English Clubs Liverpool Football Club- The Kop Talks 2010, Stoke 1-1 Liverpool- CURSED!

cherroy
post Dec 31 2009, 03:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(livingmonolith @ Dec 31 2009, 03:36 PM)
one main disadvantage of playing zonal: our players' positionings during corners are predictable and opponents will have a good week training set pieces to attack the weakest link in the formation, and also to pinpoint the danger 'zones' unprotected by our players.

all they need is one good corner that falls into an area they intend to exploit, and they will get good chances to score.
I had seen a lot of time, attackers went into the gap between zone from outside 6 yard box to attack the ball, only good delivery needed. In this kind situation, zonal is vulnerable as attacker suddenly go in front of you to head the ball, while you are stand still to wait for the ball.

1 or 2 good header of the ball one needed to be man marked, while the rest can use zonal. Just like opponent will man-mark Gerrard and Torres in corner or set-piece, the rest even opportunity fall to them, it is no certainty they can score. No offence.
cherroy
post Jan 1 2010, 10:11 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Flicx @ Dec 31 2009, 11:45 PM)
With Johnson out i guess we're gonna see Degen again. Read somewhere Rafa gonna cash him in on January but might cancel now. I think Degen is good at attacking and pumping the ball upwards like Evra.

Also, any news on our attempt to get RVN?
Degen not injure meh?
cherroy
post Jan 1 2010, 10:55 AM

25,802 posts

Liverpool somehow like spanish team in EPL. Always get players from Spain. sweat.gif
cherroy
post Jan 2 2010, 10:40 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 1 2010, 11:31 PM)
WOW.We are left with FA Cup  sweat.gif
Somemore it is away to Reading, and Liverpool has been leaking goals non-stop in away matches, even against a troubled and bottom league table team.

cherroy
post Jan 2 2010, 05:30 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(gerrardtorres9 @ Jan 2 2010, 04:56 PM)
I wonder if we can get £10 million for ryan babel. Since he failed to perform for us, probably another league would fit him better. Definitely, at a discounted price. As for dossena, we're asking for about £4.5 million pounds.

TM HSBB will be our sponsor?  biggrin.gif
Liverpool always weak (price dealing) in transfer market, lot of time, lose money on ship out players one. I am not surprise if team interested for Babel, offer 5 million only. doh.gif

While when targetted certain players, price being jacked up.
cherroy
post Jan 3 2010, 11:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Jan 3 2010, 10:18 AM)
heh. and i dont even know why, but the commentators during the game(CH 813) was completely bias against us.
Keep on mentioning the penalty appeal, etc. Didnt even once mention the keeper handled the ball outside of the penalty area.
Because it was indeed a penalty.

Keeper handle the ball outside penalty area result only a freekick, which indeed Liverpool got. It is the sliding momemtum that lead the keeper go out of the box, not the intentional to use hand to deny scoring opporunity.

Among the FA cup matches, only 1 premier team cannot get pass lower division team, and this is Liverpool!!

cherroy
post Jan 4 2010, 12:14 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Flicx @ Jan 4 2010, 12:02 AM)
I'm just saying he's just too young for our squad and what if Dossena start and Insua join in the second half because he's not ready enough to play 90 minutes imo. With him starting all the time as LB, i don't think he's under any pressure for the LB position. Aurelio is being played as LM to take free kicks and corners. We need experience this time of the season. We are not in a position to be experimenting with too many youngsters now. Insua,Ngog,Lucas,Pacheco,Spearing.

I partly disagree on the point aka cannot afford to use youngster.

If Liverpool is on top or challenging the title, then yes, cannot afford to take too much risk on game to try out youngster as every point count on top of table.

But in current position, Liverpool has almost nothing to play for already, although 4th place is still up for grab, but Liverpool can only hope for slip up on other like Man C, A Villa, Spurs. You need 3 teams slip up, not only one, so prospect for Liverpool to get CL is kinda low especially taking account in series poor performance on the pitch.

So with nothing to play for, it is an ideal situatin to try out youngster. With no transfer kitty, the only source is look for gems in youngster.

