Buying a new TV, Please HELP >_<, LCd or Plasma? Tough question

TSInFe_eD
post Dec 16 2009, 09:38 PM, updated 16y ago

Can you imagine?
929 posts

Hi good day to you all there,
I plan to get a new TV now in collaborate with Astro HD offers and 2010 world Cup wink.gif

But I got lost by all these brand, shrap, LG, samsung, sony, Panasonic, toshiba........... Wow....

I was hoping you guys can help me, the new TV will be used to watch Astro, HTPC and Gaming too (pc gaming for now, no plan in getting overpriced console yet)

Budget will be around 3000 to 4000 bucks, don't mind paying more if what i get is worth it, if it's not then please recommend something cheaper tongue.gif

So which would suit my use best, LCD, plasma? All i know is that Plasma have the best black level while LEd is the latest technology.

Please HELP notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by InFe_eD: Dec 18 2009, 01:03 AM
budakhops
post Dec 16 2009, 09:56 PM

1,519 posts

LED will be out off budget.... >4k
go for a 50inch full hd panasonic 50s10k
should be less than rm5.4k
the bigger is better...

This post has been edited by budakhops: Dec 16 2009, 10:14 PM
MR_alien
post Dec 16 2009, 10:11 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

sharp aquos
putih
post Dec 16 2009, 10:14 PM

293 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Dec 16 2009, 09:56 PM)
LED will be out off budget.... >4k
go for a 50inch  full hd panasonic 50s10k
should be less than rm5k
Try to look out for Pioneer 428XG for around 4.5K. The best 42 inch TV in the world smile.gif No screen burn, no image retention, just great pictures.
budakhops
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(putih @ Dec 16 2009, 10:14 PM)
Try to look out for Pioneer 428XG for around 4.5K. The best 42 inch TV in the world smile.gif  No screen burn, no image retention, just great pictures.
is it full HD?
im adi register for astro B yond...
cant wait watching BPL,F1 in 1080p o 720p

This post has been edited by budakhops: Dec 16 2009, 10:22 PM
TSInFe_eD
post Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM

Can you imagine?
929 posts

Hmm, thanks for suggesting bro, will keep it noted, but I hardly see any Pioneer brand around my place

Added on December 16, 2009, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 16 2009, 10:11 PM)
sharp aquos
bro any reason for you to recommend sharp?

This post has been edited by InFe_eD: Dec 16 2009, 10:22 PM
budakhops
post Dec 16 2009, 10:23 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM)
Hmm, thanks for suggesting bro, will keep it noted, but I hardly see any Pioneer brand around my place

yes, there is no doubt the pioneer Kuro is the best, but it will cost a fortune for the latest model & FHD.
TSInFe_eD
post Dec 16 2009, 10:24 PM

Can you imagine?
929 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM)
is it full HD?
im adi register for astro B yond...
cant wait watching BPL,F1 in 1080p o 720p
Hmm iirc, they only have 720p and 1080i , it's a fake 1080p tongue.gif
budakhops
post Dec 16 2009, 10:26 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Dec 16 2009, 10:24 PM)
Hmm iirc, they only have 720p and 1080i , it's a fake 1080p  tongue.gif
TS oso said it will used for HTPC, 1080p exist but not in all so called 1080p movie, hehehhe.....

MR_alien
post Dec 16 2009, 10:29 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Dec 16 2009, 10:21 PM)

because heard of alot of good reviews abt it
and my relative also using one...the PQ quite good
and it's japanese too
Lone*Wolf
post Dec 16 2009, 10:32 PM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(InFe_eD @ Dec 16 2009, 10:24 PM)
Hmm iirc, they only have 720p and 1080i , it's a fake 1080p  tongue.gif
Fake 1080p or not also better than the current 'genuine' 480p, brah .. wink.gif

Back to topic, LED is out of yr budget, and judging by yr usage, have a look at LCDs la, particularly the ones from Sharp.

budakhops
post Dec 16 2009, 11:13 PM

1,519 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Dec 16 2009, 10:32 PM)
Fake 1080p or not also better than the current 'genuine' 480p, brah ..  wink.gif

Back to topic, LED is out of yr budget, and judging by yr usage, have a look at LCDs la, particularly the ones from Sharp.
agreed... i watch BPL from my 50 inch regza the pq not so good SDTV reso (astro)...
munky
post Dec 17 2009, 12:20 AM

1,971 posts

im also looking for a new tv with the same usage as TS. But with smaller budget heh heh. Anyways, if lets say we were to buy plasma tv and use for PC, how long does the tv needs to be turned on before burn in occurs ? And how do we know which plasma tv uses anti glare screen ?

0.0158sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:01 PM