41 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

JCY

TSkei18kun
post Dec 16 2009, 02:03 PM, updated 17y ago

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

This company going to come out soon next year and will be second biggest IPO after Maxis. So what u guys think of this company? Worth to invest in it? Since the mexter incident that drop to 10 cents now, kinda wonder...

The JCY group is a market leader in hard disk drive components and a leading precision engineering manufacturer of HDD mechanical components.

Prospectus:
http://www.sc.com.my/main.asp?pageid=824&m...=&linkid=&type=
zamans98
post Dec 16 2009, 03:16 PM

oquıɐɹ ǝɥ ɹǝo 'ǝɹǝɥǝɯos
8,510 posts

Lol, how could it be BIG? In what sense?

Just a small component maker for Hard-disk companies, not selling hard-disk?

Nah, BUY after listed is better approach.
Oracles99
post Dec 21 2009, 10:56 PM

984 posts

JCY's net EPS for y/e Sept 2009 is 0.10cts. Its issued capital 2,044,860,000 shares of 25 cts par value.
Roughly, you are able to make an educated guess as to how much it is worth. CIMB has indicated a market capitalization of RM3 to 4 billion.

Its IPO price should be around RM1-50 implying a PE ratio of 15 times. How high can it climb post listing?

This post has been edited by Oracles99: Dec 21 2009, 11:12 PM
mok thye yee
post Jan 11 2010, 09:58 PM

183 posts

For those in the HDD industry will know how big JCY is.

IT is the WORLD largest HDD component maker. THE WORLD, not jaguh kampong......

So Encik Yusli make sure the kiasu Singapore do not curi curi woo JCY over to SGX, kakakkakaka

The boss is good fren of Quek LC (HL boss) and another typical media shy super rich man....... more shy than AK, at least u can see AK picture in media, die punya nama china pun media tak tau, gambar tak ade jugak....

He is the substantial shareholder of TOWER REIT, control by Quek LC.

May be the money he get from JCY IPO, he will used to parthner with Quek to buy Banks, coz Mr Quek wanna buy a lot of bank, EON bank lar, BEA lar, kakakkakaakakak
APPA
post Jan 11 2010, 10:24 PM

253 posts

i tot Quek LC already "sien" about our MY policy and move to HK, China. why lar come back smile.gif
mok thye yee
post Jan 15 2010, 11:31 PM

183 posts

huh Quek never leave Malaysia yet lar, future dun know qua

Yes he got a lot of business in HK and China, but he is now the hottest man in malaysia, HL bank wanna buy Eon bank, Hume ind oso in the lime light dun know wat next .....

the Quek family is dua base one, Hong Leong in Malaysia, and his saudara control Hong Bee in singapore, than they venture in HK, CHina, etc.....

The one leaving Malaysia is Robert, he sold pelangi, the sugar business, shift all palm oil to his anak saudara company in sg, land in KLCC oso sold, soon will be jerneh may be , apa lagi ???

Now tinggal is onli Maybulk (this oso hold thru' his singapore company i think), shang and trader hotel, and GSC, some flour mill, and some kacang putih business onli in malaysia, (kacang putih for him but oso a lot dy) kakakakkaka

May be AK will buy GSC from him and become cinema KING... kakakkaka
alphayou
post Jan 28 2010, 11:33 AM

199 posts

My personal opinion why i don;t really like JCY.
1) Manufacturing mechanical parts for Hard disk drive. Currently solid state drive is becoming more popular thus will replace the old mechanical hard disk gradually
2) 80% of sales come from Western Digital and thee rest from Seagate and etc. The customers is not that diversified.
3) 50% dividend payout - means not much expansion and growth
4) cant even find JCY website - dodgy

However those are just my personal opinion, to those who think otherwise can voice out and discuss. I am happy to hear other opinions about JCY

This post has been edited by alphayou: Jan 28 2010, 01:36 PM
~butter
post Jan 28 2010, 11:37 AM