You need players with hunger especially the like Pacheco which look lively one to lift up the spirit.
At current situation, what I can look on the face of players is doom and gloom. My opinion only.
cherroy
post Jan 4 2010, 12:24 AM

25,802 posts

I can understand why Rafa played Aurelio, because he is only one can can put decent cross in to opposition penalty box.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 4 2010, 11:18 AM
cherroy
post Jan 4 2010, 11:18 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jan 4 2010, 12:51 AM)
we currently hav only a few players tat can send good crosses into the box for Torres to score

Aurelio, Johnson , Benayoun, Javier , Reira and ofcourse my avatar, StevieG

Lucas, no way doh.gif lose cannon
Ngog , no way doh.gif  lose posession  always, let alone to score doh.gif  doh.gif
Aqua, maybe rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
I don't view Benny, Javier and Riera are good crosser as well. smile.gif

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 4 2010, 10:12 AM)
I see what you mean and if you ask me it brings up the point I made much earlier about adopting a more positive approach to the game. We may say that the players lack motivation but maybe it's because they are instructed to play the way they have been. Lucas' report card says he is an attacking minded player so given the option, why would he keep passing the ball back? Keeping possession seems to be Rafa's priority but what is the point in keeping the ball but only mustering a shot on goal against Portsmouth? I really do wonder if the likes of Lucas and Ryan Babel are not reaching their potential because they are playing with too many restrictions. If they are it can only lead to frustration which in turn leads to a drop in motivation levels.

Are we playing to the strength of our players or are we trying to fit square pegs into round holes by asking them to take up unfamiliar roles e.g. Aurelio/Dossena on the left wing, Kuyt playing wide right instead of on the right of a 3 pronged attack, Lucas at defensive mid. This is where the manager has to make a decision. Do I continue to insist they play in those positions until they get it right, or do I change my tactics to suit their strenghts? It's obvious that when we were more positive, we were a handful and this was proven last season.
It can but only as a variation. It shouldn't be your only tactic or we become predicatable as we did under Houllier. Team sat deep thus negating Owen's pace. I do agree however that we do quite often, look lost when in possession.
I don't like tactic want to have more possession which is seem Rafa priority game plan, my opinion, I do think Rafa put up this instruction to Lucas. Possession means nothing if you cannot put up an attacking move. Passing around DM and defender is not a good possession. Having more possession won't win you a match, but attacking move that lead to goal does.
Sometime Liverpool is not quick enough for counter attack due to want to hold the ball a bit longer (have possession and scare to lose the ball), which by then opportunity gone.

Possession come natural if you are playing well.

cherroy
post Jan 5 2010, 11:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 5 2010, 01:01 AM)
Kuyt: Not attacking too much?Who was the one always scoring a poacher's goals?None other than Kuyt.How can someone like him always lurk around in penalty box is called a player who doesn't attack much?

Kuyt is the one that always race towards goal and anticipated opponent GK mistake/rebound whenever Liverpool take shot on goal, which yield a couple of goals because of it.

cherroy
post Jan 6 2010, 09:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(leftist @ Jan 6 2010, 08:54 PM)
LIVERPOOL have rejected a £9million bid for Ryan Babel from Premier League rivals Birmingham City.

The unsettled Dutch international has endured a miserable season but manager Rafa Benitez has insisted he is not for sale.

City boss Alex McLeish has been promised £40million by owner Carson Yeung to strengthen his squad and is hoping to make Babel his “marquee” signing.

However, the Midlands club will have to increase their bid considerably if they are going to test Benitez’s resolve.

Liverpool paid Ajax around £11.5million for Babel in the summer of 2007 and if Benitez reluctantly allowed him to move on they would insist on at least recouping that fee.

Even if City made an offer Liverpool couldn’t refuse it’s uncertain whether the 23-year-old winger would accept a move to St Andrew’s.

liverpoolecho.co.uk
come onnnnn..ur wealthy owner can give us more than that biggrin.gif
I hope we don't see another similar type of Alonso transfer saga, said not for sale, but just said to jack up the price only which already intended to sell in the first place.

A transfer saga like this (said one but actual intentioan is another) is not good for the players and team, it affected the players confidence and faith on the manager, might as well spread within the team.

Since the Alonso transfer issue, Liverpool players look indifferent since start of the season.

Just my observation and opinion.
cherroy
post Jan 11 2010, 11:23 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 11 2010, 11:01 AM)
It's not about no money to buy players.If I'm not mistaken, Platini seems to come out with a new rule preventing in-debt clubs to participate in CL(or so which I read few days bac) which is yet to be implemented but is a possible new rule in future.In order to take part in CL, we would have to clear out debt and clearly the only way of doing so is to sell our prized assets.Also, there is another case where if we fail to qualify for CL will means the exit of our stars since we lose a lot of money for not participating in CL.

Some manu fans already praying us not getting into CL.Some ManU already dreaming of signing Torres after all these sissy Spaniard and other insults.I suppose they forget they got 700m debt and 70m per year interest to pay eh?
If not mistaken, the ruling is about club cannot have consecutive of loss in their financial book, which Liverpool has been making losses year after year. So Liverpool need to sell players to generate income (profit), so only Torres (and possible Gerrard) will generate high amount of transfer fee. Others valuation merely in couple of million figure only.

