die or they will survive, but chance for the latter are very slim.
b) you are right (partial)! pellet shall be their main staple with with vege, fruits, carrot, etc ('fresh food') shall be the 'treats'. generally their diet should consist of 80% hay, 15% pellets and 5% treats. they need to chew on the hay to to wear off their teeth and if you give them too much 'treats'; training them will be harder than ever (remember you need this to potty training, hurdles traning and if you are patiently enough to train, they can come when called their name! just like a dog!).
c) it's not like they do not know how to use the bottle, but they don't need it, cos they are getting most of the water from the arrays of 'fresh food' you fed them; while i know some owner did give their rabbit water bowl, but it's not highly reccommended as the water will make their fur entangle accidently.. so once you switch their diet, they will drink like a camel..
d) rabbit harness are plenty available at pet shop safari (if not mistaken) in sunway and the curve (try google them around) at rm35 each.

Sorry, i did not intent to write this long originally; i could have bla bla bla more on their health issue and training, but i bet you are sleepy already.. haha.. i hope you have a healthy and bubbly rabbit like my 'bit bit' (he is about 8yo now and still healty as ever!)

This post has been edited by chrysseng: Feb 3 2010, 12:30 AM
chrysseng
post Feb 3 2010, 10:53 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(sangterap @ Feb 3 2010, 10:01 AM)
Very good one chrysseng, but I have to highlight something different on Item 2. Rabbits below 6 months should be FREE FED. This means they must have pellets throughout the day and not just a handful. I personally do not like to free feed Alfalfa because too much of it may also cause diarrhea because it is too rich in protein. I would prefer to start them off with grass hay with a little mixture of Alfalfa throughout the day as most pellets are already made of Alfalfa.

chrysseng
post Feb 3 2010, 11:49 AM

14 posts

1) Raising a rabbit is not known for easy maintain or cheap in any sense (they could be more expensive than raising a dog, as the medical bills could be very high, depends your luck) so make some efforts. haha..

2) Potty training is not very hard, wonder if you are using correct method. try google around, there are plenty information available in internet. we raised our 'bit bit' without anybody teaching, but we made the effort and read a lot; but then again, your rabbits are 2 mth old, they are still very young to be trained. you can start them young, but result maybe frustrating;

3) Hurdle training is very simple, as the name of the sport suggest, first you must prepare some lower barrier and put treats at the end of each barrier, they will jump at the treats! after a while of training, you may increase the height of the barrier.. make sure the treats are not too big, just a bite! to keep them wanting for more! jumping is rabbit natural way to 'play'; with enough training, they can even jump over a table! Oh, it won't works now as they are already used to gourmet food, they won't respond to you now, beside they are too young to even start being fed on treats!

4) my rabbit will come when we calls him; heck, now he even 'greets' us when we come back, just like a dog! it's not very hard to train thou.. again, if you reads enough, you will know rabbits are very sensitive to sound in nature (therefore the long ears!) and they usually do not live well in noisy place (but you can 'train' them to adapt the noise later in their adulthood), especially when they are as young as yours; you must try to control the 'noisy' at your home, like moving chairs, ppl talking out loud (like my hakka mother!) and loud music, there are not a fan of linkin park or blackeyepeas.. haha.. knowing this info would help you in 'designing' a set of training for them. what we did is: we tried hard to control the level of noise at the beginning, thus as a young rabbit, bit bit is adapted to quiet surrounding and bcos he lives in mostly quiet environment, he will be more sensitive when called or gently clapping your hands, when feeding/poo poo, play time and 'treats' time. the process is painstakingly long, but it will works if you really can 'tahan' not to give treats when they did not give efforts. oh ya, give diff treats for diff task they perform will also helps.. contrary to believe that rabbits like carrot the most, their foremost likes are herbs! our bit bit crazy about 'flat leaves cilantro'. other herbs like parsley, thyme, rosemary, chives, basil, dill and so on.. we hardly feed him with flowers, so can't say what's the respond. another thing he does: he will 'greets' us when the 'first' person go out to work and come back, we didn't train him, but he managed somehow that the 'first' person will always give him some treats. that's why he learned to 'beg' (he will scratch at his cage door and run in cirles to attracts you) for it.. haha..

5) But at this moment, your main concern is not the training. Read more about their health issues, especially caring for bucks and holes are diff in nature.. this will avoid medical bills later. oh ya, you must now look for a doctor whom is experience in treating rabbit (info somewhere in forum), go bring your rabbit for check up and see what the doctor recommends in term of vaccination. keep the doctor's contact, preferably nearest to your place, as when rabbit is sick, they come hard and fast and most of the case are fatal.

