Aurora Boreali
post Feb 9 2010, 10:04 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Feb 9 2010, 05:33 PM)
An ad from Star today:
Free Purchase Protection Plan* for all MasterCard® Credit Cardholders
Don’t just bring home your purchases. Bring home peace of mind with MasterCard. Our complimentary Purchase Protection Plan insures your personal belongings against theft or accidental damage within 30 days from the date of purchase. And you’ll enjoy coverage of up to RM1,500 each time for 12 whole months. It’s a level of assurance that comes with MasterCard today.
Simply activate the plan with Chartis Malaysia Insurance Berhad (795492-W), formerly known as AIG General Insurance (Malaysia) Berhad. Please SMS MC <space> 12-digit NRIC <space> NAME per NRIC and send to 36660 (e.g. : MC 123456789101 Dominic Tan) or call 1300 80 2988 (Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm).
http://www.freeppp.my/index.html
No catch at all? hmm.gif
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 11 2010, 07:33 AM

470 posts

I check my credit card available balance online almost every other day to check whether my transactions has been posted correctly.

So, my outstanding balance is RM 555. All my transactions has been posted and I have not made any purchases using the credit card since then. By right, my available credit should be RM 555 less than my credit limit, correct? But my available credit is RM 755 less than my credit limit. In other words, my available credit is missing RM 200! I've used the card to pump petrol on 8th of Feb and the RM 200 might be the pre-authorization hold. But the petrol transaction has been posted in my online statement on 9th of Feb, so shouldn't the pre-auth be refunded already? Should I be suspicious of this missing RM 200 from my available credit?

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Feb 11 2010, 07:50 AM
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 12 2010, 09:41 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Feb 11 2010, 07:33 AM)
I check my credit card available balance online almost every other day to check whether my transactions has been posted correctly.

So, my outstanding balance is RM 555. All my transactions has been posted and I have not made any purchases using the credit card since then. By right, my available credit should be RM 555 less than my credit limit, correct? But my available credit is RM 755 less than my credit limit. In other words, my available credit is missing RM 200! I've used the card to pump petrol on 8th of Feb and the RM 200 might be the pre-authorization hold. But the petrol transaction has been posted in my online statement on 9th of Feb, so shouldn't the pre-auth be refunded already? Should I be suspicious of this missing RM 200 from my available credit?
Hey guys, can anyone help me with the above?
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 12 2010, 10:02 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(elhh82 @ Feb 12 2010, 09:45 AM)
you could call the bank and ask whats up. i think the charge should clear up in a week or so if its a hold.
Yeah I tried calling but I was kept on the line for so freaking long I gave up. Pfft.
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 25 2010, 03:30 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Feb 25 2010, 12:30 AM)
To enhance approve chances as fresh graduate, submit at least 3 months pay slip, latest epf statement, latest bank statement showing your monthly salary income & some may require your degree certificate as well.
QUOTE(llamaeengy @ Feb 25 2010, 09:56 AM)
Is epf statement a must submitted? will it help if i submitted? I didn't coz the requirements state pay slip or epf statement and i did walk in application most of the time the staff didn't ask about epf statement as well.
I'm a fresh grad with a decent salary - a few thousands higher than the required annual income of the CC application. However, the first 3 cards I applied (2 from the same bank and 1 from a different bank) got rejected despite me submitting just what they required, that is 3 months salary slips.

So I got fed up with all the rejections. The 4th time, I submitted not only my 3 months salary slips (I highlighted the numbers indicating my salary), I also included my job offer letter that states my annual income (I freaking highlighted the numbers too), latest epf statement, and the god damned savings account statement from the same bank with my salary HIGHLIGHTED. I highlighted the important numbers in case they're really blind. Even purposely bought a highlighter for it coz I've never used nor kept any highlighter since form 3.

A few days later stupid bank called me to confirm that the bank statement is indeed mine. I answered their questions and got the card in the following week.

Cilaka.
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 25 2010, 06:39 PM

470 posts

Well I wanted the card for better cash flow, obviously. You have between 30+20 to 20 days of interest free period during which you can hold on to your cash depending on when the purchase is made. My cash flow was really hurt without the card when I spent a few hundred on air tickets a month. Imagine coughing up those money 1-2 months in advance.

Btw, one of my relative is a senior teacher in a primary school. CC sales personnel are no strangers to her as they keep flocking schools to practically push CCs into hands of fresh-out-of-college teachers. I was like, my annual salary is at least 10k higher than those teachers and they get cards shoved into their hands? Just WTF.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Feb 25 2010, 06:45 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 4 2010, 03:44 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(cyc85 @ Mar 4 2010, 03:26 PM)
cimb juz rejected my cc application....
damn  vmad.gif 
duno why....
is it becuz i'm juz started to work ( 3 months)?
i do have account on cimb and my salary bank in cimb.... cry.gif
Ooh don't worry, you're not alone.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Mar 4 2010, 03:44 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 6 2010, 05:36 PM

470 posts

How widely is AMEX accepted? The perks are really attractive. It's just that I don't know if I can fully utilize them.

