6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

SVS Owners Thread V2.0, New PB and PC DSP are here!

jchong
post Jul 25 2010, 09:14 AM

5,989 posts

One neat thing about these new DSP amps is you can update the DSP, although it's not meant for the user (but done by manufacturer/distributor).

In the next evolution it would be good to see the DSP being more user accessible and perhaps integrated with some room correction capability, e.g. Paradigm and their PBK or XTZ.
jchong
post Jul 25 2010, 03:52 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 25 2010, 03:33 PM)
i dun recommend the seaton for if u do get it, i won't enjoy the exclusive status no more tongue.gif

But he's not in Malaysia mah. So you're still the one and only locally notworthy.gif
jchong
post Jul 25 2010, 03:55 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kc01 @ Jul 25 2010, 01:58 PM)
I've been considering initially the PB12+, and PC12+ but did not proceed due to the massive size and WAF factor. I looked eagerly for the SB12+ and SB13+ due to its small footprint but recently been offered a Seaton Submersive (limited offer) for a price slightly cheaper than a PB13U. For info, this offer is not in Malaysia as I'm based overseas. Have not heard a Seaton but prepare to buy blind due to overwhelming online review. Size wise, although big but not as big as PB12+ and PB13U. Always like the PB12+ and PC12+ but wife says no to size. Very tempting to get the Submersive but the SB series in particular SB13+ and SB16U would be significantly more expensive than PB12U? And SQ of the new SB series vs Seaton?
Well, if you have WAF issues already with the PB12+ then you're gonna have the same issue with the Submersive. It's not a small sub.

I think the SB13+ is about the same price as the PB13U, the SB16U is quite a bit more expensive.
jchong
post Jul 25 2010, 10:27 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Jul 25 2010, 06:46 PM)
What I do know is it beats my previous Velodyne CHT12Q flat out and so far it's handled any LFE powerscenes I throw at it with ease smile.gif
How to compare Submersive vs CHT-12Q smile.gif Totally diff league...
jchong
post Jul 26 2010, 10:03 PM

5,989 posts

Sorry for the late posting. Here are a few pics I took at htkaki's room at the KLIAV Show:

This is the new SB12 sub. A compact sealed sub. Wouldn't it be nice to have a whole bunch of these all around the room? smile.gif

Pic of the new DSP amp (here fitted in the PC12+). Amp is off hence the digital display not lit up.

The internals of the DSP amp

The new dipole SVS surround speaker. Very good performance.

Seems that SVS also has in wall speakers. The fabric grill has artwork so your speaker can be disguised as a painting. These were on static display.

This post has been edited by jchong: Jul 26 2010, 10:13 PM
jchong
post Jul 27 2010, 02:41 PM

5,989 posts

Time to show your mom the power of SVS smile.gif
jchong
post Jul 29 2010, 11:35 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 28 2010, 09:12 PM)
hi guy,

want to ask i have calibrate my rooms with Audyssey on my denon 1909 and it set my sub on 9.5db which i believed is too high and so i set down until 4.5db so should i keep the setting 9.5db or what is recommend setting u guy used?

What is the volume setting on your sub? Must be quite low if Audyssey sets it at +9.5 dB.

Turn up the volume setting on your sub then. Normally people try to keep within -3 to +3 dB for sub in Audyssey.
jchong
post Jul 29 2010, 01:28 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(squall_12 @ Jul 29 2010, 01:14 PM)
the volume setting on my sub is already at middle and i believe the issue is due to my rooms.
Is the room large? Or perhaps open to other rooms/hallways?
jchong
post Jul 30 2010, 09:38 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Jul 30 2010, 09:32 AM)
Wow! Sub also got firmware...so us already owners how to upgrade? sweat.gif
The firmware is only for the new DSP amps. If your sub has the old BASH amp then not firmware upgradeable.
jchong
post Jul 30 2010, 11:37 AM

5,989 posts

Gotta wait for htkaki to inform us on that. I dunno the answer.
jchong
post Aug 4 2010, 10:40 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Aug 2 2010, 10:52 PM)
I have measured today. I can fit 2 SB13+ in front.  laugh.gif
Go for it!