Again, long post.. haiz.. too lengthy i supposed. haha.. cheerz..
chrysseng
post Feb 4 2010, 11:08 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(bjkhan @ Feb 4 2010, 05:03 PM)
I have not been here in ages, for those who know me and my Bandit.
I have just lost her. I'm in a state of despair. A feeling I cannot explain  cry.gif

In memory of Bandit:
http://birdofpassage.blogspot.com/2010/02/...6-february.html
so sad.. like watching 'marley n me'.. losing a pet sucks worst if it's a person.. i lost a dog and lost my father, eventually u will learn.. dun take it too hard, it's more important that we have lived n loved..
chrysseng
post Feb 9 2010, 12:12 AM

14 posts

be careful not to have choosen guinea pig's pellet for rabbit, they are not the same. the former contains nut, and it's high in protein and carb, rabbit can't take these..
chrysseng
post Feb 13 2010, 02:43 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(xhuggybearx @ Feb 12 2010, 10:49 PM)
duh..but how do i suppose to know this is the time or next will she give birth?
i cant lay my eyes on her 24-7..the mummy and daddy have been together since like 2 or 3 month..and i just got some few lilttle signs of her givin birth..but that was like a someway before..long wayy before..
and take note that my bunny mingle around together when ever im at work.. i dont cage my bunny afraid that she might get stressed up..cuz i work almost every single day..and they didnt fight what so ever cuz ive always check for any scratches or sense of they fighting together..i have 4 bunnies not just 2 okay..

dont expect veryone knew what you knew and dont ever assume that you know every single thing.. im just asking for help/advise..if dunt want to help/blaming me what so eva then just leave it..its that easy..
well, if you are working day and night, why bother to have more bunnies? and i do agree with sangterap, let the pro breeder do their thing. you want more bunny, go pet shop and buy..
chrysseng
post Feb 13 2010, 01:34 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(xhuggybearx @ Feb 13 2010, 11:17 AM)
nevermind i will take care of the babies myself..i'll ask someone else to help me on this (theoretically)..
im just seeks for some help and info but what i get is quite disappointing replies..sory to say la but i do feel that way..
im just seeking for help (in terms of information)..im a young boi; over excited bout havin a bunny rabbit..never regret havin them..

well theres always a first time of every time right..
so wat the hack..
i'll just pray to God that the babies can survive..
thanks again
hapi CNY!
hey, i hope you still reading this.
we are not blaming you. we just want to correct you. isn't this "seek for advice" is all about?
hmm.. are you really listening?

i have a rabbit for 8 years, i didn't know about this thread until i have another rabbit for adoption (but that's another story.); what i am saying is, you need to read a lot, it maybe hard text, but it's the package of being "grand parent". you need to really spare up your time and do some (more) research and reading! which is why i say, if you are working day and night, why bother to have more bunnies? caring for pet is like caring for a kid, you love them and wanted the best for them, they don't grow old by themselves one day. it need a lot of commitment.

i know a lot of ppl would disagree with me of saying this: but the truth is sometimes, the advice/information here are not 100% accurate, true in all cases cos you need to consider, diff breed has diff nature, diff environment, diff mum and dad (they will learn from their parent) and diff master (pet knows and will respond to master's behaviour differently). in short, rabbit are just like human.. unique. diff rabbit diff character. if only you read up a lot, put it effort to try and apply what suits your rabbit the most.

and i need to remind you, most of ppl only knows how to raise a rabbit, but not much of us knows how to breed and what to do for babies.
regulars here would agree that most rabbit owners start their journey with a weaned rabbit. caring for a baby is what a breeder does. i mean, ask me, even a veteran (<-- may i call myself this, hehe) but still clueless about babies! but one thing i can be sure, stop reading this thread will definately reduce your bunnies chance to live (healthily)...

lastly, you think ppl here got nothing to do and just want to critizes you only? reading up this thread and writting this post also need a lot of time, which is precious. ppl here may offer advice, but whether you are listening or even accepting all this is another story altogether.

This post has been edited by chrysseng: Feb 13 2010, 01:49 PM
chrysseng
post Feb 20 2010, 02:33 AM

14 posts

hmm.. i tot chicken dung is the best fertilizer? no?

This post has been edited by chrysseng: Feb 20 2010, 02:36 AM

0.0471sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:17 PM