This is to prevent, club spend too much money purely to buy expensive players so that enable them to play in CL (by buying top and expensive player to improve league position). <--- which is good intention, if not next time who have the most money will win.

While MU is not falling into the same category in this ruling.
cherroy
post Jan 11 2010, 02:58 PM

25,802 posts

Just found that,

the new propose rules, is that CL club cannot have more than 3 years of consecutive losses for their financial book, if not they will be kicked out from CL even they qualify through domestic league.

http://www.football.co.uk/liverpool/new_ch...rss303252.shtml
UEFA are currently finalising the regulations which will prevent clubs from making consecutive losses over three seasons.
Details should be revealed in the next few months. Despite the gestures of Roman Abramovich and Sheik Mansour in writing off the debts of Chelsea and Manchester City respectively, all three clubs will have to find huge cutbacks in the next three years if they wish to qualify for the Champions Lleague or Eeuropa in 2012.
Chelsea recorded losses of £44.4million last year, their sixth consecutive year of huge deficit, while Manchester City lost £92m during Sheik Mansour's first year in charge and next year may even beat Chelsea's record of £140m from 2005.
Liverpool lost £40.9m in 2008 and selling Torres would bring in a £40m fee

cherroy
post Jan 14 2010, 02:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ezikie1 @ Jan 14 2010, 02:24 PM)
i dont think our current predicament needs a knee jerk reaction that leads to the sacking of the manager...we can always do it at the end of the season...keep rafa's track record in a file, review it at the end of the season and see if he needs to go or not...

it is always easy to find fault or ask someone to take on the responsibilities but tbh....i dont think we r that far away from 4th spot....even 2nd...we r just 2 losses away from man utd...nobiggie....with 17 more games to play...anything could happen....

now we should have cooler heads n wait till the season's over...
2 losses away from MU??? Liverpool 11th points behind 2nd place lah.

No, my opinion, Liverpool is far away from 4th place due to

1. Cannot put a string of win together
2. Defence is shaky even against lower league team
3. Players morale is low, can see from body language
4. Other teams are stronger than before, like Man City and Spurs.

Point no 3 is the most important factor, without it, there is no fight spirit and determination to win games.
cherroy
post Jan 14 2010, 03:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jan 14 2010, 03:00 PM)
It's like I said earlier though. When we played crap football at the beginning of the season and I cited concerns, my posts were met by such feedback, "relax it's still early days", "it's only a quarter of the season gone", "we're just going through a purple patch". When is it time for us to realise that it isn't all peaches and cream at the moment? When the season is over it will be too late. Finishing out of the top four will be a huge hit to us financially and this is a very real scenario.

Sacking Rafa might not be the answer, but something needs to be done quick. We cannot afford to pretend that everything's going to be alright.
I don't remember Liverpool has any good performance lately, even lastest a few win is down to luck, deflection shot, lucky rebound (against Aston Villa), even last night goal also a deflection shot.

If the performance is ok or good, then still got hope for 4th place, but it is not the case currently.

I am tired of talk season only start for Liverpool after win against MU, or start after win against Everton, or after Aston Villa, so many start?
or may be the real start is after away match to Hull. (Last match of this season). sweat.gif doh.gif

Also, Rafa lately also put up the same interview matches after matches (after losing), (may be no other to talk about?) like we must work hard, we must improve, etc. But yet, we only see deteoriation match after match.

I am not pro-sacking or not, just something is really not right.
cherroy
post Jan 15 2010, 12:50 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 15 2010, 12:37 AM)

Reina

Carra Skrtel Agger Aurelio

Lucas Masch Aqua

Maxi

Kuyt

4-3-2 (or 4-3-1-1) formation sure loss liao, already red carded 1 player even before the match starts. laugh.gif

cherroy
post Jan 15 2010, 01:02 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jan 15 2010, 12:53 AM)
I'm too used to 1 striker upfront .That's why. sweat.gif Anyway, wonder if we have the chance to see 3 in the midfield biggrin.gif .
I don't like 1 striker upfrong formation, it works in Europe, but often not work in EPL disregard team (top or bottom).

Obvious selection is to use either 2, Ngog, Babel or Kuyt at front.

Please don't play 1 striker against Stoke City.... the right mentality in this kind of match (no offence to Stoke) is to bombard the opponent goal, not try to playing counter attack or trying to have 'more possession'' or so called 'control the match' by having more possession but passing around midfield and defender only.

