edifier r501 Fan, All R501 Owner Please come in...
DeLarafi
Jul 26 2005, 04:56 AM
correct me if im wrong... mine R501 the input lah... errr....from my audigy, its black but only corect to connect to orange input of the speaker. n the orange is vice versa.. if not.. my woofer/center n rear speaker get switch.. does this manufacture defect??? i bought it last week at PCWorld Melaka. n they dint give me any recipt even though i asked them b4. so any idea guys??? acyualy its knowthing... n from my audigy.. the bass voleum doenst give anything or any use for the bass.. tell me.. is it im the only one get this kind of situation??? Anyway Mr.Edifier at the showroom. Can post me/us the picture of R501 Surround Stand?? i really interested to get it.. can post to melaka ?? BCB e-channel perhaps?? This post has been edited by DeLarafi: Jul 26 2005, 05:19 AM
eXistenZ
Jul 26 2005, 10:51 AM

Mr DeLarafi, I assume its the speaker stand u talkin about. The pic was previously posted on this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=165661The stand i dont think can get anywhere else except the showroom
jasonlim
Jul 26 2005, 11:06 AM
mayb u can ask pc world 2 order 4 u..they can get it from mr jack
DeLarafi
Jul 28 2005, 02:13 PM
back to the black n orange sockets that some people state.. i think..its err..donno whos fauly.. with other souncard.. other then soundblaster. the orange input goes to ornge output from soundcard same goes with black output..goes to black input to the speaker.. but with audigy or soundblaster.. both are switch..where black goes to orange n vice versa.. then the wooffer n rear are set corectly..
death_nite
Aug 10 2005, 12:55 AM
just bought r501 mk2...woooo..really impressed with the sound laa...  love it so much..aarghhh..too bad...only use on board soundcard only  ...no money to buy audigy2zs...bought dvd burner edi..adoi..nvm...can wait next sem...will receive more money from ytm  hehe man...am i qualified to be an edifier r501 fan?
DeLarafi
Aug 10 2005, 05:11 AM
When U Love it.. u qualified.. hehehe..
APONG
Sep 16 2005, 04:54 PM
What is the diffrent between R501 and R501mkii. Anyone use this speaker for home theater (i.e connect to TV/dvd) how is the performance like? is it neccessary to connect it with Power Amp?
Commend pls
shockk
Sep 16 2005, 06:07 PM
[ T A R G E T - L 0 C K E D ]
QUOTE(APONG @ Sep 16 2005, 04:54 PM) What is the diffrent between R501 and R501mkii. Anyone use this speaker for home theater (i.e connect to TV/dvd) how is the performance like? is it neccessary to connect it with Power Amp? Commend pls the main difference is the R501 MKII has tweeter on all the satellites.  u don't need a separate amp to use it. the amp is built into the subwoofer. and yes, some do use it for home-theatre. u can come to the Edifier Showroom 4th Floor, Low Yat Plaza to test on our dvd player and tv and nice sofa. just like a home theatre.
chuah_ph
Oct 7 2005, 12:42 AM
if the dvd player only have either RCA red and white cable or digital output for audio, then which connectors on the R501MKII should I plug in to deliver 5.1 surround sound effect/enviroment with centre speaker also fully working?
daijoubu
Oct 7 2005, 03:38 AM
Haha this might be late, but me registering as a old skoll R501 user! Probably i'm the one here to own the oldest R501. Its the first gen model, and i got it back at 2001.  Best value for money 5.1 system back then, and the only contender was the z540  . Well, it still is now right  .
shockk
Oct 7 2005, 10:20 AM
QUOTE(chuah_ph @ Oct 7 2005, 12:42 AM) if the dvd player only have either RCA red and white cable or digital output for audio, then which connectors on the R501MKII should I plug in to deliver 5.1 surround sound effect/enviroment with centre speaker also fully working? thanks Your DVD player needs to have 6 RCA ports at the back in order for you to use the R501 directly on it to fully utilize the surround sound. The 6 RCA connectors should be as follows: - 1xRed + 1xWhite = Front Speaker Output - 1xRed + 1xWhite = Rear Speaker Output - 1xRed + 1xWhite = Centre/Subwoofer Speaker Output
lek_e30
Oct 7 2005, 05:06 PM
firstly i'm proud to own an edifier mkII, recently i have change dvd player due to old 1 quite sensitive, secondly when connected to my new jvc dvd player, i have two extra cable which unconnected, well, play anything no problem but without on the speakers no sound even from tv? scrathing head
shockk
Oct 7 2005, 05:24 PM
QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Oct 7 2005, 05:06 PM) firstly i'm proud to own an edifier mkII, recently i have change dvd player due to old 1 quite sensitive, secondly when connected to my new jvc dvd player, i have two extra cable which unconnected, well, play anything no problem but without on the speakers no sound even from tv? scrathing head  That's because your speakers are doing the sound output now. In order for your TV to have sound, the audio output cable from your dvd player has to go into the TV.
Xeon7222
Oct 8 2005, 09:14 PM
DeLarafi
Oct 8 2005, 10:42 PM
for info... edifier have sell MKII Surround Stand for 100++. i've bought it in PC fair... really cun... nice stand... make my 5.1 experience.. go to the max.. http://delarafi.multiply.com
APONG
Oct 10 2005, 08:52 AM
To Delarafi ; Is it r501 MKII is consider as digital speaker?
-------------------- My Eryana Prescott 3.0E 3.0 @ 3.3 (222 x 15), CM UltraVortex, 1GB Apacer DDRAM 2.5-4-4-8, Abit AI-7 MoBo, MSI 6600GT AGP (HDTV\VIVO\DVI intergrated) , 80GB WD Pata Hdd,200GB WD SataII Hdd SBlaster Audigy Value, Razer Viper Gamers Optical Mouse, Razer eXactMat Mouse Pad,BenQ DW1620 PRO DVD R
R501 Edifier MKII Digital 5.1 Destop/Home theater Speaker.
:::My Eryana Project(Green Black Beast):::
blackshirt
Oct 10 2005, 03:18 PM
R501 does not have Digital Input sorry
lek_e30
Oct 10 2005, 05:12 PM
QUOTE(shockk @ Oct 7 2005, 05:24 PM) That's because your speakers are doing the sound output now. In order for your TV to have sound, the audio output cable from your dvd player has to go into the TV. thanks for ur info, will try first
TSnuox
Oct 15 2005, 11:52 PM
 shitty i bought mk2 ermm last year around october, damn the new design look very nice... how about the perfomance? the wire to the satelitee looks thicker...
stevenlee
Oct 15 2005, 11:56 PM
QUOTE(nuox @ Oct 15 2005, 11:52 PM)  shitty i bought mk2 ermm last year around october, damn the new design look very nice... how about the perfomance? the wire to the satelitee looks thicker... i having the new look mk2...but design still same mah just bigger  sound..the shopkepper say its same...but the main different is the behind wire lo..not that messy edi..and got aux in (line in) too..