8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

ronaldjoe
post Feb 10 2010, 11:26 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 10 2010, 11:10 AM)
Million dollar question for me to answer you that sweat.gif .

Tight bass is definitely but tight how to you judgment difficult. Know not of exquisite taste you.

I am not sure about the SB16-Ultra but definitely it is going to be the reference model of SVS. Pay very much expect for this. How much budget have got you?
If it's around RM12k, then can consider la.
Need to sell PB sweat.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 09:50 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Feb 11 2010, 07:58 AM)
just curious, normally how loud u guys turn on the speaker?

mine max i did is -20, is that normal?
Same here. Sometimes -18 or -16.
Rerun audyssey few days ago. Sub trim was -3db by audyssey. I added 3db manually.
I set my avr's volume cut off max at -10.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 11 2010, 09:57 AM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 11:46 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 11 2010, 10:37 AM)
Wow! Thats a 6dB increase from Audyssey. Do you have a SPL Meter to verify if the speaker levels are matched when u add 6dB to the sub trim?

Run to run variation and the mic variations of +/- 2dB but 6dB seems kinda high.
Anfield sifu, I don't have SPL to test. But it sounds good to me. sweat.gif
1st audyssey run: sub trim -2db, manual setting 1db
2nd audyssey run: sub trim -3db, manual setting 0db

I would rerun audyseey later as it was raining that time.
Audyssey trims on other speakers were pretty consistent tho.

There was one time, the volume was put at -10 for like an hour with "This is it".
I didn't notice it until I looked at AVR. The sound was loud but clean and no distortion.

ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 11:58 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 11 2010, 11:52 AM)
I doubt the PB13 would distort, u don't have anything to worry about that. It has plenty of headroom.

However, what I meant was that it would be hotter than the rest of the speakers. What can happen when it is too hot, is that it can muddle up the rest of the spectrum as it will take longer to decay. However, what's important is what u like...don't worry abt what I blabber. So enjoy ur sub....
Actually I find PB13 just adequate. Sub gain level is at 10 o'clock.
May be I would need to run another sub.
My fronts and center connected to xpa are overpowering the rest now.
My pocket is 'kosong' and I am having space constraint to place another svs. sweat.gif
Or SB13 would be another better option.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 11 2010, 12:01 PM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 01:44 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 11 2010, 01:32 PM)
Still KIV at the moment.
Taukeh jchong is going to get SB16. Who knows...brows.gif

Added on February 11, 2010, 1:51 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 11 2010, 12:36 PM)
Wah, PB13 only "just adequate"?!  smile.gif And this is after +3dB hot right?

That means you really like your bass strong. If you feel it's not enough then maybe you can try add another 1-2dB to the sub trim.

Anyway, after you run Audyssey your fronts and center shouldn't overpower the rest.
Not sure why. Or perhaps the sub is quite fast-paced and clean.
It doesn't feel boomy and stressed out even when it's cranked loud.
The feel is there but it comes and goes very fast.
Quite different from other subs that I owned before.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 11 2010, 01:52 PM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 11 2010, 03:19 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Feb 11 2010, 03:07 PM)
turn off audyssey the bass will kick in. true enuf with my marantz.
Okie bro. Will give it a try. nod.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 12 2010, 02:33 PM

3,569 posts

Quote from AVS:
Good bye PB2/PLUS, HELLO PB13-ULTRA....

Hello folks. Just wanted to input on the greatness that is the PB13-ULTRA.I am the previously owner of a PB2/PLUS. So upgrading was going to be much harder this time. I really loved my PB2/PLUS. That beast could easily shake the entire house. But I was wanting more down low. Way down low.
So I contacted SVS and asked what would be better, Dual PB12-NSDs or one PB13-ULTRA. As usual SVS got back to me A.S.A.P. And as usual they gave me great advise without any strings attached. And this was on a Sunday! Where can you get that?
I took a gamble, sold the over 4 year old PB2/PLUS (for 750.00!) and ordered the PB13-ULTRA. Textured black, which goes best with kids, as I learned with the PB2/PLUS.
After what seemed like, an extended setup time, I found it's new home.
Same locale as the PB2/PLUS, but different orientation due to the front firing driver.
This thing is more of a beast in every way.Weighs at least 30lbs. more then the PB2/PLUS, and has a couple hundred more cubic inches on the inside. Moving it here there and yonder is quite the job, but worth it.
And all I keep saying is wow. I now know why SVS calls this driver musical.
But not only does it move some air, but it does it quickly and accurately. I cannot believe this thing even keeps up output wise with the PB2/PLUS. This beast bests the PB2/PLUS in upper bass output, JUST passes it in mid-bass, and trumps it in the sub-20 area. I am amazed that a 13in woofer kickes the snot out of my old dual - 12 drivers.
This thing is tight, accurate, loud, and down right mean.If you are on the fence, get off and take the plunge. The really low,low, low plunge...

Just my 2 cents, and thanks for letting me gush...
ronaldjoe
post Feb 12 2010, 03:52 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 12 2010, 03:26 PM)
I need to turn down the sub gain by at least a couple of dB from the one set by audyssey, whilst watching concerts for the bass to integrate well with the music. Otherwise, it seems to be playing separately and distinct from the music score.
For movies, need to crank up by 3 dB to really enjoy the slam. Is this appropriate ?
What about you guys?
How many db you mean? Let taukeh htkaki comment on this.
ronaldjoe
post Feb 12 2010, 10:54 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 12 2010, 10:23 PM)
Pissmad must be enjoying his new toy now. Impressive HT room, I must say.
He is running FHD projector as well? drool.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 13 2010, 10:31 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(klimal @ Feb 13 2010, 09:30 AM)
Actually, I did move the sub a little deeper into the corner which seemed to improve the bass response.
Was able to 'feel' it at my prime seating position.

