-= Naza-Kia Forte =- <Club> V2, Leaves You Speechless

StarGhazzer
post Dec 20 2009, 02:00 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Dec 20 2009, 09:15 AM)
Autoworld Review

read review above & thinking to downgrade the rim to 16". is it a good choice?
From the review:
It was a bright sunny afternoon along the North-South Highway. A W210 Merc E280 was cruising southwards from Tapah, with the speedometer hovering steadily between 140 and 150kph. As the occupants enjoyed the cruise, an unfamiliar looking car was closing in on them, lights switched on and right signal blinking.

It was a sleek-looking car, futuristic even. It maintained a distance from the Benz, patiently waiting for a chance to overtake. A kilometre passed. No reaction. Two kilometres. Nothing. Three, and it went on. After a while, the car behind was moving across the Merc's rear view mirror. From his left wing mirrors, the Merc driver saw the car behind finally making the move to overtake from the left.

It didn't take long for the car behind to pass the Benz, showing in all its glory, the 'NAZA' badge adorning its bootlid. The marketing tagline for the Forte is that it'll leave you speechless. I'm curious if that was the Merc driver's reaction when I had passed him without breaking sweat in what was a 1.6-litre Kia with steel rims and wheel caps.

Ok, that was a bit of a fantasy, but trust me, the Forte is a fabulous drive. It's here, and it's a bargain.

Man... potong stim. dry.gif

There's no way an 1.6L Forte is going to smoke an E280 at 150km/h with ease. When you accelerate at that speed the Gamma would shriek like a banshee.

Otherwise I'm quite impressed with autoworld's review. It's pretty comprehensive, not as good as Autocar ASEAN's, but miles better than other internet/newspaper reviewers which often sound like a short writeup after a leisure Sunday drive. Actually I'm looking forward to reading how Chips and Dennis Wong would rate the Forte, if it hasn't been reviewed already. I miss the mag... Australian motoring magazines are pretty boring with lots of Holden and Ford muscle cars.

Personally, I don't think it would be a wise choice to downgrade the rims as it's going to cost you more money and probably void your warranty. If the stock wheels need to be changed to accommodate the new 16" rims then it'll cost even more. The 17" wheels may compromise comfort, but with the correct tyre pressure settings the ride is not any more harsh than a Civic.

Saying goodbye to my mate's Civic in a few weeks' time, and welcome Forte. thumbup.gif
StarGhazzer
post Jan 7 2010, 02:37 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Everybody, meet Cera.
Titanium Silver 2.0SLi - SX equivalent without push start.
Picture looks crap because taken with crappy phone camera and it's an underground car park.

Can't take her for a spin just yet coz no insurance at the moment... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 7 2010, 02:37 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 7 2010, 02:40 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(lwkong @ Jan 7 2010, 02:38 PM)
i feel so lucky to finally saw one OTR  rclxm9.gif

Added on January 7, 2010, 2:39 pm

2.0 exists in msia OTR already?
Nope... I'm in Australia... see the plate?
StarGhazzer
post Jan 8 2010, 08:09 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(redz3 @ Jan 8 2010, 01:06 AM)
And bought Autocar Asean jan 2010 which gave 4 out of 5 star for forte 1.6SX road test.
If it's not too much trouble, would you be able to scan the review from Autocar Asean regarding the Forte? I miss that magazine... Aussie motoring mags suck big time... super biased against Koreans, and asskissing Holdens and Fords all the way.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 13 2010, 03:20 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(saimatkong @ Jan 12 2010, 08:51 PM)
myForte Owner TT @ Desa Park City

Can you spot yourself? haha....
thumbup.gif

Man... if only my Forte could fly across the South China Sea...