104 posts

Personally I also don't like. From a high base, not much room to grow. Better invest in Notion for less than 10x forward PE together with growth in the SLR segment. Hehe.
mH3nG
post Jan 29 2010, 08:54 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(alphayou @ Jan 28 2010, 11:33 AM)
My personal opinion why i don;t really like JCY.
1) Manufacturing mechanical parts for Hard disk drive. Currently solid state drive is becoming more popular thus will replace the old mechanical hard disk gradually
2) 80% of sales come from Western Digital and thee rest from Seagate and etc. The customers is not that diversified.
3) 50% dividend payout - means not much expansion and growth
4) cant even find JCY website - dodgy

However those are just my personal opinion, to those who think otherwise can voice out and discuss. I am happy to hear other opinions about JCY
SSD isn't anywhere near a typical HDD both in terms of size and pricing. I think it'll be several more years before SSDs can replace HDDs.
Also, WD and Seagate combined control 60% of the HDD market IIRC. Granted there is a concentration risk but if you aren't their supplier, you'll be supplying to the other 3 smaller manufacturers.
50% dividend isn't too bad. It just means we get more dividends. biggrin.gif

Here are some points to consider:
Notion only supplies a small part of the HDD while JCY produces most/all of the HDD parts.
Its vertically integrated and the only other company that's vertically integrated is Nidec which produces the HDD motors.
And IIRC, they're in the process of getting certification to produce HDD covers for Samsung.

But the most jarring fact is that YK Yong owns the all of the 2billion shares of JCY. Assuming the company gets listed at RM2, hello RM4b. You just have to respect that guy.

p.s. JCY won't get a single cent from the IPO. Its just YK Yong cashing out/selling his stake. smile.gif
GregPG01
post Jan 29 2010, 09:03 PM

4,966 posts

Those wanting JCY, why not consider Notion.

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/business-ne...catalysts-.html
alphayou
post Jan 30 2010, 02:24 AM

199 posts

Yup alot of comparison have been made between JCY and Notion Vtec. Seems that Notion Vtec have more diversified business compared to JCY. I would really want to hear from the Management of JCY on the next 5 years plan since YK Yong is cashing out. Would be nice to know since not much info can be found on JCY even it is the largest in HD component maker.
alenac
post Feb 1 2010, 10:45 PM

491 posts

Beware when the main shareholders are cashing out. Personally RM2 per share is a rip off, with earnings per share of 10sen. Notion is much cheaper. Buy after IPO is listed and price comparable to Notion PE. I hope the merchant bank kena F*cked big time.

This post has been edited by alenac: Feb 1 2010, 10:49 PM
pbt
post Feb 3 2010, 01:55 PM

30 posts

JCY IPO open for public issues? Y in bursa website didnt show up open for public issues?
sjz
post Feb 4 2010, 09:43 PM

3,879 posts

can apply thru maybank2u eshare already.. smile.gif
closing date next Monday, but i think i will not take the risk since so many negative comment about the high ipo price of this counter
fatw3apon
post Feb 4 2010, 11:08 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(sjz @ Feb 4 2010, 09:43 PM)
can apply thru maybank2u eshare already.. smile.gif
closing date next Monday, but i think i will not take the risk since so many negative comment about the high ipo price of this counter
But the final price haven determined, later come out RM1 only know kekekeke.
pisang
post Feb 25 2010, 10:00 AM

854 posts

share price dropped to 1.50 this morning.... around 10.00am
thomaschanfk
post Aug 1 2010, 05:27 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(pisang @ Feb 25 2010, 10:00 AM)
share price dropped to 1.50 this morning.... around 10.00am
Dropped a lot lately?
mH3nG
post Aug 1 2010, 09:30 PM

534 posts

Analysts are worried over possible oversupply.
I got it from the main forum.
Please feel free to share any other pertinent information. smile.gif

Attached File(s)
Attached File  HDD.pdf ( 412.34k ) Number of downloads: 276
alvincks
post Aug 1 2010, 11:31 PM

1,499 posts

Thanks for sharing mH3nG !!
Currylaksa
post Aug 2 2010, 09:27 AM