593 posts

what to do now? sad.gif
Glassy
post Dec 14 2009, 07:30 AM

337 posts

Lip balm. Definitely.

If you're on a tight budget then the common pharmacy brands would do, like Nivea and LipIce. If you want to treat yourself a bit more, consider lip butters/balms from The Body Shop, which isn't too expensive anyway.

P.S. And don't lick your lips because the saliva makes it worse!

This post has been edited by Glassy: Dec 14 2009, 07:30 AM
peppermilk
post Dec 15 2009, 09:31 AM

29 posts

Exactly what Glassy said, you could also use coconut oil or aloe very oil or petroleum jelly as an alternative. Also, someone taught me to break open Vitamin E capsules and use the liquid inside as a lip balm. Works pretty well for me.
everlastingjac
post Dec 19 2009, 11:08 PM

Before using lip balm and petroleum jelly, you can actually use your toothbrush, gently scrub your lips with it. It'll remove all the dead skins that's on your lips.

Believe me, after you do it, your lips will feel softer and not so chapped.

There's another way to do it. Homemade recipe. Using Sugar and Honey helps too~ *winks* Just blend sugar and honey together, and use that as a natural scrub.

Good luck~
tian82
post Dec 23 2009, 03:22 PM

18 posts

My mum teach me to use honey on every morning and night, it does help. Rub on the lip and wait for around 5 to 10 minute. It will slowly heal chapped lip.
myching
post Dec 25 2009, 04:44 PM

67 posts

I have the same problem too.. It would crack and my friends would be looking at me with this very concerned look hahaha. It would hurt real bad and I would do all sorts of things to peel it off (it hurts like mad sad.gif )

Anyways, lip balm and lots of water should do the trick. My favourite lip balms are: Crazy Rumors and Avene Cold Water. Both do not have SPF protection btw. Crazy Rumors are the best everrrr
kaymans17
post Dec 25 2009, 05:31 PM

43 posts

Vaseline works best on chapped lips, at least for me.
apply a thick layer of it as lip mask before u sleep at night and the next morning u'll see a change smile.gif
ShiAOmEI
post Dec 26 2009, 01:57 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(kaymans17 @ Dec 25 2009, 06:31 PM)
apply a thick layer of it as lip mask before u sleep at night and the next morning u'll see a change smile.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif Vaseline cherry works, really!! U can get it at Watson/Guardian. I used to chapped lips too but now is ok d.. my way is :

1) 1st, u take a facial cloth, soaked with a bit of warm water, then dap it on ur mouth ( to soften it)
2) After that, u use Vaseline lip balm or ur chosen lip balm, Apply very thick on it then wait for 5-10 minutes.
3) Then, use a cotton bud to gently remove the lip balm ( to remove those dead cells)
4) Use the cloth to soak warm water then repeat the 1st step.
5) Lastly, apply a new layer of thick lip balm then go to bed.

The next morning u'll find ur lips better.. more moisturised.. biggrin.gif

Lexus_mail
post Dec 26 2009, 09:32 PM

Try Kiehls.
Really work for terrible chapped lips .

Grimm
post Dec 28 2009, 10:25 PM

I don't know anymore
2,030 posts

I have huge lips. And they always get very dry and chapped and I look like i got some kinda sick shit virus attacking my lips.

I put on Aloe Lips at night(only RM10) and next morning, wash mouth, clean off old skin ...

TADAH! New soft lips ready to kiss my gf :3

just that she's like 10 miles away...
ValerieYan
post Dec 30 2009, 07:44 PM

VASELINE THE BEST !!!
i tried lipice, skinfood, elianto, blah blah all useless..
end up i tried vaseline which the cheapest among all of them.
the result is the BEST! since secondary school every 2day will crack 1 time.
after i use this ...never crack untill now XD
ilovebeauty
post Feb 2 2010, 01:28 AM

80 posts

use VASELINE.. its very very cheap n very very good! use once n no more chapped lips woohoooo! rclxms.gif
star*bug
post Feb 7 2010, 10:56 PM

37 posts

vaseline definitely !!
dreamgal
post Apr 13 2010, 06:03 PM

QUOTE(star*bug @ Feb 7 2010, 10:56 PM)
vaseline definitely !!
Agree! Vaseline is the best, if you want something easy to carry around, Kiehls is great too.

AlexandraXing
post Jun 9 2010, 05:38 PM

Vaseline is good... normally apply 1 thick layer before the bed time... but my lips seems like 'immune' with vaseline...

Carmex... since my lip is 'immune' with vaseline, i tried Carmex... which instantly moisture my lip... its one of the best moisturizing lip balm in the market...
msbroccoli
post Jun 11 2010, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(kaymans17 @ Dec 25 2009, 05:31 PM)
Exactly. I'm doing the same here. It works to me, too.
So I think you could try it out. icon_rolleyes.gif

P/S: Remember not to peel your lips. It might make it get worse.
mizzmaria86
post Jun 18 2010, 04:22 PM

used to have very2 chapped lips..teruk until lips bleeding oso..coz cant help myself picking the dry skin on my lips..then i try several product..here's the history..i share ar..

1. Vaseline original in jar..works ok at first then back to the chappy lippy again..
2. Nivea lipbalm..works the same like Vaseline..
3. Mac Lip Conditioner..ok la but still not wat i want..got SPF which i like..
4. Carmex Strawberry flavoured lip balm click stick..i like it..my lips getting better..
5. Carmex original flavour mositurizing lip in jar..woahh..i loooveee this l/b..i dont mind the minty somehow baby balm smell when i apply to my lips..makes my lips supple and soft with hint of shine oso..no SPF tho..

so currently im wearin the Carmex ori one..if wan SPF..layer with the MAC L/C..give hint color oso..hehe..oso drink enough water... biggrin.gif

p/s: oso want to try EOS sphere lip balm..hear gud reviews bout it
tme
post Jun 22 2010, 12:40 PM

i used to have really bad chapped lips which sometimes r too dry that they bleed when i smile. the reason is the toothpaste i used which were too harsh for me. the doctor said i should top using Darlie toothpaste and try something milder like fresh n white. u should stop using Darlie toothpaste is u r using it. try body shop's vitamin E lip moisturizer. it has healed my chapped lips.
jaswong
post Jun 24 2010, 01:21 AM

Vaseline is the best for me.

I've tried with live aloe too, rub abit. Then put on vaseline.

During the day, taking sips of ice cold water cools down the lips biggrin.gif

Expressive
post Jun 25 2010, 11:56 PM

You need Lip balsam or LipStick
sazzzhi
post Sep 3 2010, 01:05 PM

143 posts

Egyptian MAgic Cream works for me smile.gif
OctoberFly
post Sep 5 2010, 12:13 PM

195 posts

QUOTE(kaymans17 @ Dec 25 2009, 05:31 PM)
thumbup.gif I used vaseline when i was young too for chapped lips.
pearly603
post Oct 15 2010, 12:07 AM

25 posts

yah , like many ladies replied here , Vaseline (Original in Jar ) is the best .

I found this DIY lip care method , take a look :

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7cKhsPMIxHM&feature=related

0.0194sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:01 PM