FC for me is appalling now... approx 100km only on the clock and all urban driving... 14+L/100km... hopefully will drop as the engine chalks up more kms.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 13 2010, 06:11 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Jan 13 2010, 08:14 AM)
wow... ur place is full of traffic jam is it?

i was caught in traffic jam over the past 2 days. 1/2 an hour each around PJ area, and saw avg FC shot up from 8.3 to 8.9. but since idling rpm is less than 700 (690 to be exact, thx to bro victor info), i guess it's really considered not bad already.
Mine's a 2.0L Forte... and it's still too early to determine the FC. The numbers I quoted were taken directly from the car's computer display and shouldn't be considered as fully accurate. Drove a total of 50km today to and fro from my workplace and it's now showing 12+ and will possibly drop even more in the next few days with more driving.

The fuel gauge needle descends quite fast though, but I'll only calculate the FC the next time I head off to the pump. Then again I'm not sure what kind of cheap petrol I was given as my dealer provided a full tank upon collection as part of the deal.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 13 2010, 06:12 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 13 2010, 08:50 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(4te @ Jan 13 2010, 07:50 PM)
I thought u were going to say PINK  tongue.gif  (Red + White ma hehehe)

Added on January 13, 2010, 7:54 pm

WELOME first 2.0 owner  rclxms.gif
Welcome? tongue.gif I was one of the earliest regulars in our LYN Forte thread... even in the old one laugh.gif
Our Australian Forte is relatively under-speced compared to Msia and Spore - No leather seats, no push start or smart key, no auto-dimming rearview mirror. Nevertheless it is cheaper after currency conversion.

Anyway, I'm going to touch on some of the cons of the car. The pros have been discussed umpteen times in the past so I'll leave it. Those who doesn't want to hear anything bad about the car, look away. But for those who are still considering, it might be helpful for you to make your decision. I'll compare the 2.0L Forte to the 1.8 Civic which I've been using for the past month.

Conclusion: It's not a perfect car, but which car is? I won't say it's a better car than the Civic, but I refuse to say it's inferior as firstly I'm biased and secondly the Civic is horrendously overpriced in M'sia. If you're in Australia, it may be easier to choose the Civic but you can only get the lowest end model with the Forte's price. If you can fork out the price for a 2.0 Civic in Aussie, you may want to look at the Golf which in terms of prestige, is a class above the Civic.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 13 2010, 08:59 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 14 2010, 04:25 AM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Jan 13 2010, 09:14 PM)
thanks StarGhazzer for the long explanation...
are u referring CIVIC made from japan or made from melaka (malaysia)? both is far away different...  icon_idea.gif

actually i'm not sure whether this is the correct place to debate between FORTE vs CIVIC unless other members don't mind...
otherwise it'll become a topic between CKD vs CBU again...   icon_question.gif

14l/km...??? lucky i still have my kancil for city drive...
I'm not sure whether Australian Civics are build in Japan or Thailand, but many of the Hondas and Toyotas here are from Thailand.

I believe it's not inappropriate to compare Forte to other rivals of the same segment. After all this is a thread which discusses about the car - if we can talk about the pros why not the cons?

QUOTE(samforte @ Jan 13 2010, 10:31 PM)
Regarding StarGhazzer  explanation ,forte 2.0 gear change not so smooth, steering feel too light when low speed and lack feedback.....
Really want to text drive frist or downgrade to 1.6 .... hmm.gif
The gear change is smooth. You don't feel jerking or jolting when the cogs change. It's just the way the auto transmission is programmed from 2nd to 3rd gear, and if there's anything you don't like there's always the option of tuning it later. Or exert your own control via the tip-tronic.

QUOTE(Perryyip @ Jan 13 2010, 11:40 PM)
What StarGhazzer said can be right. In Malaysia Automobile industry, every car is expensive due to local brand protection. To compare Forte 2.0 vs Civic 2.0, Civic are assembled in Melaka or Thailand, and cost 128k OTR. So even Forte is CKD with 93k plus many good features. I will say it is worth to buy even KIA doesnt have good 2nd value compare other Japanese brand. When u buy a car, what will u consider ? price,2nd value, features,long/short term use = buy or not buy/worth or not. Correct me if im wrong.
Like I said, there's no perfect car. Test drive every model that you have sights on, and pick the one that suits you the most. Buying Koreans is a risk due to poor 2nd hand value and potentially lesser reliability; but it's one worth taking.

Apart from bang for buck, I think the Forte's also shines in its exclusivity. There are still very few Fortes in Australia compared to other rivals, and there are already quite a lot of people who were surprised with this overall package.

Speaking of build quality, I've actually read on other forums saying that older Kias such as the most recent Spectra/Cerato has a better interior build quality. I don't have any experience with that model, but the last time I drove a Kia was a rented Grand Carnival. It felt so much more solid than the Forte, in fact it was like a fortress but they are different segment vehicles so it may be unfair to compare as such.

By the way, the Grand Carnival drinks like a thirsty camel. 3.8L V6.... And the engine is too powerful for the chassis that you'll burn rubber every time you step hard on the accelerator.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 14 2010, 04:28 AM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 14 2010, 06:19 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(4te @ Jan 14 2010, 08:25 AM)
I thought u r from Malaysia hehehe biggrin.gif
I am.

QUOTE(Fortelover @ Jan 14 2010, 02:24 PM)

Can anyone pls feedback how true is the above?
Got this from some email chains, and when I tried to search for SkyNet News Asia it requried subscription..
rclxub.gif
Doesn't sound convincing at all... 65K for Camry... it's way too cheap and will kill every other car manufacturer, in particularly Proton and Perodua. The government will never let this happen.
StarGhazzer
post Jan 15 2010, 07:03 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

One thing to add to my cons list posted few days ago:
The lack of a rear central headrest.... dry.gif

Drove my 2.0 on the highway today.... engine noise is barely noticeable, wind noise is of moderate volume but on par with the Civic. The ThetaII is much more refined and relaxed (2.1-2.2k rpm at 100kmh) compared to the i30's aging Beta (2.5-2.6k rpm).

My odometer showed 290km at approximately half tank. Assuming that the needle is accurate when the tank is half full (26L), that amounts to approximately 8.97L/100km... The car's computer calculations have been dropping from 14 to the current 10.5L/100km and is starting to plateau; hence I think the FC will be probably be around 9-11L/100km... A bit off from the claimed 7.9, but that is expected.

The audio system is better than most of the stock systems in the Forte's rivals. I'm not sure whether Kia threw in a subwoofer or not since the bass of most songs sound very deep. Not enough to shake your windows like aftermarket woofers of course, but heavy enough to boom your eardrums. Set the volume above 6 and other drivers will think you're having a party in your car.

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 15 2010, 07:14 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 16 2010, 12:40 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

Man... Some aunty's Camry kissed Cera's butt today... The moment I heard the tyres screech and the bump from behind I was like "FFFFFF****CCCCCCCKKKKKKKKK !!!!"

But luckily it was a minor bump which didn't even leave a dent or a scratch... Reverse sensors were also unscathed. The Camry wasn't going too fast and the aunty braked just in time. Otherwise have to go through insurance and workshop for repairs and all the shit involved....

Seems like the soft, flexible bumper and diffuser really do protect the car... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 16 2010, 12:45 PM
StarGhazzer
post Jan 16 2010, 02:06 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(yhlee12 @ Jan 16 2010, 01:45 PM)
ouch... ur Cera is less than a week old OTR right?
good to hear that everything's fine  cool2.gif
2 weeks old.... very very lucky this time... only a low-speed impact from the aunty and not even the paintwork was damaged.

Oh yeah check this out... very cool stuff by numerous Souls to promote the Australian Open.
http://www.themotorreport.com.au/48674/kia...ustralian-open/
The Soul's a nice funky car, but too bad the 1.6 engine is pathetically underpowered for such a heavy car. I've only seen 1 Soul on the roads so far...

This post has been edited by StarGhazzer: Jan 16 2010, 02:19 PM

0.0450sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:22 PM