Did anyone see Gerrard and players hardly celebrate when the deflection shot went in? Body language of players are not that positive. I do worry about the Stoke match as well.
cherroy
post Jan 15 2010, 02:25 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(-nana- @ Jan 15 2010, 01:50 PM)
i feel aquilani performance so far is a little too controlled..i blv it is rafa's instructions.. hence u c him playing simple passes n mostly non threathening. from what i've seen,i personally think he is a very technical player .. he loves to attack n not sit on the midfield area to spray passes around..u can c him always moving forward when he pass a ball in the final 3rd of the oppenent half n sometimes he just sits back too deep with lucas..n there is no support for ger tor n our wings.. i wish i'm at melwood nw..i'm really very interested to see whats actually going wrong with the team after finishing so close to manu last season..its definately a huge motivation to go on n win this season..plus its a world cup season n players would want to have lots of playing time n finding their touch n form come this june..

right now..the injuries to 3 of our top scorers is a huge blow..huge one..n maybe its time to push aqua up the pitch n give him more freedom against stoke. i still think once he get used too to the quick play in bpl he can b a good signing, u can c he is pressured by the huge price tag on his head n the crap performance of liverpool fc this season so far, he get close down much much quicker n give less time on the ball as he would have gotten in italy... btw i think rafa is too tight on his players.. take babel for example..he was quite good in his first season n everyone started to blv he could go on n be one of the better players in the league but right now..his first touch is way worst than before n he look out of sorts n low in confidence.i dont blame him..cuz i blv the person at fault is rafa.i think the babel kind of player would love more freedom on what he does on the pitch.. look at his goal against lyon..it proves he has much much potential.

My opinion and observation, Rafa like to play "control" or "possession" football, in fact in most matches, Liverpool is the one having more possession of the ball (be it the match is loss or win), but the possession has no serious threat to opponent one, ie. passing around midfield and defender only, while have no clue what to do with the ball.

Also a lot of time, counter attack being held up due to holding midfield want to 'hold' up the ball instead quickly spraying passes to upfront.

Babel is not good in dribbling, get pass defender and crossing, but he can be good if playing those kind of midfield pump a thru pass beyond defender and then he chase and shoot towards goal. His style is not suit to be a winger. My view only.

I also believe there is too many instruction being given by manager as well which prevent players to express freely and playing with their ability and creativity. As a lot of time, we keep on seeing Rafa at touchline, give instruction to player to close down, to overlap, hand signal what to do etc. This should be done after the match analysis time, not when the match is going on.

Just like a factory manager, you just give instruction how to do to your operators to produce a product, then you just let them work on their own. Not the like watching every minute and give instruction when they are in betweeb carrying out the task time.

Added on January 15, 2010, 2:30 pm
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2010, 02:23 PM)
so how many of you all here criticized rafa's rotation policy?
skeleton?
like u said...last season, rafa hardly rotated...he tried to give a final push in an attempt to land the league.
what this has done is obviously resulting in the players playing just too many matches, especially with some involved in the confederations cup and world cup qualifying.
torres back then during the end season also mentioned about fear of burning out.
and of cos dont forget the team's travel to asia.

and the results of all this over-playing can now be seen in the injuries the team are getting.

so are all those naysayer's now wishing rafa went back to rotation?
Without rotation, Liverpool nearly win the league last year.

Current issue is not about rotation or not, it is about manager and players trust, determination and spirit problem. Last year, there were a handful of matches without Torres and/or Gerrard, Liverpool still can put up good performance in between, but it is not the case at the moment which need to rely luck to win a few matches.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 15 2010, 02:30 PM
cherroy
post Jan 15 2010, 02:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2010, 02:47 PM)
ever experienced burn out?
when u play too many games etc, that u just lose motivation cos too tired.
Yes, it can burn out. But my previous post is to say this is not the problem that Liverpool having now.

At start of season, already start to leak goal everywhere and losing matches already. So can't be burn out at start of season. While lately, the problem compounded.
cherroy
post Jan 15 2010, 03:03 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2010, 02:53 PM)
read my previous post very carefully.

season before the team played lots of games with some say with hardly any rotation.
plus CL games, plus confed cup, plus world cup qualifying, plus asia tour...basically no rest all at...carry all that into the current season...and what do u get?
No doubt burn out could be another factor, but from body language of players suggested is more like or major issue is about no determination, losing trust on manager, no spirit to fight etc. which more on the "soft-side" management issue.

See how players hardly celebrate, smile or cheer of relieve at all after goal went in in Reading matches.

It is some sort like, when you losing trust on your boss, you just carry what is being instructed and perform what is being given, then rest, don't care much, then wait for pay check in the end of month. But when you believe your boss can carry your career into a step higher level, you are more willing to 'fight' in your career and looking after the company benefit.

Just my view though.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 15 2010, 03:06 PM

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0487sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 04:27 AM