Will adjust phase and see if it helps. Thanks for the suggestion.
The corner placement is the only position that's ideal at the moment. So will not move it unless absolutely necessary.

Does anyone have any experience with REW from the HometheatreShack?
If I wanna just measure my room response, do I need the BFD too?
Bro, you moved the sub deeper into the corner.
Would the gain be overwhelmed or too much?
For my case, I place the sub at the middle of the room.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 13 2010, 10:34 AM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 13 2010, 10:39 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(pissmad @ Feb 13 2010, 10:34 AM)
tq max! Managed to hook up the baby, initially too hot and then audyssey request that I back down the gain...too much if you ask me...i need to do it again...

ronald...am running a plasma lah...call you when i come back from kampung next week, ok?
Okie boss. notworthy.gif I would very much like to see your new plasma and 4810 wub.gif wub.gif
Gong Xi Fatt Cai to you and family... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 13 2010, 10:39 AM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 17 2010, 09:50 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(benben79 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:21 AM)
Hey boss..i bet JL Audio can do it also..
Absolutely no problem..
The subwoofer amplification is a monster!
2500w of power!
Double Velodyne amplification!
So far,still not yet listen to JL Audio yet.
But a CMY dude claimed that its even better than Velodyne and probably one of the best sub!
He listen to it before which i think somewhere in Singapore.
The room is 22x45 and even with one subwoofer its already enough!
Even CMY workers recommended me F113 rather than REL.
No time to listen it since im busy with my new hse renovation and CNY projects for my company..
Should listen to F113 or Sunfire TSEQ12 one day..
And by the way,after lots of Hi fi shop opinion,JL Audio seems to be my next sub rather than Velodyne..
Bro, better go listen to F113 and SVS yourself first before you put the hammer down.
Comment given by CMY dude doesn't help much and the feedback is not constructive.
You might consider the upcoming SB16 since the price would be in the range of F113 as well.
For the price of F113, I would rather get Paradigm Sub 25 (personal view).

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 17 2010, 09:51 AM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 17 2010, 03:06 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(benben79 @ Feb 17 2010, 01:57 PM)

SVS SB16?
owhh..
im kinda confused when you told me SB16 but after i read all the old post,then only i realize..
Btw im not kinda interested on SVS products..
Their low frequency specification is amazing,but their power is still lower compare to JL Audio nor Sunfire.
Plus their size is too big..
But yet SVS is a great sub but not my cup of tea whistling.gif
And sub25 is too expensive.
If kena Jackpot,surely Sub25 since it can go to 9HZ and 3000w  thumbup.gif

But I still consider JL Audio F113 since its not over my budget limit..
Velodyne DD15 or DD18 is too expensive too..
So no hope of buying DD15 or DD18 anymore sad.gif
Thats why i might consider F113 or F112.
I still find sub 25 is more value for money for the price.
It's personal choice. That's why we have different products for different folks.
ronaldjoe
post Feb 18 2010, 10:10 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 18 2010, 08:46 AM)
I am still waiting for benben79 to buy F113 to allow me to bring the PC13-Ultra for a showdown thumbup.gif . The previous F113 'owner' did not reply my request for it. Although it's a long wait, I am sure benben79 would get it soon  wink.gif Then, we shall a small gathering for the showdown at his place to test out some BDs with both subs.

ronaldjoe, the Paradigm Sub25 is indeed the best sealed sub under RM25K in the mart for now. The SB16-Ultra should be about the same size as Sub25. The SB12-NSD is a compact 14" x 14" x 14". Sld be here by May 2010.
Taukeh how muchie?

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 18 2010, 10:10 AM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 24 2010, 10:04 AM

3,569 posts

That day I saw 4 PB13. Then they were gone later.
Taukeh sells SVS like 'chipsmore'. Now you see now you don't. laugh.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 24 2010, 02:33 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Feb 24 2010, 02:25 PM)
Tq but still nothing compares to big players like CMY, A&L, CMS, AV Synergy, and Asia Sound smile.gif 

Just a small timer making a living.

The price for SB12-NSD and SB13-Plus will be announced soon. I mean special pre-order price but with limited units. It should be here by  June.
drool.gif Need to pay upfront first?
The waiting time is a bit long.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Feb 24 2010, 02:34 PM
ronaldjoe
post Feb 24 2010, 03:10 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 24 2010, 02:57 PM)
One day you will get there...
+1 Agree biggrin.gif
ronaldjoe
post Feb 26 2010, 09:51 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 26 2010, 08:35 AM)
SVS-ers....

I would advise u to revisit I-Robot with ur SVS. I believe this was released at a time when most of u did not have a bass giant. Pay some dues to Proyas's flick and u shd be in for a bass treat.....Really low bass treat.
Which scene is it?
ronaldjoe
post Feb 26 2010, 11:54 AM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Feb 26 2010, 10:59 AM)
The tunnel scene for one. The seems to be low bass through out the movie.
Okie will look for the scence. Thanks anfield biggrin.gif
ronaldjoe
post Mar 5 2010, 12:33 PM

3,569 posts

Taukeh when is the next demo? Something like below biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0234sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled