DLAA 6.2" in-car player reviews, Anyone can write a review?

TSmichael881
post Dec 14 2009, 08:29 PM, updated 17y ago

91 posts

Hey guys,

I'm looking to purchase a "made in Taiwan" all-in-one 2 DIN player for my car.

I wonder if people who had installed can share some experience in terms of:

-sound quality
-picture quality and brightness (too bright?)
-compability to USB thumbdrive or Ipod
-Garmin GPS signal and update issues?
-how long have you had the unit?
-ease of use, general quality etc..

Would appreciate advice or problems you encounter before or after you installed the unit. Of course good comments will make me make my decisions easier..

No offence to sellers cos I had been looking all over for reviews but to no avail.

Cheers..

ckmoy007
post Dec 14 2009, 09:54 PM

5 Star ICE Noob
865 posts

u gotta look for mactrousers(or something), he's an expert in this field now. XD
af156
post Dec 17 2009, 04:27 PM

No reviews? I'm interested to know also..

ellis
post Apr 22 2010, 12:07 AM

I'm interested to know also..loking for DA-280 (RM788) OR DA-687(RM999)...anyone can give comments?

maelzx
post Apr 22 2010, 04:46 PM

isha.my
860 posts

QUOTE(michael881 @ Dec 14 2009, 08:29 PM)
-sound quality
-picture quality and brightness (too bright?)
-compability to USB thumbdrive or Ipod
-Garmin GPS signal and update issues?
-how long have you had the unit?
-ease of use, general quality etc..

Would appreciate advice or problems you encounter before or after you installed the unit. Of course good comments will make me make my decisions easier..

No offence to sellers cos I had been looking all over for reviews but to no avail.

Cheers..
I will try to answer your question. based on my experience testing it...

Sound quality.
- not bad. i test a unit before this (for about a week)... the sound is clear for radio, mp3, sd card and dvd. did not test GPS (did not have on my unit) and tv (did not have the antenna)
- sub woofer rca out really good ... compared to my jvc unit which only had 1 channel out so have to split between front speaker and subwoofer.

picture quality and brightness
- in normal daylight .. the default setting is ok.
- at night, might want to tune down the brightness a bit (can set the brightness in setup menu)

compatibility to usd and/or ipod
- usb if not mistaken up to 8gb. but did not test, i only have 2 gb in hand. no problem with 2 gb thumbdrive. (same goes to sd card - only test with 2gb sd card)
- external hdd is not supported ...
- ipod port is only for IPOD. Iphone not supported, only ipod. did not try as dont have ipod, but warehouse ppl inform me this.
- one more ... not all DVD is readable ... some dvd that is quite transparent (like some pirate dvd) cant be read by this player. ori dvd no probs smile.gif

garmin gps signal and updates
- signal ... got antenna .. for better reception .. stick @ roof (magnetic) .. but up to u or the installer where to put it
- updates ... well ... map updates ? malsingmap is free right ? did not test it as my unit do not have gps

how long had the unit
- 1 week.

ease of use, general quality
- simple enough to use.
- setup is also simple... though i prefer to be more complex so can set many things
- buttons could be a little bit better ... but usable lah.
- touchscreen is ok, responsive.
- touchscreen can be calibrated back in the setup menu.

i add one more:
ease of installation
- not that easy if you dont know how or dont have any experience
- lack of manual should u want to DIY install
- if bring to shop that dont have experience installing this kind of player, they might need to test first, so will take a bit longer time to install.

thats it i guess ... smile.gif
Black Jack
post May 15 2010, 08:45 AM

QUOTE(maelzx @ Apr 22 2010, 04:46 PM)
I will try to answer your question. based on my experience testing it...

Sound quality.
- not bad. i test a unit before this (for about a week)... the sound is clear for radio, mp3, sd card and dvd. did not test GPS (did not have on my unit) and tv (did not have the antenna)
- sub woofer rca out really good ... compared to my jvc unit which only had 1 channel out so have to split between front speaker and subwoofer.

picture quality and brightness
- in normal daylight .. the default setting is ok.
- at night, might want to tune down the brightness a bit (can set the brightness in setup menu)

compatibility to usd and/or ipod
- usb if not mistaken up to 8gb. but did not test, i only have 2 gb in hand. no problem with 2 gb thumbdrive. (same goes to sd card - only test with 2gb sd card)
- external hdd is not supported ...
- ipod port is only for IPOD. Iphone not supported, only ipod. did not try as dont have ipod, but warehouse ppl inform me this.
- one more ... not all DVD is readable ... some dvd that is quite transparent (like some pirate dvd) cant be read by this player. ori dvd no probs smile.gif

garmin gps signal and updates
- signal ... got antenna .. for better reception .. stick @ roof (magnetic) .. but up to u or the installer where to put it
- updates ... well ... map updates ? malsingmap is free right ? did not test it as my unit do not have gps

how long had the unit
- 1 week.

ease of use, general quality
- simple enough to use.
- setup is also simple... though i prefer to be more complex so can set many things
- buttons could be a little bit better ... but usable lah.
- touchscreen is ok, responsive.
- touchscreen can be calibrated back in the setup menu.

i add one more:
ease of installation
- not that easy if you dont know how or dont have any experience
- lack of manual should u want to DIY install
- if bring to shop that dont have experience installing this kind of player, they might need to test first, so will take a bit longer time to install.

thats it i guess ... smile.gif
Thanks for the info will get one unit next week.~ smile.gif
sam_5201314
post Jun 4 2010, 05:29 PM

everything still fine now? interested with this also..
funnyd
post Mar 15 2013, 12:19 AM

hello guys, bought this player yesterday and having problem with the navi screen after i adjust the screen position in navi setting. now my navi screen went to the far left and i could not re adjust it. i did reset factory setting, the reset button and even take out my car batteries but still the screen is like that. other things reset but not the navi screen. now when i push the navi button i just see black no more navi and setup button like before. please help me to solve this problem. thank you.
Sh@rty 5
post Mar 15 2013, 01:26 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(funnyd @ Mar 15 2013, 12:19 AM)
hello guys, bought this player yesterday and having problem with the navi screen after i adjust the screen position in navi setting. now my navi screen went to the far left and i could not re adjust it. i did reset factory setting, the reset button and even take out my car batteries but still the screen is like that. other things reset but not the navi screen. now when i push the navi button i just see black no more navi and setup button like before. please help me to solve this problem. thank you.

don't worry , get back to the place you installed it, i am sure they can solve your issue thumbup.gif
funnyd
post Mar 15 2013, 11:15 AM

The place said they cannot do anything... wt fish... they ask me to add another rm600 for the gps version.. wt hell.. I think the gps just need installing and some reset.. they r suckin my money like hell.
sentinal3_16
post Mar 20 2013, 01:46 PM

798 posts

Claim warranty if the screen cant be adjusted.Dont give more money for unprofessional shop.

0.0187sec    1.04    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:56 AM