I mostly use my credit cards on dining... and flight tickets (huge chunk of it) but MAS doesn't accept AMEX.
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 8 2010, 10:09 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Mar 8 2010, 08:12 PM)
I thought MAS accepts AMEX? Online anyway...
Nope. Double checked before posting. Visa and Mastercard were the only options.

Yes I'm talking about online booking.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Mar 8 2010, 10:11 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 8 2010, 11:43 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Mar 8 2010, 10:32 PM)
I recall reading about MAS accepting Amex and I found it....
Bah what's with double standard...
Oh, I never saw that page on MAS's website. Only ever saw Visa and Mastercard under the credit card option when I did my online booking. vmad.gif
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 23 2010, 12:59 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Mar 22 2010, 10:56 PM)
Quite hard with Maybank.

CIMB is more lenient.
I beg to differ. CIMB rejected my application twice despite me submitting 3 months payslip and employment letter staying I have 7k more than their annual income requirement. It was only until I submitted more supporting documents i.e. EPF statement and bank account statement that they approved of my application.

Edit: First-time card-holder application too.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Mar 23 2010, 01:00 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 24 2010, 02:42 PM

470 posts

I purchased a game on Valve's Steam and within 2 minutes I got a call from CIMB to verify that I indeed made the purchase. Whoa I'm pleasantly surprised! thumbup.gif for CIMB.
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 25 2010, 01:33 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(Velent @ Mar 25 2010, 12:54 PM)
Before CNY, i apply for HSBC CC (at shopping mall kena drag by the agent as that agent say no service tax and will get my limit to higher than my current CC) then after get the card i never use yet but today receive the monthly statement that i need to pay for rm50 service tax ( that idiot agent promise all bullsh*t coz the limit below my current and now i kena service tax) so if i go to HSBC to cancel the CC will i need to pay for the tax?
Any cards approved after the 1st of Jan 2010 will be charged the RM50 tax on their first monthly statement.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 4 2010, 06:24 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(krylicius @ Apr 4 2010, 05:35 PM)
normal processing time is 12 to 14 days..it's kinda random..sometimes its still under "pending" after 3 wks..
My personal experience with CIMB is less than 1 week for them to call me up to ask for additional information. Got the card 1 week after that. Total about 2 weeks.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 5 2010, 05:04 PM

470 posts

HSBC didn't want to give me a credit card half a year ago. Today they called and wanted me to take up their HSBC Amanah card but I rejected them in the face! Yes!
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 5 2010, 07:22 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(niel @ Apr 5 2010, 05:45 PM)
i was told by hsbc that you can't purchase a liquor/non halal products with amanah credit card! is it true?
QUOTE(hye @ Apr 5 2010, 05:48 PM)
To be more precise .. you can't buy anything which the Amanah credit card is not meant for. (Or Islamic based cc to be precise)
This is done via the merchant ID. A personal experience told to me is that you can't use such cards @ Hard Rock although you didn't buy any liquor.
This is another reason why I didn't want the card. Well I told them I don't want it. They asked why, I said I don't want to pay another RM 50 tax for nothing (I know I won't use it much even if I have it because it's a shariah compliant card). The sales personnel said "well we can waive it". I pressed on and asked, "Really? I have never heard of any bank except Bank Rakyat which does that". She said "Yes, we have rebates and bonus points etc to waive the RM 50". I was like, that's not HOW I want to waive it, and that's not even a waiver. Continued to say thank you and she finally hung up.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 15 2010, 08:09 PM

470 posts

When applying for autopay using credit card, how long will it take for the bank to approve it? I'm thinking of using autopay for paying my insurance premium, but not sure if it will be approved in time before my next payment due date.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 15 2010, 09:53 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Apr 15 2010, 08:42 PM)
I thought auto debit for insurance policy needs to apply from insurance company; not from the bank.
Of course, but in the end the bank will decide whether to let it through or not, right? It's not like the insurance company knows whether the card number is valid or not? Otherwise any Tom d*** and Harry can just use stolen/fraudulent card info. Well I'm not sure how it works that's why I asked.
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 19 2010, 07:52 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Apr 19 2010, 07:03 PM)
Whole ISETAN departmental store   thumbup.gif
BTW, how does this CIMB promotion work?

For example, CIMB cardholders get
*10% discount off total bill everyday throughout the year AND
*Rebate 10% every Saturday and Sunday
for Starbucks and Burger King.

If I spend at Starbucks on a Sunday, do I get 10% rebate on top of the everyday 10% discount? I don't understand why they use the word rebate and discount separately here.

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Apr 19 2010, 07:52 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Apr 19 2010, 08:27 PM

470 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Apr 19 2010, 08:18 PM)
if u spend at starbuck weekend, u will get the 10% discount for the starbuck purchase on that day * which is weekend only*

it is not the grand total of your monthly spending

10% only applied to starbuck weekend purchase.
I'm sorry I don't understand your explanation.

Of course I know the 10% rebate only applies on weekends. But how does the 10% daily discount and 10% weekend rebate work together? If I go to Starbucks on a Monday, it says I get 10% discount off total bill everyday so I'm guessing I get 10% discount on a Monday. If I go on a Sunday, however, does it mean I get a total of 20% discount?

0.0272sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:31 PM