Added on August 4, 2010, 10:45 am
QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 2 2010, 10:56 PM)
Seriously, I got hooked to dual subs. Even it is with the SB12-NSD and monstrous PB13-Ultra for now, the ambiance is really different.
Yeah having 2 subs does add ambience as well as more slam.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 4 2010, 10:45 AM
jchong
post Aug 9 2010, 11:07 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 9 2010, 10:15 AM)
anfiel, what has the sub got anything to do with the bookshelf? kindly elaborate
If you have a good sub then the job of reproducing the low bass can be taken away from the speakers. In this case not necessary to buy floorstanders, just get bookshelf speakers.
jchong
post Aug 11 2010, 02:15 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 11 2010, 01:09 PM)
boh wor... haven run hor le sii yet
shud run tat?

now the fronts aiming to my tummy n penis nia, not to my ears
Yup, should run Audyssey again since your equipment changed. Even if you re-position the speakers you should rerun Audyssey.

Tilt your speakers, just like what u did with the center. Then it can aim closer to your ear rather than your privates smile.gif
jchong
post Aug 11 2010, 05:16 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(pierreye @ Aug 11 2010, 02:42 PM)
If you want to go cheap, buy rubber door stopper. If you want to lansi a bit, get Auralex Mopad.
Yeah, I think the Auralex Mopad is a good choice. It helps with the tilt and also isolates your speaker from the cabinet underneath (which isn't as solid as proper stands).

jchong
post Aug 11 2010, 05:39 PM

5,989 posts

Call the distributor to find out: http://www.centrecircleaudio.com.my/contactUs.html
jchong
post Aug 12 2010, 03:07 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 12 2010, 02:35 PM)
YB request, sure boleh  smile.gif

I go and buy it tomorrow.
Wah, good customer service! rclxms.gif
jchong
post Aug 16 2010, 07:57 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Aug 16 2010, 12:01 PM)
onkyo dunno where to set change to small ler
Check the manual.
jchong
post Aug 17 2010, 11:14 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 17 2010, 10:27 PM)
Taukeh, what's the room size?

I have Onkyo 1008 hooked up to my system now. It belongs to a customer who is building his HT room. I guess it would be the temporary resident amp for at least 2-3 weeks.

For the first time, the PB13-Ultra and the rest of the system being connected to a singular unit.

Tested WOTW and Dragon Tiger Gate. First impression... dynamic and brute power in bass. Seems to be fast and pumping adrenalin as compare to the balanced 4310. It makes the 4310 seems lazy.

The openness and ambiance is very different.

Importantly, the PB13-Ultra does not misbehave that badly. But, the pure power of bass signal from Onkyo is quite intimidating. Never expected WOTW to be so punishing to me. It really pushes the PB13-Ultra hard that the punches are literally hitting our bodies with brute force. Vol on Onkyo is 68.5

On DTG, it sounds more 'cinematic' and those punches are insane. Bass nuts would be grinning from ear to ear.

Shall test it more.
Interesting remarks on the 1008. Would you say the 1008 sound is similar with past Onkyos sound?

Vol of 68.5 is equal to what on the dB scale? I think you can switch to the dB relative scale.

In the testing you did above was that after running Audyssey?
jchong
post Aug 18 2010, 05:58 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 17 2010, 11:24 PM)
IMHO, it did sound quite different from what I auditioned at Mr Tan' HT room; 5507 wt power amps. Probably due to the room hmm.gif

This 1008 is brutal when it comes to bass. I will have to check the dB scale. Ran Audyssey prior to testing since I want to know its potential.

With Dyn EQ, it is quite unbearable when watching WOTW as the PB13-Ultra becomes 'aggressive' The bass overwhelm other details. Shaking everything in its path. With Dyn EQ off, it is much better with punchy bass that does not 'cloud' the the other channels.

Since all of them have listened to the previous system with EQ1, they think that EQ1 does vast improvement in the sub management.
Interesting why the 1008 would be brutal with the bass. Especially after you ran Audyssey.

Did you check with your SPL meter on the channel level for the sub? Was it at 75 dB? I suspect sometimes due to the mic or the Audyssey implementation in each AVR, the resulting setting can differ by a few dB. For all you know the sub level could be set a bit 'hot' (without you knowing) and makes the bass seem brutal.
jchong
post Aug 18 2010, 05:59 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Aug 18 2010, 01:32 PM)
Nothing beats an Ultra for the sheer ULF.
I know what can beat that... 2 Ultras!! tongue.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0434sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 05:58 AM